Top 10 most popular stories on paultan.org in 2016

It’s really no surprise that stories with a local tangent featured prominently in our most popular posts last year, given the slew of local model introductions in 2016. In the end, six of the top 10 stories on paultan.org offered an angle that was related to the two national automakers.

The very top story was the drive report on the Perodua Bezza, according to Google Analytics data. It trumped everything, and by a whopping margin – the page views for the next three stories put together still didn’t match the views it received.

This was followed by the story about Toyota price hikes on January 1. The Bezza featured again in the third most viewed post of 2016, this time with regards to its pricing. In fourth spot was the Proton Persona launch report.

A Volkswagen story about the Polo hatch was fifth, and Toyota and Honda – always brands in the mix, somehow – had the sixth and seventh most viewed stories, with the upcoming C-HR and new Civic respectively. Proton filled the final three slots with the Persona (first drive), the new Saga (first details) and the Perdana (launch report).

Here then is a recap of the top 10 most viewed stories on paultan.org in 2016.

10. New Proton Perdana officially launched – 2.0L and 2.4L Honda engines, Accord-based sedan from RM113,888

In June, Proton launched the new Perdana, which is based on the previous-generation Honda Accord, like the current Perdanas used by government officials. At that point, everything you wanted to know about the car had been revealed, so it was pretty much just the shouting.

9: 2016 Proton Saga details – 1.3 VVT, pricing between RM37k to RM46k; variant-by-variant specs detailed

Details about the 2016 Proton Saga were revealed in this one, ahead of the car’s launch. The story also contained a break-down of the equipment levels for the variants that would be available for the car.

8. DRIVEN: 2016 Proton Persona first impressions review – improved CVT response and NVH levels

Following the Perdana’s introduction, the national automaker brought out act number two, the Persona. The first impressions report on the car ran a couple of weeks before it was officially introduced.

7. 2016 Honda Civic FC launched in Malaysia – 1.8L and 1.5L VTEC Turbo, 3 variants, from RM111k

It was one of the most anticipated car launches of the year. The 10th-generation 2016 FC Civic rolled in like a whirlwind and lit the scene up. It also put paid to the idea that the C-segment sedan market was dead, as shown by the growing number you see on the road.

6. Toyota C-HR – production HR-V rival officially unveiled

Will this one be a runaway success when it eventually arrives? Looks like it. Interest in the HR-V rival was keen throughout the year, as shown by page view stats, and this story led the way. Honda should have a bit to worry about.

5. Volkswagen Malaysia ‘Drop Everything’ Sale – Polo Hatch RM70k, Jetta RM89k, Passat RM116k

Who says sales and promotion stories aren’t read? If you have a good enough deal, it will, and this one – which announced a stock clearance sale for locally-assembled 2014 and 2015 production Polo Hatch, Jetta and Passat models – certainly did.

4. 2016 Proton Persona officially launched, RM46k-60k

The Persona made it to the top 10 most viewed list twice – after the first drive impressions came the launch report, which became the fourth most read story on our site in 2016.

3. Perodua Bezza prices revealed – RM37k to RM51k

Two apiece for the Proton Persona and Perodua Bezza in this particular list. The first for the Bezza was with this, when info about pricing was revealed a couple of days after the first drive report.

2. UMW Toyota hikes prices from January 1, 2016 – all models in Malaysia affected, up by as much as RM9.6k

On January 1, 2016, UMW Toyota announced an increase in pricing for all models and variants (except for the Camry Hybrid) in its model line-up. The company had in October 2015 said that it would be increasing it prices come the new year, citing the sharp depreciation of the Malaysian ringgit against the US dollar.

1. DRIVEN: New Perodua Bezza 1.0L and 1.3L Dual VVT-i – P2’s first-ever sedan is a game changer

Perodua’s first-ever sedan was much anticipated, and the page view clicks showed how keen readers were in wanting to know more about the Bezza. The drive report, which ran before the car was launched, served up just about everything one needed to know about the car, save the price, which came about two days later.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mohammad on Jan 04, 2017 at 7:38 am

I wonder what’s the total sales number for Proton for 2016. 4 new models launched. I reckon below 70k units? Below 2015. What a shame and waste of time.

• basherlogic on Jan 04, 2017 at 12:29 pm

p2 got more sales number because it is cheaper, not because it is good.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:33 pm

Proton launched 4 models last year. Only the Saga is doing well.

2015 Proton only managed to sell 105,000 cars. That became the big scandal as Mustapha said that was too low sales and wanted to close Proton down.

2016, Proton only managed to sell 70,000 cars.

The Ertiga, Persona and Perdana are super failures as sales are so bad. Hardly can see any on the road.

Only Saga is a viable option for the company.

For 2017, let me advice Proton, pls drop all your lines and just keep Saga. At least by doing so, you can downsize your overbloated 12,000 staff to say 5000 staff.

No point keeping the Perdana, Eritga and Persona just because you don’t want to lose face. Be wise.

Be prudent. Close the lines completely and just keep the Saga as your only national car.

Diversify your business. Maybe go into making soaps or kicap for example. I am sure many will buy Sabun Proton or Kicap Proton.

My advice to Proton, don’t forget, 70,000 sales also, 90% of that also ordered by kerajaan and ministries as a “sedekah” to help Proton out.

Real world consumer buyers are near ZERO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Sama L00 on Jan 04, 2017 at 6:12 pm

You are right! Proton are made for news, press and tea time gossip. It is not made to be driven on the road.

• IniKariLa on Jan 04, 2017 at 8:56 am

The rise of Rakyat cars!! Kami pilih lebey bijak

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:13 am

Proud to see so many are interested in local cars, this shows that malaysian consumers are enlighten and aware on the superior technology of our local manufacturers. enough of the power window jokes, we as malaysian have move on and move up the world market and considered a main targetted consumer by many automobile makers

the reason is simple, technologically we are far more advanced than we were 10 years ago, purchasing power is also much higher as more ppl are earning better salary and the cost of living is affordable for the rakyat, these all can only be achieved through good policies by the government which help stimulate the economy

the interests in local cars is a testament that we are back as one of asian super economy, syabas to government!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:46 am

Timing belt or timing chain? – Engr. Abang Alza Pakai Topi DipEng BEng MEng PhD FIMechE

• UITMPH on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:58 am

Syabas!
      This reflects majoriti working-middle class backlash soon….B40 & M40, Brexit & Trump get ready.

• Mikey on Jan 04, 2017 at 10:12 am

Saudara Charted Engineer, care to explain what :-

1)”Superior Technology” you are referring to ?!
      2) The cost of living is ‘affordable’ ??!

You must be living inside a Cave for too long. Our daily cost of living has increase when the gov increase the price of sugar & cooking oil not to mention the price of petrol hence food stuffs & transportation has increased too.

Yes, we are more advanced than we were 10 years ago BUT to say we are “far” more advanced is absurd/debatable.

Ask the Pakcik/Orang Asli staying in Kampongs in Sabah & Sarawak why many still do not get basic amenities like pipe in water, electric & metal roads.

I hope U can tell our Gov to stop wasting the Rakyat $$$ by using it for the benefits of our Rakyat.

Stop POSTURING & start being Accountable. I hope the highway tolls will not be increased this year & that will be a good starter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Faiz Roslan on Jan 04, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Hi Mikey,

In case you are living in a cave yourseelf, please do test drive our national cars. we even have EEV cars now for crying out loud. not many carmakers can do that. with the support of government we can be even be better.

our cost of living is affordable, doesnt mean its not increasing. whilst it has increase, we can still afford to buy because of gov policies we still have lots of money to spend. gov support in many way like br1m. simply put our purchasing power has increase along with the increasing prices

any proof gov is wasting money or u ikut propoganda opposition saja?

as for pakcik living with basic amneties, u must faham not everyone wants a smartphone, some just want simple life. thats reason why sabah / sarawak love the current gov, as they respect their culture

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • Mikey on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:52 pm

U are just being Selfish when U & U alone have a CEng while the other people in S & S do not have the amenities hence keeping them less educated.

U of all people should “Teach The Kampong Folks How To Fish” instead of relying on BR1M(Tongkat). This is how U show your love for these Kampong simple life man ??!!

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 04, 2017 at 4:43 pm

i pay tax, what gov do to the tax is non of my business. how am i being selfish mikey? if u so concern about sabah and sarawak ppl, go there and feed them la.. dont be hypocrite.. im no superman, but i know my duties as citizien which is to abide and obey the governments law and policies

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • Low Budget on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:40 am

Ask your boss to prove it overseas 1st before convincing the Malaysians to buy P1 cars OK? Most of the Proton whackers here have got once bitten twice shy syndrome, this include me and my family members.

• tokmoh. on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:14 am

john bangga la his VR-tested biza top kek story of the year.

• Mikey on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:31 am

Yah, i know what U mean. john always use P2(Bezza) as the punching bag. He is our No.1 P1 supporter/defender.

• I sell Biza with special offer, u dun belip me. So I tak kesah as long ada bonus.

• Jonn Dol on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:32 am

Geely Vovo X popular laa.

• Gear VR tested Biza > all camo tested cars.
      P2 > Volvo China (Geely)

Jangan persoal.

• pak atan on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:37 am

Si Tongek terbaekkk..huhuhuhuhhuhh

• Ben Yap on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:38 am

paultan should come out top ten best commentators.

• Lee Kum Kee on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:46 am

Vote Vote!!!
      Like Kunta Albert!
      thumbs down Donkey Kong, john, kzm!!!

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 04, 2017 at 5:17 pm

Like that Sam Loo will be fighting for champion

• I vote Sammy, Kunta@Alber, & Mikey as toyota No.1 salesmen. No sales, come here tokok. Only know how to bother my Biza sales.

• J Welinkar on Jan 04, 2017 at 10:12 pm

With such low production volumes, Proton is just not a viable venture. It was created by the Mamak back in the day, and in the cross fire, most auto companies which assembled cars in Malaysia, shut shop and moved to Thailand and Indonesia. This destroyed the credibility of Malaysia. Thankfully, as the Mamak moved on, the car companies are setting up assembly plants again. Right now, it’s not a level. Playing field, from a per-capita (affordability) perspective, (decent) cars are expensive. The excuse that we can buy ‘cheap fuel’ does not work. Fact is, foreign car companies pay just too much duty even if the car is a CKD ! From what I know, the average man with aspirations will buy a Nissan instead, and Makan Ikan Bilis to pay for the loan, they boycott Proton.

• Viosfan on Jan 05, 2017 at 8:34 am

Are you nissan salesman?

• Low Budget on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:46 am

Not necessary to boycott Proton, it is just that the perception that Proton=No Quality, its up to Proton to right the wrongs by selling million units a year in overseas market before the Malaysians can accept the Proton brand again.