Nissan GT-R Press Photos and Details Leaked!

Nissan GT-R

Shots of the Nissan GT-R are now being circulated around the net thanks to AutoWeek who decided to break the embargo following a previous leak of the production car’s exterior on Motortrend magazine’s December cover.

The Motortrend cover quotes some specs: 0 to 100km/h is achieved in 3.5 seconds, and a quarter mile drag in 11.7 seconds, with top speed maxing out at 310km/h. The car will cost under US$80,000. UPDATE: Edmunds Inside Line has more specs of the car – the twin turbocharged 3.8 litre V6 engine will be putting out 473 horsepower and 588Nm of torque, though there is no indication of what engine speeds these figures achieved. Still, looking at the tachometer you can tell this engine isn’t a screamer. This engine will be mated to a GR6 dual-clutch six-speed transmission with leather-wrapped aluminum paddle shifters – no manual is planned at the moment.

The interior kind of reminds me of an Audi but definitely looks the business, acres and acres of premium-looking black and aluminium trim. The bootspace looks rather decent and the gas shocks do not intrude into the space.

More shots after the jump.

Nissan GT-R to come with 3.8 litre turbo V6

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:46 pm

With that kind of specs, it’s gotta be a 3.8 litre turbocharged V6 as rumored earlier!!!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:57 pm

Looks like a mutated 350Z! Interior wise, Nissan never fails to create an old fashion design.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:11 pm

makes the Gallardo looks like Paris Hilton’s ride…

excuse me while i go jerk-off…

• F430CS (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:22 pm

GTR never let people down.

• ctawyong (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:24 pm

the car look great compare to the old design!!!the interior look a bit old fashion but with 400bhp who care!!! the ride will be superb!!

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:37 pm

The interior leaves alot to be desired. But ppl don’t drive this car for the comfort, i suppose….

• transformer (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:47 pm

sports car driver had to lookout at their rear view mirror when a GT-R nose appeared!!

GIVE WAY PLEASE! (in polite ways)

the old R34(modified) already can easily scare few Porcs and few Ferrari away… just couldn’t wait to see how this going to be….

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 6:05 pm

0 to 100 in 3.5s, phewww………….. great car meet it intended design performance!

• TheDuck (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 6:12 pm

wow. very pretty and i can only dream on owning one.

• arcana (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 6:20 pm

speed, acceleration and power is all u think when you have ur foot on the pedal……forget the rest……..
    oh yes….bragging rights of owning it…

• altimi (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 6:26 pm

NO more four door GTR though…..

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 6:58 pm

GT-R anyone? It’s the highly reputed killer. Japan’s highway patrol police possess several units of high grade GT-R in their fleet. At least to chase a criminal running in a Porsche or M5 is not a big trouble for them.

Apart of pricing factor which is apparently cheaper than its rival, this car offers more to those fast and furious…Like other great manufacturers, Nissan also owns its secret weapon and GT-R is the one.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 7:54 pm

wow.. this is so cool!

• szw (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:18 pm

the dash is messy n ugly .
    the engine bay is ugly too…
    can we have a bit of the luxury in here ?
    it starts to look plain and unattractive .

• ariff (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:23 pm

#
    szw said,

October 17, 2007 @ 8:18 pm

it starts to look plain and unattractive .

i think ur blind..or a lot of ‘rabun’..
    the engine looks perfect ler..
    look more muscular..rather than plain RB..
    a bit futuristic on dashboard..
    how can you say messy?..
    aisehh..

• w_lighter (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:29 pm

I rather hav a r34 gtr or gts

• ctawyong (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:45 pm

October 17, 2007 @ 8:18 pm

it starts to look plain and unattractive

luxury omg!! is GT-R mate, u expect comfort!!! all the nissan engine quite messy and u can see from all the nissan available car, but mate this engine show quite a solid and shining V6 and the big twin turbo:)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:51 pm

luxury is not just about the look, its the touch and feel of the materials.. just looking at some photos ain’t gonna tell you that. generally, ugliness aside, the R34 GTR was well known for a high-quality interior finish, and i’m sure this new model won’t be worse than it.

lotus tuned this GTR’s suspension and handling. would be interesting to see what the motoring press say about this car when its finally launched.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:55 pm

i tell ya, its a nice car.. :D

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 9:14 pm

http://www.carspyshots.net/zerothread?id=24372&page=1

for more pics ;)

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 9:30 pm

The engine has got the thumbs up for me, but the looks leave a lot to be desired.

With every reiteration of the Skyline series (cept the 33) the look of the cars got fiercer and sportier but also with every new GT-R it got progressively heavier.

The center console is a big no no, ergonomics and styling out the window. The shapes just clash completely. Circle, square, circle, square. Looks like a Playstation joypad.

As a GT-R worshipper, I can learn to forgive its shortcomings and focus on what matters to a worshipper the most, the performance.

Let it be known though that the future modding culture for this car may not be as lucrative as the inline 6 GT-Rs of old per say. Even the 350Z doesn’t have a rich modding culture like the older car generation.

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 10:40 pm

When it is only USD80,000, when this GTR come to malaysia, it probably become RM500,000…USD80k x 3.37 = RM269k. Thanks you for our NAP…

• mild7 (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 10:49 pm

SHOWTIME for GTR R35 now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 12:39 am

Wah nice! Got paddle shift some more… But really, why no 6-speed manual? I tot sport car must have manual version right?

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 12:43 am

Is there a manual version, I thought I saw AT in the pics

• iguanaa (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 1:41 am

definitely will have a manual version….and by the time this car goes through the tuners…it will have more than 400 horses….you can bet your last penny on it!

• chaku/maru (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 3:09 am

this car turns me down…looks hideous to my sense,both interior n exterior.
    prefer the previous GTR

• transformer (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:14 am

WoW! Can be classified as supercar!

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:26 am

its outstanding… especially from the rear perspective view, it has tat futuristic lines and concept looking shape… would be my perfect dream machine to own this, look at the speedo, would love to see the jarum goes 300km/h…

• aaron_38my (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:05 am

At last! Twin turbo Skyline is back! Impressive specs but i don’t know about you guys, as much as i love the GTR’s, I still prefer the R34. When i first learnt and saw the proto of this GTR, it doesn’t seem to grab my attention as much when the R34 was releasing. Like the new EVO X, when i see the pics, i fail to see it as being a sports car. Again, this is Nissan, you’ll never really know the potential of it until someone breaks the ice and live to tell it. A monster you can be sure of.

In short, I agree with one of you here who mentioned that this is a mutated 350Z. If it wasn’t for the signature 4 rounded rear lamps, I wouldn’t know it is a Skyline descendent.

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:07 am

OK, so I said the cabin interior is bland, but at least what’s inside the hood is interesting.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:24 am

http://www.thetorquereport.com/2007/10/more_photos_of_the_2008_nissan.html

Updated info:
    According to Edmunds the new GT-R features a twin-turbo V6 engine with 473hp and 434 lb-ft of torque. All that power is put to the ground through a six-speed dual-clutch gearbox dubbed the GR6 that sends power to all four wheels. A centrally mounted shifter or Infiniti-like paddle shifters can be used to shift the transmission.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:06 am

no doubt, the interior is a bit outdated, but the lancer evo also same lah, with a powerful engine and those racing specs, who cares if the dash looks simple?

overall this is a nice car…..(even though i prefer 350Z)

• Carfan (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:44 am

Who cares about look! This is the ultimate Japanese tyre burning car. Watch out Italians and Germans. This car will smoke you out. With 473 bhp, not to mention those Japs mods out there, the car will smoke them harder. Can’t wait to test drive one in PS3.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:52 am

Love the overall design of the car… The dash needs some getting used to, but it does remind me a little of my Nissan Pulsar VZ-R dashboard…

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:48 pm

Wish they didnt cut the skyline name out though… the car cud hav looked sweeter, esp when the latest skylines look so sleek… dun get me wrong, it’s still nice, but the nose shud hav been more garang n less fussy (just my 2 sen)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:34 pm

nice…nice…nice…but i still prefer Z in term of look…473bhp and 3.5sec…easily smoke d 911…hahaha…congratz to nissan…plz…kick out d 911…i hate dat frog…

• geejun2 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 1:02 am

wah lao.. this monster not furious as it used to be ler… sian de….

• arcana (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 3:49 pm

i wonder would they make manual versions since nowadays most supercars tend to use paddle shifting and dual clutch. not to mention that manual version might not provide a 3.5sec sprint figure.

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 5:17 pm

i wonder how will SUPER GT tune this car with crazy huge bodykits and side exhausts… cant wait to see it!

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 1:46 am

while this car is impressive performance wise. it is also dissapointing at the same time…let down by its design. should have ditched the saloon look. make it more audi r8 or gallardo like looking. especially this being japan’s only chance at touching the top european sportscars for sometime. major letdown for me. Could have been great. the v10 lexus would be the next shot but that would be priced quite alot higher.

at least it shows alot of promise performance wise which is most important. i predict it will be slightly slower than the 911 turbo (except for the evo tune of course) Curse the u.s magazines for the leaks.

911 turbo and F430 will still be kings.

• king (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 4:12 am

i still doubt this car can do the century sprint in 3.5 secs…..that is ferrari enzo territory ( 660 hp / 650Nm). manufacturers sometimes tend to over claim stats.

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 11:59 am

with such powerful horse power & torque, who needs a manual gear? no wonder Nissan has no plans for a manual. Just too bad for drifters…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:14 pm

sprinting to 100km/h isn’t all about power.

a clever traction control system, 4wd helps a lot, gearing, maybe some type of launch control..

4WD WRC rally cars can sprint to 100km/h in 2.5 secs on dry tarmac, and they make “only 300hp”.