SPYSHOTS: 2016 Honda Civic spotted on trailers in Malaysia; launches on June 9, in dealerships June 11

2016 Honda Civic spotted trailer 2

Honda Malaysia is well on track to introduce the tenth-generation 2016 Honda Civic in Malaysia after several units of the model was sighted being transported on trailers in Malaysia. Thanks to paultan.org readers Norazlan Kasim and Ken Lim for the images.

Similar to our earlier sighting of the new Civic, the units riding on the trailer are a combination of the base 1.8L and Turbo variants. The Civic with the shuriken-style wheel design (seen on the Thailand-spec Civic 1.8 EL) and Modern Steel Metallic paintjob, is likely to be the 1.8L model. The up-close view also reveal door handles that match the body colour.

As for the Turbo variants, there are 17-inch five-spoke, two-tone alloy wheels instead. Additionally, the door handles are now chromed to further distinguish itself from the base 1.8L. According to a local dealer, the Civic 1.5 Turbo range will include standard and Premium versions.

However, as the images provided to us only show the cars’ rear, it’s hard to tell which of the two Turbo variants are being transported. The Civic 1.5 Premium will come equipped with full-LED headlights and LED fog lights at the front.

Honda Malaysia has already started counting down the days to the arrival of the 2016 Honda Civic. On Sunday (June 5), the company uploaded a new cover photo for its official Facebook page, highlighting the car’s auto brake hold function, along with the caption, “the dream ride arrives in 4 days.”

Previous cover photos include the car’s remote engine start function, 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine, walk-away auto lock and digital instrument panel. As you can tell, all the postings point towards a June 9 launch date, and we will be on hand to cover the debut of the popular C-segment car. The new Civic will be in Malaysian showrooms on June 11.

Excited yet? Well, until the launch of the 2016 Honda Civic, why not check out our review of the tenth-gen model in Chiang Mai, Thailand. If you’re already convinced by the new Civic, bookings are already open.

2016 Honda Civic Malaysian countdown

Learn more: ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• FIST (Member) on Jun 06, 2016 at 12:49 pm

I wantsss it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Why even bother buying a Civic? Our Ministers already said, our Proton is higher quality than Volvo or BMW. Better buy Proton.

I think it would be better we all forget this Civic and only buy Protons.

Our Ministers also said our local universities is better than Oxford University in UK. Since Proton employs a lot of UiTM graduates, this would mean, there are super brains and super intellects developing Protons!

No wonder why Proton is selling globally so many cars and everybody is lining up to buy a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 53
      • Honda capek on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Why oh why? Everything is tied up to proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • Proud to be one on Jun 06, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Earning more than 10k per month.. and an uitm grads.. y.. got problem?

• malaysian on Jun 06, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Bashers will be bashers :(

• huehuehue on Jun 09, 2016 at 10:42 am

We all know that kind of people who hate UiTM,Proton and Government.

This kind of retard should be ignored. It’s hard to find a smart Proton basher nowdays. What a boring. LOL.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2016 at 2:18 pm

So much hype with this new Civic. Every few days, we get excited with images of Civic on trialers.

But most important is the price. Malaysians see PRICE. If price is good, it will sell well.

But what happens when Honda Malaysia prices the Civic so close to Accord like the last time? This was the MAIN reason previous Civic was a big failure and people just went ahead buying an Accord instead.

People rather add a bit more to get a proper big D class sedan if it is only a few thousand more. Nowadays you go bargain for an Accord, can even get RM128k also.

Big headache….buy Civic small C class sedan (albeit 6 airbags) for RM120k or buy huge luxurious Mercedes feel D Segment Accord for RM128k.

Both Honda and Toyota have failures like the Altis and Civic cause they price is so close to their larger D segment.

Ask most Malaysians, buying a proper large D segment is far better value and more comfortable than buying a kuci Civic for nearly the same price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
      • boring on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:05 pm

in fact, i am very eager to see the new launch car, but with so much posting every week, don’t u feel boring and annoying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • why u bother what segment ppl want to buy? how can u compare lowest specs D segment tin kosong ( fabric seats, no vsc, no gps, 4″ TFT, ….,) to highest C segment fully equipped?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • HM, the least you can do is offer the Civic Turbo with a spoiler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • This is the perfect car for LaLaCai..!
    Guys, get your pasar malam fanny bags ready to match the lala car of the year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • ColaBear on Jun 06, 2016 at 1:30 pm

dabao focus ecoboost and 408 eTHP liao…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • dabao? on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:09 pm

dabao focus and 408 with the civic’s CVT transmission, plastic interior, messy engine? before comment, please test drive focus ad 408 first…lol

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Nouveau riche Lala Beng driving BMW now.

• Hot Cake…..

• vodka on Jun 06, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Some of the turbo models on the trailer in the pics do not have chrome door handles. I guess that is the difference between the 1.5T and 1.5T Premium where the Premium model with LED headlights get the chrome door handles.

• Rafidah on Jun 06, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Honda please please sell this beauty below RM95k to send the Proton Accord straight to its tomb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Roadside stranger on Jun 06, 2016 at 2:25 pm

95k? you must have bigger dream then Honda.

• 95k will into their city Vspec. Why they wanna kill themselves to please u?

• walao eh, all the honda fans here expect the civic to be below 120k or 95k? Keep on earth dreaming la…lol

• huehuehue on Jun 09, 2016 at 10:46 am

When you got no knowledge about car segment price, but you’re still want to talk.

Please, go back to your own tomb. LOL.

• policeman on Jun 06, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Let’s see how many of these Civics get involved in accidents during Raya.

Then let’s see how many get stolen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • stolen? on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:41 pm

why the stupid car thief want to steal the accident cars?….lollll

• john is otak batu on Jun 06, 2016 at 4:48 pm

cause policeman is a 1 hell of a blood thirsty S.O.B !!!

• car-man on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:59 pm

I was told this civic 1.5T is at RM 138k. I think i will pass this round as the price is quite costly and I would get other brand instead. for a 220nm torque car, I could use that sum of money for nicer car. sorry..

• Pauline on Jun 06, 2016 at 4:50 pm

just saw one in Kota Permai, driven by salesman.

very big size for a c-segment.

• Izuan on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Friend working in Honda say the base model starts from RM96,888. Middle range RM112,888 and the top end 1.5L turbo RM139,888. They wan to have equal sales volume as the HRV. This competitive pricing also to anticipate Proton Perdana launching and further dominate the C segment market by Altis and Sylphy and Mazda 3.

• Tong Sampah on Jun 06, 2016 at 11:23 pm

Toyota nightmare starts…

• With performance of 0-100km/h in 8.2s, I could imagine my 520i F10 kena tailgate kaokao by these Civic Ah Beng on highway soon… XD