Jaguar F-Pace named the 2017 World Car of The Year; the W213 E-Class the World Luxury Car of The Year

In what marks the first for an SUV, the Jaguar F-Pace has emerged with the 2017 World Car of The Year award at the New York International Auto Show. Jaguar’s first SUV also came away with the 2017 World Car Design of The Year award, making it a double win for the British marque.

In the WCOTY standings, the F-Pace succeeds the Mazda MX-5, which was the winner in 2016, and the Mercedes-Benz C-Class, which won in 2015. The Jaguar made the top pick from a list of 23 vehicles, which was shortlisted to 10 and then subsequently trimmed to three finalists: the F-Pace, Audi Q5 and the Volkswagen Tiguan.

In the World Car Design of The Year Stakes, the Jaguar F-Pace also came out on top of the competition, with the Mercedes-Benz S-Class Cabriolet the sole competitor for this category. In Malaysia, the F-Pace is sold as a 350 PS/450 Nm 35t model in two trim variants, the RM598,800 Prestige and the RM658,800 R-Sport.

Meanwhile, the 2017 World Luxury Car of The Year award was won by the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class, beating the G30 BMW 5 Series and the Volvo S90/V90. Other finalists in this class included the Bentley Bentayga and the Genesis G90.

Moving on, the World Performance Car category was won by the Porsche 718 Boxster/Cayman, coming out on top of the Audi R8 Spyder and the McLaren 570S. Other finalists were the Aston Martin DB11, Honda NSX, Lexus LC 500 and the Mercedes-AMG GT Roadster.

Onwards to the World Urban Car category, the BMW i3 (94 Ah) took the honours, with the Citroen C3 and and Suzuki Ignis rounding out the top three. Other finalists in this class include the Ford Ka+, Smart Brabus and the Suzuki Baleno.

Finally, the World Green Car award went to the Toyota Prius Prime, with the remainder of the top three finalists completed by the Chevrolet Bolt and the Tesla Model X. Other finalists in this class include the Honda Clarity fuel-cell vehicle, Hyundai Ioniq, and the BMW 740e iPerformance.

GALLERY: Jaguar F-Pace driven in Montenegro

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 13, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Where is our Proton? Not just one, but many Ministers say Proton is BETTER than BMW and Volvo. They also said Proton quality and handling far superior than Volvo and BMW. So, where is Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
    • Honda on Apr 13, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Proton is not there because they are Jaguh Kampung. Those cars at the World Award are international auto carmakers.

Even the latest Civic Turbo can win their Suprima hands down. How to compete internationally.

• JB_KIA on Apr 13, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Tahniah Suzuki Ignis, Suzuki Baleno, Suzuki Ertiga!

• Proton could be ‘Car Manufacturer of the Year’ if there is an extra category. Proton has been collecting billions throughout the year, no other carmakers come close. I’m sure they will win an award sooner or later

• Kangkung on Apr 13, 2017 at 6:15 pm

I wonder why so many dislike your comments? The truth hurts?

• kalios on Apr 13, 2017 at 1:00 pm

how come honda didn’t win anything?
    even the uncle’s toyota prius won world green car award.
    didn’t they know that honda market share in malaysia has increase?

• Karam singh on Apr 13, 2017 at 1:18 pm

I am so mad. HRV, BRV and crv all brilliant cars. Stupid.

• Honda on Apr 13, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Relax bro, I am sure Honda will gain recognition very soon. Be patient. Cheers.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 13, 2017 at 8:44 pm

Honda will win in 3rd world country competition only…bcoz they only produce lowcost cars for these countries…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 13, 2017 at 1:24 pm

not sure if these 2 cars deserve it…the e-class is really dull and the jaguar f-pace is flawed….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • heybadigol (Member) on Apr 13, 2017 at 2:00 pm

Ok, so it’s fun to drive and looks amazing from the outside (interior is boring though). But for such an expensive car, it has rather cheap scratchy plastics. So, how did it win?

• Mikey on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Why do we want 2 complaint who should win or who should not be the winner. This is just an annual affairs for car companies to showcase their Best products. After-all, they are EXPERT in the field hence qualified 2 judge the WCOTY.

U should buy what U need, can afford & NOT by what others say. I buy my cars bcos I like it, NOT what others say/think. If U drive a Kancil & happy with it, who can say or tell U what is Best 4 U.

If the judges/journalist say, F-Pace is the winner, so be it. We(M’sian) know it will not sell in large numbers here hence it is insignificant what we think or say.

Having said that, U are all entitle 2 your comment hence, by all means, say/comment all U want as PT.org is a site 4 us all 2 let off some steam once in a while & that is GOOD for releasing some of your tension. Adios Amigos.

• Mohan Nair on Apr 15, 2017 at 11:25 am

Along with F-Type the F-Pace were among the first set of cars produced by Jaguar under Tata. And Jaguar continues to thrive under Indian ownership.

Competent Managers and Leadership was needed to turn around Jaguar which was once written off and Tata has provided both the financial freedom and leadership.