Klang Valley State of Emergency

The government has declared a state of emergency for the entire Klang Valley area. What does it mean? I’m still in the office working.

So what does it really mean?

• National Security Council takes over all decisions and responsibility to counter the haze.
  • Closure of schools and possible shorter working hours for people in affected areas.
  • People to stay indoors and wear masks outside.
  • Cloud-seeding efforts.

Update: Announcement from the Prime Minister’s Office

Memandangkan keadaan jerebu di kawasan Kuala Selangor dan Pelabuhan Klang pasa masa ini telah mencapai tahap Indeks Pencemar Udara (IPU) 500 ke atas, maka dengan ini, saya mengisytiharkan keadaan Darurat Jerebu bagi seluruh kawasan Kuala Selangor dan Pelabuhan Klang mulai dari sekarang hingga ke suatu masa pengisytiharan ini ditarik balik.

2. Adalah dijelaskan bahawa pengisytiharan Darurat Jerebu ini tidak melibatkan penguatkuasaan perintah berkurung dan juga tidak ada perubahan dalam corak dan sistem pemerintahan Kerajaan Selangor sekarang ini. Walau bagaimanapun, Polis DiRaja Malaysia dan Angkatan Tentera Malaysia hendaklah mengatur dan mengambil langkah-langkah yang perlu bagi menjamin keberterusan keamanan dan keselamatan.

3. Satu Garis Panduan mengenai tindakan untuk menghadapi Darurat Jerebu ini disediakan seperti di Lampiran A. Semua pihak hendaklah melaksanakan tugas dan tanggungjawab masing-masing dengan berpandukan Garis Panduan tersebut.

Talk talk talk. I’m looking outside the window here at Mid Valley Boulevard Offices and I only see greyness.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• harun on Aug 11, 2005 at 11:14 pm

ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FUCKING INDON!!!!!!!!!!!!! THEY POLLUTE MY SKY AND WE DO NOTHING AGAINST THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!! WARRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!

• Inigo Mantoya on Aug 11, 2005 at 11:39 pm

If government act earlier, the situation can be batter. Should do rain seeding earlier. Now dah lambat la.

The Air is shit la. I'd plan go south this weekend. Need to refresh.

• Read wat star wrote:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/8…

Air quality in Kuala Selangor and Port Klang "very unhealthy"

WTF is that????? oreadi 521 still "very unhealthy" only??? oreadi state of emergency liao larrrrr…wtf larrrr

• Francis Ng on Aug 12, 2005 at 1:01 am

State of emergency should mean the government starts distributing quality face masks for free to all affected areas. If not, then all talk only, no action.

• Francis Ng on Aug 12, 2005 at 1:02 am

Btw, I don't work for manufacturer of face masks.

• rayhana on Aug 12, 2005 at 1:08 am

hmm.. it seems certain foreign media jumped the gun.

state of emergency only in port klang and kuala selangor.

(from Star Alerts)

11/8 Govt depts, offices, factories, farms etc2 in P. Klang and K. Selangor to be closed, clinics and outlets selling food and basic items to remain open

11/8 Emergency declaration in Kuala S'gor and P. Klang does not involve imposition of curfew, nor any change in govt administration, says PM's dept

"Selangor has declared the haze as a state-wide disaster and activated its machinery to deal with health risks and ailments faced by the people."

aiyah. talk about false alarm…

• JoshuaLee on Aug 12, 2005 at 1:28 am

i see the papers say the the haze might fade away around october … thats gonna be crazy ….

• Read this:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/8…

The Selangor State Disaster Committee will be activated Thursday to discuss ways to tackle the worsening haze problem in Selangor.

—-> Another good example of "Tak Ape Lah" attitude….it was already foreseen in last few days things will be getting worst when the weather forecasted to be dry these few days. Yet this wtf so called "The Selangor State Disaster Committee" only activated today…wtf is that?? just have to wait till casualty kicks in only counted as "disaster" ? Do this ppl have brain? Why set up the tsunami alarm after it happened? Why needa do precautions? Why that side did and this not? Its just too many standards in different areas….thats why problem never been solved.

"When u got headache, go take penadol…when you got leg pain, use yoko yoko…do not bother to find out the root cause and ratify it!" Thats our BOLEH!!!!!

• JoshuaLee on Aug 12, 2005 at 1:29 am

the indons did not do it on purpose la. i think as a neighbouring country, our government should help them carry out some prevention measure earlier. since we already kena a few times.

• Michly on Aug 12, 2005 at 2:34 am

talk only pandai lah they all…………. kena few times already .. . KL.. stupid city… never BOLEH.. talk but dont act. got money to build all those Banglos for staff but no money to give free masks.. can you believe that??????????????? my tax… noooooooooooooo

• holycow on Aug 12, 2005 at 2:44 am

Inigo Mantoya, your plan to head south for the weekend might not be advisable because, having just returned from there I can vouch for the fact that the haze has hit JB too. It's even noticeable in Singapore, although both places don't have it nearly as bad as the Klang Valley. Something tells me it's going to get worse, though.

abu, while you have a point about the slipshod way in which the haze issue has been handled (after all, this happened before, so why aren't we better prepared for it this time?), I have to disagree with you in regards to the tsunami. Tsunamis have been an exceedingly rare occurence in our part of SE Asia and so we never needed to spend money on an early warning system before. Remember, all these things cost money and if we were willing to spend enough we could have early warning systems for every possible disaster, from earthquakes to tornados, even if they don't usually happen here.

• a guy from your frie on Aug 12, 2005 at 3:08 am

lan sut! you see what the hell was the parliment doing for the pass few days! these "s*i*e" are all "ngok ngok" sleeping in their daily routine of "sleeping". the situation is very obvious a few days ago, its very "predictable" that the haze is gonna get worsen in these coming few days, and till now they "balu" declare "darurat jerebu". darurat my ass. all your "abang-adik"s are gonna forking die suffocating if the "voted" goverment is only gonna say:

"yuuhuu guys, the weather is getting bad lately, so u guys "ji gei chap sam", tat's

all, ok… emergency, gotta go now, bye bye!"

looks like i've gonna wear my black swat mask that i bought the last time when there's a haze. haha~ i'm gonna wear that cool mask and take Gordon Freeman's hook and slash ya all!

can't the stupid people at the top do anything? i mean, they are taking the phase wrong! its "prevention is better than curing", but instead of prevention, they're like "just a small sickness, biasalah, sooner or later it'll be ok, so relax", relax my ass! for so many years and we got so much advanced tech at here, can't we do anything about it? i'm sure an "artificial rain" would help alot in curing this scenario if they did it a few days earlier. now, darurat, rakyat can't come out, business suspended, economy not runnin fluently, wad ya gonna do bro??? we pay bloody lots of taxes and yet u guys do nth besides announcements, i want my money back!

and this forkin indon, kena "big wave" still wanna make other ppl's life hard. we are living in a cyber era, there's so many sollutions instead of "burning", ya dumb or wad??? its been so many yrs, and still nth was done. what's the indon's govn doing? staring at teh monitor wondering when the next tsunami is gonna come???

p/s: to all those civilians in the "danger zones", take care, health is very important, we must survive this strike and "sut" them back when the situation has healed. mayb we should wear bunny suits like mine in my r&d office area, and wear black mask and live in a "resident evil" world. peace! we BOLEH SURVIVE!~ I WILL SURVIVE! WE WILL SURVIVE!~

• our government is like kind of same blood type of people like indon, that why there cant do more courses that there brother n part of there family so if there die so together will die. is like JIHAT la, that why there not really take a strict action again them. like international standard used to enforce !!.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Aug 12, 2005 at 3:41 am

dont be racist..

it's the PEOPLE.. not the race!

u think malaysia is soooooooo forki*g strong ke hah?

• a guy from your frie on Aug 12, 2005 at 4:36 am

survival of the fittest! eventhough we're not strong, but if we do not take any action, this will be a continuous scenario and our next generation will see suffer more. i'm not being racist, but at least "do sth about it", not only declaring it!

at least the goverments of both side should take some time to sit down and discuss this issue and the ares that can be tackle to decrease the situation.

if your neighbour is burning sth and all the smoke is coming into your house, don tell me you're just gonna sit on your chair and watch your tv yet not confronting them a single bit. that's such a lie, faggot! i would at least urge them, though they may not be doing it intentionally and it might be the wind, but at least i'll talk to them and see what we can do about it, i'm not gonna dump my ass in my chair and do NTH! and imagine this, the haze is around during this time for so many yrs, don't you fink anythin should be done???

everyday AP AP, this is concerning about our health, there's kids and old folks besides other sick people, their life MIGHT be in danger if this is gonna resume for the rest of the yrs coming! and now you're saying "yo, malaysia is weak lar, so mayb we should just forget about it, go back to our home guai guai and wait till the haze leave." memang malaysia boleh, indonesia nak bakar hutan dan memang tau asap memang akan dibawa ke malaysia, lu orang pun kata BOLEH BOLEH, no problem, bakar je, no problem, haze, we not worried, no problem, bakar je…

u must be joking!!! look outside and see what u see!!!

• to :a guy from your friendly neighbourhood said

yeah, u r rite,perfectly rite, i totally agree with u, our gov just like N.A.T.O (No Action Talk Only), everyday AP, AP and AP, and those MCA ppl always talk about voting, voting, and voting, O** K** T***, A*d*l*lah B*d*w*, and the fat sow (raf*d*h az**), wat u all doing recently, f**K u!

• je77y on Aug 12, 2005 at 6:24 am

wtf

stupit government

Cloud seedingla!

• dando on Aug 12, 2005 at 6:39 am

hey… i think this blog is fast becoming a current news/political/gov bashing blogs like jeffooi.com, aisehman.org …etc.etc… i tot supposed to be raves n rants on the automobile industry,,,

• hokkien lang. on Aug 12, 2005 at 7:28 am

like my last comment …..

the TAK APA LAH issue……

wait somebody or some 1 die… then tey take action on-the-spot…

• EngLee on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:09 am

hokkien.lang, I agree with you!

• anTI-anTI Government on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:12 am

I think all of you guys who don't respect the Malaysian government should leave the country and stay somewhere else. You live here you obey the law and try to respect the goverment. Don't just "pandai" make comments which you're not sure of.

• MutantTomato on Aug 12, 2005 at 10:36 am

anti-anti government: Bro, I think what the others are so pissed off about is the very apparent lack of action by our elected officials. This is not the first time the haze has hit us. Why hasn't something been done after all these years? In a rough scenario, think of me as your neighbour. I like blasting death metal and screaming metal and other similar types of rubbish music loudly and late into the night. You have sick elderly parents. Would you:

1. do something, i.e. call the cops, try talking to me, speak to the residents

association, etc?

2. Just keep quiet and say, "tak ape lah. Itu hak dia."

the forest is burned to make way for plantations. Its not just a weather pehnomenon. It is much easier and cheaper to just set 1000 hectares of forest on fire, let it burn away and then plant crops, than to chop down everything, transport it in lorries and then plant.

Of course, being the bastards that them FUCKING INDONS are, they don't take into account the smoke and haze bothering and harming their neighbours. I hope another giant wave hits them. This time, instead of just laughing my ass off thinking about dead Indons, I might just buy a round of drinks for my mates.

• to MutantTomato said,:

yups, man u r rite, i support u, and hock kien lang as well….

to anTI-anTI Government said:

hey come on lah bro, be a sharp thinker, dun just be a blind follower, we all have brain, every gov policy not necessary we need to follow, infact, every policy cum out by gov need malaysia ppl from various level to comment, voice out opinion, and gov should respect us, coz all of us r the one who elect the gov, so, this is wat we call "DEMOCRACY", stupid forking idiot!! we r not communist country!understand!!! unless u r pak indon, or else this kind of words shouldn't cum out from a malaysia citizen, coz this haze issue already not only an environmental issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!understand!!!!!!!

• AlexC on Aug 12, 2005 at 4:02 pm

Why the fark these things always hit us and again and again??? our beloved elected arsholes just sit there, say 'darurat, careful yeah…' wtf… if any time they ever sit down and talk about this, it'll be more like 'hey, next time careful abit ok'… no stern action on future prevention… see how we stand off against singapore… they're chinese ma… kanineh… and our newspapers are all filtered… when things come to the extreme till some 22 people faint in class call 'very unhealthy' only??? fork, its murderous…

and hey anti anti government: good thing we have patriotic people like you, but dont be such a yes dog ok… we are law abiding citizens and everyone's born here and have the right to freedom of speech, as STATED in the CONSTITUTION… no such sentiments when the government knows how to rule, uncorrupted and unbiased… too bad when someone gets too vocal, off you go with ISA…

• a guy from your frie on Aug 12, 2005 at 4:32 pm

hey anti-anti-Goverment,

i've been travellin "almost" around the world for my corporate, its my job, and there's one yr when i "almost" don't have a chance to come back to Malaysia. imagine i have to be at Jp for 2 days, and then straight head for NZ for few weeks, and then back again to Jp and other place. to so many place, the best country is still malaysia, and u can't even urge me getting out of malaysia with a gun pointing in my head, i love malaysia, and i'd rather die here then other place.

but what i have in my previous comments are my "two cents", ok? and i'm still straight ahead for it. last nite i was in my office still doing my job ot as usual, and this morning, things "seemed" much better, hopefully it'll recover before the National Day. but what i "was" tryin to stress is that this "haze" stuff is been around for so many yrs, can't the goverment do anything? a country's r&r, laws, and policy does not concern of what is now. i'm tryin to show you that the gov should take at least ONE action to improve the situation, does THAT got to do with GOV POLICY??? wake up!!! i was in sarawak when the haze hit sarawak, my home town, and its really terrible, the goverment should have taken some action, but instead, they waited till when the situation was chaotic, thn they seed artificial rain. i though that mayb the gov aren't concern of sarawak, who cares of sarawak, so they didn take any immediate action, but now even in klang things is so terrible, klang & kl is "commonly" already full of smoke, but now with the haze, its even worse. sth must be done!

anyway, mayb its a good idea to go to the north side (*yi lu xiang bei) like others said, or even better, go to sabah's island and relax, haha~ hopefully there's no terrorists. heard there's quite a number of children entering the hospital bcoz of the haze, not to mention old folks and the "already unhealthy" citizens. may god help us.

• anTI-anTI Government said,

August 12, 2005 @ 1:12 am

I think all of you guys who don’t respect the Malaysian government should leave the country and stay somewhere else. You live here you obey the law and try to respect the goverment. Don’t just “pandai” make comments which you’re not sure of.

—> Well we do obey the law. But there is no law saying we can't comment about government failure, there is no law that can make us sue the stupid indon for compensation, there is no law that someone will get jailed if they dont respect so and so. Respect is earned and not demanded ok???

Those ppl who "pandai" make comment are people who are sensitive of the issue and displayed their wisdom in judging things which are not right. As far as your words there "comment"…its mainly personal, and this is common in a democratic country.

Not sure the haze has killed most of your braincell…or you are live by the jungle rules…or the "government" you mentioned is referring to indon gov??? too many to think abt your "*3S" post…

*p.s. 3S not Short, Sweet and Simple…its rather Stupid, Silly and Senseless.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 12, 2005 at 5:25 pm

My suggestion to you all, must buy oxygen to clean your lung. Go to hospital to search for it!!!

After we can survive then go to F***k these F***king Indo.

• don^don on Aug 12, 2005 at 5:33 pm

do you know that in Jp, there's REALLY places where people insert coins into the vending machine just to buy pure oxygen? and its really really expensive.

wow~ that's so rough lar, f**king indon, i don wanna be seen "doing" with one, yucks!~ mayb i'll just use the flame-thrower to burn them down instead of the forest. haha~

there's filter mask, which looked like swat mask, my fren bought one for me, there's like two pods at the side, round and yellow in color, and they really filter the air. wonder if its that efficient. and guess wad, the pod each costs Rm50! lolz… hope it really IS working! if not, then i'll havta buy oxygen tank and walk in the streets looking like a penguin with an air-tank at my back. :)

• dando on Aug 12, 2005 at 5:46 pm

aiyoo, why want to sue them (indon)?? wat if they dun wan to pay..?? what if they resort to violence?? they hav millions of indons in malaysia getting ready to fight us… summore we r just small country compared to them,…. do u know that indonesian commandos r one of the best in the world?? waaaayy better than malaysia's red beret….. i'm sure our leaders r trying their best to overcome this problem diplomaticaly…. hope they will settle this issue with indons peacefully….. till then… let's continue the articles about car… if want to talk politics/bash gov….go release urself to other blogs… thank you…

• Apai_Mau on Aug 12, 2005 at 6:27 pm

Got some info just for sharing here.

This is what happened in northern S'wak. Land developers are burning down forests to make way for new roads n buildings in Miri. The irony: open burning is outlawed, yet this big companies (mainly Naim Cendera, Shin Yang etc.) have the permit to do so from the Miri City Council. Even now I have to close the windows of my house just to keep the smoke & ash away.

Complaints have been made but no action taken by the authorities. Lots of money politics & corruption involved here. The big taikos even employ thugs to keep away those curious local journalists & photographers. That's the reason why this issue is not in the news.

Btw, I feel sorry for you guys in badly hit Klang Valley. Take care. Cheers.

• mitsu_galant_2000 said,

August 11, 2005 @ 7:41 pm

u think malaysia is soooooooo forki*g strong ke hah?

—> GOOD 1!! if they are that fuc***g strong…we are enjoying some clean air now…and perhaps economy of scale oso

• dando said,

August 12, 2005 @ 9:46 am

let’s continue the articles about car… if want to talk politics/bash gov….go release urself to other blogs… thank you…

—-> Dontla bro…anything can be discussed la…not necessary car or women…can't you see we have even discussed on JJ skin as well??? be opened kekekekekeke

• aunty government on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:28 pm

haiya… my @ss la im still at work… u tink private institution taking heed?

kau tanya boss… boss kata kalau u ambik m.c. i potong gaji… ka ka ka…

sniff. how to pay car loan like dat?

i sold my soul to the company store…

• dear all:

since we have a lot of comments about this topic here, paul, why dun u summarize it up and make a simple statistic, and if possible, may be with the strength of all of us, and may be joint with other blogs, may be we can raise up a petition on this issue (since every one of us so concern) and post it out in the internet…this is just my suggestion, workable or not i dun know, need u guys to comment, but at least as a malaysian, i try to think whether there is any suggestion where can contribute (a bit lah) on voice out malaysian citizen will to our gov…..

• Michael Lee on Aug 12, 2005 at 10:48 pm

What about Ali's suggestion Paul ? According to comments elsewhere, we would be very surprised if the names of the owners of these Malaysian plantations were revealed. Looks like people are slowly getting closer to the truth why this keeps on happening year after year. Will be second one ( after Ali ) to support you on this. Sorry dando – promise to go back to cars – but this morning, I couldn't even see mine outside lah !

• i think all who dont like our comment is my b part thinking like indon, o my b orang indon who stay here in Malaysia. if u like it, stay out side hole day see can u die o not then tell other to late us know in case u not able k if that is your challenge.
    n who so super brilliant to burn it mostly every year the same. my b u decide it?.
    by this haze our Malaysian tourism industry will b lose in any kind of way if u not understand on it. my b u need a Dayle pay then u understand. no-wonder still malay sial people r cleaver.

• aunty you owning a plotong ar? no pay never mind la…they dun come tarik 1 coz hard to lelong off :p…well thats abt car ler gua

• I agreed with the suggestion of posting it out to internet…but I oso have a simplest concern…we obviously do not wanna see paul's handsome face being posted on big paper like star and bh for spreading of 'untrue news' and 'rumour' and subsequently send to lockup under ISA rulezz….well this is wat the goven 'boleh' ok?? think of it!

• AlexC on Aug 13, 2005 at 1:59 am

Fucking haze finally hit Penang!!! God Damn Indonesians!!! Now i finally felt all the fork in KL, albeit not as bad yet…

• anTI-anTI Government said,

August 12, 2005 @ 1:12 am

I think all of you guys who don’t respect the Malaysian government should leave the country and stay somewhere else. You live here you obey the law and try to respect the goverment. Don’t just “pandai” make comments which you’re not sure of.

—————————————————————-

— @ anti-anti goverment.

so do government respect n do some thing to our Malaysians!.

this thing not new is always every year happening.

i think if u our prime minister sure Malaysia will malayindon will turn on.

this will b proper name for your new country by your own self.

if u think u to respect our government u r wrong u sud stay in Indonesia ,that is a proper stay for people like u, courts your mind r the same type of that kind of people when people say there r stupid there dont like but there like to do a stupid thing!. i think not much people like u!. that way like u!, so u the 1 sud move to indon ,that the place for u to stay on not Malaysia course we not indon that not really know how to think batter!

dont say like u owned Malaysia's, Malaysia is for all Malaysia's.

Malaysia not just Malaysian, u have to know how the history come from n where the resources come from the most to bring up Malaysian till now. that why our government try to balance the business o what ever there can to help the native to do something, like AP issue . is a spoon feeding business n all the INCOME TEX from were the most there really come from the most in history!

. is like bangau u feeding in the cage but still in the cage, not like human can grow n do much more.

AP concept is like prompak system to used only benefit to abnormal people to depending on.

i dont think u r perompak kind of it.

• Please do not include discussions about APs and anything racist in this discussion. I do not see what APs have to do with the haze, unless you need APs to import haze into the country.

• -APs to import haze into the country.

paul. this permit were to apply? ,from indon o from anTI-anTI Government said. my b there have it .

• crashdepth on Aug 13, 2005 at 6:12 am

please be adviseable that all these haze are a challenge to us to overcome it with our help.in the first place,its not either the indon or us decide to burnt the forest?be wise?shut the fork up .keep bising about whos not doing their job,kalau pandai sangat buat la sendiri.sabar la skit.cakap paandai.its like u are super brilliant sangat.bodoh…..

• hokkien lang. on Aug 13, 2005 at 9:52 am

to anTI-anTI Government or who you are change the user name to hide your real user name:

we are not anti to government we are just wirte what we disappointment what we live thru a year no matter malay, chinese, indian and native all disappointment….. i even hate to watch our news time…all fake man…

what's the news all about?.. i tell you all about bee-end….bee-end no news about "rocket" discovery, about a kampung bridge damage,ask for help for 3x election … cannot dapat.. then some 1 die within 12hr dapat.. the help…

i olny watch ntv news and mysiasat… that at least true….

and i love that mysiasat ….

• wirawan on Aug 15, 2005 at 8:03 am

Great the haze is gone for the moment. Are we too fast to blame the Indonesia for the haze. The KL haze was cleared in a very, very short time. I believe the source of the haze is our open burning. Don't just complain, do something that could help lessen the haze like planting more trees. Don't always believe what you read in the newspaper.