Satria Replacement Model Road Tests

Here are some more spyshots of the Proton Satria Replacement Model. It’s currently undergoing road tests in Malaysia. Has anyone actually spotted it on the roads yet? The background in this photos indicate that the car is being tested in somewhat remote areas where it’s less likely for anyone to realize what it is.

A more “muscular” Proton Satria than the current M24 Satria.

The roofline indicates that rear headroom won’t be as bad as the Proton Gen2. Anyone think otherwise? It’s 2.43AM now, my brain might not be working that well :P

I keep seeing those rims on the Proton Satria Replacement Model spyshots. I honestly hope they won’t use this design in the final product because it looks a bit too “bling-bling” for the general public’s tastes… or my taste.

A look at the wheel arches show that the car is already pretty low in stock form.

I like what I see… but I wonder if they’ve sorted out the cylinder head shortage problem yet. The Campro has some production problems currently because suppliers in Australia can’t churn out heads fast enough.

Thanks to the reader who mailed me these photos.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• napps on Jul 11, 2005 at 4:08 pm

hi paul, nice new layout for ur website u g've got 'ere, just luv it! anyways, heard from proton management that the cylinder head problems been sorted out by sourcing 'em from s. korea and perodua (of all ppl!), so the waiting list's been cut for the gen.2 and exports are growing….new satria launch been pushed to late this yr, to capitalise on CNY sales

• napps on Jul 11, 2005 at 4:08 pm

agree with u those rims look horrid!

• borgning on Jul 11, 2005 at 5:12 pm

Spotted them test driving on Sprint Highway some late weeknights ago, and had a very CLOSE look at the car. Very good looking and the handling seems to be very good. But unfortunately was eventually cut off by the WAJA which is 'protecting' the SRM and they sped away.

• Mango on Jul 11, 2005 at 5:34 pm

I spot it at Kelana Jaya – PJ area last month. The body is slidely wider than current Satria GTi. I compare with GTi coz the day i saw it just infront of it.

• ShaolinTiger on Jul 11, 2005 at 6:56 pm

Looks pretty smart, agree with you the wheels though a bit dodgy.

Nice layout is much better, well done.

You might wanna change the green ^^ to red or something tho to make it match better.

• ST: Thanks. Yeah, the template was originally green. I'm still tweaking the CSS to red-ify it.

• i actually spotted it for 4 times in the past 2 weeks. 3 times when i was at the north south highyway near tangjung malim and the last time i got the clereast glance of it was at genting highland's esso station. it was goin uphill and in a second, GONE. this is the same to the last 3 times i saw. it was driving quite fast.

• sin"X on Jul 11, 2005 at 10:31 pm

Fortunately I've spotted 2 SRMs running on the North-South Highgway when i was heading to Malacca. That's a nice Saturday morning… both 'black' cars running in safety speed… a lot of cars kept chasing and surrounding them… look like many people interested in

• woshye on Jul 12, 2005 at 1:01 am

I wish that they made 5 doors version. But since it is a 3 doors, in theory it should have stronger body frame than Gen.2

• spotted two of them near the glenmarie area…. can't really see the real shape of the car since the black tape covering the whole body. It should be nicer than the current Satria. wish the interior not as ugly as Gen2 :)

• Leong on Jul 12, 2005 at 1:37 am

Why the side there like being in a accident ah?

• mikegas on Jul 12, 2005 at 2:05 am

I did saw it.. the 3rd pic (side view) was taken by me …with camera phone. I didnt know wat it is until i tried to overtake it … then brake to take photo.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 12, 2005 at 2:14 am

middle exzaust? i like it.. :D

wish i have enough money to book while launch.. ;)

• mikegas: cool. do you have any more photos?

• mikegas on Jul 12, 2005 at 2:23 am

Oh ya .. notice the middle ekzos and the middle bumper third brake light … hehehe what a design these ppl come out with..

• eh? what middle bumper third brake light? are you sure it isn't just a reflector or just a piece of the red tape they're putting around the car?

• mikegas on Jul 12, 2005 at 2:25 am

No more photos… didnt bother to take much … i sped off after taking photos :)

• mikegas on Jul 12, 2005 at 2:27 am

Not sure if is it a reflector or brake light… didnt actually see it brake .. either one.. it still is a joke being in the middle of the bumper

• I think it's part of the red tape, because the previous spyshots in the snowy area did not feature any red coloured thing at the bumper.

• auyongtc on Jul 12, 2005 at 3:05 am

wah paul got his own little birds liao XD

• Mellissa on Jul 12, 2005 at 5:30 am

these poor SRMs can't get a decent nice long run without people trying to overtake them and take photos, poor babies *pats them*

don't mind me, i'm not feeling like myself tonight >:)

• do u think this 2 door SAtria is a sport car o for lady like?.

• sekot on Jul 12, 2005 at 6:56 am

Paul, no other "go faster" car punya thread ka?

• hey paul. nice blog here!

i know this may be out of context (it is, it really is…) but i just wanted to get your opinion on something. See, i'm getting a new Kelisa in about a week's time. Any suggestions as to how i may up the performance of my "humble" car to-be?

thanks. mail me if you will.

• lets hope more that the interior will not turn out like sawi, it will be terrible. i think the red lamp on top of the exhaust is actually a deflector lamp. it looks similiar to the design by peugeot 206. these type of lamps are normally fitted on european cars and it's being use when heavy rains or when visibility is poor. i had one set on my iswara as well. works well.

• hmm all & all look nice, just hoping the quality is geting beter & beter..

• cbljkkj on Jul 15, 2005 at 1:18 am

I've seen my fair share of SRMs on the highway..it looks really fat IMHO.One more thing, do you think that the central exhaust exits on the SRM and the recently launched Savvy a way to keep people from using sports mufflers as there is no space to accomodate it?? probably a quiet ploy to stop people from modifying the car??

• pambe jack on Jul 26, 2005 at 4:00 am

hey paul..nice pics of the SRM…however how reliable will the campro engine be? and an estimation of a GTi model being produced and when pls? btw.. would it be possible to opt for a higher output engine when the new line arrives?

just curious…

P:S: Hidup makkal osai

• faizal on Jul 30, 2005 at 7:53 pm

typical malaysians

when proton makes the car 80% local say its cheep la lousy la etc

Local is lousy.. mentality which is pretty much dissing your selfs right? damn half of your eletronics in your current computer is made in malaysia …

if proton go for imported parts so expensive la going to die la etc

when proton gets TUV approve …. waste of time la whats the point la

if proton makes the car quality cars at the cost of higher price – whats the point might as well buy japanese car la.. etc…

its like the freaking tol nak cepat nak no jam but when time to pay I AM GOING TO DIE… HOW do i help my family ….. and best part what car u drive now?… if its so damn crap why do you own one still? dont drive la free country take a bike or a produa then.

• n-h-s on Aug 04, 2005 at 8:06 pm

Damn..those rims looks horrible..they should use advanti wheels..I agree with u paul..been waiting for this car for such a long time but there's alwez mistake done by PROTON..

• ok what!those rims!…why?..not nice meh?…

• navin on Aug 24, 2005 at 5:18 am

Any chance of knowing when it's gonna be launched? Thankx.

• Nice sporty car.

• vernox on Oct 02, 2005 at 8:09 pm

agree with Faizal

• PabloPabla on Oct 12, 2005 at 12:24 am

I saw the SRM travelling along the North-South Highway on Sunday (09.10.2005) towards the direction of Ipoh at about 10.30am. A Waja was tailing behind it.

Unfortunately or fortunately, both cars were stopped at a road block for speeding!

• ebfjfljflawf satria is a nice car!!!!!!

• satria srm is agood car what.why should we malaysians condems proton!!!! all people said,proton savvy are "sawi".just take protons as a good national cars.is that so hard to say!!!!!!

• is this car can be buy now??

i wanna have a car test

• SliCKLips on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:08 pm

those rims are going to go into their production… a bit bling2 but also sporty they say… the rims are 16 inches…. semi wide body and lowered …. but use campro… thats gonna be a bad thing for the performance… if wanna buy car with campro….

• sadam on Dec 19, 2005 at 8:23 am

Proton means Perusahan Otomobil Nasional. To all Malaysian do really need a National Car or International Cars..? The choice is yours. To me all cars are the same. The objective is to move you around thats all. Car makers produce the best models for the people to choose. The problem is you guys…knows nothing about cars ..baru ada kereta(….. ) suka komen kereta Nasional tak best la. Beli kereta hutang …sport rims pon hutang. Be objective sikit laa .. don't just condemn . Please support our National Car Project . The British, Germans, Italian, French, Americans , the Japs and the Koreans started ages. Not all of them are successful. Daewoo mampus … GM give them a new life. Nissan mampus .. Renault tolong. Lotus nak mampus, Proton beli. If PROTON dies can you give them a new life…? Please comment.

• Tuning_Professional on Dec 19, 2005 at 8:37 am

What sadam said was correct. I was standing right behind him watching the comment he gave just now.

About those pictures, the sport rims, like what Paul Tan Said (too bling-bling), I can say that it looked like a spiralling hurricane cloud. Don't know whether good or not.

Additional info (sorry if this is out of the topic): Paul Tan, if you're watching this, don't turn away from your PC monitor. The quarrel that happened inside the 'Proton to re-visit Mitsubishi Partnership' site was actually done by one EVIL guy who stole both sadam and my name and e-mail address. He used my name and sadam's name so that he could make other people suspicious about me and sadam. So sorry if there's anything wrong in this.

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:26 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.