Mercedes-Benz C 350 Plug-in Hybrid previewed: 211 PS 2.0 turbo engine, 80 hp electric motor

mercedes-benz-c-350-plug-in-hybrid 260

Mercedes-Benz gave us a preview of their next plug-in hybrid car at the international media drive of the W222 S 500 Plug-In Hybrid recently – a new Mercedes-Benz C 350 Plug-in Hybrid based on the W205 generation. Yes, they previewed a “baby S-Class plug-in hybrid” at an S-Class plug-in hybrid event.

The C 350 Plug-in Hybrid uses the 2.0 litre turbo engine from the C 250 – that means 211 PS and 350 Nm of torque, but the torque converter of the 7G-TRONIC transmission has been replaced by an electric motor that does 80 hp, a bit lower than the 107 hp, 340 Nm figures of the S-Class version of the system.

mercedes-benz-c-350-plug-in-hybrid 268

The electric motor is powered by lithium ion batteries mounted under the boot. While on the go, they can be charged by brake energy regeneration, but once you’re home you can recharge the batteries through a wall socket by flipping open the lid on the rear bumper below the right tail lamp and plugging it in.

Fuel consumption is claimed to be just 3 litres per 100 km on the NEDC combined cycle. That’s more economical than the BMW ActiveHybrid 3, but Munich’s car doesn’t have plug-in capabilities and has a much larger engine. We’ve seen a prototype F30 with a plug-in charger lid though, and the X5 eDrive plug-in hybrid has a smaller 2.0 litre engine as well, so I think they’ll eventually come down the same route.

mercedes-benz-c-350-plug-in-hybrid 262

There’s also another W205 hybrid powered by a diesel engine already on the market called the C 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, but that one doesn’t have plug-in capabilities. It uses a 204 hp, 500 Nm 2.1 litre turbodiesel engine mated to a 27 hp electric motor.

The C 350 Plug-in Hybrid will be available in showrooms in 2015. Since Mercedes-Benz will be CKD-ing the W205 here in Malaysia only next year, and our CKD hybrid incentives will be ending by the end of the same year, it’s a really quite a tight timeline for Mercedes-Benz Malaysia to CKD this one and take advantage of any incentives. Perhaps if the incentives are extended, then?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Why isnt there LED headlamp or DRL for the Plug-in version?

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:27 am

Those are probably options that will set you back some RM 5-10k. In Europe you pick the spec, then the engine variant (entry level specs may not let you get the really powerful engines, while higher specs won’t let you get entry level engines), and then you pick the options (as “value packs” or stand alone). Even in highest spec will you be able to pick LOTS of extras. It should not be hard to double the car price with options.

• From the back on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Ho lun liang !

• Just wait for the final price when it finally comes to our shore… If it’s substantially higher than the normal ones, no point buying the hybrid as the saving could subsidize the petrol used.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:23 pm

It will only be CKD-ed if the incentives keep coming.

The problem with flip flop policies is that it doesn’t allow the manufacturers to commit. Today they have incentives, manufacturers invest in production, then 2 years later, all gone. Prices skyrocket, and how are they going to break even?

Instead, give a 10 year plan, decide once and for all. I feel the incentives should be continued. Heck, developed countries like the UK and States have pretty good federal AND state incentives (US) and govt incentives (UK). This itself is before the manufacturer bonus.

For example, a 2014MY Fusion EcoBoost 2.5 Titanium costs somewhere about 34k USD in California. A Fusion ENERGI Titanium, same exact options, before incentives and the 4k Ford bonus is about 46k. After bonuses from the state etc, the price slides to a nice 35k. You actually pay off the extra cost in a mere 11 months or so…

Reference; http://youtu.be/x8HBLzZPq4o

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:30 am

Agreed, though to be fair I think nowhere are the incentives as high as in Malaysia. RM 300k for the S class?! Show me a country that has such a high incentive… Of course that’s not so hard to do in Malaysia thanks to the ridiculously high taxes on normal cars. Once you make them tax free there’s a huge saving to be had.

• Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Agree with you, even Ford can CKD their 1.0 Ecoboost models here and receive the duty-free status. However 2 years is talk kok only, should be 10 years or more..

The big 3 (T,H&N)have their kei-cars that can be CKD’ed here as well if the initiatives are serious enough.

• Sam's Best Friend on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:32 pm

what are the chances the initial global launch will include Malaysia as the country?

CKD it and you have a winner. $200k for a C350 plug-in hybrid. EEV status here it comes. compared to the $250k A6 hybrid.

• ckd_merz on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Don’t worry! Our gov will make sure we can’t afford to buy this car.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:33 am

Erm. If Mercedes choses to CKD it in Malaysia, all cars that are produced before the end of 2015 are going to be 100% tax free. The big problem is that this is only valid until the end of 2015. It may be extended, no one knows, but that’s a big risk if Mercedes has to invest a lot to be able to CKD this car in Malaysia.

Also, if the car is launched at such a tax free price, you’ll have to run to the dealership as fast as possible, because they won’t be able to make that many before the end of next year, and those cars will be sold out very fast.

• Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:02 pm

If the government is serious about the incentives and extends the period to more than 10 years, MB would not have a problem to increase production by expanding their existing plant.

Come on, M’sia, walk the talk and not only talk kok and show-off that you have done your part!

• No point lauching this car as Malaysia ismt advance enough to offer power booth for the plug-in. We still need a long way to go. Besides, as this will be niche, MBM itself will charge a hefty price. :) i think its better to stick with current model as its best suit our current situation in Malaysia. Besides, fuel is being subsidized and it should be ok if we drive accordingly.

• Im afraid when our country has Power Booth for the plug-in also. It might be the victim of theft. In malaysia, we produced thieves that steal all range of products from women’s bag to steel bar that cover longkang. Perhaps these lowlife thieves will think to steal the electricity for their own use. lol….