Ssangyong Kyron gets a facelift

Ssangyong Kyron

What does the Subaru Tribeca and the Ssangyong Kyron have in common? They both had unorthodox design elements in their initial design, but after a facelift, they look alot better! Even though the Ssangyong Kyron was an able machine, alot were turned off by the fussy design and the shape of its rear taillamps which were somewhat shaped like a shield. The facelifted Kyron gets a new tail end design, a few other design updates here and there, and is 50mm longer and 10mm wider.

More shots of the facelifted Kyron after the jump.

Ssangyong Kyron

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 8:06 am

Looks much better than before! Now the back doesn’t look so yatchy or something that sails on water. Would be better if they could get rid of that weird groove right at the top of the rear lamps. Anyway thumbs up for a less weirdo design.

The speedo and rev meter still looks kinda old fashion for a new model.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 8:11 am

Who is the DESIGNER of this beast, He/She ShOUld be FIRED!! Tengok pun SAKIT mata!

• jamsbong (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 8:12 am

this car certainly looks better than before, especially the side view. but front and back still looks abnormally narrow. I can still remember topgear joked about this car and voted it as the ugliest car of the year.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 8:28 am

Whoaa!! Looks better!
    Looks like Mercedes design a lot.
    Hehehe.. just put 3 star emblem at the hood and rear boot = baby MercGLK

• zanggief (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 8:44 am

It looks nice compare to previous model as the design is over…not easy to accept the designer idea…this one more close to its competitor design….

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 8:51 am

Yup, definitely much better, but I still prefer the first front bumper! The artist of the initial drawing must be sad his design can’t be fully accepted though :p

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 9:14 am

looks better than before, but still not good looking

• demio121 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 9:18 am

my first thought, did Honda and Ssangyong swap designer?

• drM (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 9:23 am

Be hold the magnificient Koreans!

well..wait..thats a bit..urmm…stupid? but I like the way these Winter Sonata guys trying things. even this Kyron got facelifted even just 2,3 years on the market.

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 9:30 am

The front headlights reminds me of the new S-class.

Agree that the facelift looks much better.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 9:36 am

a cheaper and more feasible alternative to the honda crv

love the back lights, resembles more like an estima

• BB (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 9:54 am

much better than b4, especially the rear light design.
    but SY quality remain a big “?”.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 10:16 am

Well is the engine still a 2.0L CDI diesel engine used by Merz? or petrol version? Well look nice is the back.. i think this will be a big hit if price good! Anywayz i heard a Exco tell me that next year if BN win the election, the AFTA or NAP issue will be fix.. Means open market by next year! Yahoo! He also told me he gonna get a BMW X5 next year..

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 10:50 am

it look more smooth..
    dislike the previous rear lamp design..

auctioncenter2u.. seem majority still prefer the new design..
    mayb u fired a wrong designer liao.. hehe..kidding…

• szw (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 11:23 am

still doesn’t look nice.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 11:36 am

looks very much better than the earlier version!

but just why didn’t the designer remove that “bulge” or “creasing arch” between the rear windscreen and taillight…. or just simply minimised it…

• avanza (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 11:48 am

A whole lot better than the previous one. Phew!

• toxicboy (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 12:26 pm

Haha, the shield shaped tail lights are gone

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 12:30 pm

Hmm… i think the tail lights look like a BMW X5.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 12:46 pm

not looking nice for exterior…But interior would be Okay

• mmcwei (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 12:54 pm

the non-facelifted kyron look sucks at the rear….now i began love this new face lift model…nice the rear lamp….

• azrai (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 1:07 pm

This one looks better. The dashboard seems like it is ‘melted’ under the sun. :)

• ab (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 1:14 pm

Mercedes-Benz ciplak

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 2:13 pm

my friend’s father own one of this…besides the weird and ugly design…its a superb car!!the interior design and features are great…and the quality i m telling you..is on par with the germans!!the buttons,swithes, and the thing inside the car is great!!i wonder how they are able to produce such a high quality interior and price it so low???the german car are almost 4 times more expensive!!paul can get some info bout the history of this company??

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 2:26 pm

i have no idea why the automakers are like tat… good quality built up but bad design… some good design but bad quality built up… or some are both good in quality and design but damn expensive… or even the worse, both poor quality built up and ridiculous design although the price is affordable… so far i still havent found a vehicle with ugly design, lousyt quality and cost a super rocket price yet…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 5:14 pm

MercSClass Front + BMW X5 rear = SangyongSUV

• timber8115 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 5:21 pm

overall, look better than the previous model. About the buldge at the back, i guess they still retain it as they do not want the car look predictable like other cars. This is what we call the identity. Not everyone look the same and so do cars, right?

Just my 2cents

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 5:45 pm

Btw, i love the interior. Looks european.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 6:52 pm

Prem3377, u father is very good in taste.. My neighbor also get a kyron! Nice man! Yes, i also have this question in my head. Why their quality so good, but still selling in a very cheap price when after tax? While our local cars, Ehmm.. sell us at a relative high price, but give us low quality products..

• DtG (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 7:33 pm

waaaaaaay better than the previous one… wonder what designers they had doing the ugly one before this…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 9:47 pm

wayyyyyyy boring-er than the previous one. I liked the previous one. not because it looked nicer to me (not that this one looked bad thou) it’s just that i always reckon SsangYong to be a manufacturer with exquisite taste when it comes to their designs – Love it or hate it, they never leave themselves in greay areas….

Ugly is always better than bland.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 10:13 pm

now the back looks better…like the stance also..sweet!

• eezarm (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 12:14 am

kei9 said,
    July 17, 2007 @ 10:13 pm

now the back looks better…like the stance also..sweet!
    —————————————————————

yup, agree with u.
    the previous one looks ugly and mismatched.
    although it looks like bmw’s rear but still ok…

• nmh (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 12:17 am

Improve…..finally the learned from what happen to rexton…..but still not enuf.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 2:46 am

stil ugly looking…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 1:19 pm

still the sorento NOvus pretty ~ …

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 2:12 pm

nnow the ‘unique’ design is better looking…..the rearlight doesnt look like BMW’s…….

• badsoulfly (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:23 pm

wierd…very very wierd….but unique with some ugly shape…and always copy Mercedes front grill….like REXTON…maybe because they have a cooperation with Mercedes

• GNath on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:27 pm

HI Paul,

I am thinking of getting the new Ssangyong Kyron. I am ashamed to say that I am one of the men who only know how to drive a car but knowing nothing else abt it. I mean, when I take my car for servicing, the mechanic says a lot of mumbo-jumbo and I nod my head knowingly while thinking what the hell is he saying.

My question is, is Kyron a good/satisfactory SUV to have? I have been reading conflicting reviews abt it from others and wonder if its a good car to have.

THanks

• I just bought a 2nd Ssangyoong Kyron 2006 and currently enjoy it every minutes…seems the engine perform better than my previous Nissan X-Trail 2.0L; however the suspension seems too soft and I feel that it floats on uneven road on high acceleration; it suppose to behave better if it is true that it was also designed for offroad..