Audi TT quattro sport concept: is this the new TT RS?

Audi TT quattro sport concept

Audi presented this Audi TT quattro sport concept alongside the production third generation Audi TT and TTS at the 2014 Geneva Motor Show. We think this could be a preview of the range topper of the third generation TT – essentially the new Audi TT RS.

While the second gen car used a 340 PS, 450 Nm 2.5 litre five-cylinder turbo engine, the TT quattro sport concept uses a 2.0 litre TFSI EA888 engine like the TT and TTS. The only difference is Audi has tuned the engine way up to 420 PS and 450 Nm, which is significantly higher than the 230 PS, 370 Nm and 310 PS, 380 Nm of the TT and TTS respectively.

If this tune goes to production in the TT RS, it will essentially mean Audi has the Mercedes-Benz AMG 2.0 litre turbo four cylinder beat in terms of power to displacement ratio, while matching it for torque figures. The full 450 Nm kicks in between 2,400 rpm to 6,300 rpm, with over 300 Nm already available from 1,900 rpm. The 100 km/h sprint takes 3.7 seconds.

The EA888 engine is modified with special aluminum pistons with integrated cooling channels and an ultra-high-strength forged steel crankshaft to accommodate the higher power output. The compact thin-wall cylinder crankcase is made of a high-strength cast alloy. The turbocharger is newly developed, featuring optimized mixed-flow technology, producing up to 1.8 bar of boost.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• GTR36 on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:39 pm

A45 is a 4-door, 4 seater. How to compare?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Fuh… such power…

• That S..I like it…

• qwerty on Mar 07, 2014 at 11:33 am

Erm, anyone thinks the speedometer looks a lil too much like that on the LFA?

• shawal on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Imitation is a form of flattery

The steering looks like its taken straight out of the 918 spyder hypercar

• niterunner99 on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Front air intake can grate cheeze…I like!

• shawal on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Existing tt owners can ah-beng-i-fy their cars to make it look like new ones!

• Cetak Tak Mati on Mar 07, 2014 at 2:12 pm

guys i am looking for investors to start up accessories for 2nd generation audi TT.

i want to sell front lights matrix and rear LED lights

• WellEndowed on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I own an audi tts now.I reckon this should be my next ride.I am only 21 and tall and good looking.I wish my new ride can attract more chick.