2021 Proton Persona, Iriz facelifts score five-star Asean NCAP rating under 2017-2020 protocol

The forthcoming 2021 facelifts for the Proton Persona and Iriz have attained the full, five-star rating from Asean NCAP under the protocol and rating system for 2017-2020, the organisation has announced.

Proton has submitted the Persona and Iriz for recertification under this rating assessment system, which is the same used for the X50 and X70, the carmaker has stated. Proton expects to achieve five-star ratings across all three adult occupant protection (AOP), child occupant protection (COP) and safety assist technologies (SAT) categories, it said in a Facebook post.

This suggests that there will be major changes to both facelifted models, as most carmakers would otherwise carry over previously attained scores if the revised models are essentially similar with regard to safety.

It is understood that the new Persona and Iriz will receive new transmission to replace the Punch CVT unit, and this has generally been speculated to be the Hyundai 4AT torque converter unit that is used in the Saga. That said, a surprise in this department can’t be ruled out as Geely’s smaller models in China use CVTs, so this direction could also be a possibility.

There is a chance that Proton has resubmitted both B-segment models for recertification to reflect new safety equipment, which could possibly include active safety systems such as autonomous emergency braking or blind spot monitoring.

This is a natural direction to take, given that its key rival, the Perodua Myvi has already been equipped with AEB. That said, the presence of these active safety assist systems are not prerequisites for a five-star Asean NCAP rating, though the update fuels speculation that these will be updated on the Persona and Iriz facelifts.

Details of the test results for both sedan and hatchback B-segment models will be released ‘in due time’, said Asean NCAP. The organisation’s test results for the 2016 Persona were released on the day of its launch, which could mean that the refreshed duo are set to arrive very soon.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Datuk on Dec 31, 2020 at 5:33 pm

Proton Persona and Iriz should used by Pdrm with that lotus handling, instead of heavy civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Ahmad on Dec 31, 2020 at 6:22 pm

Asean Ancap for Proton X50 has mistake:

It tested a Standard Variant, labelled as Standard Spec in Report, but recorded available AEB.
    at the end of the report, simply attached a Flagship variant marketing photo.

https://www.aseancap.org/v2/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/Proton-X50-Digital-Report-9-Oct-2020.pdf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 31, 2020 at 7:06 pm

No, it’s correct. The actual crash tests were done on Standard variants, but the overall score takes into account other safety features that are available on the model. The active safety features are accurately marked as O for available within the models (not necessarily standard on all).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
      • X50 asean ncap on Jan 01, 2021 at 9:21 am

Then the overall score could be misleaded for the Standard Variant.
        Since it take into account of availability of AEB, from Full Spec Variant.

• Safety First on Jan 01, 2021 at 1:19 pm

That is how Asean Ncap rating goes by. The reason why 2 airbags MUX could same 5 star NCAP as 4 airbags X50.

• Amran on Dec 31, 2020 at 6:42 pm

Welcome to R3 Iriz

• Hao kam on Dec 31, 2020 at 7:02 pm

Weird dont know what happen to p1. Even their car have good safety, and having asean 5 star ncap, but sales pretty bad especially iriz, even persona also. Why still more people go for perodua, honda n toyota even p1 price cheaper or more or less p2 price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Firdaus on Dec 31, 2020 at 11:36 pm

Pegawai2 nak hidup dalam kemewahan, nak pakai kereta jenis Porsche, Mercedez, Mustang, motosikal berkuasa tinggi, makan di hotel 5 bintang serta bercuti di luar negara dengan duit haram … local pipu hadap jepunis deswai p1 sales pretty bad even asean 5 star ncap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 01, 2021 at 1:20 am

You want to know why. Because rakyat mentality that we cannot excel and produce good value for money cars. They look down onto Buatan Malaysia Proton but ape those alang-alang Jepun Peroduas. The problem is not with the cars but the rakyat mentality that we can never do something good. See the nonsensical complaints in Proton threads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • Phaser on Jan 01, 2021 at 9:11 am

100% agree with you Rakyat Malaysia. The expectation is iPhone 12 Pro Max features and quality at Nokia 3310 price and must do it on a standalone platform they designed themselves. If not it’s a reflection of how shit the company was the last 35 years.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 03, 2021 at 11:05 pm

We cant just take P1 how shit the company was the last 35 years. How many 35 years P1 need,

• You don’t make an omelette without breaking some eggs. It will take as long as necessary for P1 to succeed.

• Engineer on Jan 01, 2021 at 11:46 am

Spot on 100%!

• Ethan on Jan 01, 2021 at 9:19 am

What kind of engine does the iriz and Persona use? How’s the reliability and fuel consumption? Thanks

• Engineer on Jan 01, 2021 at 11:51 am

You can read up yourself
        https://paultan.org/2019/06/14/first-drive-2019-proton-iriz-persona-facelift-review/
        https://paultan.org/2019/04/23/2019-proton-iriz-facelift-launched-from-rm36700/

The fact that Hafriz got an Iriz, and then went for X70 and now the X50 is a testament to the brand’s offering.

• Ethan on Jan 01, 2021 at 9:20 am

How’s the build quality? Any rattling issues? May consider the iriz if it’s good

• Iriz is different!! on Jan 01, 2021 at 1:29 pm

i hv a 1.3 std cvt iriz 2020 for daily drive and vios for wifey. Bought it bcoz i want a cheap hatchback and like the design, to my surprise, it is quite fuel economy.like the handling, quite stable around 100km/h. i felt it more stable than vios eventhough smaller tyre. cvt is quite slow in response when idle, but once on the go, it is ok. What i hate most is the signal is on the left.. really not convenience.I think proton shld make it to right. Rattling sound,sometime got sometimes no. hhmm not a problem for me. When i sit inside, i dont feel cheap at all. Anyway i think it worth every penny i spent. i really like the car. if u normally drive w/o rear passenger i think is fine, but if u need to sit 4, i think rear passenger will complain abt the legroom. u shld test drive the car to see urself how improve after geely take over. tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Persona vvt looks very bad. Bumbung tinggi dari suv, tayar nampak kecik macam munchkin. Saga vvt lawa lagi

• Shahrol on Jan 03, 2021 at 10:27 am

13 tahun pakai myvi..baru 2 bulan pakai saga..minyak banyak beza woi..baik bawak myvi lama..minyak jimat…

• ex VGM staff on Jan 01, 2021 at 11:19 am

iriz is still modern and up todate. strong chassis and high level of handling competency. why geely not interested to rebadge the car? the designers can change the grille and whèels to their liking. by doing so (rebadging saga iriz and persona) and sell in china for a short period of 2-3 years proton can easily reach 200-300k additional production.

just like what it experienced during the youngman europestar era rebadging gen2 and persona.

• Engineer on Jan 01, 2021 at 11:45 am

Its not the car has no potential but China people loves big cars, go see all the luxobarges with extra long wheelbase only for their country. A small car would not do well there.

• bvc100 on Jan 01, 2021 at 12:15 pm

Lhd conversion, so not necessarily simple rebadge. If got sufficient demand and roi potential, then they’ll proceed.

• pengguna ploton kecewa on Jan 02, 2021 at 9:07 pm

retire both cars already. good for 1st year and nightmare until end of the loan period. buy cash if possible so you can scrap the car immediately