SPYSHOTS: Daihatsu Move with Smart Assist II – is Perodua developing a next-gen Kenari with AEB?

Daihatsu-Move---Perodua-Kenari-Malaysia-01

Looks like yesterday’s spyshots of the Daihatsu Move Custom were not a one-off – the pint-sized kei tallboy has been spotted again, this time by reader Wong Han Yu. This adds more fuel to the possibility of Perodua developing a next-generation version of the Kenari – the original was based on the second-generation L900 Move, after all.

Why do we say so? Well, the trade plate this car carries belongs to Perodua – you may recognise it as being identical to the one fitted to a Daihatsu Ayla, when the latter was seen in Malaysia prior to the Axia’s launch.

The more complete and detailed photos here identify this particular Move as the base-spec naturally-aspirated Custom, differentiated by the simpler eight-spoke alloy wheels, as opposed to the spiffier two-tone wheels on the higher-end Custom “Hyper” and turbo Custom RS models. As such, this car is powered by the NA version of the 658 cc three-cylinder engine, producing 52 PS at 6,800 rpm and 60 Nm at 5,200 rpm.

Side-by-side with the Toyota Innova seen in one of the photos, the Move looks absolutely tiny. That of course is due to the size regulations of the Japanese kei car class, which requires it to be just 3.4 metres long and 1.48 metres wide. By contrast, a maximum permissible height of two metres allows the Move to reach a rather lofty 1,630 mm.

Daihatsu-Move---Perodua-Kenari-Malaysia-02

Despite the petite size, the Move Custom is packed with kit – we spot LED head- and tail lights and keyless entry, both standard-fit in Japan. But the most interesting piece of equipment is what appears to be the Smart Assist II driver assistance system. A large console can be seen at the base of the rear-view mirror, which looks to be carrying a single forward-facing camera, while a radar sensor is found on the lower grille.

These items, plus the reverse sensors, provide the Move with several safety features, including autonomous emergency warning and braking, lane departure warning, false start prevention (to minimise crashes caused by pedal confusion) and vehicle start warning to alert drivers when the vehicle in front is leaving from a traffic light stop. These features are optional in Japan; yet this base-spec Custom has them.

Could Perodua be working on implementing autonomous emergency braking on its cars? It may sound far-fetched right now, but the government is looking to gazette the implementation of AEB and lane departure warning by 2020, so it would make sense for the second national carmaker to prepare for the upcoming regulations right now. A Perodua with AEB – didn’t think you’d ever read that, did you?

GALLERY: Daihatsu Move Custom RS at GIIAS 2015

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Tolong Tutup Proton on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:53 pm

The Kenari was the biggest laughing stock in Malaysia. It look so weird and funny and everybody secretly laughed at the car.

Now Perodua again want to launch another Kenari? Rated the most unstable car in Malaysia after Kembara. So tall. Everyday got Kembara or Kenari topple over like turtle in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 108
    • Bread car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:51 pm

imho kenari looks cool in modern age, low carbon footprint yet serve the purpose with ultra easy maintenance. Perodua pls bring this in and don’t remove the bench seat and foot parking brake!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • nmghsv on Apr 06, 2016 at 5:37 pm

not Juara meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • camtakpro on Apr 06, 2016 at 6:16 pm

You are confused with Proton Juara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • im punch man on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:02 pm

That why it call tallboy segment.. pls. do read more…..

• Dun worry MY pipu. To keep the weight down and to maintain our reputation of being a first class top quality moving coffin, we will ensure that all these un-mandatory features will be removed, on top of our effortless efforts to wrench out the DVVT from the engine.

We will ensure ur utmost importance to FC and the ability to speed like maniac thanks to our milo tin bodies is well taken care of, above and over any concerns for ur lives and ur famili lives or other innocent lives.

With 300k pipu buying our death traps, we know and understand and appreciate that our customers wud rather proudly die in our moving coffins than shamefully survive in our competitor products. That gives us so much joy that we were able to assist our customers to have early meeting with their maker.

After all, our motto is making cars, pipu first (to meet their afterlife). Thank u 300k pipu.

From P2 & Nirvana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 44
  • kzm (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:58 pm

They should try fitting ESP to their current car first though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Fitting ESP is not like fitting iPhone holder on your dashboard. It require a whole new harness development, new brake booster, new computer unit. Why waste money on current model while you can implement it later after model change?

• huehuehue on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:08 pm

esc? next time lah..

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:09 pm

ESP, 6 airbag also cannot give, it’s impossible for anyone to believe they will give AEB.

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:16 pm

its looks like mini Alphard. thats is until u compare it with innova side by side, its actually even smaller

• RedPlanet on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Nice K-car…Looking forward into that! I do hope Perodua could consider to install 1.3L engine, not the Axia type of 3 cylinders that have vibration as compare to the 4 pots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Ini kalilah…Habis lah proton ni…best city car..spacious low cc cheap low fuel consumption and nice and its a Japanese car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
  • Faizl on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Still no Traction Control ke? When can we buy a Perodua with ESC? It is one important safety equipment especially for Malaysian roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • How do you know it don’t have traction control? Have you driven it? Have you even take a look at the their Japanese website ? No you didn’t. You simply judge it by your mind didn’t you?

By the way. This model standard equip with 2 airbags, traction control, VSC, idle stop.

• It doesn’t need a Traction Control…it’s just a city car.

• Ongtk on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:35 pm

The Kenari is a nice car to drive and own. Testimony to this is so many of them are still on the roads today. Practical car for ferrying children to school, the runs to the market, etc. It is economical and easy to maintain. I am certain it will be a great hit if it is relaunch based on the latest MOVE featured here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • hanawee on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Diam-diam Ubi Berisi, Diam-diam Besi Berkarat.
    One is P1 and the other P2. U decide.
    While one co.is busy doing endless camouflage test runs until customers berjanggut. The other is quietly making progress amd planning for the future. Looking forward to these “kei” cars.
    Been to Japan recently amd these cars are still relevent to the current consumer needs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
  • Still can be the best national car on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:49 pm

We couldn’t compare the past with the future, example like Kia Spectra is the worst car people even had. but seriously what you know is Kia became one of the top automotive maker nationwide.
    Kerani might use to be a bad impression to all of you, but whose knows what will be if Daihatsu Move really goes into our market. you never know cause you don’t even test drive before, yea moving coffin ya? Who care? as long it safe, comfort and saving. it still will be the best car in town. if the car come with ESC as standard and AEB are apply so with a price tag of 50k-60k. it is a truly affordable car with such specification.
    don’t have the mind set example like “toyota still is the reliable car and best RV (i agreed that)”, but why not try to accept a fact that other auto car makers are even better that Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Had some of my best memories in the previous generation kelisa & kenari. Seriously looking fwd to own one again. On another note, everybody should consider downsizing to a smaller vehicle in this current economic climate i.e. from a alphard to a daihatsu move

• Driving it now. I have to admit a 660cc engine is sometime powerless. So I chose the turbo version which provide the same power as a 1 liter engine. And a smaller vehicle is less fuel consuming. And easy to drive in town and narrow street.

• Mini Alphard. Now everyone can feel like VIP. Heheee =D

• puttt on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Bring that boxy Daihatsu Materia/Coo please..

• Maybe perodua working on replacement for alza. Stretch move!

• Silthice on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:10 pm

National car? More like Toyota’s grandchildren…

• same kot on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:23 am

kerja mudah p2…and then they said that it is already rnd in bolehland..yah rite