DRIVEN: Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost – jack of all trades?

Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost 27

When the Ford Fiesta was launched in Malaysia in 2010, the local B-segment hatchback market was still relatively quiet. Back then, its only real rivals were the less well-equipped Mazda2 (the outgoing model) and previous-gen Suzuki Swift – the cheapest Honda Jazz and Volkswagen Polo were still north of RM100k and there were no tax-free hybrids to steal the little Ford’s lunch money. Smitten by the reasonable price, attractive Euro styling and sharp handling, buyers flocked to the Fiesta in droves.

What a difference four years make. In the interim, the duty-exempt CBU B-segment hybrids have come and gone, the Honda Jazz and Volkswagen Polo are both now locally-assembled and priced squarely to compete with the Fiesta, and the Peugeot 208 and cheaper models such as the Mitsubishi Mirage have also joined the party.

Hoping to battle the influx of new rivals, Ford has introduced an EcoBoost variant for the facelifted Fiesta, fitted with a tiny 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine. Despite the considerably smaller motor, the price has gone up by over RM9.3k over the 1.5 Sport, now sitting at RM93,888. Has the company gone too far down the downsizing route, or will the newfangled mill make the Fiesta appealing again?

Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost 41

The Mark 6 Ford Fiesta (codename B299) remains fresh-faced six years after its debut at the 2008 Geneva Motor Show. All sharp lines and thrusting shapes in a market full of rounded forms and soft edges, it was a product of Ford’s then-new Kinetic design language and doesn’t feel dated, especially considering its age.

A facelift grafted two years ago, which made its debut at a Ford Go Further event in Amsterdam, gave the little tyke a large Aston Martin-esque chrome grille that perhaps feels a bit contrived for such a small car, but it did at least update the car’s styling to fit with the extroverted front fascias of newer competitors.

The EcoBoost model has been fitted with a bodykit with LED daytime running lights, as well as a set of black-and-grey graphics. Some may like the look these additions give the Fiesta, but this writer at least feels that they cheapen the car’s aesthetic. The cooking model’s design, after all, is already a rather sporty design, and there’s no need to jazz it up unnecessarily.

The interior, at least, feels well-sorted. The dashboard may appear to feature a riot of swooshes and a disarray of buttons at first, but actually everything falls naturally at hand and works in a logical manner.

The controls for Ford’s SYNC infotainment system are clearly laid out – mode buttons (mirrored by the illuminated symbols next to the display) on the left, a directional pad and volume control in the middle, a numerical keypad on the right and four selection keys at the bottom. Browsing through menus is therefore a fast and fuss-free experience, like a Nokia from days past.

The blue monochrome screen may look anachronic next to the large colour touchscreen of the new Honda Jazz, but the system is as fully-featured as you’d like, and the easy-to-use voice control system (blissfully) works with any phone no matter what the operating system, unlike its Japanese competitor.

Build quality is about average for the segment, but the plastics do have some interesting textures moulded into them, the gloss black and metallic-look trim the facelift brought adding some newfound class to the Fiesta and the part-leather, part-quilted fabric seats look great and offer excellent support.

Only space disappoints slightly, the new Jazz having moved the game on considerably. Rear head- and legroom in particular feels a little confined coming from the Honda (and the view out is restricted by the sharply-rising beltline), while the boot is noticeably smaller. The cabin is still comfortable, however, and entirely useable, so if you’re in no need of so much real estate you won’t feel so shortchanged.

A major perk specifying the EcoBoost brings is the inclusion of the Safety Pack, which includes seven airbags (dual front, dual side, curtain and driver’s knee) as opposed to the two in the 1.5 litre Sport and Titanium. These puts this particular Fiesta back to the specification that won it a five-star Euro NCAP rating, while stability control that is present in the rest of the range continues to be offered here.

Peel back the skin and you’ll find the bones of an ordinary supermini. Sharing the same underpinnings as the previous-generation Mazda2, the Fiesta features suspension that’s par for the course, with MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam setup at the rear.

The real gem sits in the engine bay under a mess of wires – a turbocharged and direct-injected EcoBoost three-cylinder 1.0 litre engine. Displacing a scant 998 cc (the block fits on an A4 sheet of paper), it nevertheless produces a respectable 123 hp at 6,000 rpm and an impressive 170 Nm at 1,700 rpm. As with the rest of the range, the EcoBoost is paired with a six-speed PowerShift dual clutch transmission for our market (a five-speed manual variant is available in Australia).

Ford has expanded considerable effort to make its tiny mill smoother, more efficient and more responsive than a typical three-pot. The flywheel, for example, has been made deliberately unbalanced to offset the natural vibrations caused by such a piston count without resorting to heavy and expensive balancer shafts.

Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost 25

The exhaust manifold is moulded into the cylinder head for better efficiency, while a cast iron block reduces warm up times by as much as 50% compared to an aluminium unit. The timing belt is also immersed in oil to reduce noise and improve efficiency.

The result? Despite the decent output, the Fiesta EcoBoost has a claimed combined fuel consumption figure of just 5.3 litres per 100 km. It’s no surprise then, that the engine has just bagged its third consecutive International Engine of the Year award.

Be in no doubt, this is a right corker of an engine, pulling the Fiesta willingly from low down all the way to the higher reaches of the rev range. The car feels much faster than its claimed 9.4-second 0-100 km/h time would lead you to believe, and, slight grumble at idle aside, it remains uncannily smooth all the way. Great soundtrack, too – a nice, rorty, hard-edged growl that really eggs you on.

Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost 55

It’s not all rosy, however, as the PowerShift does let things down ever so slightly. Pin the throttle and there’s a little hesitation as the gearbox fumbles to snatch a lower gear, before the car shoots forward under a surge of torque. This exacerbates the slight turbo lag the engine has at very low revs and makes driving the EcoBoost a bit more hectic than it arguably should be.

Eventually, you do learn to build a rhythm with the powertrain, to anticipate the downshift (and the accompanying burst of torque) that will come. In any case, there are no problems with the upshifts themselves, which are swift and smooth, making exploiting the engine a real joy. It’s a shame, then, that there’s no way to shift gears manually other than the rather unintuitive rocker switch on the gearknob.

Flicking the steering wheel reveals a rack that, being electrically-assisted, is devoid of much feedback. It is, however, quick and accurate, and crucially it doesn’t get in the way of ringing the Fiesta by the scruff of its neck at all.

DRIVEN: Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost – jack of all trades?

Which is just as well, because the chassis is an absolute peach. It feels taut through the corners, with a iron-clad control over body movements and remarkably little roll. There’s a playful streak running through the car, with the line of attack adjustable using the throttle, but it doesn’t feel unpredictable or unruly. The brakes, despite utilising rear drums, are strong and dependable, no doubt helped by the lightweight engine.

Yet, ease off the pace and you’ll find that the Fiesta settles down nicely, with a decent pliancy over bumps – Ford has to be commended here for making a conventionally-suspended car handle well without jarring the occupants inside. The triple remains hushed on the highways, too, as does road and wind noise.

Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost 54

The Ford Fiesta has always been one of the star performers in its class. Yes, it isn’t the most spacious, the transmission isn’t the most responsive, it’s not the most comfortable and, if the first drive in the new Mazda2 is any indication, it might not have the sharpest handling title all to itself much longer. But it plays the consummate all-rounder with aplomb, doing very little wrong and almost everything very well.

The inclusion of the 1.0 EcoBoost motor only adds to its appeal, the perky, zesty yet fuel-sipping mill matched perfectly to a nimble, dynamic yet supple chassis. Coupled to the added safety features, the verdict is clear – if you’re absolutely dead set on buying a Fiesta (and you don’t mind swallowing the considerable premium over the other models), this is certainly the one to get.

Also read our Thai drive report on the Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost, and compare how the Fiesta shapes up against its segment competitors at Carbase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hvannees on Sep 19, 2014 at 8:43 pm

would love all of this car if it get reliable gearbox. Pity to see my collegues fiesta. Very good in handling. Seat very comfort but gearbox have problem..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
    • Well, my brother has just received a “Customer satisfaction program 14M01 component extended warranty” letter which extended the Powershift DCT warranty to 5yrs or 160,000km.
      Even the DCT might not be perfect, yet Ford is sincerely addressing the issue.
      To have the fun to drive Powershift DCT on top of the best handling car in its’ class, 5yrs warranty is fair enough.
      My brother’s Fiesta is clocking 40k mileage, so far so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • Crampy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
        • EnergyAnalyst on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Small inside could be still OK for many.

Yesterday’s news are the one that bother us.
          One about production halt for Fiesta in Europe at their by biggest plant there
          secondly, Fiesta is being investigated for faulty door…news from USA

• Smart Rakyat on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:24 am

Really stupid to pay RM93K for dodgy gearbox. Ford better give Lifetime Warranty unlimited mileage for the gearbox.

Easily can buy 2 units Perodua Axia Advance Auto with that money. Also got DVD touch screen, quiet cabin, equally fuel efficient and far lower servicing costs.

Damn you Ford Sime Darby. Even imported from Thailand zero import duty AFTA also dare to put RM93K price. Pure bullshit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 53
        • bx800 on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:29 am

Axia no power, with 1.0l engine if you want to overtake lorry it’ll takes ages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
          • Fredo on Sep 22, 2014 at 7:56 am

errr… this is bolehland… it wont be long till u can see a turbo version of Axia on our streets LOL..
            this BOT thingy cost only a small fraction of this Fiesta’s price tag hihi

• 730iL on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:31 am

People nowadays prefer turbo or CVT. You can reach max torque much faster, driving also more relaxing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:35 am

who wanna buy vibrate engine n underpower?? indonesian ppl experienced it before

dont try hoding behind japan daihatsu toyoylya bla bla name laa

rakyat smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 1:58 pm

If u wanna know UK 1.0L ecoboost with 125PS is price GBP14995 (bout RM79k) with discount n without added accessories..Ecoboost is expensive compare to other fiesta engine.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:43 pm

That argument is nonsense. Buying 2 Axia’s don’t give you anything near the equivalent of what a Fiesta offers…even without the turbocharger.

I’ve test driven and test rode it. Behind the wheel, the acceleration from standstill feels very hesitant unless you show no mercy to the accelerator pedal. Must be due to Eco tuning.

The second thing you (and especially your rear passengers) will notice are the vibrations on the move. I felt quite considerable minute road vibrations while sitting in the rear. A friend who was sitting in the rear noted the same thing. We think it’s the suspension setting. That coupled with the new car smell made me a bit nauseous (I am prone to motion sickness).

Another set of vibrations become particularly pronounced when you slow down to bumper to bumper traffic speeds around 1-10km/h but I this has more to do with the drivetrain than the suspension. The whole car just vibrates and still persists to vibrate when you’ve come to a complete stop while engaged in D. Swapping to N will stop the vibrations.

Other than that, body roll is present but contained. It had less body roll than Mitsu Mirage and Attrage but these 2 cars don’t really have the same vibration problem. The autobox’s shift was quite good. It’s rather smooth in sedate driving but you’ll feel it if you’re accelerating a bit harder when it shifts.

In the end, we just came to the conclusion that it’s simply an economical city car with a pretty practical cabin that many Malaysians will be able to afford. Nothing more.

So please, don’t compare this with the Fiesta…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:44 pm

I think I failed to mention that I was testing out the Axia. Sorry bout that.

• cosmo on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:58 am

get a Suzuki Swift Sport then… since both are of the same category… but Swift sport come with a 7000rpm NA engine with equivalent output but definitely more fun… and the unbelievable Japanese reliability… there u got the answer.. and totally CBU Japan unit…

• oh no on Sep 01, 2018 at 5:25 pm

Tak best serupa myvi jerk

• M/T is KING on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:23 am

U use turbo cars but prefer A/t pondan gearbox? It’s like outside pretending like a man but your hearts inside like bloom flowers. Hah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • bleukaizen on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:28 am

talk kok larr, like u gonna even get axia, puiii

• Dua Roda Sahaja on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:05 pm

pls elaborate and educate us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • riz (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 8:43 pm

World best engine stand for something right…
    This car very fun to drive,nice looks,
    but its size too small for that price, agree ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Sep 19, 2014 at 10:14 pm

UMWFord thought that this is Ford Skyline-86 because it is fairly successful 2 to 3 years ago (in Ford’s history in Malaysia), reduce airbag count and increase price also never mind. This is 1980’s and the majority of WM is occupied by S’kian and S’han, who, no matter how we treat them, they will still pray to us as godd.
      Try to increase prices of your goods excessively after GST comes next year and try to run your business, eg one Zinger Burger at RM9.50, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 58
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:50 pm

If anyone figures out what this guy is trying to say, let me know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 4
        • riz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 6:02 am

its not the price of things going up,
          its RM value going down..

too much RM going abroad or too much imported goods.
          I think so .,,

does everyone notice RM value going down since year 2010

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • cendol (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:24 am

very easy, just compare RM value to our southern neighbour and you get to know our valuation.
            The more the difference, the more people will flock to there to work

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:12 am

Are you drunk?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:02 pm

McD already has 6% sales tax (+ hidden tax that they don’t show on receipt)..

• Fiesta eco on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:46 pm

As one of the first owner…. This i told you…i drove my fiesta hard on the first week and did my drift in it… 1 week later the i was unable to reach the red pin anymore…. Thankfully my civic fd is still available….my ford is like my old shameful golf dsg..

• riz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:24 am

what happened to your fiesta bro ?
          engine problem/DCT problem ?

• vagine on Oct 28, 2014 at 11:50 pm

only stupid people drive their brand new car hard on the first week. there’s something called run-in that u need to observe, dugong.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:04 pm

I disagree. Size isn’t the final say in pricing. The final pricing is usually related to how much the automaker had invested in that car’s research, development and production as a whole and in the Fiesta Ecoboost, there’s a lot of advanced (and thus, costly) stuff.

Most significant is probably the engine. Normally turbocharged engines are already more expensive to produce than a naturally aspirated one of the same displacement but Ford didn’t just add a turbo onto any old 3cyl. They went the extra mile to make this engine the most refined and advanced 3cyl turbo engine so far. Like you said, Overall Engine of the Year award. For 3 consecutive years. We have no idea about its reliability, though. That’s not a criteria for Engine of the Year.

The dual-clutch transmission is also one of the more advanced gearboxes out there. That makes it expensive and it also seems to still have teething issues.

Not as advanced but more critically, the car comes with the Safety Pack. 5 more airbags than a normal Fiesta, with 4 of those being for side impact protection.

It all adds up. It is really expensive in Malaysia and the people here are rather space-conscious as well, so its case not very strong locally but there are a few who like it and if they don’t mind paying the premium for it while putting up with the issues that sometimes come with using advanced technology, they will sign their name on the dotted line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
      • They could have walk another extra tiny mile by tidying up that engine bay.absolute mess

But i’m just nitpicking here

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:17 pm

I agree. Felt like getting a headache looking at the nest of hoses and wires.

• riz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:40 am

Dont the west people never thought of their size?
        even the small sized japs make the Jazz that big..

maybe targeting woman ….

but some says the engine/gearbox not reliable enough,
        also the FC / maintenance not that economical..
        is it right ?

• Datmoo on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:58 am

wait till the gdi problem surface then hell broke loose

• rocky balboa on Sep 19, 2014 at 8:48 pm

holy crap, the wires on top of the engine is really messy! Ford, I’m sure you can do better!

anyway Jonathan, it would better if you can post the real world fuel consumption during the test drive.

• akulah on Sep 19, 2014 at 8:52 pm

..while a cast iron block reduces warm up times by as much as 50% compared to an aluminium unit. The timing belt is also immersed in oil to reduce noise and improve efficiency..

Hah..no timing chain & still using cast iron…sure or not..said the Toyota fans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Àlahai (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Nice one dude!

• myvee on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Why no timing chain?

Toyota much more advanced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • riz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:52 am

Toyota are more to cost effective maintenance and reliability I think..

Toyota 1.5l only produce 109HP while the FORD 1.0l produce 123HP and 170Nm of torque..
          170Nm of torque is about the same torque of Corolla Altis 1.8 ,
          Ford much more advanced ;D

More than that Ecoboost engine more economical that Vios.. 17.2km/l vs vios 15.8km/l …

which one more advanced ?
          more power + economical
          or just because of just using timing chain ?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:58 am

p2 macai
            timing chain> all

but this only applies for kampung ppl

others smart orediiii

• riz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Agreed, haha ..
            still using 4speeds AutoBox …
            Rubbish….
            Now people already using 7speeds
            More economical, more fun….

others smart orediiii

• Datmoo on Jun 25, 2016 at 4:01 am

timing belt came after timing chain, and timing chain too need to need replace do some research please

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:20 am

p2 salesman makcik kata… timing chain ni techology terkini dari jepunnnnnn yg perodua pki…tu yg makcik brli… jepuuunnnnn

• M/T is KING on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:31 am

Never mind timing chain or timing belt as long u have M/T as your gearbox u can have more power,more reliable, more economical and most important thing is more CONTROL.

• Hello on Sep 19, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Am planning to get one..but I am afraid of DCT…I love every part of the car except worrying for DCT

• laughingor on Sep 19, 2014 at 10:24 pm

I think don’t worry because of the gear box alone. Enjoy when you make the decision. nothing is perfect here. ;)

• fordfan on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:28 pm

If DCT has 10 years warranty, I’ll buy.

• Besi Buruk on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:18 am

Hire Purchase Scheme – 9 Years
          To sell on the 10th Year.

Good request. Will forward to the top management.

• riz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:54 am

Conventional autobox also have problems.
        the diff is DCT cost more that normal autobox to repair and maintain.

• if u everyday driving on highway with less traffic then u can enjoy with this car. If you work nearby bukit bintang so forget it, it will be a nightmare for you

• John Tan on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Still a better buy over the VW polo. Not a ford fan tho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • rockstar on Oct 03, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I am sure this car 1.0 will be underpowered compare to polo..I would prefer polo for sure..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • turn off on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:13 pm

the body kit & the graphics are a big turn off for me too

• peyno (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:14 pm

this is the real 1000cc
    no vibrate, powerful, using timing belt

unlike indon DNA engine eev??? prefthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Smart Rakyat on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:17 am

Perodua Axia :
      – 21km / Liter
      – proven Daihatsu Toyota quality
      – timing chain low servicing cost

Proton Iriz :
      – none of the above
      – perfect for delusional fools like the macai above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • myvidrvr on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:24 am

Myvi oso got power window problem.
        21km/l is delusional, most days used for city driving got 13km/l only.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:30 am

perodua aziah
        1000cc 3 cylinder proven vibrate like hell
        proven indon dna n not accepted by indonesia
        60hp

ecoboost
        1000cc 3 cylinder no vibrate.. timing belt awarded best engine
        123gp

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:47 am

macai wanna compare indon dna 1000 cc 3 cylinder 60hp with 1.6lvvt 140 180Nm???

even attrage 1..2l got git 22km/h with 80hp

1000cc 3 cylinder ecoboost best engine timing belt p2 macai butthurt

rakyat smart oredi
        cant hide behine daihatsu toyota name anymore
        indonesian will be laughing at u

• farghmee on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:50 am

what proven quality?

perceived quality eh?

if a car can run 10 years without problems, then that’s quality.
        if a car just launched yesterday, without track record whatsoeva, that’s perceived quality.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:46 am

U must be a real desperate plotong butthurt. . Butut bleeding dy..

Sales must be damn bad.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:33 am

dear p2 macai
        i hv nithing to do with salesman n automotive industries
        peyno hanya warga marhaen yg dok jepun lama layan jdm dan geli tgk irg malaysia yg kemaruk jepun lebih2 cam macai p2 n umw

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:12 am

tu yg peyno kata rakyat smart oredi
        all this while p2 macai pretending kununnya p2 ni syarikat yg xde bantuan gomen , takde protection, xde kena mengena dgn NAP… hanya proton je
        thats bullshit
        tu la tektik n cara p2 macai n salesman.. mereka tau.. pasal NAP n protection ni membuatkan rakyat marah.. dan p2 macai pon sama2 kutuk proton syoaya rakyat lupa yg p2 pon tetlibat sama dlm nap n protection ni
        sebab tu org yg betul2 anti nap anti BN mereka akan bashh all makers under nap ( p1 n p2) .. x macam macai2 p2… perasan kununnnya jadi mangsa nap kununn

• tHe^CuLpRit on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:24 pm

the decals are downright silly in these day and age!

• Ray (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:31 pm

I’m always a fan of Fords and this! The thought of three cylinder engines might stray me away as we all know three pots while being frugal, can be relatively noisy and jerky at high speeds, but well, perhaps not this one. Never been in one before but based on all the positive reviews I’ve read about the drivetrain I guess this would be a winner.

A tip to PaulTan writers: I’m pretty concerned of cabin noise when it comes to cars, be it from wind or the tyres, but all of your reviews seem to be something like “NVH levels are pretty good”, “minimal wind noise and tyre noise” and so on. Sound meters maybe, like the test you guys did on the old and new a Vios previously? There are quite a few mobile apps for it, might not be accurate but perhaps it will give us a relative idea on how silent/noisy the car is. Just my shallow opinion :)

• policeman on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:50 pm

True.

I’ve read their reviews on Mazda 6 and Accord. Nowhere in the article was it mentioned about the terrible road noise in these cars. Road noise, and wind noise at around 100kmh. Very bad. Worse than my Inspira.

I would say the Fiesta fares much better in this area. Maybe due to size/tyres.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:38 pm

NVH is a bit subjective without the use of measured units to compare. What one driver finds tolerable can be so irritating to another driver, even if it’s the same car!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:40 pm

ecoboost 1.0l 123hp

Aziah eev indon dna 1.0l 60hp??

what ashame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:19 am

Pelirno.

Compare NA & Turbo charged? Why not compare price?

Hahaha. .

Your low mentality amazed me…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:31 am

smart ppl compare
        1000cc 3 cylinder

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:37 am

compare the price??p2 under gomen protected.. we are forced to buy small car n increase import small car

just imagine all these hatchback small car feasta, jazz, swift, picanto , rio price lije aziah n myvi

who wanna buy tun milo vibrate 3 cylinder car??

• loo sam pah on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm

his mentality amazes me too. and his arrogance belittle the kampung folks make him the only one with an unusual anatomy on his head pointing toward the sky.

bro, bila mari mimnum kopi? kampung uncle belanja

• Smart Rakyat on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:15 am

Perodua Axia:
      – 21km/Liter
      – proven Daihatsu Toyota quality
      – timing chain low servicing cost

Proton Iriz:
      – none of the above
      – perfect for delusional fools like the macai above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:53 am

dear macai
        tu yg peyno cakap .. macai cam ko patut malu kat peyno lwgend
        peyno 6 thn kat jepun hidup dgn jepun mandi tido.. fikir mcm jepun.. fikir cam jepun.. druve JDM keta
        jepun … tapi masih leh appreciate proton… ko ni baru kerja dgn p2 dan kemaruk jepun sgt dahh
        peyno lebih tau pasal jepun n product jepun banding ko la… tak yah la kemaruk sgt
        p2 tu mmg tak pernah profit ni baik ko refer kat org account kat p2 sendiri.. ni fakta
        beb… daihatsu jepun cuma amik kesempatan sebab homen kita pki duait rakyat bagi kat mereka .. tu je
        dan peyno dah cakap ko tgk trend sekarang kenapa sume model2 baru daihatsu dilancarkan dan dipasarkan diindonesia dahulu?
        10 thn lepas p2 buat myvi pastu export ke indonesia… sekarang sudah terbalik
        jepun daihatsu klu nak tinggalkan p2 anytime je..
        nasib baik gomen BN ni protect bahi incentive privilage bagai… klu x bye bye
        laa

• Dah_lah_pegi_jepun on Sep 20, 2014 at 1:49 pm

mental kolot…Tolong upgrade skit.

If this is the quality of the best engineer Proton sent to Jepun, we are all FOOKED.

Proton, please give back the tax payer money. You shouldn’t spend money on this numbskull and Jaguh Kampung.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:37 pm

6 years in japan… nothing to do with proton laa… normally proton or perodua sent their staff just for 6 mths training…
            ok dint butthurt

• Datmoo on Jun 25, 2016 at 4:11 am

wait till the gdi problem surface then hell broke loose

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:27 am

Perodua Axia;
        -21km/liter
        -2004 Safety Equipment
        -Crap Driving Dynamics
        -Perfect for less smart people who thinks they’re buying a Japanese car, not knowing they’re just buying a Malaysian car that’s a downgrade, third-world version of a Japanese car

Kia Picanto
        -Also 21km/liter
        -1.25L engine with 87hp as opposed to Axia’s 60hp
        -Full safety equipment

• iriz kereta rakyat on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:20 pm

harga?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:54 am

picanto expensive due to NAP… to protect small national
            car maker gomen inceease import car price

if picanto same price with aziah… do u think smart ppl wanna buy aziah??
            we are forced to buy tin milo product

pity low income ppl

• policeman on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Timing chain servicing cost is low, but the chain still has to be replaced at least once. The cost is higher than changing timing belt a few times.

Quality? Which part?

• nice focus on Sep 19, 2014 at 10:30 pm

really nice car but..
    I just don’t quite like the new front grill, the older fiesta looks better. this is just my opinion.

• Fiesta owner on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Good for new car but Ford needs to admit its failure with the dsg transmission like VW. Checked with fellow fiesta owners, all complained about the gearbox. And now my turn, car only 1 year old, sent to workshop and waiting if they can fix it. Bad choice, not advisable. Those interested please think and think before buying. Unless Ford Malaysia do something about it, Reviewer, please do long term test. Tq

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:45 am

It’s hard to believe in 21st century. . U ve mechanical problems.. & they seem refuse or cannot solve it..

Thx for the info..

This gear problem can find in youtube. Many of them.

• univy on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:27 am

You never drive DSG / DCT gearbox cars, it’s lightyears better than your junk myvi/vios

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:31 am

Yep tq for the advise. .

Drove ford focus before.. liked it.. booked it.. then cancelled it.

Glad I did.

I ll stick to japs. Xtronic is brilliant.

• tintin on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Xtronic is crappy lousy tech

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:07 pm

japs???
            u meant perodua n umw producta???

peyno 6 years in japan launghing at u macai

• It’s not even a tech, only an exaggerated name.

• Basis.guy on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:21 pm

The DCT should be less worried , is same unit as the Focus..that much higher power and torque…

Is the jerking at low speed…but i had greatly reduce…i test drive it for solid 10 minute. As good as focus…in smaller package.

• riz (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:57 am

10m minute test drive not gonna guarantee for another 10 years owning/driving it.

Things gonna wear out sooner or later,
      what u need to concern, how much it gonna cost and how long the DCT gonna survive..

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Most advance auto gearbox still loose to old fashion but super dupa reliable 3 paddles….
    The best voted car title went to the manual drive Fiesta Ecoboost not the unreliable DCT version. Unfortunately, most dealers here seemed to assume all Malaysian drivers prefer auto cars. Even the cheap P2 car saw a 50% orders for manual drive. For owners with troubled gearboxes, I sympathize with your problem. Given a choice, I’m sure you’ll now agree that its far easier & cheaper to fix a “tired” leg than a high tech gearbox isn’t it?

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Dah malas. Padan muka.

It’s open secret it’s so easy to bribe JPJ during road test. You know, I know it happens. Those who do are lazy, stupid motherfuckers on the road. They’d take shortcuts, m/t is too inconvenient for them. They have no respect for the road safety, discipline, and courtesy. Worse now, I believe a/t license is in effect now?

A/t is a plague. It opens the floodgate of lazy, irresponsible drivers onto the road.

If I’m transport minister, I’m gonna impose annual RM5,000 “convenience” tax on a/t cars when renewing road tax. This will force people to discipline themselves to switch to m/t or give up driving, leaving roads free of these arsehole drivers. While those who insist on convenience of an a/t must pay it, not an issue for those luxury car owners. Exemptions will be given to OKU, so that’ll make it fair for all.

• M/T is KING on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:06 am

Yes i agree
        A/t is for pondan. No feel and not fun. M/t is king. More fun to overtake car and you have more in control over your car. Not only cheap in pricing in the first place, it’s cheap to maintain and more reliable for long period too.
        A/t gearbox always had problem and gets more complaining here and there. CVT makes it worse because too ‘manja’ and need to babysitting. Hahahah

• What is the correlation between A/T and indiscipline drivers?

You have to prove it or you just talk kok here.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Not that I dislike M/T cars and not that I support bribing JPJ to pass tests but you just made an irrelevant connection between 2 unrelated things.

Bribing JPJ for your license doesn’t make you inept at using M/Ts. Using A/Ts doesn’t automatically make you a lazy, irresponsible driver. You can be a lazy, irresponsible driver using an M/T. Seen many like that.

Imposing a RM5000 convenience tax on A/T doesn’t change anything about driver attitude. It’s the “me first. I’m the king of the road!” attitude and disregard for road rules (they know the rules, but they don’t care) that makes drivers dangerous.

• RyanS on Sep 19, 2014 at 11:51 pm

I just bought last month and I can feel the DCT really jerking during stop and go condition especially in traffic jam. However I already used to it, i love this car very much. This is the best and value for money car in within this segment.

Beside jerking so far no complaint, I hope my DCT long life lol

• Mondeo on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:00 am

Been driving a Ford Mondeo for almost 2 years. Absolute joy on the Elite highway daily commute from down south. 240hp 340nm torque. A bad jerkasorous in heavy traffic. A nightmarish aftersale experience.

• RyanS on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:03 pm

jerkiness is characteristics of the DCT, as DCT is actually 2 piece of manual clutch combine together and gear shift is automated. So u will tend to feel the jerkiness like a manual car. The car comes with PCM (some sort of ecu/”brain” for the gearbox) which will adapt to your driving style. mine after driving for about couple of months much less jerkiness, so much smoother than the first month of driving..”

Some user review in some forum, good point :P

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Was about to say something about that. Yes, the jerkiness is a characteristic of DCTs. Issue is that some people make a BIG fuss over this and think their gearbox is broken while it isn’t.

The real issue of DCT type transmissions would be what some Volkswagen owners experience with their DSG (Volkswagen’s trade name for their DCT; Ford calls theirs Powershift): dramatic power loss. Not sure about the exact causes and mechanics behind it but it seems to be due to the warmer climate we have as it mainly affects dry clutch type DCTs. Even so, I rarely come across Powershift uses encountering the power loss.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 3:03 pm

The jerkiness is far from ideal, though. I think major automakers are working on refining the DCT. I remember reading that Acura is experimenting on using a torque converter to couple the DCT to the engine like how they’re now using a torque converter on CVTs now instead of mainly using the clutch.

• policeman on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Better than MyVi? MyVi cheaper so it is more value for money, isn’t it?

• I’m torned between this car and suzuki swift sport, still can’t decide which 1 to get… Paultan.org team can please do a review of the swift sport?

• Steve Kok on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:35 am

I’m a ex 2010 Fiesta 1.6 owner.
    Pls think twice before getting a Ford with DCT.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:20 pm

No.. they said it’s lightyears better.. so advance gives you jerks. .

They said advance gearbox is jerking.. mmg mcm tu.. sbb power sgt & lightyears better.

Wipers also so advance. . It ll cost you hundreds of ringgit. . So advance not selling outside. .

Yep.. conti very advance. . Parts will cost you thousands of ringgit. Conti ma.. mahal baru bagus..

Japs milo tin not advance.. murah. Xde class.

Mahai ma lu baru bagus.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 6:41 pm

real japs car JDM n conti mmg class

yg x class tu kereta jepun eluo jepun wannabe peridua n umw tu…

ko perasan p2 n umw tu cam jdm ke???

patut lankena kencing kemaruk jepun ah beng malaysia ni

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Peylirno. .

Go to DMN Plodua service center. . Most parts still in Daihatsu packaging. .

Wei tolol.. brg kat Jepun ko ingat semua made in Japan ke?

Skrg zaman global la brader.. kilang jepun merata. Kat china pon byk..

Aku tau la ko jual butut kat jepun tu..

Hahaha. .

• iriz kereta rakyat on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:23 pm

jual bontot

HAHAHAHA

• peyno (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 5:33 am

hahaah
            kemaruk jepunnya
            peyno 6 thn kat jepun pon x macam ni
            30 thn lwpas masa proton dgn mitsubishi.. almost parts dia mitsu packaging… ko tak kemaruk ke??
            ni bukan pasal packaging ni pasal tangan2 org malaysia yg pasang kerwta jepun celup ni…
            tau la pwrangai org melayu n malaysia pemalas pasang… quality toyota thai vs umw pon jauh beza la

sebabtu jwpun bagi hi end camry pasang kat thai.. yg low end pasang kat malaysia

pasal jepun ko jgn la nak kencing peyno.,. maluu peyno tgk

sebab tu la ni ppl smart oredi
            ko dah tak leh berselindung dgn bau jepun jepun DNA dahhh

• ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 20, 2014 at 6:52 am

This car would be great if it’s available in manual and have rear disc brake.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:38 am

If manual and rear disc brake is available, would you buy or not first?

• ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 20, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Probably.., and other people too..

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Got manual, 6 airbags, ESP, as long as have these, I don’t mind it’s as empty as Axia E spec.

Steel rims, hard plastic dash, manual window, manual mirror, no radio, no coin box, no tissue box holder, no front & reverse sensor, no chrome door handle, no central lock, no fugly stickers, no fugly bodykit etc, aku kesah apa. Most of them are just aesthetics for their vendors to songlap, or can get cheaply at Daiso for those teh tarik hook, tissue box holder etc. For small car, reverse sensor not important, ur driving must be crap if you’re over dependent on it.

Bring in like this, with EEV incentive, for RM 52,888, SDAC can shut up and take my money.

As if, right? Hmph.

• dewak on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:44 am

Wet timing belt…

From what i’m read manual book my wife kuga ecoboost….timing belt need to change every 240k km (if not mistaken).. mybe will be the same for ford 1litre ecoboost…

• Its a shame. Fiesta diesel / ecoboost with manual tranny is real fun to drive. But the economic scale in malaysia makes manual transmission is not profitable to them.

• Fiesta owner on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:24 am

Ford must admit this gearbox problem. It is unacceptable to have sales person saying, ” kereta power lo… Jerking sikit2 ok…” Very unintelligent comment. We buy car once in 5-10 years not every month, so be very very careful, because the waiting to have the car sent to the workshop was 4 months.

• policeman on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:46 pm

That’s the curse of the automatic transmission. You brought it amongst yourselves, new generation of wimps who can’t change gears manually. Sissified excuse of a human being.

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:47 pm

+9000.

Feels good to see these suckers suffer due to their sissyness. German engineering they say… sporty driving they say…

Have fun spending time in workshops, getting towed, arguing with lousy SC attitude, VGM/SDAC not giving a fark cuz suckers will continue paying for their fat paychecks!

They think they’re European driving those cars. Pinjam ayat Peyno jap: Prrrfffttt. Real Europeans drive manual. Cheaper, more robust, efficient, the superior g/b.

• Gajen on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Paul, it would be really nice if you guys do a comparison review between this and the swift sport. =)

• policeman on Sep 20, 2014 at 2:39 pm

So many big words. My Malaysian educated brain has never come across many words used in this article. Cikgy sekolah tak ajar perkataan sebegini.

• Motorhead is one of the teachers here. He used many harsh words here : Bengap, bodo, etc.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:38 pm

SJerk

Unfortunately. . Sometimes it’s to look for another work for idiots. . So sometime I use polite words.. such as low mentality. .

So please appreciate my effort.

Hehe.

• See?

In just one submission he included those words : idiot, low mentality, calling name jerk

I dun know what will happen to younger gen reading those words everyday. Maybe they will be harsh impolite rude adults one day

As an mature reader here i’m pretty sure to blame people like him

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Ohh please. . SJK

Just go & cry lah…

Huhuhu. ..

Ps.. not all of my comments are foul.. check back.. usually my first comment is natural. . But I ve some tail bart & butt.. mostly are for them.. & motorhead always hit back hard.. don’t feel offended if you are not one of them..

& if don’t want get offended. . Just don’t mess with me.. because I won’t start.. since you mentioned my name.

Take it as a joke.. don’t keep inside.

SJK..

Regards.

• The Vulture on Sep 20, 2014 at 3:49 pm

I am another would be buyer couldn’t decide between Ford Fiesta Ecoboost and Suzuki Swift Sport. Appreciate if Paultan could compare these two cars easpecially the turbo-charged engine vs NA, manual transmission vs Powershit DCT; also comments and recommendations of the better buy between the two.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Ford could easily triple their sales if they bring in manual drive for all models. Many would be buyers have been turned off by the problematic DCT gearbox. Even if Ford gives lifetime warranties, they are not going to pay for towing charges & loss of car use while rectifying the gearbox problem which could take months to repair. If traffic jams are the excuse for choice for auto, then any cheap car would do since there would be no difference between a 300hp car vs 30hp one in a jam.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 5:00 pm

One thing is this car is jus too small…
    The interior is jus tight n thrs no nice way to put it…im 188cm n interior is too snug…
    A saga and polo is ALOT more spacious…if ur single n of a small dimensions thn maybe…otherwise its jus not feasible
    Maybe u buy it for the engine, til u realized its been bogged down by the nervous gearbox….
    Not for me……but stil kudos for having the option!

• ecoboost owner on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:12 am

Bought and driven fiesta ecoboost for almost 2 months and glad it is the best decision I made after comparing with vios, new jazz, city and swift sport.

I would say that fiesta ecoboost and swift sport are the best choices to pick but I prefer fiesta for better boot space, 3 years free maintenance, better driving comfort and slightly lower price.

The pick up from 0 to 100 seems more or less the same despite the figures shown that swift sport is faster. The turbo engine feels quite fun to drive and most power is available in less than 2000rpm compare with swift sport at nothing less than 3000rpm.

Of course I still prefer the aesthetic look of the swift sport.

As far as the fuel consumption is concern, you need to practice for a while to get a better fuel consumption if you are not used to turbo engine. Nowadays I got as good as 4.5 to 5l per 100km on the highway and 7.0 to 7.3l per 100km in city and urban road. The pick up is fantastic but felt turbo lag for 1sec before the pick up. Unlike swift sport where you need to rev 4000rpm and above to get the same pick up, you only need 2500 to 3000 rpm for fiesta to rev.

The sound system is surprisingly good, crispy clear and with suffiient bass, far better than swift.

The ford sync voice control takes a bit hard to use to. The voice dialling and control keep your hands to the steering but not interactively enough.

Suspension wise, a bit firm but still comfortable. Handling is superb but feels the tyre size should be increased fir better traction. The 195 tyres are not good enough. Noise insulation is good and better than swift sport and much better than vios jazz city out there but the tyre noise in high speed is considerably high, perhaps switching the tyres t a better one will help. The stock tyres are continental premium contact 2.

On the dashboard, still prefer the new jazz and city which is more upmarket.

Overall, if you want something fun to drive in the weekends, swift sport will be your answer but if you want something a bit of practical to drive daily (or in my case, short distant car) but retaining 70% of the fun factor like swift (still fun), then fiesta ecoboost will be the right choice.

If you need the space more than anything, then better go for jazz or city. Vios obviously not a goid choice except the look.

So far I have no issues on the gearbox. Statistically, every type of auto transmission has its problem and overall 3-5% (I think) so it depends on your driving style and luck. My presumption is if you do not push hard on the transmmission (by not driving hard) it shouldnt have any problem. On fiesta ecoboost, you need not push hard, unless you wanted to which is quite fun anyway.

Quality wise, can be improved as I noted Thai CBU units are not perfectly fit on some parts of the interior but not something that considerably bad. Noted some parts are not fit as it should be. Well, have to say that much better than the new jazz city or vios, if you look close enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Ok ok turbo engine, CFE also you dun need to push hard, even VW’s TSI comes with lesser HP (122hp) variant coz the torque is more important factor in city driving.

• Ty for the info, quite complete.
      I test drove City, Jazz, Vios, Rio, Mazda2, CKD Polo and 208, still i think Fiesta ecoboost is the best. Sadly i have not try out Suzuki Swift Sport, but anywhere i am not interested in Swift.
      The only downside for Fiesta Ecoboost is the DCT gearbox, but seeing many fiesta owners get extended warranty for the transmission give more assurance to me.
      However, as this article suggest, I am really looking forward to see the new Mazda2, or Honda HRV(tentative price look promising). Next year would be a interesting year =)

• Too ugly interior.. right?

• Faisal on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:17 am

I rented the fiest 1.0 ecoboost for 4 days. Then shortly after then, rented an Audi A1 1.4 for a couple of days.

I prefer the fiesta.

• :blank: on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:42 pm

May I have your opinion …. ? Which is better Proton iriz 1.6 Premium or this Ford Fiesta Ecoboost dari semua aspek .. TQ

• ravin on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Bought my Ford Fiesta Ecoboost on the 30th Jan 2015 and the car was given to me with spoil AC compressor. I send this issue to Ford Federal PJ and also to the customer care department and they ask me to drive the car without AC till the get the compressor for replacement.

Such a poor service and a brand new car without AC.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 4:17 am

OMG….this is truly unprofessional given that you are paying premium price for it. How the hell are they to compensate you for the lack of AC use while waiting for parts?

• any one has these problem:
    https://www.change.org/p/ford-ceo-mark-fields-ford-recall-faulty-focus-and-fiesta-transmissions

• Related on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:44 pm

fantastic points altogether, you simply gained a emblem new reader. What could you suggest in regards to your put up that you just made a few days in the past? Any certain?|