Samsung SDI reveals next-generation battery cells in Detroit – up to 600 km range; mass production in 2021

Samsung SDI, the Korean company’s renewable energy and energy storage system division that supplies batteries to carmakers like BMW, have introduced a high-energy density battery cell of the next generation at the 2017 North American International Auto Show in Detroit.

The next-generation battery technology is claimed to provide up to 600 km of range, and is scheduled to enter mass production in 2021. Aside from the impressive range, a 20 min charge is all you need to regain a driving range of up to 500 km, or 80% of the battery’s maximum capacity.

Samsung SDI believes that rather than fitting cars with additional battery cells, which adds to the vehicle’s weight, fast charging technology and the improved energy density will help alleviate range anxiety among potential and current electric vehicle (EV) adopters.

The company also unveiled a new “integrated battery module” concept, which has double the number of cells (24) and capacity (6-8 kWh) of a conventional EV battery module, while featuring increased safety levels and a lighter weight due to fewer components.

Also on show was Samsung’s improved “21700” cylindrical battery cell model that boasts improved energy density, power and performance. The name is a reference to the 21 mm diameter and 70 mm length of the shotgun shell-shaped unit, although Tesla has gotten rid of the trailing ‘0’ on its “2170” battery cells it makes at the Gigafactory.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Megane on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Samsung … fast charging …higher density hmmm . Kabooom !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • blue traveler on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:33 pm

waiting for the onslaught of note7 jokes…….

• Same manufacturer to the note 7 battery..hope it will not explode when fit to a vehicle

• Paul Wee on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Hope it not the same tech they use in Note 7.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 10, 2017 at 5:59 pm

Don’t worry, Proton until today got no use for hybrid battery. All fast alseep in Proton. Belum bangun lagi bang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • I prefer P1 dun use hybrid battery rather than use Note7 battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • thepolygonal on Jan 10, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Please tell me that is the actual size of the battery the girl is holding which can give the 600 km range.

• Samsung on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Nope. What the girl was holding is the recall component you will receive to disable your car battery. You open up the box, there is a “broken fuse” inside. You are suppose to swap out the fuse in your car with this “broken fuse” so you effectively can’t charge your car anymore. There is also a tow truck voucher inside.

• Battery technology still has a long way to go if they want to compete with fossil fuel.

20 minutes for 500 km is way too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • will it explode?

• Pak Syed on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:33 pm

The Korean could lead the world on new electric car technology. We could be driving hyundai or kia, perhaps the best electric car soon

• Mikey on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:34 pm

If the next generation Samsung batteries is good enough for BMW, it means that the German have Faith in the Korean manufacturer.

If anyone think they could produce a better batteries than Samsung for BMW EV cars, better act fast. There is always a place for Doers But not for complainers.

• Cc to Proton.