Proton aims to unseat Perodua as top auto brand in Malaysia first before ASEAN exports – Li Chunrong

Despite its lackluster efforts in the past, Proton has always had an interest in exporting its cars abroad. Now with the backing of Geely and DRB-Hicom, Proton CEO Li Chunrong said the national automaker has got the resources to revisit international markets, but the timing must be right.

Not only that, Li told The Edge that he plans to unseat Perodua as the top-selling auto brand in Malaysia. “For Proton, the more important [thing to do] is we must grow in Malaysia first. How to lead our business [to] become stable is very important. It is very easy to spend money, but very difficult to make money.”

“For me, I want to be number one in Malaysia first, and then go outside to the ASEAN markets. But we don’t want to stop [there]. Now we are already in Brunei, not only the basic models, but also the X70,” he added.

Li, an engineer by training from Huazhong University of Science and Technology, knows that the key to sustainability lies in the export market. Proton must meddle in the international space to future-proof itself, and not risk billions of ringgit in taxpayers’ money to stay afloat like it did in the past.

Proton must work hard to achieve this. Li said Proton staffs are on overdrive, working 14 hours every day to improve all facets of the business. He said it’s the reason why Proton could launch four models in eight months, while at the same time have separate teams working on improving aftersales and ensuring the continual development of its most highly anticipated car yet, the Proton “X50.”

The hustles that happen behind the scenes are bearing fruit, no doubt. For the first time since 2015, Proton had finally sold more than 100,000 cars annually, with 100,821 vehicles sold in 2019. While the figure was attained by combining domestic and export sales, it was still a considerable leap from 2018 – it sold 55.7% more cars in 2019 than it did in 2018!

But the battle to dethrone Perodua won’t be easy. As of May 2020, Proton has sold 27,455 units of cars for a market share of 21.2%. Perodua, on the other hand, shifted 52,920 vehicles in the same period for a 40.8% share. Li acknowledges this, but said he has faith that his team will regain the top spot by the 10th year (2027) of the Proton-Geely partnership.

Li, whose tenure at Proton has just been extended, emphasised that Proton and Geely will spend this 10-year period to focus on product development. He believes that if Proton can constantly improve its product and aftersales service, the market will naturally shift towards the brand. For instance, he claimed that the Proton Persona has outsold the Toyota Vios and Honda City in the B-segment market, and that Proton is selling twice as many Sagas now compared to the time before Geely entered the picture.

He attributed this feat to product technology and quality, adding that “Malaysian consumers are very smart, they know the new technologies [in Proton cars] and the price is very reasonable,” Li noted.

Geely also owns Volvo, and one way Proton has benefited from the acquisition is the implementation of Volvo Global Customer Product Audit (GCPA) system. Based on this audit, Proton’s basic models had a demerit score of 6,388 points when Li became CEO in 2017. Perodua, on the other hand, had a lower score of 4,500 points (lower is better), and Geely had an average score of 1,200 points across the group.

Today, Li said Proton’s demerit score has significantly reduced, meaning the cars have less quality issues than before. For the Saga, its demerit score is now 1,100 points, sometimes dipping below 1,000. “So we have improved a lot. I believe our basic products now, including the Saga, are much better in terms of quality compared with our peers,” he said.

To be the number one automotive brand in Malaysia by 2027, Li said Proton may have to sell 175,000 cars annually, and believes that continuous product improvements could see the company meet its goal even sooner. So, what do you think of Proton cars today? Let us know, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Mee goreng on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:27 am

With Geely in charge of Proton, Proton might be able to overtake Perodua as the no 1 carmaker in Malaysia. This is why everyone have to be grateful that GC Geely bought Proton when Proton is heading to longkang that time. Otherwise, there is nothing to be proud of GO Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 24
    • As usual, proton always like to dream high. In 10 yrs time i think geely would divorced proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
      • Copy Paste on Aug 03, 2020 at 2:55 pm

Copy paste: “You sure love to reply yourself, huh?”

• X70 Owner on Aug 03, 2020 at 3:50 pm

Proton no. one car brand by 2027. Ini kalilah!

• lilytan on Aug 04, 2020 at 9:35 am

Last time they said perodua is not their competition which honda n toyota. But now they wanna beat perodua. Funny indeed as they dont have the ASA 2.0 nor the RV to beat perodua yet. And all the models in the pipeline like the x50, Jiaji are all not perodua competition. If they wanna focus on msia than they are no different to past managements and u know where thats gonna end up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Brian on Aug 04, 2020 at 9:54 am

You didn’t read did you, you have to learn reading properly.
          Dr Li said their product placement and quality is targeting to beat Toyota and Honda offerings. Once they did that, their next target is to beat Perodua volume. In terms of quality it will have far surpassed what can Perodua gives. Understand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Copy Paste on Aug 03, 2020 at 2:53 pm

Copy paste: “Interesting so many bored Toyota salesmen”

• Fake News on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:28 pm

Sigh… you and your GO multiple upliking your own comments facepalmness.

• Stayathome on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:34 am

Good ones. But if you lack rakyat car model like saga or iriz or persona. The sub 60k below car. You not gonna be no 1. Lots and lots of malaysian still cant affort 60k or 70k above cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • X50 RM50k can afford, not expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • No way the X50 will cost 50k, im guessing 79k minimum and thats the base model that nobody wants.
        X70 everyone thought was going to cost 70k and yet it starts at like 95k and most paid 110k+ for it.

• That Guy on Aug 04, 2020 at 1:32 pm

RM50k?! LOL! That’s wishful thinking. At that price, it would beat the Myvi, but doubtful that Geely let alone Proton would wanna take a hit like that just to beat Perodua. At most, around RM69k for the basic model. At that’s being super generous.

Initially, I was super positive of Geely’s adoption of Proton. But given current events, I’m no longer comfortable giving money to a regime spreading oppression and disease everywhere. Geely owns half of Proton, half your money goes to China.

• History Bender on Aug 04, 2020 at 6:32 pm

And you prefer giving 100% profits to Japan that tried their very best to end our ancestors and you might never had existed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • That Guy on Aug 08, 2020 at 9:50 pm

So you have no argument, is that it? Not only is Imperial Japan so gone into the past, there exists many things you use (quite possibly right now) that were made in Japan.

Hypocrite thy name is…

• Lollapalooza on Aug 05, 2020 at 7:18 am

“a regime spreading oppression and disease everywhere.”? Strong claim need solid proof. If you’re just sprouting that nonsense that you read & listen from media, you better hide your face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Lenny on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:49 am

i thought they didn’t want to fight?

also proton all talk no bite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Raja Celup on Aug 03, 2020 at 3:28 pm

Proton always obsess, jealous about anything Perodua like a psycho stalker.

• EDITOR on Aug 03, 2020 at 3:47 pm

Do see “Li acknowledges this, but said he has faith that his team will regain the top spot by the 10th year (2027) of the Proton-Geely partnership.”

• The amount of P2 keyboard warriors/salesmen (you included) in this thread along is enough proof that P1 has more than enough bite.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:51 am

How to unseat Perodua? Give the Iriz and Persona ADAS and a better transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • azrai on Aug 03, 2020 at 2:12 pm

Introducing new improve and pisang goreng panas products at a good price?

• dream_125 on Aug 03, 2020 at 6:30 pm

Iriz has the perfect transmission already. No need four speed auto from steam engine age like it’s competitor.

If you like low-tech so much, buy Perodua.

• Ahmad on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:54 am

Wow. Very speculative.
    We prefer to buy Geely instead of Proton.

How about a Geely model under Geely showroom and service center?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • Calvin on Aug 03, 2020 at 1:06 pm

Geely models are all LHD. How are you going to pay TnG and parking tickets from so far away?

• Pakai otak sikit lah bila komen. Of course kah he means RHD versions if sold here lah hadoi!

Even I rather buy a Geely instead of a vehicle fixed with the logo of a tiger that looks like it’s getting a castration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Einstein on Aug 04, 2020 at 9:50 am

Ok Einstein. Tell us which Geely models are Right hand drive?

• Kau ni pun satu lagi otak udang. Make the RHD versions lah! Everything needs to be spoonfed to your generation now huh?

• Lolwhut? on Aug 05, 2020 at 10:02 pm

Hey Udang DK. Why would Geely spend money and effort to make RHD versions when they don’t have brand image or presence in this region? People would think they are no better than Cherry or Haval which they certainly are not being 2 grades higher.

• Clown Li is definitely high on something if he can make such an idiotic statement, LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 61
    • Calvin on Aug 03, 2020 at 1:04 pm

You folks say Proton won’t turnaround in a year, but was proven you wrong.
      You folks say Proton won’t sell 100k a year, but last year proven you wrong.
      You folks say Proton won’t make profit, but last year proven you wrong.
      Time will prove you wrong again and again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • P2 trolls in denial mode. From 4x sales now down to less than 2x, can’t really blame them for starting to feel the heat.

• So confident? Then tell them sell the ugly persona at Vios and City prices.

• Brian on Aug 04, 2020 at 9:58 am

Lol! Why do they need to massively overprice their Persona? Even Nissan Almera which is quite close in pricing can’t match with Persona volume sales, why? Isn’t that a Japanese branded car as well? Proving that you are so wrong in your assumptions.

• Selling Myvi at Yaris price. Ada berani, P2 salesman?

• There only clowns I can see here are P2 keyboard warriors/salesmen…

• Looking at the results from past year, I am confident they can achieve it with more affordable and hot cars coming in, ie X50. So kipidap Proton! You can achieve it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Gardenia on Aug 03, 2020 at 11:21 am

National cars:
    Proton aiming to unseat perodua to become no.1 national carmaker due to outdated perodua tech

Non-national cars:
    Toyota aiming to unseat honda to become no.1 non-national carmaker due to outdated and boring design for honda with low service quality for honda. Even Nissan also aiming to unseat honda to become no.2 non-national carmaker as new real game changer for nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
  • Troll Hunter on Aug 03, 2020 at 11:26 am

Flame by Perodua trolls in 3… 2… 1…

• TunFcK on Aug 03, 2020 at 11:28 am

Nasib baik Tun M tiada dalam Proton, kalau tak, harga local mahal, harga eksport murah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Lollapalooza on Aug 03, 2020 at 12:12 pm

To perodua fanbois: Never say never.

• I’m glad that you recognise Malaysian consumers as smart. To further improve your sales, may I suggest some low lying fruits that can be done immediately.

First, dump the Punch CVT gear box in the remaining models like what you did in the Saga. No need DCT, just put in a 6 speed torque converter gear box

Second, please give us Saga buyers a safety option package like what Perodua did for their Myvi 1.3X. IS IT SO DIFFICULT TO ADD ANOTHER 4 AIRBAGS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • EDITOR on Aug 03, 2020 at 3:48 pm

The automatic box in Saga is a 4AT.

• Lollapalooza on Aug 03, 2020 at 6:01 pm

I would’ve agree with you if your argument goes something like “please give us Saga buyers a safety option like what Perodua did for all their models. IS IT SO DIFFICULT TO ADD ANOTHER 4 AIRBAGS!”
      But the truth is, in price comparison, even the manual myvi 1.3 costs more than saga premium so, go figure.

• dream_125 on Aug 03, 2020 at 6:33 pm

“First, dump the Punch CVT gear box”

Second: Dump disk brakes and fuel injection too! We all love stone age technology.

• newme on Aug 03, 2020 at 1:17 pm

Ask Naza. They also aspire to be number one in Malaysia once upon a time. In fact, ask anyone. All can talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • English Teacher on Aug 03, 2020 at 3:45 pm

Many has aspired but only Proton has the perspire to persevere.

• Stilldumbyou on Aug 03, 2020 at 3:59 pm

As usual from newme aka stilldumbme, another BS comment. Naza never said wants to be number one.

• Lollapalooza on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:22 pm

Chill man. You’re showing fear. If you’re confident that Proton can’t do it, its fine, you’re entitled to have your own opinion. Its not like what you say will poison the people who can clearly see that Proton are able to improve their cars but sell at lower price compared to Perodua who are able to FACELIFT their cars with hideous looking bodykit and increase the price.

• Kamal AutoGuide on Aug 04, 2020 at 12:15 am

He already set the Target thru PC-Announcement, all it takes is time, layman readers like us didnt see those nonstop background processes. Kindly pls be patience before expressing your arguments

• Rocky on Aug 03, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Malaysian is much more familiar with Japanese technology. Some more, in terms of fuel efficiency, Japanese technology is much more trustworthy in delivering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Kanona on Aug 03, 2020 at 7:59 pm

Bezza cannot get 21km/l as advertised

• Fake News on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:29 pm

Trustworthy in delivering cars with fatal exploding airbags.

• Trustworthy and Japanese don’t mix well together since Takata hiding about its dangerous airbags…

• I think the reason why perodua are popular is because its always never breakdown, thats my opinion but if proton can achieve that then malaysian can shift their view on proton

• Truth on Aug 03, 2020 at 2:44 pm

both perodua and proton cant compete in ASEAN, even in Malaysia both this spoon fed car ‘makers’ are surviving becos people are forced to buy thier cheaper cars

• albag on Aug 03, 2020 at 4:28 pm

keep dreaming Proton.. only fools choose car that is made in china.. yes refer to those X70 drivers out there, and future X50 drivers too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Lenny on Aug 04, 2020 at 11:35 am

hah literally some of the biggest car company have factory in china even tesla. so your argument is not valid

• Tsk, so bitter bcos your Aruz prospects all went and bought the X70 instead?

• Bieight on Aug 03, 2020 at 4:54 pm

Too early to day dream

• crapcars on Aug 03, 2020 at 6:24 pm

wake up malaysian, without Geely, Proton is no where, just admit that Proton by itself if without Geely is a rip off failure product. Dont be denial

• Lenny on Aug 04, 2020 at 11:38 am

wake up malysian, without daihatsu.perodua is no where, just admit that perodua by itself if without daihatsu is a rip off failure producy. dont be in denial

allah english dia

• Johnweak on Aug 03, 2020 at 6:37 pm

Sau pei la proton..owned a proton..wont ever touch that brand again

• David on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:11 pm

Mimpi di siang hari

• Copy Paste on Aug 04, 2020 at 10:10 am

Copy paste: “You folks say Proton won’t turnaround in a year, but was proven you wrong.
      You folks say Proton won’t sell 100k a year, but last year proven you wrong.
      You folks say Proton won’t make profit, but last year proven you wrong.
      Time will prove you wrong again and again.”

• Simon on Aug 03, 2020 at 10:54 pm

We cant wait for Proton to be No.1 & also in the region.
    Cut costs, improve quality & hv attractive budget models. Have to change mindset to make profit & not depend on government. Dont think foreign CEOs can last in Msia due to politics. Hope Proton learn from past mistakes.

• weino on Aug 03, 2020 at 11:19 pm

Make the signal stick on the right side, pleaseee

• potongburukdua on Aug 04, 2020 at 4:33 pm

would be hard but good luck lol.

• Lincan Sittampalam on Aug 05, 2020 at 8:08 am

As a Proton X70 owner, I would like to see internationally used Apps such as Waze and Spotify incorporated in the Head Unit. I think its about time this was done. I hope to see this soon

• Capix on Aug 07, 2020 at 7:48 pm

I believe Proton will become no.1 in Malaysia. P2 price now is really expensive. Features quite same2. Glad I changed my mind, already bought Saga facelift premium instead the new Bezza.