Volkswagen Jetta GLI

Do you think you’re staring at the sexy face of a Volkswagen Golf GTI?

Nope. Notice the different badge on the sporty honeycomb grille. It says GLI instead of GTI. This beauty is actually a Volkswagen Jetta GLI.

When I first saw this car I thought it was a Golf GTI as well, then I noticed it was a bit taller and it *gasp* had a boot! It has the same redesigned sporty bumper, the same honeycomb grille and the smoked headlamps. Even the sports rims are the same.

The Jetta GLI is powered by the same 2.0 FSI direct injection turbocharged engine found in the Golf GTI that makes 200hp and comes with a six-speed manual transmission. This combination allows the car to go from 0-100km/h in 6.7 seconds. Optionally, a six-speed DSG automatic is available.

DSG is a type of computer-controlled clutch manual transmission which employs twin-clutches for faster gearshifts.

I hope Wald Amazing Tempo brings in the CBU Volkswagen Jetta GLI here. I’m dying to see it on the road, or at least in showrooms. The car could do with a bit of lowering though. The gaps between the wheel and the wheel arch looks a bit big for a car which is supposed to carry a sporty look.

Has anyone noticed how the Volkswagen Jetta looks kind of similiar to our Toyota Corolla Altis?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jason on Aug 26, 2005 at 6:41 am

Looks cool!

• leecs on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:19 am

read about this car on the 2 months ago car and driver. the design is much much more nicer than the current SQUARE jetta now running all over the places in china.

i cant wait to see this on the road in china, the current one really ugly leh….

hmmmm hope this is one of the model that will come in to malaysia under partnership with proton…but then ….

*SIGH*

• Volkswagen is a china national car them.

• karheng on Aug 26, 2005 at 8:34 am

wow..looks lovely…is it coming in to Malaysia? if it is, I wonder how much…150k maybe? Buying this and the Mazda 6 will be a hard choice to make!

• not likely… golf gti is also 200k already.

• holy_cow on Aug 26, 2005 at 9:32 am

Okay, I don't know, really.

I'm a big big fan of the Mk V GTI (I wish the upcoming Golf R32 looked a bit more like it), which means I'm a big fan of the Jetta GLI too…from the front, that is. Turn it sideways and, well, I don't know, it just doesn't work in my eyes. Maybe it's the way it slopes forward, and the way the wheels don't sit easily with the rest of the thing. That boot just looks wrong!!!

The first time I saw it on Autoblog, I thought it was photoshopped. Heh.

• I kinda like how it slopes forward… looks ready to pounce!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 26, 2005 at 4:02 pm

Honestly I don't like the front, looks like F**king old bitch. And the Rear like TOYOTA Altis. But no doubt the quality feel will win my heart to buy it.

• Aris Tee on Aug 26, 2005 at 4:43 pm

lovely lovely car… loved the previous Bora, despite it's blandness. they're good cars, and there's the sense of security of knowing that it's actually a Golf with a boot. hope it comes too… lets keep our fingers crossed…

• Inevitable on Aug 26, 2005 at 4:55 pm

Well, if Volkswagen might bring them in under 150k if Proton agreed to the 'joint venture' or rather takeover … hehe

• adrian on Aug 26, 2005 at 5:07 pm

Need some info here. I dont really know well about the automotive industries but can someone tell me about what's been going on in VW? I read news they are going to close down, they are busts…IS it true? Why all these talks about takeover/JV with PRoton? I heard that because of these some of the VW GTIs price are lowered. Nobody wants to buy it already.

• No matter what, German auto makers are always the best when it comes to designs.

This VW Jetta is awesome!!

• I wonder why Japanese car design always looks easily outdated. Today it looks futuristic then several years later it looks like cheap car.

I think the Japanese designs their car to impress buyer in the showroom only, not when drives it and keep it for several years

• belacans on Aug 26, 2005 at 6:18 pm

it has to be cheaper than the Audi A4 which is starting from RM230k to RM260k (i think) for the turbo version.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:20 pm

Just to give you an example of WHY Japanese car ls not long lasting then German car.

I think it cause by HUMAN Visual effort, if I change the round shape slowly to square in few months or years. Not many ppls will notice the big different between ROUND and SQUARE. But on the other hand I show you two different type of shape in a second. You will notice.

German made cars will not have big changes for every year. Like MB C-class as example, it use to be the same for 8 to10 years only adding new sports rims or grills or colors. Minor change on bumpers or handles.

But JAPANESE always change the design almost every 2 to 3 years. And full change in Max. 5 years, therefore customers will not accept the old shape quickly. And this is also a Skills of Japanese Marketing their products.

Honestly, I still prefer German way cause make a great cars which can last for 10 years plus is still better to change shape all the time. As you may know if you do something in a harry, what do you expected to be good? Maybe just enough to complete the design and launch.

Did you get it? Maybe My explanation is a bit strange! But I guess this cause you feel Japanese styling not long lasting than German made. Anyone had different thought?

• Johnny Boy on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:35 pm

OMG, personally the design is outdated.

Basically, 2 types of styling:

1- aggresive

2- neutral/conservative

The first one is futuristic, up to date, eye catchy, targetted the youngsters, daring etc. Normally life span is short ie 2~3 yrs. Japs and Korean applies this concept.

Wherelse the Europs applies the 2nd one, which we can see their main car has a neutral look. This is to capture mass market/alotta customer and can sustain against time. Eg is BMW where their 3 series is for company profit and the Z3/Z9/6 series os for branding purposes.

A company can apply single or multiple approach to capture mass or niche mkt……

:)

• MutantTomato on Aug 26, 2005 at 8:16 pm

Dog the Wan: I agree you you, bro! :) If you look at Beemers and Mercs, they have been pretty consistent over the years in design. Only now have they started being a little more radical with their designs. But otherwise, its pretty much a standard design. This is even more evident in British deisgners. However, the problem with the Brits was they were too fixed with their designs.

Brits generally have a winning formula to do something and even though that formula becomes outdated with time, they refuse to change it. This applies with many other things besides cars. Medicine, education, etc. Take the MRCP (Specialist qualification for doctors) exam as an example. Doctors take this 1-2 years or more after they graduate. In the exam, questions asked include stuff you learned in PRE MED, which is 7 years ago or more! Whats the point of it? Well, its Brisith, so don't ask! :)

I remember reading an article about a very young Malaysia getting their first cars. Cars back then mostly came from Europe. They obviously had no aircons. We also had Datsuns here. The guys here tried convincing the Brits and others to put in aircons but they said "Never! These cars will be exactly as how they are made in our great land!" , or something like that. They refused to accept that we are a tropical country and need aircons. The first people to adapt an aircon into a car were from Datsun. Soon, Datsuns were outselling continental cars.

Why I said all that was to highlight the fact that sometimes, just sometimes, Japs and Asians listen more to the consumer than the Europeans do. But sometimes too, Europeans with their stubborness and fixed designs produce something wonderful that appeals to us more than the Asians. Then when we say its nice they reply, "Of course it is old chap! We are British; We are the best, by God!" :D

Hope someone out there gets what I'm rambling on about here! :D

• Best of both world : You want a Golf GTI with a boot, well now you got the Jetta. Kalau ada duit, memang boleh fikir untuk beli, but as it is, not enough money so just look with envy.

On the bright side, hopefully the business of VW buying some/all Proton stakes will indeed go through. VW will surely bring quality to their product ie the buying of Italian Supercar – Lamborghini. From flimsy Italian handiwork to nowadays German toughness with a dash of Italian flair/speed.

So Proton will be a German built solidity with Malaysian flair for cheapness…kakakaka

• narrowband on Aug 27, 2005 at 6:18 am

low profiles, man. damn nice.

• Do anyone said continental cars design are good and can sustained 8-10 years than Japanese cars between 2-3 years only? Wonder Proton is better than continental manufacturers. Proton saga design for 20 years (keta tank) and wira for 12 years. That's cool. :)