Proton Savvy Accident

I’m not sure how this happened or what it hit… whether it was a real accident or some crash test. Looks really bad. Like something hit it really bad on the right side of the car. Maybe some tall SUV or lorry hit it on the right and the Savvy went underneath it.

Update: Wingz says maybe nothing hit him and the driver just lost control of the car… flipped over like a turtle and finally the car stopped when it hit something.

Thanks to Vincent for the photos.

You can click for a larger view.

If you look properly, the passanger cabin is not really twisted by that much. So if you are in a Savvy and you get into this kind of terrible accident you would probably still be able to walk out safely.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jason9882 on Aug 12, 2005 at 10:34 pm

the guys that design Savvy really deserve some credit if it was hit by a car or a vehicle bigger than that. if it is a Kancil, the driver would have been dead bt now. My sister-in-law had a Kancil, driven by my father-in-law and it was hit by a “HONDA CUB”. The motorcycle hit the Kancil on the front and driver side. You know what, my father-inlaw landed in hospital for three days with head injuries and right hand bleeding profusely. I think car design has come along way.

• dark side on Aug 12, 2005 at 10:55 pm

i belive in proton savvy now…myvi blei jln la..pasni we wait for myvi crash wit lorry…wat will happen…jeng2

• gegaoff on Aug 12, 2005 at 11:53 pm

any others than the comments…
    i just hope all of us will know hit for any accident…

as a joke: what happens this savvy hit to a small car and become this??

as a fact: what ever it hit, look safe to front sitter, like the driver… but very unlucky to whom sit at behind…

as another fact in general: yes it may be true that this car is really provide certain safety level, but other than this?

• terion on Aug 13, 2005 at 1:44 am

So much for showing how strong the savvy is…

• Mikael_Bonaparte on Aug 13, 2005 at 1:44 am

Looks strong the body

• JxT2J on Aug 13, 2005 at 1:44 am

LOL! Wat a load of (s)crap!

The Savvy hit a Pajero. The last picture tells it all. They hit so hard the words Pajero is stuck on the windscreen.

Just kidding.

• AlexC on Aug 13, 2005 at 2:03 am

There goes the evidence for the godzilla advertisement… must have been something bigger and stronger than the fat godzilla then… ultraman maybe??? but what the heck, still milo tin after all those shit adverts…considering the low roof, if there's any back passenger they would have broken neck by now, if not dead…

• this is taken at a salvage junk yard…….maybe the savvy just knock a chicken…hehe…jk

now we know that advertising is so deceiving.

• naahhh.. i think i like the blue one rather than red and black..

• not bad still consider average good.

• berserk on Aug 13, 2005 at 2:40 am

I'm impresed the front windscreen isn't shattered . Are they using shatter-proof glass at proton now?

• Jason on Aug 13, 2005 at 2:57 am

I thought even Godzilla grab it, throw it, bite it also wont have a scratch?! -lol-

I wonder what happened to the driver. I doubt the car is usable also, even after spending another RM10k to repair it.

• kirks on Aug 13, 2005 at 3:00 am

I believe all windows are shatterproof now.New safety standards. Even my dad's 1980 accord has shatterproof windows. TESTED! =P

Can I use your pics on my site please?

• BUdaK_U on Aug 13, 2005 at 3:12 am

pERgh…dasyat tuh….kete baru nie, sapela tuan punye…x syg harte ke hape??!

dh tgk savvy terbalik….so skng aku tggu myvi plak terbalik…so bru bole decide yg mane lebih reliable for safety…..hehehe (n_n)

• zongtwi on Aug 13, 2005 at 3:17 am

I can't believe you're saying it's a load of (s)crap, milo tin, and crappy advert. Look at the car, it has hardly deformed! I mean, of course it's still a wreck, but the chassis is still in good nick.From the pics, it can be seen that the savvy hit something head on, with a bit of an offset to the right. Probably flipped on its side before hitting a lamp post or something that fell on it's back side (see the last two pics). What do you mean that the roof is low, and the passengers would have a broken neck? Look at where the headrests are. Unless you're a freaking 7 footer man with a huge head, the passenger's head would at the same level as the headrests, and the roof is hardly touching it! In any accident as bad as that in any kind of car whatsoever, chances of surviving would be very slim. Seeing the pics, the hard shell and crumpling zones at the front of the car definitely gave the passengers a better chance of surviving. Even hitting something head on, the car's tires are still more or less where they were initially, which means that the passenger's legs were not crushed to bits. I once crashed a Honda Civic head on, but slightly to the left. Guess where the left front tire was? Yep, right underneath the left front passenger seat, which meant that if I were to have a someone sitting there, most probably that person would need leg amputations, if not being dead.I really can't believe you guys, just know how to critisize. Credit is given when it's due, and can you imagine the same accident happening to a Kancil or a Wira? Kudos to 'berserk' to notice that the windshield didn't shatter into pieces. The only thing to citicize is the lack of air bags inside the car (as I can't see any from the pics). That would definitely help.

Sheesh…try using your head when analysing something like this before giving comments. Just knocked a chicken?!?!? Deceiving adverts??!?! Please guys, think before you open your mouths.

• kirks: sure, but pls download and reupload so you wont use my bandwidth

• eAthena-Xeir4s on Aug 13, 2005 at 3:32 am

Shuddap… People r givin their opinion. And so are you. So what makes YOU so great in critizing what other people says?

Honda's? They're nothing less than great. I have never saw my dad's car ever having cabin intrusion of whatsoever other than debris or interior items after so many collisions with his Accord 2.2 96' Model. Although one may argue that the collisions are minor and not life threatening.

P/S : One doesn't need to be a 7 footer to actually 'touch' the celing of a Savvy. I'm 6'1" and I can't rest my head coz it'll touch the windscreen on the Savvy. Unless I slide my whole body towards the front to generate more space. Imagine people dancing inside the car! (Savvy Ad)

• Bamboo on Aug 13, 2005 at 3:33 am

looks strong..but if ader air bag better kan? just some jokes la zongtwi,jgn ler marah :)

• kirks on Aug 13, 2005 at 3:34 am

okie~

thank you.

erh, eAthena-Xeir4s….i agree with what you say.honda cars are, solid.

• hahahaha if u have not been on accident,plz don't talk shit arr…said tin milo or what so eva craps.what zongtwi said is true .every car has its own crumple zone to absorb the impact.by looking at this pictures ,the chances to survive is still higher compared if this car is a kancil or iswara.

• Wingz on Aug 13, 2005 at 3:40 am

yea i agree with zongtwi on his view of the how tough savvy is. I bet the driver made it out in one piece (if he got his seat belt on). The intergrity of the chasis is still in tact. None of the parts actually crumbled into the passenger's safety zone and I am impressed. Im glad I purchased a savvy for my staff too! :)

• VijandrenRamdAsshole on Aug 13, 2005 at 4:09 am

sape nak setting ngan gua LDP highway mlm kang ade race kol 2..

mat scoot gi mampos aa

aku wheeley kat korang kang hahaha

• sinleong on Aug 13, 2005 at 4:12 am

Its amazing!!! I believe its a tough car..

• Verne on Aug 13, 2005 at 4:33 am

You should have seen the lorry it hit. The lorry disintegrated!

:D

The Savvy is tough. Not much cabin damage. Although you can't judge the impact of the accident, it has to be pretty serious. From the looks of it, the Savvy came out of it pretty well.

:)

• Shariman on Aug 13, 2005 at 4:43 am

SALUTE TO Proton !!!

The people inside definately walked away alive. Must have been serious accident. Kalau kerete kecil lain, dah sure jadi arwah. Cherry QQ bole chalen ke ?

• its true what eAthena-Xeir4s said, then again so does zongtwi..each individual can xpress their opinions, but think b4 even make stupid ones coz its just gonna make a fool out of urselfs..cheers! btw, that car is kinda tough..i wonder what actually hit it, if its a lorry, salute proton for improving the safety of their cars..they should put this for their ad, maybe that would boost the sales… :-)

• Wow i have to say the savvy does look tough! I think it peformed better then any other car in its class ( kancil, kelisa, kenari, kembara, iswara and wira). Looks like proton was actually honest. Savvy is the toughest in its class. PROTON BOLEH.

• Hamdi on Aug 13, 2005 at 5:24 am

Kudos to Proton!!!!

Hopefully all their models after this will be as strong or if not, stronger than savvy, so than we can use the volvo tag line "Proton for life"… hahahaha

• crashdepth on Aug 13, 2005 at 6:02 am

what are u guys are critizing about.always downgrading our own concept.please be an adult.i think u all should be a little bit more supportive rather than hentam saja.at least the ad prove the safety did work.if u all dont like the malaysian car.u can move to hell.

• neurra on Aug 13, 2005 at 6:03 am

kewl.. the cabin barely suffered damages.. the exterior damage looks horrific.. -_-' even the radiator is still intact.. lol.. great advancement in safety, proton.. sincerely

• neurra on Aug 13, 2005 at 6:05 am

sekali see some proton staff went berserk with proton and crashes his savvy just for the sake of seeing whether proton is really tough or not.. then his eyes just gazed he went out without severe injuries.. =P

• Hans "TiUV&quot on Aug 13, 2005 at 8:00 am

Das ist Perfekt

• neurra on Aug 13, 2005 at 8:32 am

gegaoff: i think that the repair cost will be high.. that's wat's other than that..

• neurra on Aug 13, 2005 at 8:34 am

btw, i think the driver just drove the savvy a few days.. look at the front window, it even still has the anti-rust sticker n the barcode.. rofl. pity the driver

• hokkien lang. on Aug 13, 2005 at 8:52 am

I'M NOT KUTUK PROTON OR SOKONG IT…. BUT I HAVE A ONE QUESTION….

IF PRONTON CAR ACCIDIENT WE ALL SAY IT WAS MADE BY TIN MILO….

HOW ABOUT IMPORTED CAR? IF THAT CAR MEET A ACCIDIENT AND IMPORTED CAR IS "TOTALLY DAMAGE" (LIKE THE NEWS FROM PERAK I THINK, THAT FERRARI F355 WAS TOTALLY HANCUR) WILL WE SAY THAT CAR MADE FROM TIN MILO TOO?…….

the other thing in this crash i think that drver was listen a very loud music like in advertisment…

• Well, the savvy sure look strong and the ad prove its worthiness. I drive a wira and my tin milo front wheel fender had crumpled unusable just by hitting a motorbike. I personally applaude what proton has promised. I am looking forward for their next WRM model, a Passat…:)

• eAthena-Xeir4s on Aug 13, 2005 at 9:28 am

Not that the Savvy is bad. It may be a lot better than Kancil IMHO, and the cabin deformation is at minimal. But I really would prefer a Toyota / Honda / Nissan anytime than a Proton, of course , considering the pricing hehe.

Err some cars are made to be easily crumbled , which is a good and a bad thing. If cars like Savvy get a lot of crumble zone area , the driver would probably be ..well , dead. Just because it's quite short. However car like the Camry and Accord should have a crumble zone that is rather big so that the car is absorbing the impact rather than the driver / passenger. So well , about the crumbled Ferrari , it might have been the Crumbling that saved the driver , or killed him. Hehe.

• finally, wat i've been tellin ppl all these while had came true, a carshed savvy, yes, finally there are pics of it. stupid ad dat does not match the pictures now, hahaha, we dun even know wat the sawi hit or got hit by. most prb, it was just sum minor acc where the driver was driving so fast jus like in the ad, lost control and hit a tree. nehow, it is not dat tough as wat we r told of. gimmick, gimmick.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 13, 2005 at 10:02 am

to eAthena-Xeir4s

that ferrari kills the father and his son…. and the driver…. is lazy to breath…. now.

• aLTRUIS on Aug 13, 2005 at 11:42 am

I don't think the savvy hit anything. Looks more like it hit a kerb or sumthing when the driver lost control, flipping the car over onto its right side, while the car probably skidded arround and then the rear end of the car (now going backwards already) slammed into the kerb or sumthing, denting the roof in process. That's why both the right tyres are bent while the left ones are OK. However, i have to say the roof is pretty strong for not caving in. The safety in front end collision is still undecided because it is impossible for the car to have hit something hard enough to cause the car to flip over without damaging the radiator.

• mamat on Aug 13, 2005 at 2:25 pm

This is good advertisement for proton savvy, after some serious flip roll and crash the car still look like a car. Wait yill the surviving driver tells his story how many turns and how he flipped his car, after the ICU procedures

• Deodorant on Aug 13, 2005 at 4:55 pm

How can you possibly judge how strong or weak the Savvy is when nothing has been mentioned about the actual accident?

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 13, 2005 at 5:09 pm

Is this a show from Proton? Just to proof Sawi is strong enough! Muahaaaa….haa…

• paul,

since you started it, can't wait to see myvi's accident pictures

let's see…

• sylverster on Aug 13, 2005 at 6:59 pm

it wasnt a serious accident, i blieve. definitly not crash another car frm front. u still can c d radiator still good, tat's y i said so. of cos, maybe dis model hs a little bit improve in body contrustion, so dun compare wif proton previous models. does d windows tinted com originally frm proton? i tin most of d part r'nt originally frm proton, xcep d design. wat hokkien lang said is true, we hv to c how d accdnt happen. another thg is, d stability of d car hs to b concern. a car easy to lost control is not save even d cabin is strong like a tank. if u really wanto compare, take a civic n savvy bang togather la..

• finally a really strong proton car.well done proton.

• abe pie on Aug 13, 2005 at 7:10 pm

ehemm..err Paul , what actually hit the car.

Jet : And please do not pray for myvi driver to accident . not good laa.

• This is impressive, I think the driver survived the crash, jugding from the photos.

I have seen a Honda reduced to pile of metals (with the driver's flesh stucked in it) due to accident. This Savvy is still intact! if it was a Kancil or a Wira, I dont know what would happen.

The bad news is, I am driving a Kancil :-(. Time to trade in the car to a Savvy I guess! The sooner the better!!

• autoforum on Aug 13, 2005 at 7:26 pm

What is the look of the foreman`s face who is gonna do the repair?

I can imagine 1st:…..Pls update if you got more info. Thanks.

Foreman to himself: "Walau!…..kanasai…..$%#$%#^%…..metal so tough how to hamtam back?"

Foreman to the owner: "Pls come back and collect your car after 6 months. Cause need longer time to hamtam the metal. Plus waiting time for other replaceable parts due to vendors` supply problem. Also my boss Mr Tiew wants to do quality check on my work even though he is not a certified mechanic."

Cost of repair is…….Emmm, why don`t you buy a new one?

• narrowband on Aug 13, 2005 at 7:36 pm

Maybe someone hit the Savvy deliberately to prove a point. LOLz

• maniam on Aug 13, 2005 at 7:39 pm

suda terang lagi mau suluh kaaa kawan….itu savvy suda kasi sumua orang tau , ini kuat puya kereta…….kalo ini myvi suda hancor la kawan…

• Muthu on Aug 13, 2005 at 8:12 pm

kini kita kena tanya pemandu yang bawa kerta macam mana panduannya semasa atau sebelum kajadian berlaku ataupun pemanduannya yang teruk sekali ataupun masalah teknikal kerta ataupun masalah jalanraya ataupun masalah jerubu

• tekin on Aug 13, 2005 at 8:14 pm

what is the car number???

today 4d stake very high

• cloudz on Aug 13, 2005 at 9:34 pm

ok the thing here is..dun go to the safety first..

the point is after a crash,can the car be repaired? spending 10k? 15k?

forget bout it just trash it..

plus **Update: Wingz says maybe nothing hit him and the driver just lost control of the car… flipped over like a turtle and finally the car stopped when it hit something.

If ntg hit the car head on,if fliped by itself and end up like this,wouldnt it be like too much to the car..

i'm sure if got back passenger,they sure own a broken neck!

• Babadaniel on Aug 13, 2005 at 9:45 pm

we can be the typical M'sian condemming the national car without any base whatsoever. or we can be sensible which i doubt.

We can't tell what the car hit. A kap cai motor? another car? a lorry? a truck? etc.

so, there's no point debating the toughness of the car as advertised cause we don't know what hit it?.

but, the looks of it, the cockpit looks intact and the side beam looks sturdy prooving that the passegers should be safe for this massive damage.

• AlexC on Aug 13, 2005 at 10:59 pm

So, one thing we dont know for now is what hit this car… but if a car were to be crumpled like this, it must have been rolled over few times… in other words, the road condition must be very bad then… either that, or this car must have serious flaw in its design or handling… cars dont roll over so easily unless there's some mistake in weight distribution or wheelbase… and one more thing, the driver might have jumped out when accident is imminent, thats why you dont see blood…

• akari on Aug 13, 2005 at 11:55 pm

the car hurt everywhere, i believe the car roll a few round on road, without scratches, so strong

• jadah la ko on Aug 14, 2005 at 12:01 am

hek eleh..cam bagus je….trueno rules!!!…the savvy for sure not suitable for racer..that driver is stupid,..really really…if he didnt race then he wouldnt get into this trouble,…fortunate he is in savvy..no matter what,..dont race illegaly..

• angah on Aug 14, 2005 at 5:20 am

dont like it…dont buy it..

whatever car u drive….once u had an accident…big one..will be like this…

come guys…proton just baby in designed car…start from 1997..so like about 8 years right? compare to japan/korea….they in this business almost 40 yrs…europe/US car almost 100yrs….so what we expect from proton? 1st design…straight become most strong powerfull car in the world?

every success begin with failure…..

• arumugam on Aug 14, 2005 at 6:44 am

ini suma tipu ……mau tunjuk sama orang ada kuat punya kereta…..

• myvi-er on Aug 14, 2005 at 8:09 am

i change my mind on savvy..

maybe i gonna buy savvy rather than myvi..

if kancil.. i though both driver and front passenger = DEAD ..

no matter if it a flip, or terbabas.. but it look really though.

maybe the driver was tried to get the highest speed. 180kmh?

in the jerebu so cannot look then some stupid car infront, break and swing swing (the back tyre out) .. flip and danggg..

proton saying the truth maybe for the first time in their "life".

the thougest car in the same category..

so i gonna be savvy-er after this!.

• karheng on Aug 14, 2005 at 9:55 am

look at the condition of the car. Right hand side, badly damaged…left hand side…still in good condition…back and front hit…but barely damaged at the bottom part at the back..while the bumper in the front got hit, Tyre at the back is in awkward position. left side is fine. Top part of the car got hit too.

My take? This car didn't get hit by another car or did it roll a few rounds.

It merely fell to it's right hand side where the car was scratched so bad that the front and back and the roof of the car hit things. Seems like the cabin is safe. But I say that the front impact wasn't great. A car has crumple zones in the front at the engine bay. This wasn't a serious accident. Not at all.. However, i feel that it did first hit the rear right tyre first, which followed by the front right hand side, which then proceeded for the car to fall to it's right hand side where it slid on the road. Hint. Look at the paintjob.

=)

• i wonder what will happen if savvy hits a another savvy oh? hahaha

• neurra on Aug 14, 2005 at 10:37 am

of cos, maybe dis model hs a little bit improve in body contrustion, so dun compare wif proton previous models.

why cannot compare? so comparing with other brands make even more sense?

does d windows tinted com originally frm proton?

yes for the m-line series..

i tin most of d part r’nt originally frm proton, xcep d design. wat hokkien lang said is true, we hv to c how d accdnt happen.

lol.. wat kinda perception do u hav?

another thg is, d stability of d car hs to b concern. a car easy to lost control is not save even d cabin is strong like a tank. if u really wanto compare, take a civic n savvy bang togather la..

smart

lol.. just look at that..

• Don't say too much without a fact! We can speculate whatever we want to say but it's totally no point. Wait till Paul get the full incident report. TQ…

• ir_entau on Aug 14, 2005 at 5:58 pm

wow….amazing…if can stand a hit from a lorry or a SUV definitely sempoi liao

• pass-by on Aug 15, 2005 at 2:48 am

im gonna get my first car in a couple of weeks, test-drived both cars and seen this blog entry: my first car is going to be the savvy

• Kukuchiau Besar on Aug 15, 2005 at 2:59 am

Apa macam ini Paultan pemalas suda berapa hari ini berlaku lagi belum tahu kenyataan ini reporter manyak slow sekarang semua orang buat teka teki sama ada itu drebar sudah mati ke belum mau kondem kereta buruk lagi …kepala pening ooo

• hahahah. i am not malas lah. but i have no way to find out. these pictures were just mailed to me by a reader.

• woah…if i were to have an accident *knock of wood* i want to be inside a Savvy…fyi Savvy was laughed at by the Top Gear guys…&heh* i don't care about that..as long as i can be safe if any accident occur.. *knock on wood again* (^_^)

• physic_gurl on Aug 15, 2005 at 4:27 am

hmm.. tul ke nie? kalo benar la kan, mmg keter ni la yg kita nak. cuba jawab: jatuh atas tanah keras atau tanah lembut (mud) mane yg lebih saket? mesti la tanah keras kan? so kalo kita imagine yg lembut tu bhgian dpn or blkg keter n yg keras tu kerangka passenger, peratusan kita terselamat adalah tinggi. cuma jgn lupa pakai safety seatbelt kay =) .. so what i am trying to say is, biar la dpn dia nmpk hancur giler, tp bahgian penumpang jgn usik. sbb kalo sume bhgian keter adalah keras sekeras kerasnye… kita akan cedera parah jugak sbb seolah2 kita jatuh atas tanah keras. bhgian depan yg lembut akan menyerap momentum yg kuat secara beransur (fikir fizik kena fikir slo-mo). jadi tenaga kinetik dan inersia akan dibebaskan melalui perubahan bentuk fizikal dan masa yg diambil untuk berhenti which is a bit slow berbanding 'bang!!' kereta keras. dat's y kita jatuh atas tanah lembut kurang sket sakitnye walaupon nama sama je tanah. i never touch a savvy, cuma nk keluarkan idea saje. takkan ade keter yg keras gile pon kan. jgn la percaya tul2 iklan tu bolat2, in fact, kalo nk buat iklan, yg lemah tu la yg kita emphasize kan. baru la laku.. baru la tertipu tipah.. haha~

• wirawan on Aug 15, 2005 at 7:44 am

The marketing people in Proton "tidak begitu pandai".

They should realize that the customers DON'T buy car, hoping that they will be involve in a accident.

I think they should try to sell the Savvy to only short people. No pun intend.

• TALK SO MUCH CRAPS FOR WHAT? PROTON IS A FAILURE NOWADAYS, NO NEED TO SUPPORT LIOA LAH… END THE COMMENTS…

• chii~chan on Aug 15, 2005 at 9:45 am

i'm proud to be a malaysian.. so, SUPPORT MALAYSIAN MOVIES!! go watch gol dan gincu~~ it was the best malaysian movie ever!!!

MERDEKA~!!!

• napps on Aug 15, 2005 at 3:45 pm

fyi, savvy has body strength of 17,000n/mm…tougher than some bmws…unfortunately, malaysian advertising standards don't allow direct comparisons done between products in ads…am getting my red savvy this week…can't wait to drive it! lalalalala….

• Ex-Proton Owner on Aug 15, 2005 at 6:58 pm

Alright, I'm not a proton fan (duuhh!, rather obvious rite?!). But first of all I must say, what is the basis of all this judgement being thrown around. Nobody even knows what happened, yet everyone seems to be damn good at guessing. Sorry, no offence intended. But in order to know how safe the Savvy is in collisions, one must know what actually happened. For example, if rumours are true that the Savvy hit a chicken then thats pretty bad. But if the Savvy actually was going at 160km/h (dunno if its possible, lets say it is la) and an oncoming lorry swirved into its path, the savvy had head on collision, spun 3 rounds at 100km/h into the divider and hit a lamp post which then fell on it, then, wow! It's built tough.

All I'm trying to say is that we should make judgements based on facts rather than speculation.

That said, ofcourse everyone has the right to express their opinions and I'm not against anyone on that. This is just mine.

• I think savvy is a good car. The front end is longer than kelisa or picanto. Can't wait to change my wife's kelisa to a savvy. I am sure it is good for long distance driving too… unlike the kelisa.

• pkthoo on Aug 15, 2005 at 9:41 pm

Anybody can attest they had seen wiras and wajas got split and mangled on TV and newspapers. And those were usually fatal ones. I'm still undecided on Savvy's safety. Until we have seen a split/flattened Savvy, we must give it the benefit of a doubt.

• hisyam on Aug 15, 2005 at 9:53 pm

its tougher than you think….hmmm okay!

• Whoever thought Honda has very strong chassis, think again. I was in an accident, in a Honda CRX. Head on with a tree, while braking mind you. My friend(driver) died on the spot and I was hospitalized pretty long. No whatsoever shatter proof windows. Everything was in pieces. Just because we don't see it does not mean it does not happen

• how lah on Aug 15, 2005 at 11:25 pm

I just think it was driven by some idiot speeding round the corner and clipping the kerb at high speed, flipping the car over. Doesn't even look like it did a complete roll over. Front and rear damage probably by hitting a lamp post or a tree. Go figure.

• despise u on Aug 15, 2005 at 11:41 pm

u guys must be an ignorant bunch of fools. no car in the world is safe from accident.it's called an accident, so crashed car tends to look like that.duh! duh!..even volvo.duh..duh!

• lol..The last pic look weird, like sumthin wrong sumwhere la.. i dun beleive tis, not till i really know what's d story behind tis pic..

• despise u on Aug 15, 2005 at 11:47 pm

proton is a failure my ass. who the hell are u? the super car doctor? get your ass back to Toyotaland then u ingrate S.O.B.

• Proton supporter all moron! How much they sucked our (malaysian) blood? How come a citizen get a proton more expensive than foreigner!!!!!!

Ok, well..some like to compare between imported car with proton..here some to share ﹕

malaysian used rm60k to buy a proton gen 2

convert rm to yen….what kind of car can japanese buy?!!!!

They can buy a sporty & higher quality car than gen2!!!!

Moron!!! Malaysian like your guys make proton nvr grow up!~!!!like a baby protected by mum!!!!!!

• From the pic…"savvy hit an ant"!!!

• Proton Technician on Aug 16, 2005 at 12:38 am

Hey guys, this savvy just for safety approval~! Just a little crash with another car…but savvy break down after that, another car which hitted by savvy still can drive…

• Doubtful on Aug 16, 2005 at 2:18 am

No doubt the car is strong… but have anyone ever thought about how the car got into that terrible accident?

What if I tell you I was the owner, I was driving at 50KM/h, jammed on the brake when a cat jumped into the middle of the road, the brake failed, the tyres skidded, the centre of gravity was off and the car turn turtle. Just imagine, at 50Km/h, such damages were done!

The truth is well covered up….. and I wasn't the owner lah….

• just me on Aug 16, 2005 at 2:51 am

just "control ur right leg"

regardless u r driving a 1 million car or just a "cheap n smart ass" car…accident do happened…

• macam macam ada on Aug 16, 2005 at 2:54 am

Agree with what have 'Ex-Proton Owner said' stated.

Know the fact 1st before judging/ jumped into the conclusion.

• NinjaTurtle76 on Aug 16, 2005 at 6:58 am

Ur advertisment is sucks….Tat is no logik at all,never think before do it…Hw can a monster take SAVVY n yhrow the car and the car still ok!And the picture shows ur car is not good,who buy will get bad luck!Accident sure die want…..This car should not call SAVVY….Savvy means understand,but…..sigh!

• TUV approved from german? Aiseeeee……

• it is a strong car indeed… well improvement n great job by proton… now this Savvy will be one of the great option for us when we plan to buy a reliable car…

• how can a turtle becomes a ninja? i got teribble headache thinking about that!

• maestro on Aug 16, 2005 at 10:45 pm

Dear Paul,

yes, the photos did come into my email account… and just as i feared, some ill informed retard, started the email – with the subject: "Proton Savvy the strongest car – hmmm…i beg to differ…" i suspect the twit just learned the phrase i beg to differ and was itching to use it…

i would like to say the following:

that looked like a serious accident… notice though, that the passenger compartment is almost unaffected….meaning to say… in any other small car.. ie. kelisa, kancil, gets, or even MYVI… the passengers are probably dead….

safety of a car is in the measure of how it protects its occupents… not how much the body crumples… remember that all vehicles are designed with GOOD crumple zone – to absorb the impact of the force in the event of an accident…

looking at the photos of the damage… it shows the savvy was in a serious accident…. the crumple zone worked – ie. the place where you see bad damage means it crumpled to absorb the force of the accident…

BUT, notice also that the passenger compartment is in fairly decent condition compared to the external… headroom inside the car is still ample… meaning the heads of the passengers were protected from major injuries…

so, remember – the cockpit of the car is most important when it comes to safety… when proton said savvy is the strongest in its class…. it means the cockpit can absorb high forces before failing….THAT means… its cockpit is strong… the external is also strong by virtue of the steel sheets used by Savvy – i know because Proton came to a friend's company – a german company by the way, and asked us to source for the steel…. the german company was unable to respond because not many steel mills in the world produced the steel they wanted… it is still the latest steel developed in the world…. i dont think many car manufacturers are using it just yet… That i can confirm…. some experts i know in automotive steel in germany had problems understanding the new specs…. because they have never seen it… but i know for a fact that the steel was developed by some companies in the world…. and also by some institutions in America…

SO – people should not be misinformed… this is an example of a safe car… how it protects its occupants from receiving the forces of the accidents… and NOT OTHERWISE.

this message was not edited, so apologies for grammer and spelling mistakes…

I was itching to prove a point.,.. about my experience on how strong the savvy is… but i figured, i could write the nicest paragrahs.. it would have still appeared as words… and as my superior once said… words dont mean jack… SO – these photos should show all you weak critics out there… the Savvy is strong… MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH – so as the chinese would say it…."LAN HOI"

.. means = move aside la dei…

• maestro on Aug 16, 2005 at 10:53 pm

eh athena… you can go sit and face the wall.. lick it if you want…

criticism is only helpful when it is well made with some thought put into it – in case u dont comprende that – it means belajar sebelum nak cakap..

ie. and not be like a bunch of consultants that is so common sight in the progress meetings.. ALL with their fancy Ir. and Kr. and whatever Rs available.. but can't hold a decent meeting cos they don't think before they speak.. KNOW WHAT I DO TO IDIOTS LIKE THESE IN A MEETING?… i ask them to get out of the meeting room. and take their unthough over opinions out there…

HMMM… maybe you are one of those poor dopes i asked to get out of the room…

So, moral of the story – athena– assume you're a b**ch, don't speak if you dont know the subject, and when you speak, best is to ask questions so as to learn about the subject….

• maestro on Aug 16, 2005 at 11:01 pm

paging the retarded NinjaTurtle76 – :

friend. …. let me make this crystal clear to you. You think FAIR AND LOVELY works??? why dont you go buy ten tubes of those fair and lovely… then you placed in your butt crack… you know the dark line at the bottom of your back… use ten tubes and tell me it is fair and lovely.. use OIL of ULAN – it promises fairer skin….

here's a secret: all the models in those ads are already FAIR in the first place… but whats stopping them from using that ploy – i dont hear you standing up to that ad.

HEY, how about the ad about TALL BASKETBALLERS, that becomes dwarfs when in the car…. i believe its a car ad, a foreign car ad for that matter. I ASSUME, with you little grey matter, you didnt get the ad. But this is what it was trying to tell the viewers: That the car is small on the outside, but on the inside, it is QUITE spacious… BUT, to get through thick skulls like yours, they have to exaggerate a bit.

HOW about the ad about the CAR that PLAYS BASKETBALL, and wins.

SO, ninja turtle: keep it low if you dont know what you are going to talk about.

And same goes for others that obviously, just want to voice out their dissatisfaction, that their WIRA power windows failed. Dont let it spill over on other subject – YOU GOTTA KEEP EM SEPARATED…..

• maestro on Aug 16, 2005 at 11:06 pm

Ex-Proton Owner:

hey, the proton savvy can go up to 170++, this can be confirmed. By the way, the Gen 2 can hit 220km/h and maintain a that speed// tried and tested… so please… critics, we welcome you, but try and test before making comments… if u bitch and whine about wira power windows, i am all with you. but if you bitch and whine about gen 2 slow, savvy not strong, then you have no basis because chances are… ur still driving your down trodden wira… so upgrade then we start discussing the beauties of the new generation proton.

like it has been said again and again, maestro does not work for proton… opinions are strictly personal….based on facts and tried and tested methods.. unlike some loose cannons out there…

• maestro on Aug 16, 2005 at 11:13 pm

myvi-er…

finally,….. some sense.

you are making the right choice ….

• maestro on Aug 16, 2005 at 11:31 pm

Two cents of opinion – based on tried and tested methods:

The size of the car plays a big role when it comes to chances of survival in an accidents for occupents. A car like the 240, would have a better chance of protecting its occupants, compared to a car like the toyota corolla. this is not only attributed to the strength of the volvo, also an opinion made on facts, and has been tried and tested, but also to the size of the car. bigger car would normally translate into bigger mass. the bigger the mass, the less llikely it is to come to a STAND STILL quickly, when in an accident…. that means, more TIME (s) measured in seconds if your studied physics, for the impact force to be absorbed…. in a kancil, the car weights sub 1000kg. when in an accident, the likelihood of it coming to an immediate stand still, is VERY HIGH.. that is why a strong shell (cockpit), helps….

NOW, to judge the strength of the cockpit, go into a savvy, and look at the pillars. The savvy has pillars thicker than turbo cars in the market… these thick pillars translates into a rigid and stiffer body… which also translate into smoother and quiter drive…. now look at other cars in the market…. AN audi A4 has narrower pillars, believe it or not… but A4 has the advantage of other goodies which is not relevant in this discussion. Look at kancil and Myvi pillars… i think the flag poles in our sekolah wawasan is thicker than their pillars…

So, to run a civic and savvy into a head on collission is a bit of silly test. but chances are, the savvy occupants would suffer bigger injuries like whiplash etc due to extreme high forces due to 100km/h speed to 0km/hr speed in less than 1 second. but their legs would be in one piece, their hed in one piece… their hands in one piece.. maybe bruised….

the civic… legs crumpled .. hands and arms crumpled… i wont go into details…

why…?? because based on numbers alone, civics cockpit cannot be tougher than savvy's. …but civic a well built car, and it would probably save the occupants due to its attention to detail… ABS, air bag… crumple zone… etc…

• maestro on Aug 16, 2005 at 11:35 pm

turtle, in reply to your message below:

Savvy: Well informed and perceptive; shrewd: savvy Washington insiders.

n.Practical understanding or shrewdness: a banker known for financial savvy.

for once you are almost right….

#

NinjaTurtle76 said,

August 15, 2005 @ 10:58 pm

Ur advertisment is sucks….Tat is no logik at all,never think before do it…Hw can a monster take SAVVY n yhrow the car and the car still ok!And the picture shows ur car is not good,who buy will get bad luck!Accident sure die want…..This car should not call SAVVY….Savvy means understand,but…..sigh!

• You sound like a turtle……bad luck n stuff….should go on a feng-shui site…not this site…..

• Savvy no doubt…a very strong car. What is the concern? Only reliability. How good is it….still too early to tell.

Anyway well done proton…finally you've brought out a solid car…thumbs up!

• Savvier on Aug 17, 2005 at 2:15 am

Wow, it is proven tough.yes, my selection perfect like the german guy said

"Das ist Perfekt' . Same to you napps, can't wait my midnight savvy by end of Aug =) MERDEKA with my savvy, yeahh

• Apai Mau on Aug 17, 2005 at 6:47 am

No matter how tough a car is, it will be bound to be crashed anyway. No car is accident-free.

So, pandu cermat jiwa selamat. Thank you & have a nice day.

• Louis on Aug 17, 2005 at 7:39 am

Proton cars: faulty and lousy. no matter how hard you defend it , its still crap and no reason to buy it

everyone out there go check this out:

see how "great" this bloody Proton is

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 17, 2005 at 7:52 am

Wahhh…You all so sentimental with Savyy ka???? Ada orang cakap manyak kuat, ada orang cakap tin milo….

Itu SAVVY accident sama nyamuk saja….Itu nyamuk speed 180km satu jam…talak sempat burik….sudah hanyam itu Savvy….

Ha ha he he he…….

• MALAysian:SayNoToPro on Aug 17, 2005 at 10:42 am

:P say no to proton~!

doesnt matter how strong you are~!…

dont support the Auto Policy just because of GOv wanted to protect Proton.

For Sure I wont buy proton.

• tamau beli jgn beli laaa… apa bising2

• observer on Aug 17, 2005 at 6:55 pm

well, all i can say is that the advertisment is misleading.

i donno bout myvi advert tho.. haven't seen it.

• salakos on Aug 17, 2005 at 7:23 pm

Hello guys and gurls, lets contribute constructive suggestion rather than

talking lots of craps. Look before you leap.

Regards.

• proton wont die if you dont buy……..pls remember that proton have been one way or another part of our live……… the Savvy shows their commitment to improve……..i dont see a problem why we should not support………

• i'm waiting for the premium savvy with air bags, abs/ebd etc or the savvy r3

can anybody confirm their arrival date and price

i'm really confident in this car- renault already selling hundreds of thousands of cars with same engine and now proton enhanced it further plus some lotus touch

renault + proton + lotus = savvy

• toritori on Aug 17, 2005 at 9:22 pm

I really don't know what happen to our society nowadays and whether the bashers out there still remember they are Malaysian or not? Where is your national pride?

I guess no matter how Proton try to make a better car, bashers don't seems to care about the specs and facts, but bashing all the way they like.

If without national automobile industry, I guess many people will be out on the street without jobs and the chain reaction will affect other traders, businesses, etc and they will too close shop eventually.

Foreign countries have all the advantages because they have been independant much much longer and of course their technology is more advance than ours. Malaysia going to be 48 only. Please get the facts right.

As for BBC TOP GEAR quoted "like to talk about Proton from Malaysia at working on jungle clearing…" What's so bad about the jungle? I guess they have forget the piece of land where their automobile factory was built long long time ago, is also a jungle clearing. The best part is our own Malaysian people laughing, forwarding the video plus adding insulting words to it saying our Malaysia car is useless, etc. Why? Do you know the 2 guys at BBC TOP GEAR talk only without test drive the car and again the bashers start the Hoo-Haa without facts.

Why foreigner when they are in other countries, they still buy their own homeland products? This is how they strengthen their own country economy and from there the country will have more chances, resources and money to produce more quality products. That's how things work.

I own an Iswara and now changing to Savvy. Iswara gives me problems too but that doesn't stop me because I care for Malaysia. I guess foreign cars also got problems, right?

Happy Merdeka, To All Anak Malaysia.

• Totally agree with you toritori…proud of you. Some people compare proton savvy with accord…..its rediculous. how would they feel if we critisise their accord against a bmw. very weird people we have.

Come on people….. be a malaysian. Dont lash out for the sake of lashing out

• Marmitecrab on Aug 17, 2005 at 10:58 pm

National pride is one thing, making it difficult for us to choose is another. If the Proton vendors have it their way, we'd all be driving Protons because all other makes would either be banned or too expensive to afford. That, in my humblest opinion, would be highly unpatriotic. The choice should be made available as to whether or not we want a car built with quality by people who have a history of making them or by people who made them just because of one man's dream. I for one, do not wish to plonk down my hard-earned on something I know is of inferior quality and how I spend it should be my choice, not a bunch of profit-hungry, greed-driven, protected, sheltered and spoiled group of people.

• Look at the car man…i wasted my money booking Myvi, I am going to cancel the booking fee right now as this car is damn strong. Proton is no longer a milo tinlarr. Now i believe their advertisement. In fact i was just hoping someone would crash a Savvy to see the strength and now we have people, a car that is so strong. I have known for the kancil and kelisa owners dying from crash like this. This is great. Cheers to Savvy!

• I agree with you also. Feel the same. Not saying Proton is perfect. But the savvy is really a class above all(in quality) compared to previous cars produced. It is a fact. and i believe they should get credit when they deserve. everybody deserves that…dot you think?

• toritori on Aug 18, 2005 at 1:54 am

Marmitecrab quoted,

"I for one, do not wish to plonk down my hard-earned on something I know is of inferior quality and how I spend it should be my choice, not a bunch of profit-hungry, greed-driven, protected, sheltered and spoiled group of people"

But, we too must see the whole picture, if no tax control over imported cars

where will all the money goes, inside or outside Malaysia?

Will Malaysia automobile industry survive and be able to fork out corporate tax for the goverment to built hospitals, schools, etc? Will Malaysia be able to provide sufficient jobs to our people so that they have enough money to buy daily groceries, food, shelther, plus your favourite MARMITE CRAB and so on.

These have chain reaction, will hit other sectors and businesses as well.

If we stay united and try to understand it further by supporting Malaysian Products, we can actually slowdown our money (RM) from depreciate further in which we already feel it plus the coming globalization challenge.

Sometimes, we do it not only for our present life but maybe for your own kids and the future of Malaysia. I guess our small scarifices enough to built a better place for our children.

Don't get me wrong (not a politician, a proton supporter, i don't have children too) just an ordinary citizen and like Marmite Crab too :))

Take care and bye.

• MALAysian:SayNoToPro on Aug 18, 2005 at 3:45 am

your money to spend…up to you lah…still cant understand some people take the pride of even they are been blindly misleaded…..

I didnt say the car is not good.

Maybe not many of us remember when Gov suddenly increase car tax many local bussinesmen gone bankrupt…..there goes the national pride…you dont right because you r not reading paper….?no.maybe we just telan in the name of national pride.

the reason just to protect the national car.

call me blasher….but the truth us the truth…

by the way if you know the spec and detail you surely know that the money you spend is not worth it….

eh checkout some local side forum..lowyat.net…savvy very famous there.

but tht is your money you can spend the way you like…i respect tht.

i just voice out my opion. :P

• futra on Aug 18, 2005 at 8:17 am

dats y la ppl say proton cars LOOKS bad but built TOUGH. if the same thing happens to MyVi and i was in da car, i wud hav died in da MyVi while i would hav survived in da savvy..

in short..

MyVi = looks good, not so rock-solid body (pedestrian friendly sorta thingy..)

savvy = not as appealing as myvi, but proven tough body (driver friendly)

• toritori on Aug 18, 2005 at 8:24 pm

To Sender : MALAysian:SayNoToProton,

Point noted.

In respond to your quote,

"I didnt say the car is not good."

>Then why you have your nickname "MALAysian:SayNoToProton" ?

>Let's not being bias, so that we don't poison young mind or teenager that >national car is not good at all even they are coming up with quality cars.

>Let's consumer choose freely without bias and at the same time we don't kill

>the national automobile industry because of our personal emotion and >words. Do you know because of bashers emotional words, how many

>people will lose their jobs due to the negative impact indirect hit the >industry?

"Maybe not many of us remember when Gov suddenly increase car tax many local bussinesmen gone bankrupt…..there goes the national pride…you dont right because you r not reading paper….?no.maybe we just telan in the name of national pride. the reason just to protect the national car."

>In business world, we need business plans, strategy and fund. Of course, >we can take appropriate action on risk management when doing business, >right? Overstock for fast profit plus sudden change in policy will definately >kill one's business. Reading paper and Understanding it is two

>different things. If there is a major decision, you about to make, in which

>you can only save ONE group of people, that is few rich businessmen or

>thousands of ordinary workers. Which group will you choose?

"by the way if you know the spec and detail you surely know that the money you spend is not worth it…."

>When I said, 'Sacrifices' mean giving and not taking or being calculative in

>terms of value or whether the item purchased worth the value or not.

>Giving is from the heart.

>Please don't get me wrong, I'm not asking you to love proton but

>supporting local products will slowdown the RM from depreciate further.

>Today, we have to buy Savvy at RM42,888.00 because many people out

>there choose foreign products in which of course looks nicer, better

>performance, etc. But, it depreciate our RM.

>When we buy a car, say "Made In X" then automatically we are

>contributing economy growth to 'X' country and where the money you buy

>this 'X' car will be used to build hospitals, schools, etc. in "X" Country.

>In other words, to control it More Export and Less Import.

>Friend, no Hard Feelings :) just opinion.

Thanks for you input and take care.

• toritori on Aug 18, 2005 at 8:29 pm

To Rave:

Proud of you too, for not being bias :)

Lets not poison the young and shows Malaysian really cares.

Keep it up.

Take care

• Ex-Proton Owner on Aug 20, 2005 at 1:35 am

Hi all,

Again, I would like to reiterate, and I'm gonna do this slowly this time. Only comments based on facts, not fiction or assumptions are really any worth discussing. Opinions on the other hand, is entirely yours.

Everyones opinion I respect, no matter how silly I think it is.

dear maestro,

All I said was that I don't know if the savvy can do 160km/h, because I haven't tested it up to that speed yet. I did not deny it. When on earth did I ever bring up Gen2??? Are you being a loose cannon?

maestro said "like it has been said again and again, maestro does not work for proton… opinions are strictly personal….based on facts and tried and tested methods.. unlike some loose cannons out there…"

Based on facts??? What facts do you have, were you there when the accident happened? Just by judging the pics, u make all sorts of assumptions and deductions. What are u la, Grissom from CSI??? Even he needs more than pictures. Maybe you can go sweep the accident scene for clues…

By the way, I had the good intention of defending Savvy from baseless criticisms in fact. I think you should also be a bit cooler in placing YOUR opinion above others, after all, they are just opinions. Respect others a bit, that's all.

• Kukuchiau Keras on Aug 23, 2005 at 4:20 am

So you guys Malaysian or England. you can invest in EPL but your passport not from EU you know? You can go to Japan but Tokyo Stock Exchange none of your business you know?

I Bursa Malaisie supporter , My name is …

Mohamed Ramasamy Wong Keong Bin Dominic Singh

• samhard knock on Aug 23, 2005 at 8:53 am

hey guys,

to those who critzised without brains and brains again, please shut up, or keep your brains elsewhere. Please be a fair critic!!!!!! If not you guys sound like Bush crap.

So i think Savvy has potential. I think TUV certification is the main thing. may i ask, can MYVI EVER PASS THE CERTIFICATION? i don't know. But I KNOW SAVVY PASS ALL OF THEM!!!

Samonite bags have cert of TUV! does polo has it? polo sells well right?

SO please get your facts right first.

• Life-as-a-coke-can on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:16 pm

What happened to the so-called Lotus tiew-ed handling that Proton so strongly advertises?? Lotus badge for nothing? Airbags still needed as a supplimentary system, not just good handling. There's only so much a driver could do. The airbag would take care of what the driver can't do.

Sawi is nothing compared to the rigidity of the Smart car. It's chasis is so solid that even after a 70mph impact, the doors still open and close. But whats the point of having a small car so strong? People will still die in there especially when you come to a sudden halt. Your organs would come crashing into your ribs. You think they're like Superman?

Bottom line is that small cars are the unsafest cars on the roads.

• dear life, unless we make airbags mandatory, most people will opt for cheaper airbags-less cars!

;-)

• samhard knock said,

August 23, 2005 @ 12:53 am .

TUV certification is the main thing. myvi have pass all this TUV long time a go before savvy was born. what u know, u just weak up ha!.

Toyota passo and daihatsu boon all AR the same platform mostly of it. go to daihatsu. com n find up. mostly our myvi specification r more on Toyota passo.

• victoryy leo on Aug 28, 2005 at 5:51 am

as uaual , some patriotic malaysian get v upset when proton is critised, this are people who died of youung age, their blood group A, they smoke like mad, rthey are impulsive, u stare at them , they kill u with a knife, u overtake them , they tailgate u and kill u with a stick

please proton defender, u are over reacting, if you are the truth the market and the people will definitely buy the savvy, what the fork in the world u get upset about others comment,

if u a mature person which l doubt, u give it a laugh about stupid comment but people like u will go and pick up a fight and end up dead in the street.

• ralee on Aug 28, 2005 at 5:58 am

that was my proton savvy. It skidded when l was on the highway and abng in the road protector adn overturn. l was out until reach hospital. l fractured my arm and leg. also rib fracture after hitting the steering. just got out of hospital.

have to go back for ct scan if headache perisit

• neurra on Aug 28, 2005 at 12:58 pm

i suggest u bashers go thailand n don't celebrate merdeka if u love bashing malaysian product that much

• When Malaysia had a bad ecomomy in the 80's, proton was the one that keep us afloat…. and we pick up in 1987. Proton was the start of our industrialisation with many SMI's supplying aoto parts. Now these auto manufacturers can supply to others all over the world such as rims, plastic parts, shock adsorbers etc. When our people buy proton our balance of trade would be in the blue…. if more people buy more importad cars or other things we may have a deficit current account just like before 1997… jadi belilah kereta proton….. truly Malaysian.

• LotusGT1 on Aug 29, 2005 at 1:49 am

it's look strong from others proton. if iswara or kancil don't know what will it be already…. work hard PROTON.

• abgsatria69 on Aug 30, 2005 at 10:55 am

I've test driven myvi..kelisa..kancil. Traded-in my satria gti..for a savvy? I must be losing my mind!!. Nope…not tru at all. I've discovered that savvy is strong in performance (can outperform myvi or satria 1.3 anytime..hehehehe), solidly built and economical too!!! Feels like driving alfa 146…but better, cos I don't have to visit the petrol stations so often.

On fifth gear..the car can go from 80 to 140 quite rapidly…though having only 150km on its odometer. Well…thanks proton, for building this little champ…bravo!!

• matdue77 on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:32 pm

Saya pemilik Proton Savvy… Handling bagus, fuel consumption bagus, Interior spacious bagus…

Selepas tengok gambar kat atas, wow, nasib baik beli SAVVY… Kalau MyVi menyesal rasanya…

• despise u on Sep 01, 2005 at 9:13 pm

mmm victory leo?..sounds like u were the one being ultra defensive for no justifiable cause. We are malaysian so its only natural for a patriotic citizen such as myself to have kinda a tendency to support malaysian product and a less than patriotic such as yerself my dear man to take childish comments over our national pride as being a joke. in other words, i wish your Honda car blew up with u in it.

• Sawi-Mawi on Sep 02, 2005 at 10:07 pm

kalau wang tak banyak bolehlah beli…savvy…lagi mau komplen apa…

malaysia punya orang ngan malaysia punya barang lebih kurang saja…

we live in malaysia cannot complaint so much…if not ISA tangkap…goverment kita you guys know lah…use-less, baru boleh jimat!

• norshamhadi on Sep 03, 2005 at 2:11 pm

the advert and the commercial aint a lie after all…bravo proton!

• 1.1. There are people who have nice and pleasant time with proton cars

2. And there are people got bad time and nightmare with their proton cars….

3. And are people who buy others Malaysian made car because they thing proton cars suck.

4. And there are people who buy foreign car because they think Malaysian made cars suck.

People who go in the category beside 1 will always think negative about proton. It’s how we Malaysian use our brain.

• thinking twice on Sep 04, 2005 at 12:47 am

i've been going thru all nite bout previously heated post on our national car industry. u gotta give credit, thr lot's of gd post no matter which side u on.

comment as such really gives a whole new prespective on d issue.

i got a teaser from economics lessons,

1) is malaysia capable of producing cars afterall ?

2) is if true 2 say dat pronton is facing unfair competition from foreign cars? ( dis is quoted by U-NOE-HU on U-NOE-WAt issue)

1) M'sia no longer has comparative advantage in d auto industry, though we r d 11th country dat can produce cars rite from d drawing board, it is not really 2 our advantge. we r giving up our resouces for alternative uses.

our biggest contributor 2 GDP is still d Industrial sector. mainly from minig exports. only 27% r involve in manufacturing, of dat, E n' E will take ?? % it is one of our major exports components… so lets assume a big share !

point is, local car industry is not big in terms of production capacity and contribution 2 d GOV, but it does keeps our import substantially lower. we have continous positive BOP for more den a decade( net export less import of 40 mil) which is gd 4 d economy. If we transform each n every household's pronton 2 an import, surely we'll spell trouble den.

on 2), regardin unfair competition. Again, i dun think so. for those hu read 'the korean edge' , if dey can produce cheaper n; sell cheaper wif gd qualities, it is 2 their credit. imported cars like d upper end r not in direct competition wif pronton as well, it's target market is diff… pronton targets mid income, or low income users… it make sense dat those 'atas' ppl use continental european cars. thr's no comparing BMWs n' Benz wif pronton.

on a personal note,

y pronton can't compete in price nor quality !? for dis instance i'm not 2 sure bout d facts,

wat i hear is dat pronton uses tech from renault in gen 2 n' savvy. den surely it must 'purchase' or bear sum fee. if dis is d case, perhaps our exchange rate made it expensive !? plz comment on dis

malaysia's income/capita is now 16,000. D increased in affodability allows more foreign cars ownership. one way, is gd… we now c savvy dat's OK after accident ! we forced pronton 2 be quality concious… back when pronton was launched, its target market was d domestic mrket mid class ppl, income level of dat time was ??? take into consideration of our annual growth of 5 % ; plus d double digit growth we had in d 90s, it is likely 2 b much lower. surely dey begin wif price concious mentality.

But pronton has hide behind d walls of protectionism. we pay 300% in tax for nearly 20 yrs for 2day. it is thrfore natural dat sum of us r far from satisfied in whr it is rite now… but profitable pronton(not last quarter) as well as all those assembly , r n'd plants r real.. i can only hope d reason bhind such long time is due 2 d increasingly challengin environmnet faced in more recent yrs den other car manufacturer hu began much earlier.

Its slow growth is alarming. if we can't compete, job lost wud b inevitable…

of total labour force of 10.3mil, if 5% in pronton, dat wud mean half a mil jobs… n we fume bout jobless grads!!!

shud we continue 2 protect ? may b Dr M vision was dat we can't rely on pretrol n gas 4eva…replaced by pronton supercars perhaps ?

hopefully, one day, pronton would b a hyundai.. from inferior quality 2 top car exporter.

all figures r quoted from malaysian department of statistics.

just sumthin 2 share, nuthin else intended.

• zargus on Sep 05, 2005 at 12:59 am

review aku,

bahagian depan, remuk sebelah kanan.

tepi kanan, remuk semua.

belakang, remuk macam langgar tiang letrik.

bahagian depan die tu macam langgar bucu kereta, atau motor (kelajuan sangat tinggi).

bahagian kanan, macam landing bahagian sisi. Tapi tak slide, sebab takde calar. Tebalik tepi longkang kot. Sebab nampak macam tu.

bahagian belakang, macam langgar tiang lampu, lampu isyarat ke. Tapi nampak macam ade bahagian frame yang tak terusik, mungkin frame die keras kot.

Mungkin org tu bawak laju, masuk corner tak ingat punye, pastu skid sikit, langgar kete datang dari depan, pastu die melayang, langgar tiang lampu, pastu landing side sisi kanan.

Yeah, body keras, tapi takde airbag, org kat dlm boleh injured, kanak kanak boleh melayang.

Takde traction control, bila corner laju, sampai boleh terbalik.

Yng penting, kemalangan memang tidak berbau. Itulah sebabnya kempen kerajaan. Panu cermat, jiwa selamat, kereta baru pun tetap smart. Duit pun jimat.

Lagi satu, pasal tin milo, kete ape pun, kalau accident sume nampak macam tin milo. Kereta proton sebelum ni memang sangat fragile, diorang dah improve.

Pasal competition from foreign cars. Proton, perodua dan lain lain lagi mewujudkan peluang pekerjaan kepada golongan yang tertentu. Mungkin bukan kepada golongan yang lebih cenderung kepada business. Dengan mewujudkan peluang pekerjaan yang sebegini, maka secara tidak langung akan mengurangkan kadar pengangguran dah juga jenayah. Think positive. Dalam jangka masa panjang, bila proton dah berjaya…..(pikir sendiri),Foreign cars memang bergaya, tapi national car sedang dalam proses membangun. Maybe they will never be on the same par with hyundai, but at last they tried, though with lots of help from gov. Just hope that they will someday be like merc or bmw.

• jonjwlee on Sep 07, 2005 at 2:53 am

As many people have said time and time again, please base all your opinions and criticisms based on the facts given. The Savvy may have hit a speeding mosquito. Or run over by a massive 18-wheeler. Or that monster in the ads. The thing is, we don't know anything about the accident. Therefore, I will not comment on anything except that from what I SEE, the Savvy is a pretty strong.

And to those of you who think the Savvy ads are rubbish, USE YOUR BRAINS. Do you really think you could pop a button on a Citroen C4 and the whole car would turn into some dancing Transformer?

• Ezmil on Sep 08, 2005 at 8:56 pm

I think the Savvy pass the crash test with good results :)

• Still using 1997 Per on Sep 10, 2005 at 12:45 am

Don't have to spend RM 42K just to have this `tough` car with no resale value. Better buy an old Volvo 240 GL, Fiat 127 or Volkswagen 1200. Much cheaper & tougher. i learn a lesson from what happen to my proton tiara. Bought it at RM37K in 1997 & sold RM 4K in 2002 after spending RM 12k onmaintenance bills. Frankly, savvy is a good car for those with extra money to spend & don`t bother with resale value. To me (makan gaji) i`ll spend wisely. T.Q

• Neowner on Sep 17, 2005 at 10:38 pm

Glad that the general comment on this car is not bad cos getting one myself. Would like to know where I can see a pic of the new apple green colour tho. From a fast look, it looks to have a darker shade of green than Myvi so that makes it look quite fresh. It was a quick look so can't comment much. Any info on savvy clubs?

• toritori on Sep 22, 2005 at 7:36 pm

To Neowner,

Below is the Savvy club,
    http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/savvyownerscl…

It is indeed a good car. I got one for myself too.

Cheers

• outspoken on Oct 05, 2005 at 9:59 pm

I think the pictures have proven savvy's credentials. Ofcourse in the advert, the savvy was in good condition although being thrown by the green giant! but it was an advert.. people are not stupid to think… As an engineer myself, i would say that the passenger shell had done its job brilliantly. The car was in a very bad shape after the accident ( most likely "flip over" atleast one time). AT the end of the day, do you want to drive a tank-like car and feel the full force of an impact due to non-existence cumple zone..? i put my life as a priority than my money

• nerina on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:34 am

This is how Msian reacts to a local car…tin milo etc. So how are we going to make Proton, national car succeed. This is a national issue. We shud be much more supportive to our auto industry…like the Japs, Chinese and KOreans are toward their own products. I just bought savvy and wow..unbelievable.the car is superb. at first I had some trouble adjusting with the gear but now with its good suspension, cool aircond…it just makes my day happy!!!!!! jangan mare.

• lolx.. korang fikir duit lagi ker .. try imagine yang korang drive kereta tu .. korang ader nak fikir pasal $$$$ untuk repair ker .. itupun dah syukur hidup lagi.. ceh .. pelik pulak sebab ade yang fikir kalau jadi mcm tu repair mahal .. mcm tu tak perlu la pakai kereta .. naik bas jer senang

• savvy user on Nov 11, 2005 at 2:23 am

kepada semua… proton savvy akan keluar versi amt… shiftronic…. kalau kita fikir balik memang senang nak kutuk tapi kalu kita fikir balik nak buat sebuah kereta ni bkn senang… lebih2 lagi kalu yang hanya tau cakap dan tak tau buat…. guna laa otak…. proton nak compare dengan rolls royce mampus laa. tok sah cakap tu jee… kalau betul laa proton ni tak bagus dah lama lingkup… duk puji kete import je eksiden rosak jugak.. puas hati??? manusia memang sentiasa tak puas hati sbb tu laa banyak orang malaysia sekarang mundur. berilah cadangan bukannya kutukan. kalau bukan sekarang nanti zaman anak2 kita INSYAALLAH industri automobil kita akan berkembang dengan pesat… sekian… (15/11/2005 PROTON SAVVY 1.2 AMT LAUNCH- 26UNITS ONLY) CONGRATULATIONS TO PROTON!!!

• albagmane on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:55 pm

hahaha!!! TOUGHER THAN U THINK???

• jual balik boleh laku ke sawi? kekeke… jgn jd tiara.. jual timbang kati je

• plukis airbrush on Dec 28, 2005 at 4:46 am

savvy keteguhan yg tiada batasan..thanks 4 da photographer..god will blesz u all da time till da rest of your life kerana menegakkan kebenaran..we standing behind u savvy

• szw (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 4:46 am

savvy , built tough !

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 12:34 am

Dude, if you turn turtle in a large SUV you'll most likely end up with the same result. So the solution is NOT to avoid driving small cars, but to drive SAFELY. And please don't confuse SAFE with SLOW. A majority of motorists in Britain drive progressively (NOT aggressively) and they have lower accident rates compared to BolehLand. There are so many aggressive drivers in Malaysia, yet how many Malaysians have turned into world-class racing drivers? Takkan la nak jadi jaguh kampung je?

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 4:09 am

Proton cars are cheap(but expensive to buy)lousy,crappy,stupid, nasty cars made in a jungle clearing.Many many people in Bolehland just wont admit it. Nuff said.

• illegaldriver (Member) on Dec 30, 2006 at 4:36 am

lol…

dun just look on how is de savvy kemik at all..

c de inside..nthg happen..so safe..

dats mean..its build tougher..

dun just look on de outside..

all cars are made to absorb impact..

so if dey make a car dat keras2 one..

u all sure die in a second..loh..

hahahhaha…de engineer is not dat stupid

to make a dat low in quality

even so if u naik mercedes or wat..

it will be like dat oso if speed like a hell driver.

at de place dat i working at.

japanese use to drive Proton Wira..

n he satisfied wif de performance..

so why u all malaysians give a bad comment bout it?

support our local automobil industry.

btw,my bro jst bought s.neo 1.6

n its not bad..i luv to drive it..

very sporty n cool..

got no problem at all…

tran its very comfort..

• illegaldriver (Member) on Dec 30, 2006 at 4:44 am

hey..everybody lets naik basikal ramai2..

it sure safe la..

seriously..

• Acrmal on Jun 07, 2009 at 7:36 am

Ermm i decided to buy savvy, lokkin at the damaged after this accident, so i really want to buy this car..the hi line one got dual SRS airbag + ABS so..if ill secure more la..n one more thin..i like the grey colur…sometimes look like swift..:)

• Acrmal on Jun 07, 2009 at 7:41 am

one more thing..stop saying that kereta tempatan is useless compare to the imported car..if u really want to buy imported car..so u beli la..its up to u..now u in Malaysia rite..so..suppose to supported lah..not to condemn national car….if u really terror..u buat kereta sendiri la k..tu pun kalo u mampu lah…but to condemn national car..its not that good ok..try to think positive…ok..daaaa

• latif ur rehman on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:46 am

full accedent car 13 yaer experans i am pakistani this time stay yemen

• paultan fan on Apr 11, 2010 at 4:59 pm

memang kuat Savvy ni

• exfar on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:59 pm

woo hebatnye savvy ni,bahagian dalaman pemandu dan penumpang tidak mengalami kerosakkan yg teruk :) kalo myvi dah hancur dah…….

• just for the record.

have been driving an AMT savvy 1.2 for the past 3 years. 75k km now. no major problems AT ALL. already bought a second manual savvy for myself and gave the AMT to my sis because she doesnt like manuals.

consumption rocks, ride handling rocks, steering is solid, body frame is stable. i have nothing to say that is bad about this proton. over the last 3 years i only complained 3 times about the power windows and after the third time fixing it, it never broke ever again.

so what if the AMT jerks? its a RM42k car, not a goddamn Golf GTi with DSG for RM200k.

I would buy this car over any other brand new car for the same price. ANYDAY.

Savvy owners, tell me if I’m wrong about this. Even the Proton Technician at the service center recommended me to get a Savvy Manual because its more fun to drive. and quite frankly, it is. Proton is growing, so let it grow.

• and btw. I’ve been in a Myvi. and also for the record, the Savvy’s A/C is MUCH MUCH more cooler.

• I’m trouble in accident in March 2008 at LDP. I walk out from my black savvy without any injury… but my savvy considure total lost by Uniasia. :( It’s tougher than what me think, but it’s still total lost.

• Head Hunter on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:08 am

I lost a friend back in 07 because of his savvy. He went a bit too fast and caught puddle which caused him to swerve and hit slam bang to the tree. The car was split in half and he died instantly. The moral of the story is, no matter what you drive, driving safely is the way to go, because no matter what safety equipment, crumple zones and seat belts do, it would count to nothing if you drive above the regulated speeds.

R.I.P Hafidz, roll on Bro!