SPIED: Daihatsu Move in M’sia – new Perodua Kenari?

Daihatsu Move Custom spyshot 1

It’s too late to be an April Fool’s joke, so it must be real – reader Lakhsmant Ian spotted the latest sixth-generation Daihatsu Move Custom on Malaysian roads.

While that itself doesn’t really mean much (it could have been a grey import, after all), this funky tallboy kei car’s trade plate belongs to Perodua – you may have recognised the registration as being identical to the one worn on the Daihatsu Ayla, tested prior to the Axia’s launch. This could hint that the national carmaker could be preparing a replacement for the Kenari, which was based on the first-generation Move.

Daihatsu Move Custom spyshot 2

Powering the Move Custom is a 658 cc three-cylinder engine as per kei car regulations. Naturally-aspirated models produces 52 PS at 6,800 rpm and 60 Nm at 5,200 rpm, while the turbocharged version in the Custom RS makes 64 PS at 6,400 rpm and 92 Nm at 5,200 rpm. All are mated to a continuously variable transmission (CVT) and are available with either two- or four-wheel drive.

Those engines would probably be too small and underpowered for our roads, however, so expect a next-generation Kenari to be motivated by the Axia’s 1KR-DE2 1.0 litre three-pot pushing out 66 PS at 6,000rpm and 90 Nm at 3,600rpm. Transmission choices should be identical to the Axia as well and include a five-speed manual gearbox and a four-speed automatic.

GALLERY: Daihatsu Move Custom RS at GIIAS 2015

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Raja Celup on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Oh no Proton! Faster, rebadge Suzuki Wagon R now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Proton are to make Perdana the best d segment car in the WORLD. Even Benz, BMW and Audi will suprise by the launch !!! P2 with low standard and cheap tissue box body, cheat on NCAP safety Rakyat will never for give P2. Proton to way Global standard Volvo is just shame of themself !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 59
    • Albert on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:58 pm

datuk Celup,
      Protong is talking to miti daily”Ampun,maaf…TOLONG bagi 3 Billion Rm(50 percent soft loan,50percent grant).Kami dah nyaris tenggelam.Pun ok kalau pengkritik panggil kami pengemis.”
      The senior guys plus mechanics all got cold sweat now,cos of looming mass layoff.
      Rakyat wants ORIGINAL ,AFTER 14 bIILION rm FLUSHED down the drain.
      If cannot,no amount of rebadging can save proton.
      TUTUP KEDAI…..and have a RAYA grand auction..cars,factories,etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Same L0rrrr on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Malaysians only want cheap and good cars. That’s why Perodua shines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 16
    • hailthepurist on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:38 pm

normally u dont write like this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • ariana on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:43 pm

huh? perodua is cheap and good? yuck! I just threw up… they are nothing but rubbish on our roads. cheap and good? get the city or mazda 2 or vios. those are cheap and good. good riddance to perodua! (and proton for that matter)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 49
      • What nonsense are you talking? Yes, Perodua is unsafe, cheap, dreary.And the City and 2 are good products, the Vios? Same gang as Perodua la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Yea … they are good. Ask any person driving vios, city or perodua, they will tell you they are happy.

Can you do the same to Proton driver?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • funny on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:31 pm

I find it funny you say Vios is good..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • You realize that there is a huge price difference between the cheapest mazda 2 and the most expensive myvi or viva right?

• Compare Myvi and Vios, quality wise more or less the same only. wiseoff course Vios is better, but not by much. Definately not by RM 30k different…

• OMG…fake sam loo spotted.. haha

• marieta on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:20 pm

looks like Alphard wannabe but can’t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Daihatsu Move come here become P2 Moving Coffin. Now wheres my naming royalty from P2…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Bread car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Mamat on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Please change the bumper and lamps only.. so that JDM scene in Malaysia will still havoc.. haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Wiwiwiwiw on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:47 pm

OH YES LA! Another option other than the Axiah
    Saw this car in Osaka. Inside is really big!
    Daihatsu, while you’re at it, bring Daihatsu Cast too – the modern day of the much loved Kelisa!

• Another moving coffin car, nvm Malaysian like it

• thepolygonal on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Aiyo so cute… looks like baby alphard especially the front.

• Unknown on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Knowing Daihatsu, they would only allow P2 to use the export model 1000cc engine because the 660cc is reserved for Japanese market

• John is otak batu on Apr 05, 2016 at 7:25 pm

No u fool. The regulation for 660cc is because of emission control. Which we don’t have in Malaysia. We just want power. Proton juara aka mitsu townbox is only 660cc in Japan.

• P2MustardRace on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Finally Perodua will beat Proton by opting for a better engine by Daihatsu compared to their lame GDi Engine… The Daihatsu engine is much more fuel economical, sayang pokok and best of all very powerful #P2MustardRace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • P2 alredi remove DVVT with lame excuse of saving weight & FC. If this comes in, next they will remove all valves and pistons as well; for the sake of better FC.

I forsee 2020 next gen Myvi will remove engine and replace with horse (yes, those with hooves). It will gip best economy at zero FC (cuz horse dun drink petrol) and owners can brag they have kuda power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Lakhsmant Ian on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:34 pm

I saw this car testing near Petaling Street.

• looks like Vellfire

• tok adi on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:00 pm

just change the logo to get lower selling price, don’t mess the original design from daihatsu, will be a good city car

• shawal ali on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:04 pm

the force is strong with this kenari….

• Haha another new car for JDM wannabees, 2017 Perodua Daihatsu Kenari?

• tokmoh. on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:46 pm

I can’t see how this new Kenari can be relevant. It’ll just overlap Myvi/Axia, kinda pointless. I’d rather they rebadge Toyota Sienta to replace Alza.

Apparently Toyota and Daihatsu version of Alza already discontinued since 2012. The Alza is oldest Perodua, and should look into replacing it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • They shud phase out Alza. wasnt as popular as its siblings and lost out to Exora in sales volume

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • bunny on Apr 05, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Im sorry. Have you checked monthly car sales data? Last i checked (circa 2015).. alza was #4 in monthly passenger vehicle sales.. exora wasnt in top 10. Youre kidding me right when u said it lost out to exora? The ratio of alza to exora is 10:1. Thats how popular that car is. So dont be deluded n check your facts again. Thx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • Check ur facts again. Theres more exoras on NS hiway than I can spit on Alzas. and if u wanna quote sales figure, at least gip ur sauce, other i can say no swimming pool here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • alza sales is way higher than exora

• tokmoh. on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:13 pm

If u can find the news on lowyat forum, alza is perodua’s 2015 lowest volume seller, yet still more than Proton’s 2015 best seller, saga blm.

The informer hints he knows this figure because he’s in the govt, presumably miti.

• Pls perodua dun sell this car here in Malaysia. Proton will close shop. When proton close shop thousand of supplier close shop, when supplier close shop thousandssss of unemployment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Ah Beng will buy this then change the badge to Toyota Vellfire.

• Josh Ling on Apr 05, 2016 at 4:08 pm

can’t wait for it to be sold here!! it’s been a looonnnngg while since we have something like that here!! love the old kenari!!

• I think Kia Ray better

• wilson on Apr 05, 2016 at 7:54 pm

square look!!!!!

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 05, 2016 at 8:44 pm

The Kenari was a good car. With slight modification it is capable of carrying a wheelchair. and it holds its value very well. a 2002 kenari is selling at the same price as a 2002 waja and 2002 kembara as well as a 2010 savvy. I would not be opposed to the idea of Perodua reintroducing the Kenari. Having said that, I’m more keen on seeing Perodua launch a 1.5L sedan.

• My 2002 kancil just sold for RM 4 K today where as my uncle can’t even sold his 2005 Waja for RM 6k since last year….

• B-Unggul on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:27 am

Moving “Peti Ais” Car

(Same feeling invoked upon seeing Juara)

• Actually Proton can survive by rebranding that Suzuki Wargo R and adding a feet longer at the back allowing it to put two mini seat as like Juara on the third row. Focus on a typical malaysian family with five kids and two adult. This market segment now is by avanza, exora, alza which not many malaysian can afford while those without any mean will ride in a kancil with up to 7 pax cramp into one as seen daily on our road. So there is a market and savior for our Proton. Unless P2 take it first by doing it for their Kenari Gen.2