Proton Global Small Car seen in Cameron Highlands!

proton-global-small-car-cameron-highlands-2

Cameron Highlands is where the party’s at, it seems. After a debadged Daihatsu Ayla (widely expected to be a test mule for Perodua’s upcoming ‘new model’/Axia) was spotted at the hill station earlier this month, it’s now the Proton Global Small Car‘s turn to undergo tests there.

Admittedly, few locations are better – cool air, sweeping B-roads, big elevational changes and many opportunities for single-lane overtaking. Plus, who could resist a lovely spot of strawberries and tea afterwards?

Only last week we spotted a few GSCs in Kota Bharu, accompanied by a Volkswagen Polo TSI, Perodua Myvi, Honda Brio hatch and Ford Fiesta, possibly for benchmarking purposes.

proton-global-small-car-cameron-highlands-3

We wondered at the time if the Polo was part of the tests, as it was the only one registered. Well, reader Chembo Addare, who very kindly shared these spyshots with us on Facebook, caught that very Polo here following a trade-plated Myvi. So that’s that, then.

We’ve showed you lots of spyshots (plus a spy video) of the GSC since November last year, both at home and abroad. We’ve seen the dashboard, touch-screen and head unit, as well as its tail lamps. We also know that LED DRLs and ESC will be available, and that a CVT is very likely.

See our Proton P2-30A Global Small Car infohub for our full coverage on Proton’s upcoming baby thus far.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• mmaker on May 26, 2014 at 12:25 pm

parking sensor yes, reverse camera no, push start button yes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0r on May 26, 2014 at 2:26 pm

I won’t comment on this car because it is not launched yet. I am not Proton basher neither interested to become one.

Everything is based on fact!

Vios is reliable, comfort, fuel saving and selling like hot cakes, these are fact.

Preve/Suprima S have more safety features but still not favored by many due to its questionable build quality and poor fuel consumption. These are also facts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 16
      • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Proton makes toilet cars. This is from 1983, when they started making the junk Saga. Proton management did not care then and still do not care now about quality. Why?

Because anytime, they can dig into rakyat’s money. Anytime the company needs money, just ask the government. Now, it is even easier with Mahathir as the big boss.

For years we have been supporting Proton. The Proton management don’t care a damn about quality or whether sales are bad and dwindling. All they know is Proton as a company and as a company with its head as former Prime Minister, they can dig into rakyat’s money anytime.

/before it was few hundred million but now, Proton is so brave to ask billions. Not as loans or what, just outright as if the LHDN is their personal bank that can give free money to Proton.

This loss making car company should have been closed down long ago like MAS. It bleeds money. Every year, billions go down the drain supporting these 2 crony companies to survive.

With the billions, we could have built tens of new hospitals in each state and tens of new schools in each state. And that also, still have excess money to fund those newly built government hospitals and schools every year for life time.

But No. Government prefer to keep 2 loss making companies just for pride sake. Hello Government of Malaysia, most countries have sold off their airlines and car companies and still did not lose face lah. Look at British Airways for example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 116
        • mak jah on May 26, 2014 at 8:07 pm

dik, hang ada nampak sem lu(sam loo) dak, mak cik dok cari dia berbulan2 dh xjmpa….dia dh mampoih ka? hisssshhhh…hutang gelang mas dia xbayaq lagi ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
        • junk saga? have you driven one before?
          have driven the first generation saga, 2 aeroback megavalve, plus wira aeroback. all have serve me well during those days, and none had given me any problem, except for the rattling sound.
          do not blame the management on quality, blame those shareholders.

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Turning down Proton Holdings’ requests for financial lifeline will be more difficult for Putrajaya following the appointment of former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as its chairman, a report said today.
        The Edge Review said that for more than a year now, the current administration, led by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, had rejected several pleas for financial aid from the ailing national carmaker, which is struggling with weak sales, large debts and competition from foreign marques.
        But with Dr Mahathir’s (pic) “surprise appointment” as its chairman, “saying no to Proton is set to become a lot more difficult”, it reported.
        Dr Mahathir established Proton in 1983 while he was prime minister and had taken on an advisory role since his retirement in 2003.
        The report said Putrajaya had rejected Proton’s request for grants of up to RM2 billion early last year with the excuse that the government needed to cut its ballooning budget deficit.
        Proton again applied for about RM1.7 billion to fund research and development, government officials and auto executives told the weekly.
        Although Putrajaya could not afford to approve the grant, turning down Proton’s request, especially with Dr Mahathir at the top, could turn out to be “politically messy” for Najib, said the officials.
        (Najib is struggling with low approval ratings and holding on to his power after Barisan Nasional’s dismal showing in last year’s general election.)
        Dr Mahathir, who is 88, remains an influential figure in the country’s political and corporate landscape and has been critical of the Najib administration and his leadership recently.
        The report quoted political analysts, who said that dismissing Proton’s request could put Najib in the line of fire from Malaysia’s longest-serving prime minister.
        The Edge Review said Proton was the sole surviving initiative of the “ambitious industrialisation drive” embarked by Dr Mahathir in the early 1980s. Other ventures in steel and cement flopped although billions of dollars were pumped into them.
        Proton is also struggling to stay afloat as it has been protected by high import duties imposed on foreign cars and aided with grants and other funding from the government.
        Its market share has fallen to 22% from 60% in the mid-1990s.
        It started off as a state-owned company but in 2012, the public-listed Proton Holdings was taken private by industrialist Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Albukhary, who is close to Dr Mahathir.
        Government officials and industry executives said Proton’s private ownership was another reason it should not be given financial reprieve.
        “It is a cut-throat business and Proton doesn’t have the technology or economies of scale to compete,” a chief executive of a foreign auto company based in Kuala Lumpur was quoted as saying.
        “Fresh grants are unlikely to turn things around.” – May 23, 2014. Malaysian Insider

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 41
        • Rugi Besar on May 26, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Ada betul kah Proton rugi besar sebanyak RM821juta ??!! Macam tipu jer berita nie ! Proton tak pernah bagitau rakyat pun !!

Analysts neutral to positive on Mahathir’s appointment
          By Kamarul Anwar of theedgemalaysia.com Thursday, 22 May 2014 11:50
          http://www.theedgeproperty.com/news-a-views/12602-analysts-neutral-to-positive-on-mahathirs-appointment.html

KUALA LUMPUR: Analysts following DRB-Hicom Bhd were neutral to positive on the appointment of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as non-executive chairman of national carmaker Proton Holdings Bhd, a wholly-owned unit of the diversified group.

Investors appeared indifferent as the counter closed a marginal two sen or 0.82% lower yesterday at RM2.42 per share.

The counter saw 391,500 shares changing hands and was traded to a high of RM2.46. In contrast, DRB-Hicom’s shares closed two sen higher on Tuesday with a lower trading volume of 138,000.

Some analysts, however, were positive about Mahathir’s return to steer the beleaguered carmaker given the various challenges it is facing.

“We view Mahathir’s appointment as chairman of Proton as positive for DRB-Hicom, as we believe his clout within the government and auto industry will be beneficial for the automotive maker,” Public Investment Bank analyst Lee Wee Sieng said in a report yesterday.

The research outfit has retained its “outperform” rating and on DRB-Hicom. It is also maintaining its target price at RM3.40.

“In addition, Proton’s global small car (GSC) which is expected to be launched in the second half of this year (delayed from April 2014) will likely be a game-changer for Proton,” said Lee.

Mahathir, who conceived the concept of the national car in 1979 as part of his administration’s efforts to spur the country’s industrialisation programme, could use his political clout to slow down the liberalisation of Malaysia’s automotive sector and in effect, protect Proton from debilitating blows that other carmakers could bring, said analysts.

Proton was set up in 1983 and through a joint venture with Japanese carmaker Mitsubishi, it launched Proton Saga in 1985.

In the mid-2000s, Proton lost market share amid a competition industry landscape. It was taken over by DRB-Hicom in 2012.

Filings with the Companies Commission of Malaysia showed that Proton’s net loss for its financial year ended March 31, 2013 (FY13) was RM821.4 million, more than 35% higher than the previous year’s net loss of RM606.3 million.

An analyst, who declined to be named, said Mahathir could be the right individual to spur changes in Proton.

“Mahathir is the pioneer in Proton; it was his brainchild. As Proton is going through a restructuring process, Mahathir — who has been with Proton since Day One — could be the right man to call the shots.

“Proton recently named a new chief executive officer as well (Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah). He is seen to be an outsider. The employees might be more willing to listen to someone who is seen as a Proton man through and through,” the analyst said.

Another analyst, however, said that at worst, Mahathir’s emergence could be neutral to Proton.

“Mahathir had already been an adviser to Proton (from 2003). Has there been any improvement in its cars?” asked the analyst. “The chairman does not create the product. Proton’s problem lies with its products.”

Bernama reported yesterday that Proton had appointed Mahathir as its chairman effective May 16. The former prime minister has also been named as chairman of Proton’s subsidiary, Group Lotus plc.

Mahathir will assume the post from Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil who is stepping down as executive chairman, but will remain on the board of directors of the company.

Proton said in a statement that Mahathir’s determination to see the national carmaker succeed made it natural for him to step in as chairman, in what would be a new chapter in the company’s journey.

“Dr Mahathir will now be able to dedicate more of his time to Proton as chairman. This will certainly continue to strengthen the company in its mission to become a globally recognised automotive player,” said Proton chief executive officer Abdul Harith Abdullah.

Mohd Khamil who is also DRB-Hicom group managing director, said Proton is honoured by Mahathir’s acceptance to serve as chairman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • ayamxxx on May 29, 2014 at 1:40 pm

“It is a cut-throat business and Proton doesn’t have the technology or economies of scale to compete,”

that is bullshit, perodua can have a profit in this malaysia market, whay can u proton?

ur totally lest dicipline & energetic employee are the major caused for this.

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 26, 2014 at 9:19 pm

not a proton basher..??

what u have been doing so far.. selling toyota in paultan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • KettaVreakdoWnn on May 26, 2014 at 9:28 pm

U’re not a proton basher..??

what u have been doing so far..? selling toyota in paultan..

• Oh please, vios comfortable and reliable?

• Bataman on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:00 pm

VIOS is junk car.

Here’s why:
        1) No pick-up power…very likely you will hit by car when coming out of junction or trying to overtake on highway.
        2) Fuel Guzzler just like Campro. All the myth its Fuel saving is rubbish.
        3) New VIOS with catamaran atap-zinc rooftop.
        4) Still only 2 airbags and no VSC.

In short, VIOS is overpriced, outdated tech and unsafe JUNK.

• fuel guzzler campro engine yes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • krauser2 on May 26, 2014 at 2:41 pm

only pondan use d reverse camera for a small car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 7
    • kzm fanboy on May 26, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Proton GSC can give 30 KM per Liter fuel economy or not?

If yes, I will run from Tg Malim to Shah Alam wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam. Any takers??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 41
      • Aniq_Affandi on May 26, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Eh kzm fanboy. Why are you copy pasting comments? I saw this exact same comment on a previous thread. Cb !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
        • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Why what is wrong he cut and paste? It is okey. At least he talks sense unlike you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
          • VW_xyzzzz on May 26, 2014 at 8:33 pm

@kzm buda bodo

U really need those copy paste bro..

“Why what is wrong he cut and paste? It is okey. At least he talks sense unlike you…???

really….OMG

• wait until they use fission power… no more petrol..

• VW_xyzzzz on May 26, 2014 at 8:31 pm

30km/L ?? which car can achieve that.. beside hybrid or eev ( which i really have no idea their FC btw..)

stop being ridiculous..or an idiot..

• Obama on May 26, 2014 at 3:15 pm

looks great with the male model standing beside.

• Proton should consider selling thier cars in develooping countries..if they sell supposedly highly safe car(with 6 airbags and latest stability control) at lower price then countries like indonesia thailand india vietnam should be the targetted market..not australia or united kingdom becoz they r comfortable with conti brands..even japan or even korean cars also find it challenging so this is even worse for proton..proton should prove themselves in these devoloping countries first..build your brand name there..collobrate with their automaker associates..I think it is going to be tough becoz japanese brand already set thier foot..its to late for proton..maybe they should look at bangladesh market then..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • You mean Proton must sell cars to those low educated countries like Africa?? Match in heaven!

• I prefer the term devoloping countries as opposed to low educated countries..developed countries always look down at developing countries..thats always the case..so if you r selling high tech product like car do u think they r gonna be fascinated?..unless our exotic foods, not our cars..we ve have to accept that..

• True, in Australia nobody wants the Preve. High spec $23k while mid range 2.0 petrol Focus is the same price. They even slashed the price to $15k for the manual low end one and not a single one in sight. Big huge signboard advertising the car on the M1 Citylink as well.

• HazHaz on May 29, 2014 at 11:28 am

Because of similar clogged mindset like you sir, Proton ain’t going nowhere.

ASEAN worship Conti and Jap cars, pouring their hard earned money and get credit for 9 years just to afford to have the cheapest (and perhaps lousiest quality?) Japanese cars. It is not even JDM model! (ehem vios & city?)

If u are being supportive to ensure Proton goes further, have a faith and buy for yourself a Proton,then we can talk again about Proton penetrating ASEAN sales. It is not just about making a cheap safe car. It is also about changing the mindset of the people

• vee-oh on May 26, 2014 at 12:29 pm

ini suma nasey sama royi – said the bangla in the picture

• victor tan (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 12:29 pm

I don’t have a clue why it benchmark against Polo TSI because without the DSG breakdown or issue, it’s impossible for GSC better than the Polo. Unless GSC is going to be a expensive car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
    • I see nothing Great about a Budget VW Polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
      • Proton Useless junk on May 26, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Volkswagen Polo TSI can smoke that Proton junk very easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
        • kiddo plz grow up.. or you are retarded..

• DSGsuck on May 26, 2014 at 10:08 pm

….but later got problem with DSG and stopped

• really ahhh … so then why jetta cannot outrun preve cfe ???? see on youtube … its a shame when DSG cannot outran CVT wei …

• pondan on May 27, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Sure can smoke one… burning up in smoke right.. 1 time only.

• Bataman on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:06 pm

The normal Polo 1.6 also kennot outrun a 1.5L City, as proven by Paultan tests recently!!!

VW=Cheapskate cars with many gearbox and engine problems.
        Proton cars=Cheapskate car with only power windows problem.

Proton Winrar.

• Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 12:32 pm

This GSC will replace the Myvi as the P-plater / college / university student car of choice. Just think, it will definitely be safer than the Myvi with more airbags and HPF parts. It will also handle better thanks to the trademarked Proton/Lotus Ride & Handling. It will come with more kit, including front parking sensors and DRLs (possibly leather seats as well), which aren’t available on any Myvi.

And most importantly, the GSC is the underdog; the uncommon one. And because it is not common, it will be ‘cool’ and ‘hipster-friendly’. Many will buy it just because they want something fresh, something that will stand out from all the other Myvis in their college / university. Eventually, the GSC will become a common car on our roads, like the Prevé is now, and the ‘cool’ factor will slowly disappear.

Anyway, what I care most is whether or not Proton will export the GSC to China. Hopefully they will, and will do it fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 94
    • AVH (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 1:07 pm

That optimism~~

I would say the same if not for one thing….The Kia Picanto. No not because the Kia Picanto is better but because the Kia Picanto exist! It is all that you’ve mention, safer, better spec, LED, better looking and more hipster….and yet I struggle to see it a huge popularity more more than a Myvi, hack I’am seeing new Citys on the road. And bear in mind at least the private institutions I visit, Proton isn’t exactly what you call, a ‘popular choic’, the Sunway area is filled with college students with either Citys, Vios and Almera, if its a Proton, usually a Wira or Satria.

Its not that I dislike what you said but given that car isn’t launched yet, I would like to give the car a shadow of a doubt. I did predict the Preve was a lightning success when it was launch….it’s not, not really…I might go as far as to say contemporary B-segments are out selling it.

Now off to the bomb bunker from those dislike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • Proton Global Junk on May 26, 2014 at 2:51 pm

College students in Sunway and Monash of course avoid Junks Proton.AVH is talking cock,many of the students drive at least Vios or Jazz or Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
        • Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Are you sure those are not their parents’ cars ? Why would a college student want a Vios or Almera ? There’s nothing cool about a Vios or Almera. The TRD Vios and Nismo Almera is pretty much the perfect definition of a (rich) Ah Beng. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
        • mim (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Yes, and then when one of them sits in my Preve, they’d be like “takde la rendah mana quality but damn so stable so powerful why did i choose veeyos aaargh”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 21
          • Bro, test drive a Vios or Almera then only comment, or wait after 10 years to see your preve still can start or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 33
          • zapruder on May 26, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Well ML, did you test drove the preve? Wait for 10 years to see whether engine still can start or not? Are you sure you can survive driving that lowly spec no safety tin milo vios for that long? Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
          • burnnnnn on May 26, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Ouch… better put some water on that burned area Mr.ML.

• wajarays on May 27, 2014 at 7:01 am

woi ML …. bios ngan almari yang penuh dengan plastic interior dan tin milo body belum tentu menjaminkan ko hidup kalo involve dengan kemalangan jalan raya …. rekod ANCAP pon taraklah brader …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Hi AVH,

I was afraid that someone would mention the Kia Picanto.

I agree, the Picanto is one of the best, if not the best car one can buy under RM60k in Malaysia. However, we still need to be fair to Proton. The Picanto is a A-segment car (Kia Rio is B-segment). The GSC will probably be a B-segment car, but for now it’s not yet confirmed. The GSC should theoretically cost between RM35 and RM55k, just like the Myvi. If that’s the case, then price-wise, the GSC will compete with the Picanto and Myvi. However, in class terms, the GSC should compete with the Kia Rio, which costs almost as much as the C-segment Proton Suprima S (about RM80k). The Rio too is a great little car, but for that extra RM20k or so, it is not competitive enough in terms of pricing to make a serious alternative to the usual non-national B-segment choices.

Also, I’m not too sure about the situation in the Sunway-Taylors-INTI / Subang Jaya area as I study in MMU Cyberjaya, and the huge majority of new student cars here are Myvis, especially Myvi SE. If that is the case, then I am not all that surprised, because Subang Jaya is one of the most affluent suburbs in all of Malaysia.

We will have to wait and see how well the GSC turns out under DRB-HICOM Proton. If it doesn’t work out too well, then Proton will be in serious trouble, because the GSC will be the base platform for the 2015 Saga as well, which is Proton’s flagship model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • AVH (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 6:37 pm

I’ve said before, when comparing between National and Non-National car, its difficult as price range is too different, someone in the RM120k market will always choose betweeen the usual C-segment market, never will they ever put the thought of a Preve even thou that is classified as a C-segment. I dont want to speculate price as yet, the Preve(the 1st of the ‘new’Protons) was priced about RM10k more expensive than what most anticipated for a Proton. And given that Proton still have the Persona and Saga in the showroom and I do not believe they will discontinue it anytime soon, the pricing of the GSC will be hard to speculate, and than theres the base spec Preve sitting there at RM60k.

I’ve said in the previous post, it will be down to the spec, Toys and FC that will attract attention. The Myvi shifts because it has a huge reputation for being reliable and having a low FC. The SEs also have repectable specs….Now go out to your friends at college, either MMU and Sunway and ask them how much they know about car safety, you will be shocked that many dont even bother. A sad truth and the reason why Peroduas and Toyaotas sells more.

I believe Proton should cut away all their ‘wastage vehicls’, the Saga, Satria and Persona and to some extand, the Inspira. Since ATM the financial situation for Proton is rather desperate, cut it down to the ‘core vehicles’ GSC-series, Preve-series and Exora….a 3-model line up simplifies production, and make sure the parts sharing between them increase[facelift both Preve and Exora to have more common parts between them…headlights, air vents, gauges and ICE…etc] Audi, BMW and VW has always been criticized to be too similar, but their similarities between models are IDEAL for cost reduction, going as far as sharing the chassis, same plan adopted by PSA and McLaren(the most extreme case). Proton should start with 3 models with sedan/hatch variants B/C/MPV(core sellers in Malaysia). Make sure those sells both here and oversea, before moving to a D-segment or an SUV. The Exora platform can be used for this, its large enough for a D-segment and a CRV size SUV. The 1.6l Turbo can also be tune to multitude of levels for different classes(like how BMW and Mercs uses it). Or just start with the rumored Family-Y engine.

If Proton dont start with these step, I can just wave Proton goodbye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • You sir, should be Proton chairman, atleast you are more honest than the current Proton chairman

• Lol City is one boring car and difficult

• *difficult to drive because… ignore that, full post somewhere down below…

• Unfortunately, Malaysian P-plater / college / university students dunno about airbags, HPF parts, Ride & Handling, front parking sensors and DRLs.
      They only know the name T&H that their parents told…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 18
      • Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:23 pm

So sad how some parents brainwash their kids from birth. ”You must study hard !” ”You must get scholarship !” ”Don’t play-play !” ”No boyfriend/girlfriend !”

In the end, their children can get Straight As in SPM but can’t even decide where they would like to be in this cruel world, 10 years from now. Money is overrated, happiness is underrated. Driving a Toyota and Honda may make your friends envious, but will it make you happy ? For me, there is no other thing in this world that makes me happier than seeing Proton improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
        • Because you are jealous for those who own a Toyota or Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
          • VW_xyzzzz on May 26, 2014 at 8:42 pm

why need to jealous..

1)same price .. basic junk vios = preve cfe..

2)features.. preve/suprima > toyota/honda..

3)safety.. preve/suprima > toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • And quality? FC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Also u r jealous because you can’t afford to buy it

• VW_xyzzzz on May 27, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Whats up with massive recall..?

where is the quality situated..?
            pada tayarnya kah…

• AVH (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 12:30 am

A person love cars differently from others and I believe no one has a right to chellenge a person decission to buy a car that we hate…..I have a Proton Saga and a Honda City and I love them to bits after spending years with them both behind the wheel. Yes they had their flaws and so does a human, the fact that both car serves me well with memories and I do not regret my parents decission on both cars(the Honda was majorly influence by me over their choice of a Dugong Vios).

I have friends with Vios and they love it. The low NVH, the dependability and the creamy engine. Some went to extra length to decorate their cars with…..stickers(yea~). The point is, most people wont buy cars to make them happy. They buy cars as a normal transport appliance from point A to point B. Car guys can love any car and find any unique characteristic of the car and love it to bits, no matter the flaws. Thats why I love Top Gear, Initial D and Wangan Midnight, proper car show…all of them will find good things no matter how crap the car is.

I remembered I once submitted my story on my Saga for that Proton makeover contest, had some people from some advertising firm to see my car and ,so I am told , ‘was in the finalist’….dint get it unfortunately.

• I personally find the City a very boring car with the typical sweeping front and huge pillars new Hondas come with nowadays making it hard to drive. At the very least it’s a no-brainer, decently comfy ride to get A to B. I can’t imagine an Almera is much better. I’ll hold on Vios till I get my hands on a Yaris soon, should be interesting on a highway drive…

It is true car people love cars for different reasons. I say people because not only guys love cars ;) cheers.

• AVH (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 7:57 pm

The City indeed has VERY thick pillar(honestly, I still cant get used to it, espacially coming out of 80s Saga). But at the time, (where 4-speed Forte was on sale and Preve was not in the market) it was the only car with paddle-shift along with the Inspira. And after continuously owning 4 local makes, my mom insisted of something different. So the Honda was it.

I know many hated the rough SOHC engine the Honda has, but I love it. I love high revving NA engine, and the high power band meant that the power delivery is very much linear than the other cars I’ve tried or sat(Vios,Almera,Lavina,Sylphy and even the Preve). The fact that you can control the power with your rigt pedal and predict the power delivery. Thou not as good as the 3-pedal Saga, its still awesome than the Toyota/Nissan engine.

• victor tan (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Ya, we need them to finalize it fast and bring into the market ASAP. I would love to see how it will end the reign of MYVI.

• Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Yes, it’s always good to have more competition. Since 2005, Perodua had the B-segment hatchback segment all to its own.

• Motorbuttt on May 26, 2014 at 8:45 pm

buyers like Motorhead will buying P2.. if it rebadge..get what i mean..

no rebadge = perodua will close shop..

• Vader (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 1:25 pm

that old time story, nowadays the P-plater, college or university students are definitely go for Vios/City/208.

• Proton Global Junk on May 26, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Yes a very wise choice for Vios or City or Jazz.Get a Proton means that you will been look down by all the people and will even curse on you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
      • Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Not me, I would rather get a Suprima S or Prevé over some boring tin milo like the Vios or Almera. The new City is fine, but only the V spec is competitive, and it’s more than RM90k. Pug 208 is nice, but too feminine for my tastes. I wouldn’t mind the Kia Rio, but the Picanto is too small. I can’t imagine myself owning a Myvi or Viva… ever. And I already have a new Saga in the family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
        • Because you are not affordable bro, if you are affordable, are you still choosing Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
          • if im affordable im still chosing proton rather then vios or city.vios and city its a such a nice car but i know proton gsc model will even better for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • VW_xyzzzz on May 26, 2014 at 8:50 pm

the other way around.. this ML dude trying to proof his theory .. proton owners are lower income or can i say poor.. he own toyota..he think he is rich enough..

• Poor VW_xyzzzz, do you think own Toyota is consider rich for you? Toyota only entry level la.

• VW_xyzzzz on May 27, 2014 at 10:46 am

so u’re saying anyone who own proton is poor rite…?

my previous statement is still right regarding ur theory…

• No, ur wrong, my statement is : not every Toyota or Honda owner are rich, they are only smarter because not choosing Proton.

• VW_xyzzzz on May 27, 2014 at 6:21 pm

then..

whats up with the word “affordable”..??

• what VW_xyzzzz said it true, you try to using deduction reasoning to said that all proton owner are poor

• kzm fanboy on May 26, 2014 at 5:47 pm

You fool! If not of that crap excise duty, you still buy a Proton?

Hypocrite of the highest order!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • policeman on May 26, 2014 at 7:47 pm

I will still buy a Proton. They have the good sense to provide manual transmission instead of only autopussy transmission.

That’s the reason I bought Inspira. Which other sedan can you get with 1.8 manual?

I get to rub in Vios, City, Almera owners. Hey, my Malaysian car has more Japanese parts than your Japanese car, which has mostly Thai parts”

• VW_xyzzzz on May 26, 2014 at 8:54 pm

biggest hypocrite is u and the gang..

bear the excise duty / tax or whatever if u want a foreign car..? stop condemn..

• Proton Global Junk on May 26, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Only sohai like you will choose Preve and Suprima.Ugly and terrible design. 6 airbags and turbo you give me free i also dont want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
          • cakap besar

• policeman on May 26, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Don’t worry, nobody will give it to you for free.

Only a moron would buy a car based on looks. So, what car did you buy?

• whay so mad…
            probably you yourself own an tiara
            that why u really mad..
            hahaha

• toyol on May 27, 2014 at 4:55 pm

naik ex5 dream jePun..x yah nak ckp besar sgt

• policeman on May 26, 2014 at 7:39 pm

You say Vios and Almera is boring?
          You like the entertainment that Preve and Suprima provides? Breaking down in the middle of the highway at night and a pontianak comes by and entertains you? Or is the random rattling of the interior music to your ears?

• Ray (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 1:51 pm

I used to drive my mom’s 1st gen Vios when I was in college while she got herself a new car. University/college goers usually don’t get the choice to choose because they’re financially dependent on their parents. And that means we either get our parents’ used cars or a new Myvi/Viva as those in their 50s will undoubtedly perceive the Myvi as a cheap and easy to maintain car, and no, they stay very far away from Korean. Of course, richer kids get to choose and I doubt any of them would get a Proton…. Err….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Low Budget on May 26, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Thats right, most college students always get ‘hand me down’ cars unless of course they are the rich family kids.

• kzm (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Wah kayalah uni/col student nowadays regardless wat brand of car they use..during my uni days im using bus or my own 2 feet or sumtime tumpang kwn kapcai to go class…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
        • Low Budget on May 26, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Those days we still can take bus to school, since the introduction of Proton project, they screwed the bus service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 2:27 pm

u guys just remind me those old days….when i dont have money to pay uni registration fee…i get the money in the end (that time i dont get those loan) n rm50 spare for 1 n half month..nowadays student can get car so jealous

• Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Unfortunately, a car is a necessity and not a luxury for those of us in the Klang Valley.

Not many students are willing to wake up at 5am just to catch a bus / train to class, and reach home 2 or 3 hours later than their friends because of our incompetent public transport system. All that wasted time could be put to more productive use, studying. Furthermore, Malaysia is no longer safe and young kids are especially vulnerable.

For the above reasons alone, I fully understand why most parents wish to safeguard the interests of their kids by letting them drive to university instead.

• Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Yeah, I guess that’s more or less true. Myself, being given my mom’s old Saga (thankfully, it’s a manual, so it’s not too bad).

Although most parents pass down their old cars to their kids, I don’t mind if some parents choose to buy their kids a new Viva, Myvi or Saga, all three are reasonably good investments. All three cars are in the affordable RM30 to RM50k range. Owning a cheap car will teach kids some discipline, in the sense that kids will learn how to value their possessions. If kids want something a little more premium (a BMW or Merc maybe), they will have to earn it.

• memech on May 26, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Yes..I’m totally agree with you aero…in my university…some students which is come from rich family were drove like vios..city..fiesta…even evo 7 and intergra dc5 also here…sounds cool right?..lol..but I’m so thankful having my saga flx 1.6 for my ride…I am not proton’s die hard fan but at least I appreciate for what proton had made for the nation….;-)

• The students supposed to drive bentley if they are rich. DC5 and evo are for syok sendiri only.

• Proton Global Junk on May 26, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Meh..Rubbish proton.
      Rather get a Kia Rio or upcoming new Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • kzm fanboy on May 26, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Hopefully…Hopefully…Hopefully…

You still won’t buy Proton car lah. Cakap saja besar. Macai celup.

If yes, better post your photo inside Proton GSC to Paul Tan as proof of purchase loyal supporter Macai ok! Whether we laugh or cry comments on it is another story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • TomCat on May 26, 2014 at 4:18 pm

I paid for this stuff (though indirectly). You probably forgot that proton is built, thrives and survives on our money.

Which is why for other car brands, the only way you show support is by forking out your money. Instead there’re lots of ways, as a citizen, to show support to your local car manufacturer. But irrational badmouthing is definitely not one of them.

• Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:50 pm

My family has owned three Protons so far. I currently drive a Proton. My next car will also be a (nicer) Proton. When I get it, I’ll change my display photo so you can see it as proof, k ?

• kzm fanboy on May 26, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Yes show the proof of your stupidity. Keep on fooling yourself by buying Proton, Ok!! HA HA HA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
        • Proton Global Junk on May 26, 2014 at 6:14 pm

of course ok,and you will be looked down forever by me for your biggest mistake for getting a rubbish car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
          • giler and you are definitly a cyber bully

• if u don't have something nice to say. just shut up! on May 28, 2014 at 3:21 pm

lack of knowledge, definitely like this. they are not cyber bully they are just love to see people down. People like this they not even can successfully develop their own self!

• Don’t syok sendiri la. The last time you all also claimed that Sawi body is tougher and safer and can go 170km/h too. At last apa jadi?
      Proton is associated as a lousy brand, unreliable and uncool. Company wise, it’s corrupted and ailing.

No one wants to be seen in a Proton cars nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • TomCat on May 26, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Super nice. I’d say I can’t wait, but to be fair it’s taking quite too long oledi. Hope proton doesn’t screw this up , especially they have far more at stake than ever. What with these really time-consuming global tests, the new daihatsu ayla-rebadged myvi coming in, and Tun M taking over. Everyone is watching. Also this is the one time I wanna see Perodua gets challenged enough to stop with their 20-myvi variant strategy and step-up their game!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • no name on May 26, 2014 at 5:41 pm

There are lots of reason why this model launch very late…as i know so far…the engineers are trying their best to ensure this model will no facing the same problems as its predecessor (savvy)….there are trying to make this model better than the SS…i think they will be worth to wait for…the earliest date i get is on the middle of september….but this date can be change to the latest lauch at october….

• kzm (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 12:37 pm

i tot they test in bangladesh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Fortunately. . The Bangla is a perfect model of this car… no better. . Take him..

Hahaha. .

• jolly_idiot (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 12:39 pm

From sexcited now become boring. Nobody give a damn if proton to launch this model or not.

With the recent news of the M old man is haunting on proton again. Lagi no mood in seeing it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • youbodok on May 26, 2014 at 12:55 pm

If boring, dun care, no mood to see it then why did you open this page?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Jason on May 26, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Comment?

• MOre like he care enough to comment but stop short at buying… BUt still he did care.

• Youbodok again? I know you r Proton supporter, if anyone give negative comments to Proton sure you will shoot them. OK! Proton is the ‘best’ of the world! You happy now? LOL

• VW_xyzzzz on May 27, 2014 at 10:50 am

sorry for making u unhappy.. not their intention… here my like..

• VW_xyzzzz on May 27, 2014 at 6:23 pm

still not happy..

here is my another like… happy ?

• Happy to see you unhappy because I shoot Proton :)

• Who shoots first? Proton bashers issit?
          If you give nuts you get monkey, that’s not so hard to think.

• Clever boy, I never shoot proton, I’ve told you Proton is the ‘best’ of the word izzit? BTW, if proton is the best? why worldwide selling lower than Toyota and Honda?

• hvannees on May 26, 2014 at 12:53 pm

look nais! wonder how it will perform in this current situation..

• FC will be sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • You drive this car?

• How you know?

• policeman on May 26, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Based from history. Has Proton ever made a car with good fuel consumption? Stop trying to hope for the impossible. learn from the past. Have no expectations. You’ll then have no disappointments.

• Good enough with savvy 1.2l, more or less good FC like kelisa/kancil.

• Proton Saga R3 Biru on May 26, 2014 at 1:47 pm

we promise you GSC will have better FC than current BLM and on par with myvi. With the current campro based engine, we are not going to hit EEV targeted FC. But once we ditched them, we will. insyaAllah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on May 26, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Now they are talking to Honda, it is still not too late to equipped the GSC with Honda engines rather than the Campro egines.

• jaggy on May 26, 2014 at 2:14 pm

This car won’t use old campro, it is NFE. Even with CFE you dun hear loud sound when you push the pedal hard, it just goes FAST.

• Just give us Honda Brio Engine and Hit 21km/L.

2014 already baru U tell me u have ahieved Near Myvi Standard?

• Datuk on May 26, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Good luck little proton, launch before hari raya?

• policeman on May 26, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Why? Want to show your relatives that you’re poor and can’t afford a better car?

• memey on May 26, 2014 at 10:53 pm

i’m interested too

• if u don't have something nice to say. just shut up! on May 28, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Now we can see how the level of mentality do u have. very low class people!Condemning people u’ll never develop your ownself either

• Vader (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 1:29 pm

At first said launch during April, then said delay to June, now not sure..

• Painter on May 26, 2014 at 1:37 pm

You know what, as shitty as Proton may be, us Malaysian gets to see our home grown brand penned from scratch, developed in our own backyard by men and women bearing Malaysian IC, performing thousands of miles of open road test, all of which are not enjoyed by Thais, Indons and even Singaporeans.

Now, if Proton could buck up and catch up to the rest of the leading packs, they would sure win more thumbs up from fellow Malaysian.

Disclaimer: This comment is not an endorsement for more tax payer’s assistance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • But it’s so heart wrenching to spend on failed home grown brand penned from scratch, developed in our own backyard by men and women bearing Malaysian IC, performing thousands of miles of open road test, all of which are not enjoyed by Thais, Indons and even Singaporeans.

• Ray (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 1:39 pm

The spoiler and those rims do look great on the car and the first rear end shot gives quite a promising image of the final product. Regarding this replacing our much-loved Myvi as the king of the roads, I think this will not happen and Myvis will still continue to rule. Reasons?

1. A huge majority of car owners have lost faith in Proton (including me, unsurprisingly) due to Proton’s previous models that were largely problematic and full of faults, Waja, Persona etc.
    2. Perodua has models which are relatively affordable and fairly reliable in comparison. Plus, they’re comparatively more fuel efficient in general, and note that we’re always lamenting on our petrol prices.
    3. Perodua does rebadging. Proton does real engineering. However, our Japanese-oriented people here tend to trust Toyota/Daihatsu more and abhor local technology which is yet to be proven. Not implying that Proton should rebadge or whatnot, they’re doing a great job at engineering but you can’t deny the fact that our people here tend to trust proven technologies, just look at our Vios which is still selling (!!!).
    4. It’s a fact that Perodua models are severely lacking of safety features and Proton throws in more bang for the buck. But then, a lot of us are still unaware of the importance of more airbags, stability control etc. Most people only look for dual airbags, ABS and BA and dang, a top spec Myvi ticks all the boxes.

I have no idea how Proton should do to improve its brand name. Throwing in lots of specs at lower prices clearly doesn’t work, just see how many Preves/Suprimas you can see on the road compared to our new catfish Vios, which in fact is launched a lot later than the duo. Anyway, what we’re looking here is supposedly a great new B-segment model from Proton and if you market it well, put in more effort on build quality, I guess this will help a lot in boosting Proton’s declining sales figures. And perhaps car buyers should be more educated of safety features, this might help Proton to gain a bit of ground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Ray (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 1:42 pm

I meant Perdana**, not Persona.

• If compare between numbers, I think i saw many preve than new vios on the road.

• Because many ppl not affordable to buy vios la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Motorbuttt on May 26, 2014 at 11:20 pm

many people cannot afford vios..??

how come.. i thought (j)unk vios is no 1 selling car for toyota..

• Ray (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Unfortunately, that’s not the case here in Penang. In my neighborhood, which has about 120 houses, you can find about 6-7 new Vios and not even a single Preve. And that’s the same when you go out on the streets. And don’t even mention the Suprima, spotting one is like finding a panda in Malaysia’s rainforests.

• Proton Global Junk on May 26, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Yes very hard to see a Preve and Suprima around PG.Even today I spotted more new City and Vios than those Protong crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • Motorhead (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Yeah.. that’s what Motorhead trying to say.. they brag about best equipped car.. Superma S.. but still ppl buy the ill equipped Saga SV.. ahh.. not coffin meh??

My fingers is enough to count Superma S otr..

Motorhead approved you all.. good job.

• You saw old vios not new one,
            get yourself spectacles your eyes are too old to see things correctly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • Proton Global Junk on May 26, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Preve more than Vios??
          LOL ONI in your dreams hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • rickyll (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 5:39 pm

I agreed with most of what you’ve written. I too eagerly waiting for the launch of this GSC of Proton. One thing that keeps me thinking about this car is “Is Proton going to have an all new engine for it?” If it’s still a “Campro” then I would say Sorrylah! It has been tested quite extensively in both foreign land and locally, so launch it quickly. Remember the case of Savvy, Proton withheld its launching for too long. Only after Perodua had launched the Myvi and was well received, Proton started to panic and I could still remember the Savvy advertisement showing a man took a peep on the car and said “Luckily, I didn’t book the other car, this is the car for me or something like that. Timing in commercial world is very important, if you really have a good staff why wait unless those in Proton get the trill out of teasing the public.

• Maseratits on May 26, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Hopefully the fuel economy is good!

• kzm fanboy on May 26, 2014 at 5:21 pm

I think I know why Proton don’t bring Mitsubishi Mirage as comparison car mule.

If GSC poor sales by Perodua Ayla rebadge, the plan B is to rebadge Mirage.

True or not my conspiracy theory? WA KA KA KA KA

• Anonymous Coward on May 26, 2014 at 1:59 pm

There’s an interesting black spot on the driver-side door handle; if you look at previous spyshot, the one with the rear spoiler also has this black spot while the variant without spoiler does not.

Does this mean Premium spec GSC will have smart keyless entry?

• start-a-fight on May 26, 2014 at 2:29 pm

pst.. no more guessing needed. the POLO is indeed belong to Proton.

India could be the destination for this type of car. if only they had a diesel engine which is the choice in india.

• Steve Jobs on May 26, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Bangla said “so u banggala”

• Excited! the back bumper doesn’t seem right.. I think its should have curve… everyone love curve ;)

• hondai on May 26, 2014 at 3:52 pm

better called proton panda

• unknown on May 26, 2014 at 4:06 pm

n the more delay proton have to launched this, the more bullshit comment proton have to deal with.. come on proton faster lahh..

• Another worse car of the year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Proton Global Junk on May 26, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Any Proton will be very bad and terrible car.
      One word:Junk!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • You mean vios is better? Nah, it’s worse, overated overpriced underspecced ancient engine and gearbox car.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Nah, that spot is already taken by Toyota or Perodua.

• This car special design for Bangla? Looks like only Bangla like it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • old dog on May 26, 2014 at 5:11 pm

See a big PERDANA logo in the old Accord model in a newly register car W xxxx number (forget the last alphabet), so this so call global small car will have the Savvy/Tiara faith …

Protong Perdana/Accordd, CRV, City, coming soon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • willywonka on May 26, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Seen here, seen there..when to release????? aaarghhhhh

• Albert Lee on May 26, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Protong, it is too late.It is just to make up for some lost sales volume cos the Suprimas/Preves not moving well in terms of sales.
    I believe the Saga SV (gross profit per unit less than RM500,remember)and Persona SV are selling due to approaching Raya.
    Honda City is fast eating into the 60-80K sales segment of Proton,not forgetting VIOs and Almeras.
    Next month,Perodua is selling new model below MYvi.Tell us,Protong ,aren’t you living on borrowed time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Nieko on May 26, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Proton ISIS :Conservative But Extremely generous in features
    Volkswagen POLO: also Conservative But Very well engineered (but Sometimes its Prone to its Infamous DSG failures but who cares )
    Honda BRIO :Funky& Edgy but the Effluent ones would find it ugly or weird
    Ford FIESTA :Hot & Sexy But Some find it rather low in Quality according to some reviewer….
    Kia RIO & PICANTO :The Two sexy Sisters that comes fully loaded in specs really impressed
    Lastly Perodua MYVI :Good In Sales and that’s just about it really. the myvi just an overpriced JepoMalaya Bitch …Just cant stand this car….

So guys these are are my views on some cars in our market …..it doesn’t mean iam Right so chill……..

• Albert Levis on May 26, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Proton car actually is a good and honest car, it became victim of some ungrateful ppl that spread lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 7:39 am

History does not lie…

• Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 10:36 am

but people like motorhead will manipulate it for various reason …

he always try to exaggerate things…making them look real..

• policeman on May 26, 2014 at 7:56 pm

They are. They have been. They will continue to live on borrowed time. Outlive you.

• This Global Small Car really small

• Motorhead (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Another Tiara & Savvy wannabe. . Please la.. I beg you.. beli la.. I love to see you waste 39K-40K for a car.. I don’t care. It’s your money anyway. . Not my beloved money. .

Nanti kata tak patriotic pulak..

Hahaha. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • motorbart on May 26, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Loser + afraid to fight = motorhead

• Motorbuttt on May 26, 2014 at 9:10 pm

now only motorhead think…,

not ur money ..
      so u’re enjoying ur coffin.. they are enjoying their proton.., now we come to an agreement..

u got my 1 like .. enjoy it..,okay..

• Say Who? on Jun 07, 2014 at 2:52 am

boring la… Mr Motorhead… always ulang2 ayat sama… bosan… ada ayat baru tak?

• skyfall on May 26, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Dari zaman bujang sampai anak dah umur setahun kete ni tak habis2 testing

• Motorbuttt on May 26, 2014 at 11:27 pm

clarify ur statement.. how many decades u married already… or is it a year

• Motorhead (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Please la launch GSC faster.. cannot wait to see people fall into financial trap again.. like Tiaras.. or Genhantu.. siapa nmpk Gen 2 on the road? ?

Hahaha. . Mari beli.. mari jatuh miskin..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • motorbart on May 26, 2014 at 10:57 pm

The butthurt level is very high, lol.
      This car times better than your junks.
      Look at the interior, it’s new design unlike old cheap looking vios/myvi’s.

• Motorbuttt on May 26, 2014 at 10:58 pm

why rush.. those GSC will smoke u eventually one day..be patience..

anyway unlike seri petaling.. myvi city…
      those place is motorhead coconut shell..no proton..
      so wait..and wait.. until butthurt already cannot count.. my advice..

duduk diam diam ..if not ur butt getting hurt more than he already is..

• Justin on May 26, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Hope the sales of this new gsc model will be good. And btw, many college and uni students do use Proton…! Mainly Persona and Saga. Not oni Myvi. Haha.

• Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 7:21 am

myvi not for kids or student

no vsc.. it meant for pure driver like motorhead..

• faster la proton! wanna buy car for my wife lorr.. i still hv faith in proton.. my saga almost 4 yrs, no problem at all, very tahan. if drive not more than 100km/h, fuel consumption is ok. so don’t drive fast with saga :)

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 7:37 am

Yeah beli beli.. I suka tgk your car rot at junk yard like Tiaras or Savvy… wait2.. kat junk yard pon xde la..otr pon xde.. maner ye?

Tgk at used car shop.. ada kedai nak ke?

Haha… go ahead.. I sokong.. bagus..

• Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 9:10 am

i sokong too..

motorhead is piss of not seeing this GSC yet..
        already no tiara ..no savvy..no gen 2..on the road of Seri Petaling is enough making his butt hurt waiting..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 9:37 am

Me.. piss off?? No lah..

Betul ni x sabar nak tggu tengok ppl fall into financial trap ..

Again. . And again. . And again… again lagi..

Hahaha. ..

• Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 10:14 am

dont denied it..

u said so.. tired of waiting ..cannot counting la..

ur butt get hurt for waiting till effect ur buttbrain is it..so u forget the word u uttered..?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 10:32 am

Ahh.. poor Malaysian. .

Become experiment victims. . To experimental products. .

Iswara.. Juara.. Tiara.. Waja.. Savvy… now this..

Good job P1.. keep it up…keep on experimenting. . Keep fight lah..

Keep on surviving. . Barely…

Hahaha. .

At the end I enjoy reading P1 customer complaints. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 1:02 pm

ahh.. poor motorhead..sucked by P2

P2 doesn’t do experiments…

1)they did rebadge..
      2)they did many facelift…

count that.. their car should be far more cheaper than any of proton.. since they did almost nothing..

renung renungkan…

• if u don't have something nice to say. just shut up! on May 28, 2014 at 3:34 pm

MOTOR-HEAD you’re sick. The GSC still haven’t launch yet, u already started barking here and there. So who is stupid now? Do u have a track record, history or experience driving the GSC? Just wait n see while shut ur mouth up!!

• Pengguna Bijak on May 27, 2014 at 10:42 am

Proton:
    “I hope people make the rational decision [when buying their cars], because safety for the family is most important, and that should never be compromised.”

Pengguna Bijak:
    “Rational people will never buy Proton.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 11:39 am

Thumbs up…

• Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 12:50 pm

cute la motorhead..thumbs up..,
        one more time..now with a troll face

btw..
        tell us what is the most rational reason buying those P2 cars…

check this..
        http://nurulhidayatulmarjan.blogspot.com/2011/09/amaran-untuk-pengguna-kereta-perodua.html

• if u don't have something nice to say. just shut up! on May 28, 2014 at 4:17 pm

I can’t believe when i asked my friend what is ur main concern when u want to buy a car.

He says:
      1)Design
      2)Quality
      3)Safety

How on earth, he can think that way? Life is nothing? how can he put safety and security at no 3???

Pity him

i salute Proton for their effort to make a car with high safety.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Pengguna & rakyat deserve better cars.. yes.. but then.. they ve to pay hefty taxes on CKD or CBU.. than talk kok about safety. . Whereas. . At the cost of the taxes people can get best equipped cars.. directly.. at market values. .

Imagine. .for instance new Mazda 3 CBU.. Cost almost double. . Whereas can sell more or less than Suprima S?

Then a bunch of idiots want to talk on safety?

Fight? Lift the protection. . & fight lah..

• Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 4:23 pm

u’re hypocrite.. pengguna &rakyat deserve a better car..
      i want to ask u …
      with ur 6K pay…why on earth u buying those myvi and tin vios.. u had better option..deserve not for u only but the family too..
      change those mentality first…
      kereta murah xde tax pun.. but choose underspec cheap junk car…what for..

• Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 4:21 pm

u’re hypocrite.. pengguna &rakyat deserve a better car..

i want to ask u …
    with ur 6K pay…why on earth u buying those myvi and tin vios.. u had better option..deserve not for u only but the family too..

change those mentality first…
    kereta murah xde tax pun.. but choose underspec cheap junk car…what for..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Hypocrite apanye bodoo.. Murah? Saga SV tu high spec ke?

Why I bot Myvis?

Because it’s my preference & suit my work & hobbies.. which a sedan can’t support.. I like compact cars but I also need max cargo.. compare to Jazz.. seats down.. Myvi win.. minus 20-30k excise duty at that time..Still essential parst in Myvis are Daihatsu’s.. loads of parts everywhere. . I can drive to Thailand. . Or Indonesia. . Or Japan.. I can service my Myvi aka Passa all over the world.. which Potong never make it outside of the country. Same apply to Vios.. superb FC.. did 650km in one tank.. which never can be achieved in any ptong shit.

Yes I deserve a better car & ve money for it.. but Im not planning to sell any of my cars.. Unfortunately. . Now im stay in my apartment. . Only ve one parking. . Already paying for another parking.. one myvi at hometown.. so I keeping my money where they can grow for time being. .

2nd house is my weekend house. . No plan to move yet.

It that clear moronbutt?

• Motorbuttt on May 27, 2014 at 6:40 pm

first said myvi is a workhorse..
        now suit hobby..? another lie after another..

when did i made statement those saga sv is high spec..

and why do u want to service ur passo all around the world?? enough if the spare parts available in malaysia.. or else u want to change ur nationality..
        kerja gila hanya dilakukan orang gila shj..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Lie or not you are too dumb to understand anyway…. why I should tell u what I want to do with my cars? Bodo?

My life goes on as usual. . Having what I have. It doesn’t change anything. .

That’s why u didn’t get it.. load of parts not like what Protong sampah keep doing..Discontinue model & abandon the customers.. keep replacing models..no continuity in support.

Meanwhile even Kancil still roam the road with continue support from P1.. aka share with Daihatsu.. even P2 is dead.. I believe Kancil will be still on the road for next 10 years. . & We are talking newer model such as Myvi… it ll stay relevant next 10 years..

More than enough money for anything in that time.

Enough time for P1 to die or change or dissolve or whatever lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • motorbart on May 27, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Put the pics here or you are just talked kok

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Why not u tell me what u ve unless u talk kok..

Motorhead is always motorhead since 2006.

Look at ur username. . Cowards. Butt & Bart..

• Motorbuttt on May 28, 2014 at 10:50 am

Why we have to bragging for what we have..?

since u have been bragging all around paultan what u had .. so it is better if u come up with ur evidence..

yang banyaknya.. orang yang berko-kok banyak, buatnya sikit, canangnya lebih..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 6:27 pm

For once & last..

You & your bunch of idiots ve no credit to say or decide which safe or not for us.. cars are just another mode of transportation. .

There are ppl walk & ride bicycles to work.. can I say not safe? Tell that to those earn more than me, ride kachai to work… you are idiots to judge that.. not all are Paul wannabe like u.. . May u found death soon as what u pray for me.. how safe is safe anyway? Ppl travel by bus.. they died anyway..

How fast you can drive anyway? It’s also about your driving style…

That’s the problem with you. Syok sendiri. . Never understand the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • motorbart on May 27, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Not your driving style, you cannot control others. It just takes one stupid driver to make fatal collision happens.

• TomCat on May 28, 2014 at 9:40 am

For once & last..? Mengalah dah..? Lol chillax la bro, just healthy debate :)

But seriously, I couldn’t get your logic. They seem to contradict each other :/

• Anonymous Coward on May 28, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Safety standards is not about you; it’s not about you personally or poor people or whatever.

It’s about making sure that cars of ANY make sold here are equipped with safety equipment that should be expected of them. These are not new things. This is not about control or making things more pricy. This is about the potential to save lives through passive technology. We’re letting car manufacturers reap obscene profits by letting them omit these features. You and I both know that many cars are priced with huge profit margins while still offering subpar equipment.

Accidents are called accidents because they are not intended to occur. They can be the result of your driving style or someone else’s or weather.

• pondan on May 27, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Better wait and test then buy 1 year later after launch.. past experience with preve and saga blm… lots of problem jusy for being pioneer.

Also, 1 year later, salesman will offer big discount. Lesson learned from preve..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 11:12 pm

That their problems. . No continuity. In another words.. financial traps..

• Motorbuttt on May 28, 2014 at 11:33 am

unlike u..motorhead

no one will live in the same coffin for the rest of his/her life.. so got continuation or not ..,it is up to the buyers themselves.. to decide..,

perodua set a trap in a different way.. but no matter how different.. it is still a trap..

x semua manis itu manis..dihujung lidah.. manis..,dihujung tekak.. pahit..,

• abdullah ahmad on May 28, 2014 at 9:15 am

This potong will sure fail if potong use european engine. Look at tiara and svvvy. This car is meant for lower income group. So if sparre parts is expensive and hard to get. Good bye la potong.

• Opendoorpaytoll on May 28, 2014 at 11:27 am

Proton make cars for Crony vendors, not for rakyat.

That’s why it keep on failing even after 30 years.

Nanti tidak laku lots of unsold stocks, sure give offer “Buy One, Free One” Xtravaganza 2015 next year.

• vengaB on May 28, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Lifetime power window warranty, name me other brands that give such thing. Oh and if it’s for cronies only, dun provide any ABS,EBD, BA, ESC or airbags in any proton cars. It’s that simple and can sell much cheaper.

• PROTONOWNER on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Its fun reading people bashing proton over and over again.
    But these bashing does help me on choosing the right car for me and my wife.

Now, I’ve been a Saga 1.3 FLX owner for 3 years and Alhamdulillah my Saga does not make any problems yet and I hope it wont.

My wife’s family I can say a very-very Toyota-prone users. While thinking of getting a new car for my wife, they keep on suggesting Vios. But hey, she’s my wife, of course I will influence her on getting the new Suprima S.

Yet, my racun succeeded and we get a new Suprima S early this year.

Comment on Suprima S Premium:

The Good:
    1. Performance wise, this Suprima S is very powerful at 2k rpm I can feel the power.
    2. FC is quite okay and not as ridiculously very high as most of the proton basher claimed here.
    RM90 Ron95 for full tank. Half tank used from Port Klang to Johor Bahru (~330km @ 120-140km/h)
    3. The GPS seems to be easier to operate to compare with my father in law Camry 2.0g 2014 model.
    4. Handling is superb, I can make a hard turn one-handed. Once, I droved 190km/h, use autocruise, and the handling still intact and no gegar2 here and there.
    5. The back camera comes with indicator/ruler for you to accurately measure the distance from any object behind.
    6. Back and front sensor works well.
    7. Auto wiper does great job while heavy rain.

The Bad:
    1. After 2days of using it, I realized the lock of the passengers backseat was not functioning. Resulting in the seat fall down. Waited 1 month but worth it bcoz the replaced new seat. lol

2. Wiring defects after 1month using it. It detects my passenger’s door on driver’s side as open even though it was closed tightly. Causing my Suprima S “beep, beep, beep” while moving. lol. Annoyingly but waited 1week, replaced with new wiring set. They changed all wiring on driver’s side.

3. Last week, open up my infotainment system i.e radio/gps/lcd touch screen sent to Penang for warranty claim. The GPS does not detect where the hell it is located. Keep on showing Jalan Andaman, KLCC even though I am at Johor at that time. lol. They said the latest would be a month.

Now, my wife is driving Suprima S without any infotainment system and she said its fine as long as she can get her GPS up and running.

Sometimes I feel is it wrong for me to choose suprima s instead of vios/city. But deep down, I feel proud driving a Malaysian Made car.

Not to said that I am patriotic, but I really like the Proton cars over foreign-made simply bcoz I wanted to try local engineering.

I do bash proton, send e-mails to them for them to fix my Suprima S, but it merely for the improvement purposes.

For the better proton in the future.

Just a Proud Proton User (^_^)

• Bataman on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Nice sharing. But i am quiet dissapointed by so many problems as mentioned in your Suprima. Btw,Campro engine does sucks lots of fuel…comparing Highway FC is pointless as all cars can get good FC on highway…it’s the city jam travelling which is killing which is what most city(as in KL/PJ) folks do daily.

I owned an Inspira btw…3 years+…hardly any problems at all, except for the driver’s power window switch..but it seems to fixed itself recently…dunno why…LOL. IMO, best car Proton ever made….(who cares if it’s rebadge…Mawi is best selling junk car in Malaysia after all).

IMO, it’s even better than the Lancer as it has better handling and comfort for a family car(softer suspension setup) and improved CVT gearbox cooling thanks to lessons learnt from the Lancer. :D

• If all of us have a mentality like Korean, i believe Proton will progress as what we can see in Kia/Hyundai. It wont help if keep bashing and politicising our own national car maker. Guess Korean will only laugh at us!

• My mum drives a 2012 Preve turbo and my dad a 2013 Preve turbo. Both cars have no problem. Safety features are second to none for cars less than RM 120,000 and ride and handling is the best.

• why la on Jun 16, 2014 at 8:38 pm

seen here and there..when to launch? The most seen car in malaysia with the como..camon laaaaa..