2025 Kia K4 teased – Cerato/Forte successor; Toyota Corolla, Honda Civic rival; March 27 debut in New York

Kia has released teaser images of the next-generation K4, which will be revealed over two stages this month. On March 21, the South Korean carmaker will reveal the global design of its new sedan, while a world premiere is scheduled to take place at the New York Auto Show on March 27.

Based on the shadowy images, the K4 appears to resemble the Concept EV4 that the company presented last October, albeit tweaked to have a less outlandish shape. Even so, there are still some distinctive design cues like the front and rear lighting elements hugging the corners of the body – these are in line with current models such as the latest Carnival and K3.

With some photo editing, we can also spot the K4’s unusual rear pillars which see the window line terminate abruptly at a point that connects the roof with the rear window. The rear door handles are also “hidden” at the base of the pillar above strong creases on the sedan’s sides, and there appears to a sunroof.

The K4 will reportedly replace the Forte/Cerato in Kia’s line-up and will compete against C-segment models like the Toyota Corolla and Honda Civic. The Forte/Cerato was previously also known as the K3, but that name has now been used for a smaller B-segment sedan that was revealed in August last year.

Further details such as available powertrains should be revealed in the coming days, but for now, what do you think of the K4 based on these teasers? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• handsome gila

• Peppa on Mar 18, 2024 at 10:38 am

I love the prefacelift Cerato! It look and feel really good for what it is and you get alot of goodies for RM90k. Plus it has ventilated seats for the top spec!! Thats fantastic!

• Sohai on Mar 18, 2024 at 11:59 am

Would love to see the Koreans back in our market to give the Japanese and local makers some competition. When the original Forte was launched at lower price and good specs, it triggered the likes of Toyota, Honda and Nissan to better equip their cars for our market

• @NotBruceWayne on Mar 18, 2024 at 4:06 pm

I still love the 2011/2012 Forte Koup.
    What’s with sedans nowadays opting for sportsback design?
    Anyways, Kia/hyundai is getting out of reach for average msians.

• kckfen on Mar 18, 2024 at 6:11 pm

Kia Cerato is one of my best sedan i have driven. Have it for 5 yrs. Problem free car.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 18, 2024 at 8:04 pm

Berjaya will ruin it. If they bring in this car, suddenly they’ll put in some local conversion that nobody asked for (like turning the Sorento into a half-baked 6-seater) and price it within spitting distance of luxury brands. I’ve only literally seen less than 10 units of Sorento on our roads since its launch until today, despite beeing on the road around KL, PJ, Subang and Shah Alam for hours daily.

• KA4User on Mar 22, 2024 at 9:42 am

Of course lah… Many that buy 6/7 seater have many people want to drive around, so when think of comfort Sorrento’s 5+2 chair suddenly doesn’t look attractive anymore plus the price point most will just up up to Kia Carnival 11/8/7 seater for bigger space and better ride quality for passenger, especially the 3rd row. Kia Carnival 3rd row is like normal small-mid size SUV seating space and comfort, cannot beat that with 5+2 seating 3rd row.

• hazri on Mar 18, 2024 at 11:59 pm

should name it KIA K3A. first, it sound and look like KIA. 2nd, if you are malaysian you know why.