Hyundai Tucson – third-generation SUV unveiled

hyundai-tucson-geneva-live-2

This is the all-new Hyundai Tucson, which brings the company’s C-segment SUV contender to its third generation. While the previous generation was known as either the Tucson or the ix35, depending on market, the new car – to be revealed in Geneva – will be known as the Tucson globally.

The new Tucson measures 4,475 mm long, 1,850 mm wide and 1,645 mm tall, with a 2,670 mm wheelbase. The overall look takes on a more masculine look compared to the more fluid outgoing car. Hyundai’s signature hexagonal grille dominates the front. The sides of the grille are exposed where they meet the headlamps, so that bit of design is no longer unique to cars from Munich.

hyundai_tucson_3

The interior is aligned horizontally, and the infotainment screen sits nicely inside the dashboard between the air-con vents. Hyundai has refrained from going with the standing screens that seem to be gaining more popularity, and claims the new system is three times faster than the previous version. Navi is powered by TomTom Live, with an included seven year free subscription.

Convenience features include heated and ventilated front seats, seen above finished in the optional ‘Wine Red’ leather. The seats themselves now have longer cushions for better thigh support. There’s also a smart powered tailgate (which opens at the approach of the key-holder) and Smart Parking Assist System (SPAS) with both parallel and reverse-in parking capabilities.

hyundai_tucson

Other driver aid features include an Autonomous Emergency Braking system, a Lane Keeping Assist System, a Rear Traffic Cross Alert system, a Blind Spot Detection system, and a Speed Limit Information Function. There’s also an Active Bonnet System, which raises the vehicle’s bonnet to cushion the impact shock in any frontal collision with a pedestrian or cyclist.

Various engines are available. There are two petrols – a 135 PS 1.6 litre GDI or a 175 PS 1.6 litre turbocharged T-GDI, with the latter able to be equipped with a seven-speed dual clutch gearbox. The other engines use a six-speed conventional automatic where available, else it’s a six-speed manual. The three turbodiesel options include a 115 PS 1.7 litre, a 136 PS 2.0 litre and a 184 PS 2.0 litre.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 12:27 am

looks good. but kinda reminds me of the cx-5…evolved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 21
    • roxas on Feb 18, 2015 at 3:35 am

it is the cx5 tat looks like the current tucson and the mazda6 ass tat looks like a sonata/elantra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 42
    • HyundaiKIALaJunk on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:59 am

Very China Car design looks, all those chrome, yarks.. Another Korean Junk that meant to failed juck like the recent facelift Sonata hardly see one on the road, even the US market sales is so bad that they need another facelift within a year. Junk always be Junk no matter how they hide under their their so call fluidic design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 45
      • LA Junk Low Life. on Feb 18, 2015 at 2:32 pm

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM120,000, down from RM180,000. So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.
        These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.

It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars. You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Its high time De La Junk, La Junk, Same Loor and all those scum who bad mouth Korean cars to get a life. You all are frustrated in life and got no love from your family, that is why you come here bad mouthing Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 44
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:45 am

Asking price in mudah.my is not the same as trade-in or selling price to used car dealers.

Korean cars are great cash cows because the buying/selling gap is huge.

Typically, an 18 month on Sonata will trade for less than 50% of ori price, but selling at 75%.

That is why kimchi used car dealers have a Hilux outside their yard to show these sorhai owners that they are screwed with after market prices

• Old dog on Feb 18, 2015 at 12:41 am

When Korean car engine improved another level…the game will be very different since their design are pretty cool…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 22
    • I love it all..!! but, i bet when it launch in malaysia.. all the great features will be out!! Just like the new sonata.. arghh.. kosong je..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Kimchis might catch up with Toyota 2015 design by 2050

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 20
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:54 am

Kimchi designs are cool for only long enough for you to place the down payment.

Right after you step out the showroom, remorse sets in.

Right after you pick up the rotten cabbage, you will be questioned by your spouse/GF/mother “why did you get a Korean Car? No Class one”.

3 months later, your GF leaves you, your boss denies your promotion, because Korean car owners are deemed not trustworthy. You park far far away at family gatherings for fear that relatives that come with Toyotas or Hondas will do a Hyena Laugh at you.

6 months later, you start to post online to sell, but will fail miserable as no one will even call up.

12 months on, you are forced to renew road tax and insurance coz the car is unwanted.

15 months on, you come to my showroom, I show you the Hilux, you yell Hailat Lor, I cut you a checque.

You head down to the nearby Toyota or Honda showroom, book yourself a real car. A few weeks later, you will live like a high flyer again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
  • AVH (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 12:47 am

The old car was not a looker in my eyes, in fact I really do dislike the ‘Fluidic Sculpture’ of previous Hyundais. This looks great, it has the right proportion, edgier lines from the great looking Santa Fe. And best of all it looks unmistakeably, a Hyundai. The interior also looks much more evolve and mature. I am only uncertain with the rear, it looks slightly weird.

Overall, design wise, its a great step-up over the previous iteration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
  • Looks like what the BMW X3 should be. Now go and work on the interior a bit more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Rover (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:40 am

Yuck… The front is still acceptable, but the back… urgh

Reminds me of Macan + double chin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
  • roxas on Feb 18, 2015 at 2:00 am

oh yeah ~ way to go !

• Looks much better than the hideous CRV. Honda must redesign the CRV to look more beautiful. F”k honda CRV designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • Correct indeed my friend. I went the honda showroom to test drive the CRV facelift recently. Hard suspension and cheapskate build quality compared to my old 2012 Tucson. Even my father and wife said it looks ugly. Ugly already one problem, Expensive price tag too LOL! I suggest u wait for next generation CRV otherwise just buy CX-5 facelift or this new generation tucson once it comes to bolehland. Peace bro and Happy new year:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • The fact is ugly or not Malaysians dont care. The H brand is well worshiped here in Malaysia. My parents have been working in Tokyo for 22 years.
        Honda to the Japs are just like our proton and perodua cars here.Basic car only. Here in Malaysia the CRV is like a premium luxury branded SUV despite having poor quality in ur post. Hyundai cars like my own Tucson 2.4 gets condemned by many people. Sad…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • mnk696 on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:10 am

Great look….BTW HSDM … Don’t forget to install ONLY 2 airbags when you bring in ….life is tooooo cheap in Malaysia….. I wonder who’s the head of marketing?

• Basically, a scaled-down Santa Fe.

I like.

• Looks nice and competition of SUV between manufacturers getting tougher. They compete with each other except one that they dont afraid of; Proton.

• tricycle on Feb 18, 2015 at 9:13 am

Beautiful

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 9:51 am

Err design wise they got it 90% right. The only 10% wrong is the rear numberplate. Somehow having it not on the hatch makes it very plain and empty on the rear door. It’s not only the Tuscon that has this issue, the i10, i20, i30, Axia, and even the Macan have that issue.

Though some cars like the prefacelift 1 series looked alright cause they don’t have that much empty metal on the rear hatch.

• applegreen on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:14 am

What’s interesting for this new model is there will be 5+2 seater. Performance N model is possible too, which could pack no less than 150KW power

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:20 am

Hope they bring in the MT version. There is still alot of drivers who prefer manual clutches despite jams in city….

• Elchino on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:50 am

A Hyundai salesman just mentioned that a 2015 Santa Fe will be launched soon and buyers can start placing their bookings now. He mentioned 6 airbags. I am not sure whether it is merely a facelift or really a 2015 model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Santa Fe was launched in 2013 therefore I believe it could be a facelift model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Great then, current model 18 month old Santa Fe will now fetch 35% of their value now

• Retep on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:11 am

Yeah Hyundai-Sime Darby better not pull that two airbag bullshit like they did with the Santa Fe when it gets here.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Kimchis can have 11 airbags like US Spec S-Class but they will still fetch very low RV

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:23 am

Great news for me. Trade in value of current 18 month old unit will nose dive to 35% of ori price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • shawal on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:45 pm

I’d part my hard earned moolah if the spec and price is right up there with rivals…

• StephanieLim on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:44 am

so hai Sam Loo (ori1) and other nicks that he has