Mercedes-Benz E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid shows what diesel hybrid can do – Africa-UK on one tank

mercedes-benz-e300-bluetec-hybrid-0002

How many km can a Mercedes-Benz E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid do on a single fuel tank? The answer is apparently 1,968 km, as one British journalist proved recently.

Andrew Frankel averaged a fuel consumption of 3.1 litres per 100 km on his journey from Africa to UK, and he completed his journey with a remaining range of 160 km on the on-board computer, which indicated a maximum range of 2,129 km per tank of diesel.

Of course, this particular E-Class is fitted with a larger 80 litre fuel tank, which is a 100 pound cost option in the UK. The diesel tank fuels a 204 horsepower 2.1 litre four cylinder diesel engine which is paired with a 27 horsepower electric motor sandwiched between the engine and the automatic transmission.

There are currently no diesel hybrid passenger cars on sale in Malaysia. Although we have seen diesel hybrid versions of the Peugeot 508, Peugeot 3008 and Citroen DS5 at JPJ Putrajaya before this, they’ve yet to make their way to showrooms for the common motorist to purchase.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow if this is in Malaysia average user only need to refuel once a month.

CKD this diesel hybrid for tax exemption and make Euro-5 diesel available country wide

= dreams come true.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
    • gutierrez on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:56 pm

hopefully this technology could reach the avg consumer a.s.a.p. this is just a marvel in a automotive industry! meanwhile my hilux a.k.a. the fuel sipper averages 13.5km/l in full town use.(LOL). DEAR CARMAKERS, PLEASE IMPLEMENT THIS TECHNOLOGY TO YOUR CARS..

• Vader (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 7:45 am

But i think we can keep on dreaming..
      Even the Euro-3 standard which implemented since year 2000 (14 years already) not able to make it, dont even hope for Euro-5.

• Because why? Because gahmen need to sell better valuable fuel to foreigners, and give rakyat didahulukan crappier fuel.

• Luthor on Jul 01, 2014 at 9:40 am

Proton cakap jangan. Wait for them to develop diesel engine first OK.

• pondan on Jun 30, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Proton hinders car development by having gov to suppress car advancement while selling dildo vibrator like engine as advance crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 14
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 30, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Sure it is Proton? When ASEAN NCAP decided to ignore side impact test results, despite being tested, the ones to benefit were Toyota, Honda, Perodua. Proton would have been the one to benefit from rating side impacts, and they did in fact complain IIRC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • pondan on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Ya ya… 5 stars ancap vibrating dildo. ..

**can’t even understand the meaning of hinderance in car advancement, still about those 3rd world car models. That’s the success of proton to educate ppl with the sight of only 2 feets away. Stupid!**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:00 am

Don’t forget that the other brands/distributors have strong ties to the government too, especially the Japanese brands.

Look at the engines Toyota uses. The Yaris comes with 1.0 and 1.33 engines that are much more modern than what is used in the Vios and ASEAN Yaris. Why?

• Eco Guy on Jun 30, 2014 at 6:33 pm

80L tank huh…I bet a Petrol head Prius can do about the same thing too if fitted with 80L tank..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 50
    • Yup, i got opportunity to ride on my sister Prius from north to south border with less than a tank (~32L with total distance close to 800km). However as compare to this E, trust the whole riding quality is totally diiferent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • rempit on Jul 01, 2014 at 2:21 am

I bet my kapcai also can do about the same thing too if fitted with 80L tank.

What a moron…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 7:39 am

But you need to considere the car weight and engine performance too compare the E-Class and Prius.

• Merc Guy on Jun 30, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Wow… Technology has definitely progressed. I have a 1997 Mecedes Benz E280 with an 80L fuel tank. The most I can last is a week and a half in city driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Maxxon on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Got say pick no say….

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:03 am

Time is the by far worst way of talking about fuel consumption. How on earth are we supposed to know what 10 days of city driving means?! Maybe you’re a taxi driver, doing 200 km of city driving every day. Then that would be extremely low fuel consumption. Maybe you drive 2 km a day. Then that would be extremely high FC.

Just say how many km… or better yet calculate the km/l or l/100km.

• tawil on Jun 30, 2014 at 6:56 pm

I thought the journey start from south africa.. Just a marketing gimmick that use africa continent.. Actually its start from nothern tip of africa bordered with Spain..

• Duh.. If you think the driving distance between South Africa and the United Kingdom is about 2000 km’s, you might as well go back to school.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:05 am

It is still a very long distance. To cross the whole African continent (which doesn’t have streets all the way) on one tank the car would have to be powered by a nuclear reactor.

• Yours Faithfully ( YF ) on Jun 30, 2014 at 7:07 pm

This will never come to Malaysia until our diesel changes to the Euro4 standard. Perhaps this car will only be available in Johor.

• What is the point of having in Johor Only ? So they only drive in JB City? what if they drive to KL or further North, where will they go for Euro 4 Diesel ? Either-way, the diesel is meant for the lorries and the “luxury cars” from our neighbour country ! So much for a developing nation ! ~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • heybadigol on Jun 30, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Amazing fuel consumption for what is a luxury car. Mind you, this is not a custom made hybrid car like a Prius, but a luxury car with a hybrid powerplant. Did Mr Frankel had to do any hypermiling (coasting, not braking for corners, drafting behind lorries, etc) or was it driven like a normal sane person would do?

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jun 30, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Oppss…. Euro 5 diesel.

• Simon Hoh on Jun 30, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Would love to have this once our Gov implement Euro 5 compliant diesel at pumps.

• Citroen C4 is using diesel hybrid in m’sia for ur info…

• Sorry i mean citroen c4 grand picasso

• Joker on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:49 am

Wow.. this could rival PSA’s new e-HDCi turbo hybrid diesel FC.. very very close indeed..

• Denaihati on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:19 pm

About 2.6 time Perlis to JB, very impressive. of course this model will not come here.