Toyota Mark X

toyotamarkx_1.jpg

The Toyota Mark X is the successor to the popular Toyota Mark II. The Toyota Mark II has enjoyed sales figures of 4.8 million since it’s first incarnation was introduced back in 1968. The Toyota Mark II is also known as the Toyota Chaser in Japan.

toyotamarkx_2.jpg

The Toyota Mark X is positioned to target male individuals in their 30s who have a family, and in Japan it is aimed at the middle market segment although it’s impressive featureset and looks could qualify it in the luxury segment. Somehow it reminds me of the Toyota equilvalent of the Nissan Bluebird Sylphy, and targetting males instead of females.

The Toyota Mark X shares the same rear wheel drive platform as the Toyota Crown and the Lexus GS luxury sedan, although it’s market positioning is actually slightly below the Lexus IS sports sedan. The Toyota Mark X is powered by either a 2.5 litre V6 4GR-FE or a 3.0 litre V6 3GR-FE. Both engines are aluminium blocked and have dual-VVTi and Toyota D4 direct injection. The 3.0 litre V6’s 256hp is mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission. There are 4WD models but those come with a 5-speed auto instead. The lower-end 2.5 litre V6 has 215hp instead.

In Malaysia, you can purchase a Toyota Mark X from Naza Sportivo. They bring in the 2.5 litre V6 versions and I’ve seen a few on the road already.

toyotamarkx_3.jpg

toyotamarkx_4.jpg

toyotamarkx_5.jpg

toyotamarkx_6.jpg

toyotamarkx_7.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kendo (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 6:41 pm

u know what?

I am driving one this summer at shanghai,

price at RM100k (china yen 200k)!

that's what I call fair "Car-quality-life!

changing life-style,

or changing the mediocre "Administration-style!

folks!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 6:42 pm

Paul Tan – What is the price in Japan/US, and what is the price it is selling in CarTaxLamd or Bolehland. I suggest it is a reality turn into dream by NAP/P1 for most of Malaysian to own one!

• antaras (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 7:35 pm

Well, seen 1 advertising in Motor Trader… selling at RM245K and that's for a 2nd hand car year 2005. Oh ya… it's also the 2.5 V6 version… I don't really wanna think of the 3.0's price tag.

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 7:45 pm

executive look indeed.

Cool interior/exterior…

should be a great competitor to accord etc.

good work toyota!

• kody (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 7:46 pm

wahlaueh…

the car look macho. With taking the 'NAP', the mid earning groups are hardly to own such good car.

• bummerboy (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 8:07 pm

parellel importers in sg sell the 2.5 V6 for about 90k INCLUDING COE. at current exchange rate, it's still cheaper that the 245k used markX! I personally think it is better than new IS because it is more spacious, and shares the same platform, though it doesnt look as sharp inside and out.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 8:46 pm

wah?.. kendo RM100k only in china??.. it seems even communist country ve cheaper cars… Then how about bolehland??.. does that mean we worse than china??

CarTaxLand = super communist??

• ar (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 9:48 pm

hmm…

I think CarTaxLand = Super Capitalist

the rich gets richer the poor gets poorer

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 9:53 pm

ermmm… methinks the headlamp reminds me of BMW…

• Paul Tan on Apr 10, 2006 at 10:07 pm

I think it looks like the Volkswagen Scirocco more

• go_go (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 10:16 pm

waa… best…

when proton gonna come up with information screen on dashboard?

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 10:30 pm

vry nice……….sure wil attract loads of attentions wheneva it goes…….

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 10:34 pm

Good car. It's been in Singapore for a couple of years already. So it's really the latest version of Grande Mark II heh? Funny why decided to jump from II to X instead of moving on to III ;p

• willy (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 11:29 pm

Nice! It has got the European marques feel inside. The side view looks like MG Rover..don't you think?

Kendo,

I really doubt you can get this car for RMB200k. I would reckon this model will be priced around RMB450K excludes "certificate of entitlement" fee which will set you in for another RMN40-50K.

I love Shanghai! I miss Shanghai now:(

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 11:37 pm

very nice indeed.. but sure impossible to buy… (for me la…)

Sad-sad… China oso have national cars.. why they dont have NAPs…???

ps:Like the Super Capitalist term.. new term of country like Bolehland.. special case.. i miss shanghai girls…

• kendo (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 12:13 am

starting from RMB china 300k,

which is RM 150k plus

down here,

you have choices of

Audi a4, BMW3, and toyota crown!

starting from RMB200k+- range = RM100k!!!!!!

you have choices of accord, ford modeo, VW NEW jetta, Camry (s00n)…Cefiro…

policies trick here,

bring in American big wigs investment like GM, Ford.

… and they will FORCE the goverment to OPEN UP!

• kendo (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 12:18 am

check it out, china,,,
    http://auto.sina.com.cn/salon/TIANJINTOYOTA/TIANJ…

(we have been robbed of good quality mobile-life

for 20 odd years" by oldfolk")

• kendo (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 12:30 am

for RM80k ranges,

u have choices of civic, altis, suuny, mazda3,

while for "BUDGET Rm50-60k,

u have choices like jazz, golf, vios, city…

China "national cars, normally price at JUNK prices

of RM10k-35K range

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 12:33 am

Kendo – this should be the case for our NAP/P1 – junk product at junk price.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 3:29 am

The back looks like the Corolla, the front looks ok, or is this car not photogenic? The picture in the link looks a little ugly.

• shaun (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 4:09 am

Everyone says the 'Bangle-butt" on BMW's these days are fugly.

But you see companies like Lexus (LS460) , Nissan (maixma/cefiro/teana) and now Toyota copying the design. Which can only mean the contrary.

Yeah i agree that it looks like a bimmer with the headlights and ass.

But isn't imitation the best form of flattery? haha

Cya

• stevarac (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 4:30 am

Is my eyes getting blurry or the speedometer actually showed 180 kmh max ?

If that is the max , then the target consumer group will be more towards the

makcik & very old at heart driver.

• Pentan Sakua (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 5:56 am

This CAR SHOULD BE THE NEXT PERDANA instead of the Mitsubishi 350? What do yuo guys think?

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 6:41 am

i was supposed to attend n cover the launch of this car at Naza sometime back for my company… sayang i couldnt make it… :P

• Paul Tan on Apr 11, 2006 at 6:46 am

stevarac: all japanese cars have a max 180 km/h reading on their speedometer. japanese law.

• indigo (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 7:11 am

This car is available for quite a long time.. last year i think.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 7:16 am

I was madly in love with the Passat 2.0 FSI until I saw this Toyota Mark X, better still if it's a XXX, hardcore…he he he.

About RM120,000 for Mark X in Dragonland? What? Why is this thing happening to us? Cartaxland/Bolehland people sungguh malang sekali!!!

Who cares if it copied BMW, if RM120,000, I book tomorrow. I talk only, need to look at the interest rate as well.

With NAP and P1, it's totally absolutely "The Power of Dream", dream on, and "Zoom-Zoom" to dreamland, "Need Driver" but driver don't have, how to "Moving forward" ? Not need to "Shift the Future" also.

The best news to majority of the people in Bolehland/Cartaxland is not winning the FIFA Worldcar but P1 close down? AGREE?

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 7:42 am

stevarac said,

April 10, 2006 @ 8:30 pm

Is my eyes getting blurry or the speedometer actually showed 180 kmh max ?

If that is the max , then the target consumer group will be more towards the

makcik & very old at heart driver.

Nope, your eyes are ok. Japanese vehicles are always limited to 180km/h top speed. Even Skyline GTRs, Evolutions, Scoobys all cut fuel intake at 180km/h. Japanese more down to earth mar, not like Proton, put 240km/h max speed on Wira 1.6 ……. pui ~

• tariq (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 10:07 am

hebattt..sungguh hebat!

• mfg030380 (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 10:16 am

Read an article abt the MarkX in China, they named it "REIZ" over there.

It is a MADE IN CHINA version of the MarkX with slightly different spec.

Here's the links to that article( in Chinese):
    http://www.caranddriver.com.hk/article_content.ph…

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 11:12 am

hey ..any of u guys checked out da mazda 6 wit the bodykits and huge alloys…i testdrove a bood red one wit all the finishings on it and other drivers could not keep thier eyes of the road when i passed them…it was really good lookin but wit the trimmings its just superb….even the guy in da 5 series next to me was lookin hard….god….im still thinkin if i should book one…should i?…im also considering the ford focus which is easier on da wallet as da masda 6 costs at least 15 k more since itsa jap import….i need help coz im afraid if get one it be hard to get after sales support such as spare parts coz i heard even da bumper on da mazda 6 costs a lot..i dun need help in judgin its looks though…even the new toyota camry doesnt look as good as this facelifted mazda 6!

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 3:48 pm

all jap domestic market cars have a speedo that goes up to 180 only. jap cars that are CKD elsewhere have speedos that go above 200 also. Its got nothing to do with being down to earth la.

Its plain silly actually. same goes with their 280ps law. the govt there believes that it will make the roads safer, so it has called on the manufacturers to set the limit. apparently, the law is not written down, they call it a "gentlemans agreement"

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 4:23 am

hey honda_driver… i just test drove the fully imported mazda6 from japan and it had a speedo that went all da way to 240…..u said onli ckd cars elsewhere have more than 180..does that apply for full imports too?…because even the jap local mazda6 is at 240 accordin to my fren that works there

• tpm520 (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 9:59 am

hey….anyone can let me know the on the road price for toyota markx 250G and 300G in Malaysia?? thx

• professorzen (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 1:41 am

The Toyota Mark X is very beautiful. When are they going to be available in America?

• ken nakamoto (Member) on Jan 22, 2008 at 1:31 am

Just to correct the statement written under the first picture above w/c states that the Mark II is also known as the Chaser in Japan. The Mark II is different from the Chaser although both car models were built based on the same body design. I owned a Mark II Grande in the early 90's. The Chaser model is still being used to date but the Mark II brand name was already superseded with the Mark X starting 2004.

• ken nakamoto (Member) on Jan 22, 2008 at 1:40 am

This is just to correct the impression (as written below the first picture above) w/c states that the Mark II is also known as the Chaser in Japan. Actually the Mark II is different from the Chaser although both models were built based on the same body design. I owned a Mark II Grande in the early 90's. The Chaser model is still being used to date in Japan but the Mark II brand name has already been changed to Mark X starting 2004. In other words, all Mark IIs running in Japan are those models of 2003 and earlier.

• 10 second car (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 10:13 pm

Dear Sir (s) and Maam (s),

Can anyone gimme opinion

im considering to buy a recon Mark X 2.5 priced at RM180K+- or a brand new Camry 2.4 priced at RM 160+-.

Could anyone tell me, which is better in all perspective- fuel economy, power, space, look, maintenance and balah blah balah…. Im a guy with a small family ( 1 kiddo only 4 da time being), i really love Mark X for its look, and of course more power than the Camry, but i think Camry is more spacious and wallet friendly ( my wife is a Camry fan) ..

Please enlight me with some idea..huhu

• HP (Member) on May 04, 2008 at 3:53 pm

10sec,

Personnally, I will go with Mark-X. I am considering to get one as well.

• HP (Member) on May 04, 2008 at 4:01 pm

personnally, i will definitely go with mark-x if compared against camry. The external of camry is ok, but I find the internal is so-so only.

I find mark-x wins on all aspects against camry.

BTW does anyone out there knows if it is worth it to import cars from Japan instead of pay 2x to local dealers.

• Hi, Im looking for Mark X oso, dun mind to tell me where u going to get it?

• crown majesta3 on Jan 01, 2009 at 6:03 am

..the car of the future…fantastic interior, headlamp, x logo..near perfect design except tail lamp looks so-so only………used to have 1G/1JZ engine from the older sibling, i can say it is the most reliable engine in the world…..

• mrs. mansoor on Feb 18, 2009 at 3:26 am

Please can someone help me i need mark X manual which is known as REIZ also thankz

• Agha Muhammad on Mar 31, 2009 at 12:38 am

I Have A Toyota Mark x which has a genuine navigation and CD control system in Japanese i want to change its language into English please help me

My Car is imprted from japan year of manufacturing 2005

• John Clayton Jr on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:26 am

Went back to Kuala Terengganu to see my sick mum on the 5th of April 2009. Stopped by at the Main Road roadside near my brother's house at Kg Merbau Patah for my breakfast. While taking breakfast together with my brother and my youngest son, saw a few dozen cars under the shade just next to the stall where we were having our breakfast. Didn't notice them during my previous visit. So after paying for the breakfast, went to see them. There were a few Mark X, Silver color. Displayed price RM168K. Nice salesmen. Maybe you can have a look there. Just after the 1st traffic light going to Wakaf Mempelam, somewhere near Kubang Parit junction. Pity I don't have the money, otherwise, I would certainly be driving back to KL in one. We all sat inside, and when it rained heavily, we closed the door and couldn't hear a thing even though it was raining cats and dogs outside. Wish you all luck. Don't forget to offer us a ride.

• MYKENMOON (Member) on Apr 16, 2009 at 4:25 pm

go to mark x singapore forum , most information is available there

• edwin on Jun 27, 2009 at 8:38 am

that car is a bomb,havent seen a car like this.Toyota keep it up

• Porque no producen un Toyota Mark x con volante a la izquierda… es muy lindo que pena ….

• fauzis on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:03 pm

part and service di malaysia

• my whole family here discussing here, i'm definitely go for markx, but the rest of them go for camry because of spare parts. I would like to know, how true is this statement, when it comes to spare parts scarcity for markx.

• Tansley Wandera on Jul 06, 2010 at 7:28 pm

whats the average fuel consuption rate of the mark x given its dual vvti and D4 direction injection? and whats the difference in pricing between the 2.5 and 3.0

• nicholas on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:23 pm

does toyota mark x 2005 250g using timing belt or timing chain? can anyone assist

• look good on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:23 pm

mad!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• look good on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:24 pm

look nice

• i wanna find a mark x ….where can i get a good price n good condition car??
    email me if have good car

• nsube ishmail on Jan 24, 2012 at 9:33 pm

please tel me the price in $.dollers if i can get the modal year 2000 i will be happy. thanks nsube.

• tauqeer on Jan 31, 2012 at 12:22 pm

advise from where i can get the user manual of mark x (2004)
    regards

• Joshua J. Gordon on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:59 am

I’m in possession of a 2006 toyota Mark x, but have no drivers manual; how may I obtain one of these?.

• Luckmore on Nov 12, 2012 at 4:22 pm

How much can i get it for, im in zimbabwe

• Sunil on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Hai I’m Sunil I just test mark x I just fall in love I just want to know about the maintainance part are easy to get in Malaysia or not

• MR. ALGOE REMIE on Jan 22, 2013 at 9:28 pm

GOOD DAY
    PLEASE WHERE CAN I GET THE TRANSLATION IN ENGLISH OR DUTCH,BECAUSE I CAN’T HANDLE( USE ) SOME OF THE KNOBS
    AND THE TOUCHSCREEN
    FOR MORE YOUR KIND INFORMATION,I HAVE A TOYOTA MARK X
    2006. ON BEHALVE MANY THANKS

• Kevyn Low on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:43 pm

I own this car in sport package.actually wanna choose for new accord, but after i test drive of this car, it was totally different feel and quality if u compare with camry n accord (friend of mine). good car it is.

• Hi Kevyn.. you owned the mark x unreg which year? I bought the mark x 2008 unreg at j.b.

• Sunil on Apr 16, 2014 at 4:08 pm

just bought a 08 its wonderful only problem i need the transulation in english to operate the radio.

• Hi – is there any where I can download a copy of the Mark X owner’s manual? I’ve just bought a pre-owned 2008 Mark X. Thanks.
    Ben

• ZACK TEO on Aug 11, 2015 at 5:01 pm

is it this car got stability control or traction control?

• Nilesh on Apr 01, 2018 at 9:02 am

Hi, I have the 2009 Toyota Mark X 250G. How can I get user manual in English. And is there anyway I could change language settings on the stereo to English.