Proton offers seven-year/250,000 km extended warranty on Saga, Iriz, Preve, Suprima S and Exora

Today’s issue of The Sun carries a full-cover ad by Proton, the outside back cover of which mentions a seven-year extended warranty. We called Customer Care, who told us that the warranty is offered on every new Saga, Iriz, Preve, Suprima S and Exora. The Satria Neo, Inspira and Persona are not included.

The copy reads “7 Years Worry-Free: Nothing drives us to do better than our commitment to your peace of mind. That’s why, every new Proton now comes with built-in safety features and a 7-year extended warranty to keep your car the way it is meant to be. True value is owning a car without repair worries.”

This is a big upgrade over the existing warranty terms. The Iriz, Preve and Suprima S are previously offered with a five-year coverage, while the Saga offer just three years. The Inspira’s three-year coverage remains, while the Satria Neo and Persona models carry on with the original two-year warranty period.

UPDATE: This seven-year/250,000 km extended warranty package is part of Proton’s new “Even More Value” campaign, and is only valid for the months of May and June. Other than a longer warranty period, Proton is also offering a low 1.99% interest rate for the Saga and Iriz (monthly installments of RM326 for the base Saga SV), 100% financing scheme for government staff, and special deals for graduates and undergraduates.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• SEW Sim on May 21, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Dear Proton,
    I am driving your 1st batch of Extra CFE for 3.5yrs at 65K mileage.
    My suspension is in poor state now. Noisy and bumpy
    And I couldn’t imagine these will last 7 yrs as you wanted to warrant.
    Whenever I tried to complain, you just tighten it up and the noise comes back again after a while.
    Going to COE so many time tires me…
    Just wanted to share my experience..
    Thanks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 32
    • Areyousure on May 21, 2015 at 6:31 pm

This is gives a shame to Toyota, Honda and Volkswagen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 48
      • BMW 2 Year Warranty on May 21, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Even though Proton lies about their warranty, must admit, its a shame to BMW.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY car company in the World (not just Malaysia) offering 2 years warranty for their cars.

Consumers are fed up now. They know BMW themselves are so scared to give more than 2 years warranty cause BMW themselves know after 2 years, lots of expensive problems happen.

How come all other car companies are now giving 5 years warranty? Even Proton now 7 years and Perodua Malaysian brand that everybody laughs also give 5 years warranty. Mercedes also give 4 year warranty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 6
        • Sandiwara (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Yeah Proton now produce better cars than BMW because they give 7 years
          Very soon Proton will tarpau BMW in the whole world
          Consumers are so fed up of 2 years warranty by BMW until all of them will buy a Proton that gives 7 years warrranty to replace their BMWS
          Mercedes consumers will also soon be fed up of Mercedes 4 years warranty until all of them will buy a Proton that gives 7 years warranty

Soon Proton sales will tarpau both BMW and Mercedes

Malaysia Boleh!! Proton Boleh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 34
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 21, 2015 at 9:55 pm

Sandiwara A fake P1 fanboys.

Proton never lie and we Proton same quality like BMW and Volvo… that’s why all ministers change their car to Proton saga and Iriz NOW !!!

Even MITI CEO driving Proton Saga to work and meeting everyday !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
          • Ah Beng (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 9:03 am

This is what we call as responsible manufacturer. All automaker should follow PROTON’s approach. This is one of the way to convince customer that PROTON today not same as old PROTON. Good job DRB & PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Yeah right, we all know Proton’s warranty…

So hard to claim, parts and labors often excluded, decades long delay at SC, only free inspection and GST adsorbed.

Like this Toyota gives 50 years warranty also no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Sorchai Albert on May 21, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Don’t be stupid. Please check more before talking kok. I bought a 325i in the states and was given 4 year warranty / 50k miles or 80k km. Maintenance was totally free for entire 4 year. Not a single sen paid by me.

Only they rip you off in malaysia with lousy 2 year warranty. Rest of the world gets better deal than malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • kangkung on May 22, 2015 at 12:37 am

You must be the son of Albert called Sorchai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • sammy on May 22, 2015 at 11:50 am

Off course they can give you 7 years warranty or longer, they probably plan to close shop by then… so even 20 years warranty they can give.

• actually 7 years warranty even though good step but not the smartest move to win the share market, if proton want to move forward they should offer to malaysians something better than 7 years warranty which is customization, give them the choice to customize their car like this example from peugeot uk

http://www.configurator.peugeot.co.uk/configure-your-peugeot/108/3-door/

• shazam on May 23, 2015 at 12:32 pm

What the rakyat want is to remove NAP and Proton to stand on its two feet. Proton still don’t get it kah?

• Proton on May 25, 2015 at 2:53 pm

We all know proton quality usually after 1-2 year all the problems will look for u. This time, proton sc sure flood with defective car lol since they dare to extend so many years. 7 years no income free service. Haha, I’m waiting to hear proton owner come here and bash thm slow service becoz out of the number they can handle for old age cars.

• 10 Years Warranty Pun Fail on May 21, 2015 at 6:59 pm

They can offer even 10 years warranty, but when you want to claim time, they will find all sorts of excuses. 9 out of 10 times, they will lie to you and say it is not covered by warranty.

That is Proton style. My Proton was 3 months old and absorbers malfunctioned. Proton said, absorbers not covered.

So to all the Proton pondans and fanboys out there celebrating this 7 year “victory”, bear in mind you are dealing with a company that has raped and stolen hundreds of billions from us Malaysians. Do you think they will honour their warranty when the past 30 years Proton has raped us?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 37
      • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:24 pm

I can confirm one thing, Proton always decline warranty claim.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 13
        • Close Down Proton! on May 21, 2015 at 7:40 pm

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about 7 years of warranty when the past 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. You still happy with your 7 years? If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 55
          • Millions lost to Proton! on May 21, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Very true. In our lifetime, each of us would have bought at least 6 cars each person. Since each car is overpriced by 3x the global value, each person in Malaysia would have lost about few hundred thousand ringgit if MITI did not control car prices.

Per family even worse. Father, mother and 3 children. 5 x 6 = 30 cars average in their lifetime.
            So each family could have saved nearly RM2 million if cars were properly priced and not priced in a way to protect Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
          • drMpower on May 21, 2015 at 11:39 pm

paragraph 2,3,4,5,6,7,9 and 11 are all wrong. and para 6 is full of fantasy. this guy should have put some pornographic stuff to even get these paragraphs worth reading

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 39
          • Actually not Proton mistake, it is the GOV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
          • Johnny on May 22, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Welcome to inflation.

• I can unconfirm ur claim. Fixed some noise problem, no need charge. Claimed faulty clockspring under warranty, no need charge even labour. Proton Gen2 CPS Year 2008
          Fully recommend u go Proton Service Segambut. Very fast, friendly, opens 7 days a week(!), although mostly full but will entertain ur walk-in service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • armandd on May 21, 2015 at 9:21 pm

I don’t think you even own a Proton. I have claimed the speedometer because of a hairline scratch on the inside, and my driver’s leather seat because the edge of the seat wrinkled a bit. Both my claims were entertained without much question. They were done at Proton Edar Seri Manjung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 17
        • Cutester on May 22, 2015 at 12:17 pm

I made a claim for a faulty fuel meter needle just before the 2 years warranty ended for my Iswara. Proton replaced a new one without question asked. Just send the car to the SC, wait at the guest area, and car is ready in 1 hour.

• tailong on May 22, 2015 at 9:20 am

i’m not sure u talk cock only or what.. my previous waja had absorber problem.. guess what.. free change (under warranty).. seat got benang tetas.. guess what.. free change rear seat (also under warranty).. no.. this not friend-of-mine kind of story…

no.. proton no perfect.. only choice happen to be within my budget…(many malaysian probably)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Previously my saga flx got sound on the rear wheel.
        when i go complain at service center 1st they try to repair,when the problem still persist, they immediately order new set of whole rear drum brake.
        good job proton service seri iskandar (behind petronas)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Thorrellius on Jul 31, 2015 at 12:17 pm

I always went to proton to claim, and all the time I got everything that required, even the seat covers twice. FYI I went to COSE and Setapak 3S SC. If any of the SC causing issue, due complaint to WeCare.

• Stop complaining about Proton! Everyone know Proton produce low quality and no class car just like Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
    • kzm (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 9:01 pm

it could be nice if p1 cover all current gen model..

• Asalkan Bukan Pro-blem on May 22, 2015 at 8:25 am

Yes but their service centre sure full of repairs lah. Sunday must open too. Sambutan hangat.

• Nissan on May 21, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Pathetic iriz designed to be the game changer but now have to sell like pisang goreng sales carnival. Wander what sales figure had this global small car achieved so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Motorbuttt on May 24, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Extra CFE??

• jinggo on May 21, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Tak laku lettew..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 27
    • CEO that Lies on May 21, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Proton sales are so bad. But the CEO of Proton love to lie to people. He said Iriz demand was too much to handle.

Come on Proton CEO, don’t lie to the rakyat. I hardly see any Iriz on the road. Very few only. But you publicly said sales too good. You said demand had such a long line.

Proton CEO also said other cars like Saga also demand so great.

If demand so great? Why your company still losing money and sucking billions every year from our LHDN money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
    • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 21, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Now the kampong people have woken up from their deep slumber. They are aware of 1MDB about to make Malaysia bankrupt. Suddenly, their eyes also open now and they can see how Proton has cheated Malaysians the past 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • django on May 21, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Hahahaha memang pun tak laku!

Give RM7k discount also tak laku, now give 7 years warranty.

What’s next? Buy 1 free 1?? Ahhahahaha woohhoooh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
  • Good, make sure you only apply for 7 years loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Waiting for kzm to come here and say that we all must bercukur kepada UMNO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
  • Giving warranty is one thing. Honouring it is another.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 14
    • hahaha on May 21, 2015 at 6:26 pm

In Malaysia, we always have the good ol’ T&C to void responsibilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • What happened to the burned Exora that’s still under warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • recardo on May 21, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Owner ady got payment from insurance company . How about those burnt alza?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • Why drag insurance company along? The car is still under warranty. 7 years warranty konon.

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:20 pm

the exploded Exora, Proton said it was not their concern and blamed it on the owner. That is how they honour their warranty. Always say void because salah owner. Owner tak servis tepat masa, owner tekan banyak banyak, owner pasal, owner tak masuk gear, owner pakai minyak sendiri, owner in, owner itu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
  • Hope that after sales service will improve too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Well, it would probably improve their image, kinda like what Kia did.

If you think about it, Protons (the more modern ones/new generation Protons) like the Preve, Suprima and Iriz are really really impressive cars, considering how this was the same company that came out with the hopelessly underpowered CamTakPro Gen2.

In fact, if not for the CVT’s e-clutch software, the Iriz by far is a real accomplished car. The new 1.6 engine is a pretty good one, body control is good, it’s safe and it for once feels nice. The Preve and Suprima are impressive as well, considering the Preve is now nearly 3 years old.

If at all, the only thing Proton needs to buck up is the CVT. It’s not up to mark if you ask me. Lot of room for improvement there but the rest, I would say they are on the right track.

To see how far they have come, just sit in a Persona. Then sit in a Preve. Notice the shut lines, the materials, the build. The Preve is miles ahead, and tbh, I actually hear less horror stories from them compared to VW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:07 pm

But this is just a 2 month promo, it really should be a continuous thing.

• kadajawa on May 21, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Q: How to tell a German is smart or not?

A: He will always buy Skoda, not Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
        • youbutthurt on May 22, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Only butthurt basher said like that
          Saw number of foreigners driving preve, why not civic focus or altis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Exactly, I’m living in Mont Kiara and many are driving the Preve’. LOL

• Moving Forward on May 21, 2015 at 11:25 pm

And not forgetting the beefy torque at low rpm and above average handling. Took a ride with sales agent next to me with two colleagues at back seat. We went through a few short yet high speed spins followed by u-turn and greeted by uphill slope heading back to showroom. Steering feedback is linear and body movement is predictive and the massive torque propel the metal and four adults effortlessly uphill without revving the engine hard. Impressive is the impression after the short test drive session. Questions still remain to be answered – after sales service and reliability on the mechanical parts. Will get a preve turbo once these are not issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • sudanano on May 25, 2015 at 2:37 pm

haha, come on Preve horror stories is everywhere even more than VW. I can list out a few here.
      1) jerk when accelerate 0-100 and reverse frequently
      2) GPS map was outdated without free upgrade, a owner even get lost lol.
      3) High fuel consumption, full tank cannot even go 370 km.
      4) broke down on high way nearly take the owner’s life.
      For more information, please visit to proton facebook.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Same L0rrrr on May 21, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Extended warranty: Labor and parts are chargeable, only inspection/consultation fee is free???

People really no faith thus 7 years warranty is needed. Why not just make it 10 years like China’s VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • paulnut on May 21, 2015 at 6:20 pm

You regret buying your son saga in September last year. Shall wait till now to buy. Serve you right.

• Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:39 am

Why not you bullshit I buy 12 Saga every months last year to my 12 sons?

If I have any junk at home, I give you for free. Come knock my door then. Puih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • taknaktoyota on May 21, 2015 at 6:37 pm

If toyota parts are so good why not give longer warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota no need warranty, use one year back can send back to kilang potong already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 21, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Haha P2 macai eat this !!!

Proton car for Rakyat and give more warranty. Because we say Proton = to BMW and Volvo !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Super on May 22, 2015 at 2:10 am

eat what Ah Beng?..

P1 give more warranty to win over their fallen market share. In April P1 only recorded 11% market share below than Honda and Toyots while P2 at 38%..

P1 need give lifetime warranty to win back the share mehh..

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 22, 2015 at 10:39 am

Still better then P2 la… eat this fanboys go balik kampung jer !!!

• kzm (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 6:31 pm

does it mean eg Iriz 5 yrs + 7 yrs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:14 pm

hello kawan, in kampong or uitm you never learn anything is it? Mana ada 12 years warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
      • kzm (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 8:52 pm

is it a sin to ask? i dont understand how it work..im no god who knows everything

• Sandiwara (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 6:40 pm

To those keyboard warriors who complains that BMW is ONLY giving out 2 years warranty, it is time now that you buy a few Protons and come ADVICE people to buy Proton because they give out 7 years and BMW “ONLY” 2 years

• Proton better than BMW and Volvo.. See 7 years warranty vs 2 years. Lose liao BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Sandiwara (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Yeah if one were to listen to those keyboard warriors, Proton is a better car than BMW now
        7 years warranty vs BMW 2 years

Some more can say Proton more quality than BMW because Proton give 7 years warranty

• tellerg on May 22, 2015 at 12:49 pm

To those who dun read, of course they will misunderstand. It’s just refered to the NCAP test result.

But still even Mazda6 has lesser HPF structure, than Preve.

• Have been persuading friends to buy proton iriz that comes with safety features and a lot of things when they are planning to buy a car, but the answer they always give is “myvi will be better. Proton ah? Scared window problem, Quality sure not good.” All because of some people gave negative feedback in FB. Now my Brother still thinking whether to buy iriz or myvi… Any suggestion?

• Iriz…say the brain
      Myvi…say the heart

• Myvi…says the money
        Iris…says the soul

• Iriz.. word from your brain
          myvi.. if you don’t know anything about car, then grab this

• iriz..if u value your life
            myvi..aaa value..something

• Iriz..if u value your life
            Myvi..err…value something except your life?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:05 pm

People… Toyota also has power window problems.

“Toyota Motor Corp (7203.T) said it would recall more than 7.4 million vehicles worldwide as a faulty power window switch was a potential fire hazard, the latest in a series of setbacks that have dented the reputation of Japan’s biggest automaker.”
      http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/10/10/us-toyota-recall-idUSBRE89906N20121010

A FIRE HAZARD. The Proton power window just stopped working! Toyota has faults too, and those are usually of the deadly variant. Brakes stop working, car just accelerates with no way to stop, car burns down, …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
      • alibaba on May 21, 2015 at 8:15 pm

And Exora got burnt not fire hazard ah? You are really biased in your comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
        • How many Exora got burned? Alza even Ferrari got burned, why you dun ask?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Woah, you’re comparing performance car with normal passenger car(MPV)? Thank you for showing how “smart” you are

• inspilala on May 22, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Lol not comparing speed, that’s still valid

• kadajawa on May 21, 2015 at 8:38 pm

A smart German will always buy Skoda and not Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Observer on May 22, 2015 at 9:21 am

A smarter German will buy BMW / Merc / VW / Audi….. No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • mijer on May 25, 2015 at 2:40 pm

agreed, these car are sure amazing plus wise performance spec. The most important thg is, they all got high rating from NCAP. XD

• Go Iriz lo.. since got 7 years warranty (do read the T&C). Since he doesn’t have a “passion” for any car that he wants now, go for the logical one (7 years worry free of big maintenance). After that, sell the car, get something he really wants.

• Sandiwara (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Since you’re an expert in cars and have been persuading people to buy iriz, why did your brother not trust your expertise and buy the iriz without a second thought?

• Since when that I said that I’m an expert in cars?

• Sandiwara (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 10:08 pm

If not an expert/knowledgeable why are you persuading people to buy car for?

• ayamxxx on May 22, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Ya Proton QC still not improve yet.

Dont expect much from Proton Quality wise.

Iriz do suffer from Rattling issues on its dashboard + door panel.

If your bring it to SC, most cases, they dont even solve that problem.

Mind you, there are lot of rattling case even for 3-5 days old for Iriz.

Low or cheap plastic material used in Iriz or no proper QC check during manufacturing phase?

• tokmoh. on May 23, 2015 at 2:02 am

Tell him if buy Myvi, people will vandalise his car for no reason.

If Iriz, amoi like cuz as good as BMW, as safe as Volvo, win liao lor.

• Proton Owner on May 21, 2015 at 7:20 pm

simple question,

Why not stop producing Proton to give permanent worry free warranty to nation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Tukun tiruan on May 21, 2015 at 8:49 pm

For first 7 years only worry free. Maybe on 8th year better sell it off or donate to kedai scrap metal.

• James Hong on May 21, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Stop Proton, life time worry-free warranty. Simple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • cendol (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:31 pm

In other countries, BMW is giving 4 year warranty.
    Only Malaysia is giving 2 years, I don’t know why.
    You can google it.
    THumbs up for Proton to offer longer warranty, it does allay some fear in buying Proton , some

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • jai_kite on May 21, 2015 at 8:46 pm

means, malaysian dont know how to read the manual istruction book and use the car ikut suka hati then, always to complaint that car rosak itu lah, rosak ini lah. 8 to 10 people use any brand of car in Malaysia, they TAK PERNAH BUKAK manual instruction book. agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • alldisc on May 21, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Where is my suprima turbo 6 speed manual?.. Waited for 2 years already.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Same, my Exora CFE only done 40K mileage in 3yrs. Suspension changed once, engine vibrate like hell on 1st gear. Dash rattling everywhere. Manual gear shift bush worn & making sound everytime shift gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • CFE EXORA got manual trans meh??? WTF..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Lol where got manual CFE? If you want to tell lie, try again ok?

• WTF. CFE with manual transmission? please read brochure before bashing.

• tailong on May 22, 2015 at 5:45 pm

kah kah kah… OWNED!!!!

do as many commentators here.. talk cock but sounds logic.. so people won’t notice u full of sh*t…

try again next time… but think before posting will ya.. good luck..

• You idiots keep blaming proton for high taxes.kamon,proton could go bengkrap the gomen will not care.bottomline is they will still charge high tax on cars bcos its good income.

• kusochon on May 22, 2015 at 12:26 pm

this. current (najib) government probably don’t care at all about proton. they just don’t want to lose the tax income. why reduce tax when people still buy?

• mentarimerah on May 21, 2015 at 8:20 pm

To those who is thinking Malaysia will be better off if PROTON closed down, i really pity you. You call yourselves Malaysian but never even bother to know about our history.

PROTON was set up in 1983 as a catlyst for Malaysia to an industrialised country towards realising Vision 2020. The PROTON that you hate so much is actually at the core of the nation’s automotive industry with many local SMEs and SMIs vendors being part of the ecosystem along with the larger international vendors. Thousands of job were created within the local automotive industry.

So imagine if your wish comes true and PROTON is shut down… the whole automotive industry in malaysia will collaspe and thousands of Malaysians will be jobless.

Another thing… PROTON is 100% owned subsidiary of DRB Hicom which is public listed company. So pls dont fool yourselves to think that you are contributing any funds to Proton either thru gov or epf or whatever channels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 34
    • mambangbiru on May 21, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Mentarimerah don’t talk ship lah.

You belum rasa kena kencing Proton.

Bila Proton bungkus, semua rakyat tak kira org asli india cina bugis jawa gerenti bergembira sorak sakan bak sambut New Year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • mentarimerahbodoh on May 21, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Proton at the core of the nation’s automotive industry?Who told you that?The number of cars that they sell in Malaysia cannot even match the major foreign brands. If those SMEs and SMIs depended on Proton for their business, they would have closed down already.Don’t be so stupid. Proton is nothing. In fact, if Proton shuts down, the automotive industry in Malaysia will grow even bigger.Look at Thailand. DRB Hicom is GLC, which is supported by the gov. And where does the gov. fund come from if not from the public? Being a public listed company does not mean they can have access to unlimited amount of money from share holders to spend.Which share holder would be so stupid to keep pumping money into a company which is always losing money?If they really want Proton to be independent and fight for themselves in the open market, why didn’t they sell it to a private non-GLC company?Looks like you are the one fooling yourself. Pls use your brain and don’t let people see you like a fool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Menyusahkan Rakyat on May 21, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Its OK, let Karma punish Proton. DRB can no longer bleeding cash and better sell off Proton for £1.

• Other countries also have their own “GLC” and been up, down and bailing outs. What’s the problem?

• ayamxxx on May 21, 2015 at 8:21 pm

I know there is NO PERFECT car in the world..
    Been actively reading Iriz, Suprima, Preve Groups forum in Lowyat.

Short Summary:
    1. Suprima HU is Junk, always hang in no time, sometime jammed and required Off-On engine(tedious job), claiming warranty required the HU to send vendor for 1-2 months
    2. Suprima FC – honest said if City Drive, more like a 2.4CC car. Highway in not consider Fuel save, just AVERAGE.
    3. Suprima Leather Seat, will become “Kedut2” like cheap plastic leather. Some owner can get replacement for warranty, but some DON’T. But what is purpose for that “kedut” to come back after 3 months of used?
    4. CVT whining too LOUD, plz do compare with different CVT equip Car like Nissan, Toyota. It just the PUNCH by Proton is like lacking some insulation materials.
    5. IRIZ rattling issues. Most of user experienced it, even for 3-5 days old car. CHEAP plastic used by PROTON? Most rattlings found/heard from Dashboard/door panel. Best parts, the SC cannot repair the Dashboard Rattling up to this date.
    6. IRIZ HU – same case with Suprima, albeit a lower no of complaint so far.
    7. IRIZ DRL – not function properly, some case only one side running, the other side not function.
    8. IRIZ FC for 1.6 Premium – roughly 10-12km/L only.

All summaries conclude that the POOR QC practice by PROTON/their VENDOR.
    Thanks Proton for making urself on becoming the most uninterested/unsaleable/hated car brand by MALAYSIAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on May 21, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Thanks for your input, that’s exactly the reason I didn’t buy a Preve, Suprima or an Iriz, albeit I went to the showroom once they are newly launched. When I sat in the cabin, the same kind of plasticky feel and flimsiness overwhelmed me. And being a past Proton owner, my six sense told me although these new Protons might be different from appearance, it’s the same shit like before. Never drawn into Proton marketing gimmick. Though Proton might be cheaper from other brand, its ownership definitely pills up huge amount of bills replacing pre-matured failure of different parts. (Look at Inspira’s suspension, that’s one of the part which Mitsu let Proton handle themselves and see how many Inspira owners frustrated and lamenting about their frequently replaced shock absorber, so much so many owners eventually got fed up and go for after market. Thank god Inspira’s 4B11 and CVT are flew in from Japan, all Proton did is just fitting them into the engine bay. If not, it’s just another crap car from Proton.)

In the end of the day, owning a Proton is almost as expensive, if not more expensive than owning a Jepun car. So why take all these troubles while you’re paying more or less the same anyway? And if you’re a decent middle class salary earner, RM100 or RM 200 makes not much difference when it comes to monthly instalment. That’s why people abandon Proton in droves.

50 years from now, my grandson will be reading a automotive book entitled “Shattered Dreams : The Rise and Fall of Malaysia’s Proton”. It seem that Proton will NEVER learn, they will choose to go to grave together with these cronies vendors and parts suppliers. Proton can never get rid of these vendors till hari khiamat. And if they choose to love these vendors more than the rakyat who has been supporting and being abused by them for the past 30 years, let them have what they deserve.

I predict Proton market share will fall to 15% of the TIV this year. I am equally happy to see Proton “achieving” single digit market share in 5 years time. And once that threshold is reach, Proton is practically done deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • ayamxxx on May 21, 2015 at 11:22 pm

I quite remember during the LAUNCH of Preve in TV. I thinks it broadcast-ed almost 1.5 – 2 hours Live in TV that time.

Yeah, lot of talking2 from Proton Top Management, their enthusiasm to PROVE that they are learning something from the past.. They give Video of each, so called Head of Department from Proton, each mentioning that this PREVE is the results of years of experience, definitely MAJOR improve in QC parts for the car.

WELL, UP TO THIS DATE, the SC, QC, Proton Vendor are in same attitude like during WIRA time. Just give ur time to service your car in Proton SC…

My colleague Preve CFE engine keep dying if drive very slow or during reverse the car and when him not pressed the ACC pedal. Send to SC, they updates the CVT software, well the Engine keep dying after 1-2 months later. SO to speak, is this the Design Error?

• If he had a crystal ball that can predict 50 years ahead, he would have been a very rich man now. Otherwise, he’s just here to sembang kencang. The true tin kosong

• drMpower on May 21, 2015 at 11:56 pm

it seems u drive a megavalve before, and never tested the iriz. i drove a megavalve 1.5 before, a waja, and an iriz. i think this way a better perspective can be look upon. and no, they are no same shite whatsoever. u talk rubbish

waja is the most sturdy proton to date. mahalel was right, it was a poor man’s bimmer. and i second him on the fact a waja drive very well, very stable, and with a greater engine it completed the whole thing. laugh all u want but he was right.

too bad u never try any other proton, particularly the ones made under that specky pak syed years. but what irks me so much is your damned verdict upon 50 years from now. and that 15% TIV. better what out. a mathematics linear regression method can easily prove that you are wrong on all account on that 50 years time so called expert prediction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
        • ayamxxx on May 22, 2015 at 9:11 am

I have one waja auto 4G18 Mitsu engine back then.

It well under-power, lack of torque, well quite in low average FC since it have to carry the well high weight of Waja Body.

The best parts of the Engine is it TORQUE comes very early, peak at 2750rpm if u see on the graph chart. might be design for City drive by Mitsu.

Try drive those 4G18 waja in sloopy or well, Genting Karak highway. might say 40-50% end up in 2nd Gear auto + struggling to cope with.

Then Proton come out with Campro 2004, sorry Drive-wise it weaker, TORQUE come out in upper RPM, 4000rpm?, but still lacking of torque from 1.6 Engine. Then those IAFM, CPS, CFE, VVT things, which basically based on 2004 Campro engine.

Best part, Malaysian already complaining the FC of CAMPRO, well its time already to close the OLD DESIGN CAMPRO. The CAMPRO is suppose to retired by 10 years from the design date, ie 2004-2014. But till now, they keep using it for us to buy without others option.

If proton wanna to improve, please outsource the new engine with latest market design,more FC frugal engine. They can outsource the gearbox – CVT from market, then why not the engine.

THEN, THE QC. Last words, they still not perform like the sound during the launch of PREVE

• cfeen on May 22, 2015 at 12:53 pm

CFE done much better with lowish torquey performance.

• ayamxxx on May 22, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Ya CFE is good.

BUT what is the points for having a City Drive FC similar like 2.4 CC?

The Campro is supposed to obsolete by 2014.

Now they keep putting that Dead Meat to new Proton Car.

They still doesn’t wanna the market demand?

What thus the QC done so far?

The Exora Bold is at the moments having LOT2 of Problem especially the ABS sensors, Blow off Valve (BOV) lots of Rattling from Dashboard, FC like 7-9km/L (supercar level FC), similar engine dead when driving slow – which required CVT software updates and etc.

What did the Proton QC done up until now?

Still waiting the game changer Suprima S R3 to dominate the Malaysia car market?

Been heard from Proton, they seem reluctant to launch the Perdana Accord based since market for them is too low at current time.

What a pity

• Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on May 22, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Dear drMpower,

Do you know where Proton stands in terms of total TIV last year?

The answer is 17%.

http://paultan.org/2015/01/16/proton-perodua-market-share-falls-below-foreign-brands/2014-malaysia-market-share/

Pls click on the link upstair and take take a good look my friend, stats and facts don’t lie. Since 2012, Proton has been steadily declining frm 23%, 21% to 17% of the TIV of Malaysia automotive market.

Mind you, Proton had launch 3 different models, namely the Preve, Suprima and Iriz, together with the “comeback game”, “5 star NCAP safety features” accompanying with their very loud marketing voice during the past 3 years.

The result?

Sales continue to decline, dropping steadily by an average of 2% of the TIV per year. And by the way Proton is declining and the rate consumers continue to abandon them, it doesn’t need rocket science, or any crystal ball to see the reality. 15% of TIV is completely “achievable” by Proton in 2015, why is it so hard to see the reality? Unless you’re a pure fanboy living in denial.

I have drove all three Preve, Suprima and Iriz. Apart from the safety features, which I must give Proton where credit is due, they are the same old lousy quality Proton.

And contrast to your believe, I actually rated Saga Megavalve very highly. The first generation Saga Megavalve is a gem among Proton’s eventual crap. It is a pure Mitsu underneath the badge with great reliability. My neighbour’s 25 years old, perfect running condition Megavalve is a testimony to that. It belongs to an age where Proton make good cars, outselling even the Koreans in UK back then! Sadly, ego has taken its toll on Proton after that, the rest is history.

Don’t get me wrong, Proton can still make good cars, too bad they just CHOOSE NOT TO. I am the fortunate one who has drove a real Satria GTI (not the Neo crap), which will be rated as the best Proton ever in my heart. Too bad Proton choose to take their customers for granted and create one junk after another. Like I say before, if they still wouldn’t get rid of their rent-seeking cronies and vendors, they deserve to be buried with them.

When domestic market plummeted to 17%, an increasing competitive market where your competitors are making far better cars, overseas export close to nil and closing dealership everywhere, and finally, not to mentioned an outdated, unrefined Campro drivetrain, you really didn’t need rocket since to see how bleak a future Proton has.

Remember, stats don’t lie, but blind emotions do, and that’s call a state of denial.

• anti pening kepala on May 21, 2015 at 8:22 pm

MITI should enforce all new cars with minimum car warranty 10 years with 10 years free service (labour+parts). Enough said.

• May and June only??? Hmm… I see this is part of the promotion for coming soon Hari Raya festival.

• Clearly Proton follow movie Fast Furious 7.

Sure next movie Furious 8 they will offer 8 years warranty.

• Aero (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Excellent news ! Proton should consider making this 7-year warranty permanent, at least for the Iriz, Suprima S and Prevé.

There’s only two things that are stopping Malaysians from buying the Iriz now; 1) People are worried that it will be unreliable and 2) It’s a Proton.

There’s nothing we can do about the second one, it will take decades to lift Proton’s brand image, but it’s very easy to change how Malaysians perceive the NEW Protons; maintain this long 7-year warranty and more importantly, HONOUR it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawie on May 21, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Proton should give life time car warranty. Forever no worry. Easily beat Perodua sales 200k units. Iriz also can sell 1 million units like Myvi.

Life time warranty, no worry be happy. Your money more worthy.

• 4G63T DSM on May 22, 2015 at 9:55 am

In North America, Hyundai gave out 10 year bumper to bumper warranties on thier cars.

It basically “bought” customer confidence.

But here, with consumer rights almost non existance, what assurances will we get that the warranty would be honoured? And why only the 2 month promotion period? If Proton is so confident about thier cars, go slap on a 10 year warranty like Hyundai did, and make sure you honour it.

Maybe Proton can “buy” thier way out of your present rut.

• Aero (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 11:50 pm

Kudos to Hyundai for achieving what they did despite the odds.

I think the only reason why Proton hasn’t done a similar warranty move is because they don’t have large cash reserves (not since the 1997 Asian financial crisis). This is also the reason why they have not been aggressively promoting the Prevé and Suprima S overseas, unlike the Persona and Gen-2 before it. Almost all of their funds go into R&D and new model development.

• ayamxxx on May 22, 2015 at 5:18 pm

People do worried with Proton Quality and after service attitude.

worst, they cant even solve dashboard rattling issues in Iriz.

• Thanks proton for creating job opportunities, building safer cars and now extend warranty. Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
    • vendor on May 22, 2015 at 1:01 am

Thanks proton for cheating the rakyat, creating job opportunities for us. Thanks Dr M and his cronies. We love Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • wiwiwiw on May 21, 2015 at 10:35 pm

*Terms and conditions applies

Proton,
    1) Could you share with us on what do you cover and do not cover on the warranty?
    2) Is it a full year manufacturer warranty or a mixture with insurance warranty?

• Asalkan Bukan Pro-blem on May 22, 2015 at 8:33 am

3) Why not 20 years warranty. Many take loan 9 years, after that still using it for 10 years.

• Sammy V. Loo on May 22, 2015 at 10:04 am

Yup, the terms and conditions applied must be understood. It could be 7 years or 100,000km, whichever comes first (which is certainly worse than the current 5 years or 150,000km).

But having said that, so far the warranty given by Proton is real. Other than wear & tear parts, all other parts are replaced at no cost and zero labour. The only trouble is spending time at the service centres and more time wasted waiting for the spare parts to arrive.

• Worry Free on May 22, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Last time Proton Australia give Waja 1 million km warranty (if not mistaken lah).

• Now I’m really think to change to Iriz. Very tempting offer

• Steve Kok on May 22, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Good job Proton, but normally a buyer who can afford a better car won’t buy Proton.

If proton can offer a 7 years warranty + 7 years free service includes Parts and labour, that would be even better.

Like tat Proton can close shop faster!

• Drove my 4 years old Saga FL manual with no problem to date. Mileage already passed the 100000km mark. Except for the power steering pump problem (which is my fault actually) during the warranty period. SC change without question. I kuat jalan one.

• CyberPatrol on May 22, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Yet to know the details which parts covers 7 years warranty, if it extension of 5 years assumed but two months (2) ONLY. Mostly about 22,000 units of Proton cars will be covered for that 7 years promotions, figure based on Proton expected sales forecast volume for end of 2015.

• tokmoh. on May 23, 2015 at 1:14 am

RM326/mth for Iriz, what’s the catch?

Dayum, that’s quite tempting actually. Save the manuals!

• Dino Bravo on May 25, 2015 at 6:13 pm

My Waja almost 10 years, no issue at all. Can even take over BMW 3 series when climbing hill. Proton should also offer non-CVT. CVT kills the Proton cars.

• chin peng on May 27, 2015 at 9:34 am

i came here to read comments…you guys sure much more experts on automotive eh??and you guys sure caring for p1,that is why people here debating so hard..pffttttt

• Extended warranty. What is covered ?

• Supreme Lousiness on Oct 15, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Warranty also no point….especially since all the service centers keep saying all the defects/flaws are normal.my suprima S 1)has such a low brake pedal bite point –Normal 2)the whole dashboard ,door cards ,centre console is rattling/vibrating –Normal…the car is only 26,000km

• Padmanathan Vijian on May 12, 2016 at 8:21 pm

My brother bought a saga not even a year the rear exile spoil .Go to proton they said no warranty .What type of answer is this .Pls respond to this complaint ASAP.

• Mayauiban on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:45 pm

let me straight to the point. I bought a proton preve in January 2013 and as of today I been using it for 45 months and the mileage is only 22,367KM.
    2. On this 45months after using it my preve air-cond cooling coil burst and yet your authorized dealer asked me to refill the gas.
    3. Three days later the same old problem coming back again the air cond is malfunction.
    4.I asked for a cooling coil WARRANTy since my vehicle is less then 4 years of aged and the mileage is only 22,367KM.

5. As expected the the old drama is played again,”Sorry Sir You Are Out Of Warranty, full stop.” You have to bare the cost by yourself.
    Poor me or poor proton, yet we are talking about 7 years warranty now, folk.

Sri Aman. Sarawak

• Xde otak+Xde Sivik=Berlari telanjanq atas highway dengan bangganya on Jun 28, 2017 at 7:37 pm

Baca syarat&terma setiap halaman warranty apa yg dicover,bagaimana dicover dan berapa lama.
    Klu tidak anda hanya melakukan perbuatan diatas.