Ferrari Takata airbag recall: 11 Malaysian cars affected

Ferrari-458-Speciale-Sepang-front

In July, Ferrari issued a safety recall for about 2,600 models globally over a possible “improper airbag assembly” on the driver’s side. Affected models in the Ferrari airbag recall include the 458 Italia, 458 Spider, 458 Speciale/Speciale A, California T, the FF, F12 Berlinetta and even the LaFerrari, made between December 19, 2014 to April 29, 2015.

Yesterday, CarAdvice reported that Ferrari Australia had issued a recall for 58 cars designated for delivery in Australia over the issue, which involves airbags made by Takata Corp. Malaysia is also on the recall list, though it involves a smaller number of cars.

The Ferrari Far East office today confirmed with paultan.org that 11 cars designated for delivery to Malaysia are affected. The company added that it will take less than one hour to replace the defective part and this will be done at no cost to the customers. There was no specific mention of models involved.

Ferrari-458-Speciale-01

On the issue itself, the automaker said that during routine control checks of its cars, it found the production non-conformance issue with the driver-side airbags it received pre-assembled from Takata Corp, which was confirmed by the said supplier.

The issue is a possible production defect in a component inside the air bags which were fitted to several cars built in 2015. The recall note from July stated that an improper airbag assembly could see it deploying in a “rotated orientation,” which could result in injury or death if met with a collision.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 25, 2015 at 6:22 pm

My car not involve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 25, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Becoz kancil got no air bags ma..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Commuter on Sep 27, 2015 at 7:47 pm

So Kancil safer than Ferrari?

• Rusmah on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:19 am

Yes, coz kancil no air bag! wont affected by Takata recall! LOL

• this is a real junk. Look at my Preve, still no recall. I can safely say here, Proton is much better than this junk Ferrari.

Thank you BN for giving us Proton. We must be grateful to have our local car. Dont be ungrateful like the 300,000 yellow shirt people who have otak kosong.

• kancil hybrid95d on Sep 26, 2015 at 3:50 am

Are you sure? Because this evening i received call frm perodua service advisor told me that my 1995 kancil with 2 ferrari side airbag have issue. Its hybrid diesel fyi with daihatsu badges.

• Ferlari on Sep 26, 2015 at 8:19 am

Because yours no airbag…

• quadexhaustmyvi on Sep 26, 2015 at 9:48 am

I smoked this car last time.

• My Proton better than Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Now you know Proton uses branded Autoliv not cheapskate Takata. RBA john has seen the light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 26, 2015 at 11:55 am

never go full retard.
        at least the sound of naturally aspirated V8 is a joy to hear, compared to your fart sound

• quadexhaustmyvi on Sep 26, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Because you never try turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 26, 2015 at 8:12 pm

turbo is for pretenders.
            nothing beats N/A in driving experience. (and BMW has killed it!).
            also, consistent power delivery, less complex, lasts longer, no fuss in the long run (forced induction setup compress air, creating more heat in the process).

• required on Sep 27, 2015 at 1:33 am

Turbo engine can deliver consistent torque through wider RPM band. Get your fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 26, 2015 at 4:20 pm

You mean you smoked beside this car’s photo while reading the megazine..rite

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 26, 2015 at 8:17 pm

no, he only smoked the hotwheels/matchbox model of the car

• Tifosi Jinjang on Sep 25, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Gua sudah konferm butut-butut sama Naza.
    Dia olang cakap ini machiam..
    Kalau airbag ata, tapi Ferrari takata, takata recaw. Beli Ferrari dulu
    Kalau airbag takata, Ferrari ata, pun takata recaw. Beli airbag dulu.
    Kalau airbag ata, Ferrari ata, pun takata recaw. Beli airbag takata dulu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Alfalfa on Sep 25, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Haish.. Why they did not fix it during last week maintenance appointment.. Huhu need to send back n wasting my time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 25, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Ferrari, Y U use Takata!?

• My Proton better than Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Now you know Proton uses branded Autoliv not cheapskate Takata. RBA john has seen the light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • No need to spin la. Its for improper airbag assembly. Why takata? Because theyre a global supplier and many reputable automakers use them obviously. Plus, most car makers are doing this as a preventive measure due to
        a handful of incidences. Which brand doesnt matter – once something happens to a particular item from a specific batch, theyre compelled to do an all encompassing recall. Sadly, it wont ever need to apply to the malaysian car brand because we don’t have global presence – you can get away with murder literally. Furthermore incidences can happen to Autoliv or any parts supplier.

• What murder? Any case to support your comment?

• Figure of speech. Now we know why proton cant survive.

• So it’s only hearsay, sigh. Learn to live in real world

• Perrrhhh on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:12 pm

After this sell ur ferrari then get proton

• Just 11 cars.Hmmm..While the others brand recall hundred thousand defect unit (in a year)..

• wow..out of so many 458 in malaysia, only 11 is through official channel.. surprising figures..

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:41 am

naza sells at 2 mil++, but used recond (which can be almost like new like ex demo cars) can only be like 1.6 mil.

a saving of 400-700k is a huge amount.

• Jacky Mendez on Sep 26, 2015 at 7:57 am

Same here, glad I chose a lambo over a ferrari :)

• Savvy88 on Sep 26, 2015 at 8:09 am

Proton just laugh at Takata Airbag’s user.. Proton uses Autoliv brand for their airbags. No issue so far. Yet People still said “ini airbag boleh function ka” despite other Japanese brands is the one they should tak about it at.

• only 11 cars sold here in 4 months? kinda expected it to be 20+

• hoseiliao on Sep 26, 2015 at 9:20 am

hw is the AP car gonna claim this?

• cynical on Sep 26, 2015 at 9:50 am

You mean ALL 11 cars? Gosh, how are they going to manage that?

• janji manis on Sep 26, 2015 at 11:06 am

aiya…..just install proton’s airbag lor……

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 27, 2015 at 11:16 am

Wow those 11 sure are lucky owners of a Ferrari. Hopefully it was obtained through ‘legal’ means =]

• Buatan Malaysia on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:08 am

Belilah Proton, no recall one

• Ultimatum on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:44 am

I hope Porsche can check on their airbags also..

• Pontan-HairStylist on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:04 am

Damn I m affected by the recall, so damn unlucky me.