Citroen Ami EV spotted in KL – tiny ‘car’ has two front ends, 8 hp, 45 km/h top speed; what’s it doing here?

What on earth, you ask. This car – which looks like it has two front ends – is the Citroen Ami, a tiny city EV that has an almost symmetrical shape and facial features that are mirrored at the back. Which leads to the legit question of which is the back? Look for the red lights.

Little Ami was spotted by Shahril Khazali at Jalan Duta, ambling along in slow traffic, where it’s at home. That’s because the 8 hp (6 kW) electric motor of the Citroen gives it a top speed of only 45 km/h. That’s right – this ‘car’ can’t even breach 50! Juice is from a 5.5-kWh lithium-ion battery, which provides 70 km range. A full charge from a household 220V socket takes about three hours. You can also recharge with an EV wallbox, and it would be a quickie.

If you’re wondering, the Ami is 2,400 mm long and 1,390 mm wide, making it smaller than the smart fortwo, for those who remember the OG smart. It weighs just 485 kg.

Surely this is not a real car, you say. And you’re right. In Europe, the Ami is classified as a quadricycle, which means that it can be driven without a driving license in the EU by anyone aged 16 and above, or 14 in France. In its homeland, the Ami is sold conventionally (6,000 euros, which is equivalent to RM30,460) or available via long-term rental or car-sharing.

Notice the 2CV-style flip-up windows? The Ami doesn’t have air con, like the Renault Twizy that was officially sold in Malaysia. No AC, coupled with the low top speed and range, means this car would be unusable for many.

I’d agree with that, but looking at my own driving pattern, the 2km route from home to shops for lunch and groceries doesn’t really allow for speeds above 50 km/h. Yes it’s weird, but I frequently drive with the windows down and have always liked the idea of a Twizy.

Anyway, what’s this slow Ami doing in high-speed KL? Looking at the VVIP number plate, it’s clearly not a Stellantis test mule and I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s a toy of the Johor royal family, which also has the cute Honda e in the collection. Want an EV with (almost) the same concept as the Ami but usable as a daily ride? I tried such a machine and here’s the report.

GALLERY: Citroen Ami

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• LEGOFanInPJ on Dec 13, 2023 at 3:20 pm

It’s like a glorified version of a golf buggy…

• ThePolygon on Dec 13, 2023 at 3:33 pm

Perodua Kancik

• Toys R us plastic rubbish on the road on Dec 13, 2023 at 10:29 pm

Don’t insult local cars. Citroen sucks!

• Please remove this car from the road. It will cause traffic jem!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Peppa on Dec 13, 2023 at 4:14 pm

I would rather drive Axia E over whatever this abomination is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • CORGI-19 on Dec 13, 2023 at 6:57 pm

It’s the Virtue Signalling Environment Box 2024!! Don’t mind the child laborers working the cobalt mines, at least it’s ZERO EMISSIONS! (until it Explodes Suddenly or time to throw away the whole car after minor accident because no insurer wants to vouch for the integrity of the cells, whichever comes first)

• Mike Tee on Dec 14, 2023 at 10:30 am

I don’t give a shit about the environment, there I said it.

Evs are faster, quieter and fits my use case. That is why I bought and use it.

• Unintentional Car Spotter on Dec 13, 2023 at 4:57 pm

Saw this very car at Bangsar Village a few months back.

• Its ok on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:24 pm

It is for B40?

• lee kc on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:46 pm

perfect size for a single occupant vehicle

• bobby on Dec 13, 2023 at 8:57 pm

its minion

• Jan Vinegar of Hesselink on Dec 13, 2023 at 9:24 pm

I think my dog can drive this.

• France - the cancer of Europe on Dec 13, 2023 at 9:52 pm

French cars suck, people who buy french cars double sucks.

• Sohai on Dec 13, 2023 at 10:14 pm

Axia Rahmah lagi berbaloi

• Boycott Citroen on Dec 13, 2023 at 10:23 pm

Born in Paris in 1878, André-Gustave Citroen was the fifth and last child of Jewish parents, diamond merchant Levie Citroen and Masza Amelia Kleinman.

Another reason Citroen is such a lousy brand.

Anyway, it’s a long time that France is not french anymore. It’s just an Israeli colony that destroys Europe from within…

• Matti on Dec 13, 2023 at 11:34 pm

If this is made road legal here, maybe we can hope to see the LCC Tamiya Wild One.

• Malaysian on Dec 14, 2023 at 3:43 am

Just wanna be on social media only, want ppl to take pics of it. Dont know why malaysians thinking always like that. No improvement at all

• James Tan Kia Hou on Dec 14, 2023 at 2:47 pm

If this Citroen Ami come in Malaysia. Is so happy for me. Because I so love this car. If I get this car , I can training more driving, because this car only left hand drive when I need learning more . And go to nearby supermarket or drive more at city. But I don’t driving to highway, because this car like Honda Cub to slowly. Hopefully this car can officially to Malaysia.

• England on Dec 15, 2023 at 10:32 am

Best you consider improving your English before “training more driving” with this car.