VIDEO: New Proton Arena pick-up in development

During our recent interview with Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, we asked the Proton chairman to share his thoughts on the Arena, along with the progress and outlook on the aggressive-looking pick-up truck concept that was displayed at last year’s Alami Proton event.

The Proton Arena wasn’t the most popular model domestically, but enjoyed more success in export markets like Australia, where it was called the Proton Jumbuck. Although an all-new model never arrived on the scene, Proton’s pick-up truck concept is the long-awaited replacement for it, according to Tun Mahathir.

Unlike the Arena however, the new Proton pick-up will be a full-on truck instead of a two-door coupe utility pick-up. However, whether it retains the Exora underpinnings remains to be seen. Additionally, four-wheel drive – a new technology for Proton – will also feature on the pick-up. Tun Mahathir also expressed his faith that the new model will have a place in the Australian market as well.

The Proton chairman also emphasised the need for Proton to accelerate the development of its future vehicles. In the modern fast-paced automotive world, manufacturers are capable of introducing multiple new models in a shorter timeframe, which is something Proton ought to keep up pace with.

GALLERY: Proton Pick-up Concept at the 2015 Alami Proton event

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• excuse me? who has been buggering you to make pick-up trucks? nobody asking for it also want to build? you have surplus billions in R&D ke? you can’t even make cars properly now dreaming of making pick up trucks? what features are you planning for your trucks; breaking up in half under normal load?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 34
    • Same L0rrrr on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:03 pm

The ultimate consideration for a pick up truck is RELIABILITY. That’s why I always show you Hilux.
      For us it will be another Suprima S- Good to talk, good to see, no one bother buying, stocks under UV tests for years at warehouse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • 2ltr bottle on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:21 am

So reliable that a variant of the new 2016 Hilux doesn’t uses power window. Better buy Ford Ranger, cheaper with better spec.

• karam singh on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:31 am

Hilux failed moose test, that one down on the safety side.
        reliability yes, other side – comfort ? nope, Triton & Ranger got it.
        in term of power, also not Hilux
        in term of max towing limit, also not Hilux
        in term of safety, also not Hilux
        in term of fun, also not Hilux
        in term of tuning capabilities, also not Hilux
        in term of looks, also not Hilux
        in term of modification, also not Hilux

Proton just making the revival of Proton Arena, as its one of the best sold car by Proton in Aussie.
        Maybe sold not that good in Malaysia,
        well talking about Proton going global, this is one of their step.

• WT Fuchh on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:49 am

Pls dont call this one Jumbuck,ok. It means money jump way. Pls call it Proton Manikam…Money Come…..LOL….

• Oi oi on Feb 24, 2016 at 3:28 am

I x think Tun needs your approval they are trying market… being INOVATIVE and outside the box thinking. They have ambitions and dare to venture. They dont crush dreams… they see the world… they x see u… and go oh dear.. he has LEGAL shares in this company.. he signed the agreement… lets tag along with his ideas.. maybe we can make CAR-EE-PUFFS.. OR better still.. The new pick up be named : K.U.S.S.H Kondem Seribu Sumbangan Haram

• proton sucks..toyota hilux better pickup ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
  • Lol. Remember the old Proton Arena people ?

• Develop SUV will be better

• hahaha on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:47 pm

the front looks like something from a horror movie. all teeth and no eyes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Mitchel on Feb 19, 2016 at 4:20 pm

It’s a concept, not the real model. Learn the difference. Moron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • TheDean on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Hmmm….. more space to put cheap looking plastic. And why is the grill made up of cup holders?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • 4-wheel drive pick-up truck, this is awesome news!

• PROTON=TONS OF PROBLEM :D on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:07 pm

this looks like a war machine ISIS would probably order these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:37 pm

I don’t know what lies Tun is spurting but Jumback was a big failure in Australia. I was living in Australia then and it was the biggest joke in town. Hello brader Tun, Austrlians have so many powerful Ford SUVs and V8s Holdens pickups lah, they don’t need an underpowered junk like Jumback.

This alone goes to show how Proton is mismanaged and is spending money on failures and potential failures. And Proton will then ask our LHDN money to sustain and support the company.

Can’t believe Proton engineers thought cars like Proton Arena and Juara would be best selling. Bodoh engineers. Bodoh Marketing team. Even Savvy also big failure just like the Tiara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
  • King Hailat on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Habis lah Sam Loo!

Better reduce your Hilux price lah ha ha ha !

• Veneno on Feb 19, 2016 at 3:04 pm

just don’t stick with Exora’s jurassic underpinning, and interior design.. develop a new platform instead for this car and use the new platform to develop the future cars.. oh, Proton and Lotus are developing an SUV, right..?? use the SUV’s underpinning for the Arena replacement model, then..

• Same L0rr on Feb 19, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Bad RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • donno on Feb 19, 2016 at 3:48 pm

For a pickup, users will want toughness, which will not be a feature of a Mpv-based chassis. Just like mercedes is doing, base it on an existing pickup chassis. Even a Chinese one with a japanese (mitsubishi?) powertrain would be okay. The styling, exterior must be stylistically tough, with form following functionality. Take cues from adventure bikes, with functionality and ease of accesorising being an important feature. Overall look could be benchmarked with the hummers, mercedes g-class, perodua kenari rs (the front especially), with chunky flat surfaces, straight feature lines, utility looking round lights, military-like tough exterior. Create something timeless like that im sure it would be a winner.

• donno on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:59 pm

I also love the looks of the khan design/Chelsea truck Defender. To be honest the proton pickup concept is hideous, trying too hard to look tough but ended up looking like a badly mutated monster.

• Gonggok on Feb 19, 2016 at 4:36 pm

If proton build it with similar high specs like their latest cars (electronic stability control, 6 airbags etc) and offer long warranties like their Extended warranty programmes 5-7 years, and of course price it sensibly then it should sell well. Its a very crowded market with all the Thai pickups so proton need to offer something beyond others.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 19, 2016 at 4:57 pm

First of all, you don’t build a truck based on a SUV/sedan chassis. Proton has no experience or what so ever building a ladder frame chassis, heck, they don’t even have a diesel engine, why this stupid move by Proton?

The only reason I can think of is their normal passanger cars are no longer popular among Malaysians anymore, as majority of Malaysians are doing a great job of shunning Proton. I salute all my countrymen who buy Proton last, that’s how real patriotism is, to liberate Malaysians the curse of Proton. Hence, Proton now is exploring new ways to exploit, milk and cheat Malaysians to buy its junk, they are now aiming the commercial vehicle category, which are largely tax free and untouched by Proton till now.

When this junk crap thing comes into production, expect a Ranger Wildtrack to cost 300k, a Navara high spec to fetch up to 270k and a Triton to cost you 245k!

Why Proton has to be so busybody? Dipping their hands into all sorts of vehicle category whereas they can’t even sort out a simple sedan by screwing a door panel nicley.

I am so sad to hear this news, the days of cheap and affordable pick-ups are numbered Let’s pray Proton will bungkus before this thing rolls out of the production line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • idealtech on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:47 pm

I agree with you man, “busy body” is the keyword.

• 2ltr bottle on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:52 pm

Honda Ridgeline, Fiat Toro are example of truck that uses uni body chassis and instead of ladder frame chassis. Proton Arena once sold here as a commercial vehicles never saw tax was imposed on commercial vehicles back then.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Good news, but this is a gamble.

First thing’s first; the old Arena/ Jumbuck has THE BEST resale value among ALL Proton cars (Satria GTi aside). It shows that there’s a demand for a cheap to run and maintain, rugged & reliable pick-up truck in Malaysia.

But in order for Proton to replicate the Arena’s high RV, they must make sure that the future Arena replacement is mechanically reliable, and spare parts must be cheap and easy to find. If possible, they should make it a 5-star ANCAP model too. I would suggest that they use a NA engine (not turbo), because most of the competition don’t seem to use turbo engines for pickups just yet (it is not 101% proven for long term durability).

I think the public response to the Proton Pickup concept was very promising, and some overseas media published the story as well. Clearly, there is potential, but it will be a HUGE challenge, because Proton has minimal experience in building pickup trucks. Reliability is the ultimate factor here, and that’s why the Japanese still rule the global pickup market. However, if Proton can pull it off, it will prove that Proton can make a properly reliable product, and this will boost confidence in consumer sentiment and perception.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 20, 2016 at 1:03 pm

I agree until you lost me at the “Japanese still rule the global pickup market”

The issue with this car is, it will be light duty, lifestyle type vehicle…which suits the target market fine as long as it can come with the same duty exemptions that benefit the other full size pickups.

And here lies the problem. With duty exemptions, it would be a lot cheaper than its sedans and likely the Exora which it is built upon. If if it sells expensive, people can see through it a call proton out.

The only option is to ask the government to lift duty exemptions of the current pickups. Do you want to see that happen?

• horrayooi on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:31 pm

They dare not mention about the engine. Do you know why? They only have the Campro. To make thing easier, please source the engine from Cummins. Tak payah susah susah.They are the diesel engine suppliers. I have traveled on buses in China ( brand Kinglong )which have Cummins engine. The driver told me very reliable and powerful. Even Foton pickup from China use Cummins engine. Always source from engine specialist company. They give you what you ask. Not like automoblle company. You get outdated last generation. One example is rebadge Perdana.

• NIEKO on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:04 am

Ooohh this is interesting .. as a teen ive always had a fondness towards the Arena …welcome back my Darling …
    The Aussies will be sooo happy by these news .FYI there are some fans of the Proton Arena abroad

“Proton only has the Campro Engine to Power these new cars” …What!!!!! FYI you seem to forget that Proton is Developing 7 Brand new TGDI/GDI Engine and lets not forget they also have the three redesigned 20L/2.2 and 3.2 from PETRONAS . So in these circumstances I think go ahead Proton

• horrayooi on Feb 20, 2016 at 3:17 pm

These new engines were only ready available in 2017/18 and they are all petrol engines. Those 7 new engines are sourced from Ricardo, UK. Those existing Proton engineers ( thousands) can’t think fast enough to design new ones. The Look East policy don’t produce results. Useless because of productivity and attitudes reasons. No meritocracy.

• Maybe true and maybe u r correct. But personally i think european regulations for emissions is moving faster than japanese could keep up since europeans regulate to avoid too many japanese car entering their market..

• move the loading door from the back to the left side, depending on which market you are selling to. for msia, on the left. safe and need less space to load.

• Produce it fast while the design still up to current trend. Just keep the same design as pickup need this mascular image. Engine buy from mitsu first. If wait to produce new engine, this pickup will be outdated oledi

• martin on Sep 19, 2017 at 7:08 pm

i have a proton arena bought it in south africa im a zimbbwean the challenge is it onces broken the timing belt and bent the exhaused valves and one inlert which we straightened the 4 exhaused we changed them with new ones. the challenge is the spark plug for number 2 is always wet despite being new also the car is not pulling as it used to be it reduces the speed drastically , for instance when im driving at 100km/hr it just cut off the speed and reduces it to 40km/hr what might be the problem im so tired of sending it from one garage to another