Toyota Belta on test in Thailand as Toyota VIOS!

thaiviosspyshot1.jpg

This lightly disguised Toyota Belta has been sighted doing test rounds around Thailand, and images of it have been circulating around the internet. It was posted in the Automotive Forums by reader stephen_ksf. Have a look at the other two photos after the jump and you will find an undisguised rear shot which carries the VIOS badge on the boot lid. Looks like Thailand will be getting a new Toyota VIOS replacement very soon. The Toyota VIOS was only introduced in our market in the year 2003, and was facelifted last year in 2006. That’s three years before a facelift – it’s currently 2007, perhaps we’ll get a new model change in 2008 or 2009.

Rumour is that the new 2nd generation Toyota VIOS on our market will also offer a 1.3 litre version priced somewhere between the Perodua Myvi and the VIOS 1.5 litre, about 65k or so, which will definitely prove to be a Proton killer. But then again, rumours and word of mouth shall remain just that, just rumours, until any official announcement or press release. There are plenty of rumours going around of so-called pending new models to be released soon, they usually center around the Nissan Note and the Toyota Ractic being offered at impossible RM4x,xxx price ranges.

Anyway, have a look at the other two photos after the jump, and if you haven’t visited the forums and signed up for an account to participate yet, feel free to do so! :)

thaiviosspyshot2.jpg

thaiviosspyshot3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normal_user (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 3:31 pm

This Yaris-based sedan looks big and I wonder if a 1.3l engine is sufficient enough to move the car without too much effort. But its nice if UMW can price is at 65K below. I think 58K is a reasonable & attractive price if they can bring the costs down.

On the last picture, the rear end view somehow looks like waja.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 3:36 pm

If the Belta comes as a 1.3L, it can't be a replacement for the VIOS unless they come out with 1.5L variant as well. In other neighbouring countries, the VIOS is already offered in both 1.3L and 1.5L variant.

In Australia, The Belta is simply called as the Yaris Sedan.

At the moment, the VIOS/Yaris family is just overpriced for this vehicle size. Our neighbouring country is only selling for RM40K range while we are paying twice the amount for this small sedan class car.

Yeah, the rear lights do look similar to Waja.

• umarss (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 3:58 pm

This Belta was released about a year and a half here in JAPAN. They said the market Toyota trying to get with this Belta is 30s-40s women as the heavily aired TV advert suggest.

I owned a VIOS when I was in Msia, gotta say this one has got the package to sell like hot cakes. It all depends on the PRICE though…CBU?CKD? anyone?

• sewell (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 4:48 pm

the blue vios back light look like proton waja ! and toyota's car are getting bigger and bigger. from camry SXV10 > SXV20 > ACV30 > ACV40. this new vios rear bonnet give you a big boot as well.

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 4:49 pm

If it's true that this Belta will sell in Malaysia as Vios for the incoming years, this gonna make the hot competition of 1.3-1.5 cars here. (Malaysia is the largest passenger car market)

Em, the CKD Toyota always looking for low price, and the quality goes down. Internal staffs of it's plant at Shah Alam (UMW) even said the QC is worse. (They don't use Toyota, even their boss is Toyota..ahaks!)

Vios 1.3? Maybe they use the 1.3 from the Avanza. They exchange the engine from the model among them. But it's effect fuel effieciency. (weight ratio)

Ok, this is in Thai. We wiil look if it's really reach here as above. Of course, the price is competitive, it's Siam mali… not Jepun mali..

So, Myvi? Savvy? Do beware. The old Iswara is not relevant anymore, unless the all new Iswara platform is unleash.

Malaysian hope so.

• kington (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 4:51 pm

With the present tax structure, many cars are overpriced. I guess only a handful have values that's worth its money, one such is Perodua's MyVi.

As a current Vios owner, i do hope that the Belta will offer improved ride comfort and NVH levels; something that is seemingly vital in our congested roads here. The drivetrian is an absolute gem, the all aluminium 1NZ-FE working really well with the Super ECT gearbox, giving smooth acceleration throughout the power band. Budget cars like the Vios / City are really finding places into asian homes today, and even in Singapore, Toyota sold a stagerring 5,600 units of the Vios from January to October 2006 while the next top seller could only manage approx. 3000 units.

Interesting times ahead for Toyota and Honda, as they continue their stronghold in this segment. We'll see how Honda's new version of the City will take up the fight.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 5:12 pm

If this is coming soon then really hold me from getting Myvi. But then i taught this year they will replacement for Vios. If 2008 then is kinda too long away, now just the beginning of 2007. As you said there will have Nissan Note or Toyota Ractic…that rumor quite sometime already. I really hope here will have Ractic and the price is reasonable. But one thing if is around Myvi price then who will buy Myvi.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 5:37 pm

The Vios is a hit because its relatively well made, has good NVH control and surprising performance from the 1.5L engine.

With the 1.3L and the lower price point for the sedan, its definately going to be the 2nd punch that knocks out Proton (First being the Myvi). Currently only the Hyndai Accent fills the gap between the Myvi and Vios. Looks like Hyundai may also have a problem if the 1.3L Vios comes in. They may just respond with a smaller sized engine as well…causing even bigger problems to Proton. Naza and Perodua looks like they have the small car market already connered. The 1.3L to 1.5L ( 55-65k) mkt seems where the next battle will take place. On top of that we may also get the Nissan Note at similar price ranges as well.

Wonder if they might use a 5spd manual gearbox to offset the 1.3L power deficit and keep the price low.

As an aside, this scenario has played here before with Honda Malaysia coming out with a limited edition 1.3L Civic (EC?) to counter the then 1.3L Saga and 1.3L Corolla back in 1986. The Civic then only had a 1.5L engine.

Lets face it, most people that buy a Vios isn't going to put power and performance at top priority (same as those that buy a Myvi) so the 1.3L suffices if you just need to pot around town. People drive an Avanza fully loaded with 7 passengers anyway……

• cyder300 (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 6:10 pm

I say its abt time Toyota replaces the VIOS, a good seller with another round of better seller that takes a bigger chunck of the local market before the other brands catches up. Afterall, Toyota aims to be world's No.1. Remember that they have to fight off the koreans and chinese makers too in the coming years, securing the asian market is just part of the plan.

Thus far the CKD vios have good quality for the price you are paying and feature packed for the class, this new one should not be less. since they are good with small cars and have plenty of off the shelves parts to use from older yaris and small class models. Cheers to Toyota.

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 6:21 pm

So, after all my pretiction is right, the yaris sedan is the replacement of vios.

Hope this new vios can be launched at 2008.

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 6:27 pm

Vios, you'll want one!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 6:36 pm

Toyota Waja!!! Or is it Proton Vios?

Won't 1.3 be a bit underpowered? Esp if it's an auto, it will be sluggish……

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 6:39 pm

Eh, I just realised in the 2nd pic, is dat u, Paul? Wearing the clothes seen in the mirror before that Vios?

• Hikaru (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 6:54 pm

The looks seems a bit different from the one that was anticipated. I was expecting it to look like the current Yaris which is the Yaris sedan that our American counter-parts are getting. Just go over to Toyota American's website to check it out. I must say the one we're getting looks more handsome.

Q3 perhaps?

• bummerboy (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 7:15 pm

i think these are coming to singapore before CNY. how come borneo motors so much faster in bringing new model than UMW? and to think that malaysian car market has bigger volume!

• sunlamp (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 7:36 pm

Hi guys,

You are right. BM, Borneo Motors is expected to bring the 2007 VIOS in March. Yup looking forward the replacement model as the current model do look a bit aging.

The new model based on the pics above look abit like CITY, i'm expecting somehting like new Camery in Singapore.

However, i hope Avanza will be available in Singapore for buget MPV segment. Looking forward…..

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 8:33 pm

The current vios model looks just fine for me.. new tech / model = less cost, less material, less components, last not least…cheap!.., macam tulah toyota & honda bole bikin business….

ps: sometimes old is better..

• jasmani75 (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 8:38 pm

ya lah..looks like City! huhh

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 9:23 pm

rear looks like nissan bluebird sylphy.

• ... (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 10:48 pm

looks like a reskinned Myvi with a boot

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:40 pm

It will surely sell like a hotcake here. Most of people like Toyota no matter how it looks, it's built quality and it's performance, they just buy the brand not the product.

Side view look exactly the same with current Vios. I suspect it's using current Vios platform. Hope the interior has better built quality..

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 12:06 am

Looks nice..better than City..if only they brings in manual transmission's unit to Malaysia market..

• ICER (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 4:13 am

if this one launch in M'sia…

I buy City better ..

• thow (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:02 am

current VIOS look better

• transformer (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:13 am

if Belta really is the new Vios… then these Toyota people really know how to reuse their resources…. its a recycle model that can keep the cost down…

using same platform, chassis, engine & etc…

all the cost of developement(toolings, process, jigs, line, skill & etc.) and production should had already recovered in Belta…. and now reuse the same things with minor modiff to launch the Vios… same thing use in Yaris, Passo, Boon, Vios, Avanza, Belta & etc., yet want to sell high price ?

Toyota, you'll really a genius!

Reuse an old model and sold as new !

Think if P1 can do such in their model, then how low would they go ?

Right now we only see Campro in Gen2, then Waja and now Neo…

what about Platform ? Chassis ? and etc. ?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:50 am

avanza grille anyone. Looks exactly like the current vios except for the different rear lights and front end. Other things which I can imagine "different" are:

1. new interior design

2. slightly better output.

3. slightly increase space-wider wheel base.

• vai (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 5:55 am

Bigger. Better. Longer. Q3 07. ;-)

• Htay9500 (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 1:36 pm

looks totally diff with tht red tape on tail lite. will Myanmar receive this

• indigo (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 10:50 pm

Forget about 1.3L, malaysia will not have that. People should stop speculating that it will be below 80k. This is not Kijang or Avanza and most likely will be over 80k and comes with Auto only. People were expecting something that can't be acctually fulfilled. We have p1 and p2…hopeless la.

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 5:23 am

Htay9500… of course Toyota have to hide their tail light, because they copied waja tail light design. If you see the yaris aircond button/switch is same as Gen.2 or Lotus Elise aircond button/switch.

Nowadays there is no genuine designer anymore except for Italian made and higher end car manufacturer.

Aston Martin anyone??? going cheap once!!! going cheap twice!!! OK sold to the BASHERSSSSS!!!!!!

• firdaus72 (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 11:13 pm

Put a Toyota badge, although it looks like the ever ugly face lifted Waja, it will sell. Trust me..

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jan 23, 2007 at 4:23 pm

Guys!!!! Cmon!!! Get real!!!!

What a damn fugly car……..!!!! Since its a Toyota, nobody dares to say its ugly……Blah laaaa, i dont trust the opinions given here since most of the forumers here are Toyota biased contributors………..

hehehe, shame on u….!!!!

" The uglier, the better….."

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 9:52 am

seen the car badged as a toyota yaris sedan. it looks alright when seen among modern cars. at least the 'Z' version or something…the one with the sportskit.

lets not forget this car is the lowest/cheapest model of toyota. where the trend is now to give small budget cars the bigger space and safer occupant/pedestrian protection and the yaris has achieved alot in that market segment despite being a budget car. its almost as big as a corolla.

lotsa asian buyers so i think u can get a short consumer review easily.

• belta-owner (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 10:21 am

Hi anyone know where can i get belta bodykit??

• oyl78 (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 3:33 am

New VIOS launched in Thailand on 9 March 2007…

http://www.toyota.co.th/red/th/model/vios/vios_ho…

• Sri Daran on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:20 pm

I am thinking of getting a Toyota Vios, but the present model is outdated. Just don't like it. I am looking out for the replacement model in March 2010. When can we book the car?