Lotus ends financial year with best sales since 2008/09

Lotus-Evora-400-Geneva-5

Lotus has announced a 55% rise in sales at the conclusion of its 2014/15 financial year (FY), with sales volume jumping to 2,015 units from 1,296 units in 2013/14. It’s the best result achieved by Lotus since FY 2008/09.

Key global markets that showed big growth were China (+186%), France (+177%) and Germany (+130%), while Japan (+103%) remained the Malaysian-owned company’s largest export market. UK sales have more than doubled to 346 units (+102%), while the US market, which sells the Evora as a road car and the Elise/Exige for track use only, saw a 24% increase.

Leading the way is the Elise range, with a 80% increase in volume to 729 cars. The Exige S continues its positive growth (+52%) with 724 cars, while the Evora is up by 35% with 562 cars. These figures are expected to change with the launch of new Evora 400 in August. Helping the progress are two new models: the Elise 220 Cup and the Exige S automatic in both coupe and roadster forms.

lotus-evora-400-7

“This positive result is something that we have not witnessed at Lotus for many years. We are meeting both time and budget deadlines. Yet, we appreciate that we still have hard work to do to maintain the progress. Our continued expansion demonstrates the customer confidence in Lotus and that our product development strategy is meeting its objectives, while remaining true to our core pillars of efficiency, light weight, high performance and driving purity in the most desirable packaging,” said Jean-Marc Gales, CEO of Group Lotus.

“The reason that we are making such vital headway lies in our employees’ commitment to avoid delays in project deliveries and I am immensely pleased with the cultural changes that have been effected by our staff across the whole of Lotus. Looking to the future, we are working on new Lotus cars and have a number of exciting announcements and reveals over the next 18 months,” he added.

Along with the sales growth, dealer strength has also grown, with 36 new outlets in the global network in FY 2014/15 taking the total to 174 Lotus dealers worldwide.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Funny that revenue figures are not mentioned. Figures. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • dodgeviper88 on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:49 am

Some people take sales as revenue. I would focus more on their net profit instead. You can have a RM10billion revenue but doesn’t mean anything if your expenses is RM10.1billion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 08, 2015 at 3:32 pm

The Lotus can sell even more if they sell the Iriz under Lotus badge.

Wow, my first Lotus…

• Albert on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Same Lorr,Lotus has 174 dealers worldwide each selling a paltry 11 units in a year.
          Wtf…..Can you survive if you sell 11 cars a year,as a Toyota salesperson?
          You mean you sell 1 vios a month,can cari yee lai?
          Lotus …is in a deep shithole and still basking in perlindungan sunshine!! Shithole and shambolic orang putih taking protong for another ride into the abyss.

• Arell on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:01 am

… and the take profit as profit but losses are swept under the carpet!

• makese on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:56 am

in previous article related state lotus still not make any profit yet its sales increases. that all *fly aways

• Annoynimouse on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:09 am

I guess the strategy is to get the sales going first and then talk about profits.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:13 am

This is the sign of Proton revival with March selling volume increase more than 10k unit. I’m confident Proton will gain profit in coming 1-2 years. Good job Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 26
        • Low Budget on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Still too early to predict Proton’s return to profitability in 1-2 years time.
          If Proton introduce the new Iriz with boot (New Saga) this year and price it correctly, they might be able to succeed.
          Proton survival in the short term could be under threat now that the Proton chairman is having a big big quarrel with Najib, and Najib might pull off the plug on the Gomen funding for Proton.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Low Budget:
            Iriz sedan was design for Persona meanwhile Saga will be using new design. That is why Dato Harith convince that Proton capable to regain profit in coming years due to new hot model will be coming out earliest end of this year..

• Arell on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:03 am

Proton cycle is make profit for one year than make loss for 5 years… When lose lose RM500 million when profit make RM30 million. duh!

• FIST (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:13 am

all new model please

• Prevve on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Sorry lah, where got money to do it? Sudah rugi billions millions gazillions. Luckily DRB jadi Pak Sanggup to cover losses.

• “Leading the way is the Elise range, with a 80% increase in volume to 729 cars. The Exige S continues its positive growth (+52%) with 724 cars, while the Evora is up by 35% with 562 cars.”

729+724+562=2015!!!

• what a joke on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:12 pm

hahaha just 2015 car in 1 full years!

even Tesla manage to sell 15x more than Lotus.

• shawal on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:20 am

could have saved more money and face if they hand’t gone through with dany bahar’s fruitless grand master plan of 5 new models….of course He did that to attract investors but now all those 5 models are scrapped ( or put on hold )…

• Golf_Shop_Travel on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:26 am

Sales of 2000 units globally is still a disgrace and unsustainable …given 174 Dealers that works out as 11 sales per Dealer average…so given that most of the sales are in a small number of countries, it is my guess that some Dealers sold one – or none!

• Painter on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:32 am

Good! Anything good for this country, I support.

• old dog on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:37 am

figures are the fact, so thumbs up for the good initiatives…
    however, looking at Bolehland Management, ..profit sure channel out..we seen enough.

• Lotus is in desperate need to overhaul its lineup.

As much reluctant as they are, the world is moving towards luxurious and comfortable supercar while hardcore and lightweight ones are dinosaurs. They need to create something like the 458 Italia, comfy yet scarily fast, and then make lightweight versions.

Then only money will keep flooding the bank.

• If they do like everyone else, what’s to differentiate them?

Wait, the 458 is comfy? Have you been in one at high speed on our highways? Or tried to enter a multi-storey lot?

Lotus just needs to be bolder, improve their marketing, and cut down costs. One of the reasons they are not selling is because of the high price for what you get. Not value at all, when you can get a Boxster or high-specced BMW/Mercedes coupes or many other established, prestigious cars for less.

• Have you? the 458 was designed to be driven in such circumstances an is civil as a supercar can get… And yes as for the golden question..I have been in one and driven one many times thanks to some privileged friends and I don’t know if you did the run in a standard of tinkered one but it’s rather civilized at above legal speeds on our highways. I have been in Audi’s that are less comfortable … it’s not a grand tourer but it’s not hardcore like a Lotus either…

I’m guessing all his trying to say is Lotus needs to modernize a lot of things if it intends to be taken seriously as a mainstream sports car manufacturer it so wants to be as opposed to a weekend special niche car maker it currently is

Areas such as refinement, modern amenities etc need to be more 2015 then 2005 I reckon…

• Bro, they have the new Evora 400!
      I am quite glad to see Lotus is now heading to the right direction with the new management…..

• New management? but they are still owned by the same lousy parent company. Are you saying that the mgt at Lotus is better than its parent company?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • myvivios on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:15 am

Who says? People prefer to buy light supercar myvi than peasant heavier saga!

• Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:59 am

This is the sign of Proton revival with March selling volume increase more than 10k unit. I’m confident Proton will gain profit in coming 1-2 years. Good job Proton!

• lotus owner on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:11 pm

glad to hear this. I am sure by next year lotus can beat myvi sales.

• Talked to much. So was there a profit? or loss?

• thedarkside on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:28 pm

maybe one day we can see a new esprit in pretty woman 2???

• Qusairy on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Tak boleh ke Lotus bantu Proton betulkan finishing interior Proton yg rase murah tombol2 button2 yang xcantik yg xfit.

• CyberPatrol on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Lotus Group Plc submit a report of financial loss of 71M pound in 2014 at Companies House(UK). Source comes from carmagazine.co.uk.

However in 2015, volume of sales unit increase and it due to increase of dealers networks channels. But it too early to tell Lotus makes profits until Lotus Group submit a financial report for 2015 in year 2016 to Companies House.

I hope best wish to Lotus Group team and CEO, to continue good stride of sales and also maintain profitability. After all Lotus Group do not wish to compound financial loss of 2014.