IIMS 2014: Thai-made Mazda 2 for ASEAN makes debut

Mazda 2 R Spec IIMS 1

The Thai-assembled 2015 Mazda 2 – built at the Auto Alliance Thailand (AAT) plant in Rayong – has made its debut at the Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS). Pre-booking for the B-segment hatch in Indonesia began last Thursday ahead of its launch in November, with deliveries beginning in December.

Exterior-wise, the new 2 is the latest Mazda to feature the brand’s sharp Kodo design language, and wears it well. The interior, meanwhile, has a minimalist driver-focused design that has now also made it to the new 2015 Mazda MX-5. The impressive cabin materials that we saw on the Japanese-built car we drove recently look to have made it unscathed here – yes, even the proper leather dashboard trim on the top models.

In Indonesia, the 2 will be offered with just one engine – the 1.5 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol mill. This motor produces 115 PS at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm, and can be mated to either a SkyActiv-MT manual or a SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission, both with six speeds.

Mazda 2 R Spec IIMS 14

Across the range, the Mazda 2 comes with dual airbags, ABS with EBD and BA, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), traction control, ISOFIX child seat anchors on the rear seats, i-stop automatic start-stop system and, intriguingly, rear disc brakes in place of the drums on the car we tested.

Moving up from the base V to the middling R brings 16-inch wheels (up from 15), Mazda’s MZD Connect touchscreen infotainment system and six speakers instead of four, while the automatic-only GT’s impressive equipment list includes navigation, Advanced Blind Spot Monitoring (A-BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) and Smart City Brake Support (SCBS).

Prices of the Mazda 2 in Indonesia will range between Rp. 225-270 million (RM61,000-RM73,200). Closer to home, local distributor Bermaz is looking to introduce the new 2 early next year, with a price target below the RM90,000 mark. We rather liked the car when we drove it in Japan – you can read our impressions here.

Mazda 2 V spec

Mazda 2 R spec

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 1.5L Manual6speeeeeed (eat this toyotaa). SOunds liek pocket rocket.. Dman.. i dunno why so much typo.

• weare on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:37 pm

The dashboard looks empty, sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Vincent on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Thanks to Proton, Bermaz will never price the Mazda2 here RM61K. Takut nanti Iriz tidak laku.

Therefore the final price is terbalik the 6 to 9 figure. (RM91K)

Indonesia = RM61K, Bolehland = RM91K.

6 jadi 9. Bravo MITI. Bravo NAP EEV and other nonsense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
      • Gargantia on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Thailand automotive moving forward.

MAI/MITI, making Rakyat suffer !!! Bolehland Crazy taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Better buy 3 Axia, 1 park at home, 1 at Office, 1 at Shopping mall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:31 pm

if the GT spec comes here…it would be interesting to see a car that has better specs than a BMW 316i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Nvm the 316i, it even eats its older siblings (M3 & M6) for lunch if that’s the case.

I’d rather trade rear disc brakes for 6 airbags though.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:10 am

It feels like…Mazda is trying to move upmarket. And from their recent offerings so far, I think they’re on the right track if that’s the case.

@seancorr: I have a feeling Bermaz will comply with your wishes, based on their track record. Or, they would better it by offering 6 airbags AND rear discs.

Who knows.

• No More FDI on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Now, every car is either Made in Thailand or launched in Thailand. See how much Malaysia has lost. All because of the NAP and NEP, Malaysia has lost hundreds of billions in USD. The figure maybe even in the trillions USD.

Malaysia would have been 1st world like Singapore about 15 years back if we did not have the Tongkat culture, NEP and NAP.

Everyday we are hearing about billions of FDI flowing into Thailand. And this is despite Thailand being economically unstable, riots, bombs blowing up here and there and very shaky government.

Malaysia is far better and more stable than Thailand but got zero FDI coming into Malaysia. Why?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:44 pm

ya ya ya…all bcoz of that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • ya ya ya… know la, what you want say is pkr isn’t any better. It’s still better than doing NOTHING

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • start-a-fight on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:45 pm

they made mazda.. we got CKD Merc S Hybrid..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • seancorr on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:38 pm

You do know the CKD S Class Hybrid is fully sold out for the RM588k price rite? Now every CKD S Class will be sold for over RM800k no thanks to the government ending the hybrid subsidy in Dec 2015.

So the FL A8 and the LCI 7 Series suddenly becomes more affordable…

• bukapintubayartol on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:42 pm

There was a time when rm100k only could bring in rp260juta. Actually our currency has appreciated nicely since being unpegged from the greenback. Too bad our purchasing power does not seem to reflect.

• smokey on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Does it feel cramp for rear passengers and how is the boot space?

• Jimmy on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:46 pm

The interior is less desirable than the original Japan made, no?
    We cannot have a carmaker or a SAM which supplier networks have become kopi-O to get supports in political party. You sokong saya, you get my contracts, some valid for decades.

I sokong you to get elected, so don’t complain about the quality of the things that I supply to you, just diam-diam. If the CEOs buat bising, you tolong I untuk buang kerja dia.

• Concept very nice, garang look.
    Come actual just so so, sigh….

• farghmee on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:57 pm

what are the slot below the aircond knobs for?
    CD?

• Perhaps Bermaz will price it more friendly… like suzuki swift, maybe?

• Jimmy on Sep 24, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Looking at the trend they price their Mazdas, this Mazda2 is unlikely to successful, especially in the presence of Jazz (2 airbags with price low, or 6 airbags at 85k). This one will be RM89,888 with just 2 airbags. Then the salespersons will say, Jazz got 6 airbags and our Mazda2 got rear disc brakes, so it is seri.
      So they trade 6 airbags for rear disc brakes and auto-this-that, this is what we call buta-huruf, primary-1 level CEOs and marketing teams, not No 1.

• Chris (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:45 am

Mind if I ask what “primary-level” is your English? I don’t know if I should agree or disagree with you since I can’t fully understand your statement.

Either way, if we’re able to exaggerate the comparison and triple the price, comparing this two cars is like comparing the Honda Odyssey and the Mazda Miata. Both 200k+, one is extremely practical, while the others focuses more on the driver’s experience.

Surely the practical car will sell more and the fun car will be more of a niche market item, but I think it’ll be a success regardless of sales number. It’s an international car, Malaysia’s sales number isn’t the only one that matters.

• Jimmy on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:37 pm

To Mazda Malaysia, the key point here is 6-airbags, in case primary one student cannot understand, darjah satu sekolah rendah punya murid-murid selalu tidak tahu bahaya, panjat sana-sini contohnya.

• ariff on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:44 pm

the mazda design theme sure looks nice on a bigger car like mazda 6… but looks clumsy and serabut on a smaller car.. my 5 sen lah..

• roxas on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:50 pm

i agree actually, the 6 looks the best with the design kodo language. but the interior in the 2 is better looking to me.

• pegasus on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:47 pm

nice. hope it drive. if the price is right, it will be on my driveway :-)

• Marieta on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:32 am

How can you praise something ugly like this..no subjective here its literally ugly..interior and exterior..

maybe because it’s Mazda and you can’t afford it ?

• Legend (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:54 pm

price it wise please Bermaz Motor~~
    still prefer to have tachometer in the middle with digital speedometer readout at the down right hand of the tachometer lehhh

• Marieta on Sep 24, 2014 at 7:35 pm

The dashboard looks odd…It’s like its tries hard to look Audi or new gen Merc but failed…that pop up stereo player just seem out of places !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • rimba bara on Sep 24, 2014 at 9:37 pm

still kosong lagi. banyak kena buang oo..

• Finally i can upgrade.. Saga BLM has been helping me to go places for more then 5 years without fail or breakdown. Mazda 2 will be on my list. And red looks hot.

• D.I.Y on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:22 am

somehow the first impression I look at the Mazda 2 design concept is all copy few others brand, then rojak together.. Interior dashboard like Audi, speedo meter like Honda CRZ, center console function button like BMW, ‘sport’ button like Porsche.. the design shadow is there

• Don Juan De Marco on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Rojak ape ke bende nyeeee………..this Mazda 2 design is quite original.

• Nauts on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:49 pm

If price is right below 90k, will buy one. I like small cars.

• fzni91 on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:54 am

the design of mazda 2 really fierce..