An alarm system that snaps photos

A team of 4 university students from York University have created an experimental project that could help identify car thieves or car accessory thieves at least.

They’ve developed an alarm system that uses tiny cameras that capture photos of the car’s surroundings whenever a sensor detects motion around the car. The system is pretty makeshift. For example, they used impact sensors from a toy inside a cereal box. The idea from this project came about when one of the team members, Mina Gendi’s car got vandalised.

Photos taken by the camera are stored in the car in a hard drive and also sent to the owner’s mobile phone, which I presume is via MMS.

Source: Globeandmail.com

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• High Oil Price on Sep 28, 2005 at 3:11 am

It looks rather complicated,and will cost a lot too…

Tiny camera,how much will the cost???rm1k++?

The Hard Disk..what's the storage capacity??1GB??lol

• E-Nabill on Sep 28, 2005 at 4:22 am

cannot work la,nt every invention is a great one i guess..can easily wear mask ,take milion photo oso nobody can tel who stole the car….

• well, it's meant to help whenever it can… not everyone's car has this alarm system installed

• hauzi on Sep 28, 2005 at 5:35 am

take the picture..?the thief still can hide their faces…

• aksMS on Sep 28, 2005 at 5:53 am

i dont think all car thieves wear masks. but if they will do they will start wearing it. haha….but at least those students did try something, didnt they? what have we all done so far? bashing up POTONG???

• narrowband on Sep 28, 2005 at 6:02 am

CCTV in carparks would save alot.

• michael lee on Sep 28, 2005 at 6:33 am

… maybe one way is to look at it as a " passive " alarm system i.e. instead of flashing lights, alarm, ignition cut off, etc.that can be immobilised quickly by the thief, this one quitely takes a photo of the interior and then sends it to your mobile. The advantage is that the thief does not know that this is happening, thus complementing the other alarm systems that you might have. Wonder whether these kinds of photos can be used in court tho'.( ? )

• kalen_XI on Sep 28, 2005 at 6:49 am

i tell u ppl..

THE BEST system..can never beat..MR.BEAN's Anti-theft system…

NO THEiVE can steal his car..

hahaha…jst remove the damm stereng…

• Mr Bean car is almost an anti-theft system itself. learn from him , get a really old car , maybe a beat-up nissan sunny and you wont need to worry bout car thieves

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 28, 2005 at 8:06 am

What's the point? We want to drive good cars , and you guys are encouraging the use of old cars?

I think I just found out the reason why Proton is still surviving at this time and date. Pessimists rule Malaysia.

• MutantTomato on Sep 28, 2005 at 8:07 am

Don't be dumb la! "The thieves will wear masks!" Yah! Right! Definitely! Think about it man! If you're going to commit a crime, would you do something to draw attention to yourself? Or would it be more prudent to try and "blend in?"

The reason why most thieves are successful in doing what they do is because no one actualy suspects them of not being the owner of the car they are intending to take. Don't think of a thief as scruffily dressed, with a red and white patterned hankie areound his mouth. If thats your perspective of a modern thief, you'd better stop watching those John Wayne westerns!

I mean seriously, think about it! If a thief covers his face while trying to steal a car, he might as well wear a bright orange overall with the words "I AM A THIEF!" in big bold letters on it. IF he steals at night, there is no need for a face cover as the darkness is his ally.

While I'm at it, let me narrate a true incident. Once, I was at my dad's clinic when this immculately dressed guy came in and asked if the doctor was in. He spoke in impeccable English mind you. I showed him in. Ten minutes later, my dad opened the door and rather gruffly, asked him to bugger off. Later, my dad told me that this guy is a druggie. He uses all sorts of excuses to get his anti-depressents. Trouble at work, being conned by business partners, family issues. However, they are indeed all excuses! He even masqueraded as my dad once! He went to some of the houses in the residential area behind my dad's clinic and said he was the doctor of the clinic. He needed to borrow some cash as his car had broken down. These people gave him the cash. Later that day, they came to the clinic to be reimbursed. Imagine their surprise AND my dad's when they and him find out the story…

• Heh… I tought the thieves will send someone really hot, sumthing like The Charlie's Angels To Steal the car… Hahaha After that, they even can pose… Hahahahahahaha…. They Should Put A Video Cam… To Learn The Technic How Does The Theives Stole Their Cars, And Get Used To It… Learn From Mistake… Make A Better Car… Hahaha

• Streamyx User on Sep 28, 2005 at 10:54 am

I believe this will work, most car thieves dont wear mask.

I'd rather DIY a electric shock with 30000v voltage, palce it under the cusion, unauthorized drivers nuts will be shocked and confirm have erictile disfunction, stress for the ress of their lives.

• aksMS on Sep 28, 2005 at 11:33 am

Streamyx User: Dude!! Dat will definitely roast them to death!! Oh, nevermind. Have no mercy for them. Muahahaha!

I think the spycam might work well. Imagine a thief break-in into ur car while u r having a meeting or something, suddenly u recieve an MMS alert of the thieve's photos (provided u have that). Then you can rush to the nearby police station and the police could caught the thieve red handed. Sounds promising though.

There's one incident in TTDI last March/April. Some guys (SOME) had a mass car stealing from the public car park. A couple of Mercs gone. But they left the Sorento's. One of the Sorento's is my cousin's. Kia cars have this mechanism that will prevent the car from bein stolen. Isn't that something or what?

Does that means Koreans are better than 'ZEE GERMANS'? Go figure!

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 28, 2005 at 2:58 pm

Camera take photo and send to owner?

The idea is good, but just where will you put your camera on the car? Inside and outside of the car?? How's reliable rainy day and dark at night? Flash light?? HA…ha….ha… Usually thieves like to attack your car at dark places and night times, small camera does not works under this conditions. Unless you install a CANON EOS nights shot special camera lah!!!

If you do install this CANON camera on your car, definately the theft will show you his CENTER FINGER and steal your CANON too. Wah…aha..ah……ha….!!

No way!!!

• eRis-Aeir4s, you're amazing man. the topic is about a new car security device, and the discussion has sidetracked to mr bean and how he stops people stealing his old car and you can still find a reason to bash up proton. just give it a rest lah, dont you get bored bashing proton? and the old car thing was meant as a joke.

but i think it will work. is RM1k+ expensive? i dont think so, some of the top end alarm systems in the market today, with no cameras cost about rm700-rm1500+. pinhole cameras today are cheap, with hard disk recorders getting cheaper all the time. its not rocket science.

but if the whole car gets stolen, your camera evidence ain't gonna help much.

why did the mercs get stolen and the kia left? easy, mercs are and always have been one of the most sought after cars for thieves. They also come with some of the best anti theft measures as standard equipment. its got nothing to do with security systems. No matter what you have in your car, if a thief wants it bad enough, they will get your car.

• aksMS on Sep 28, 2005 at 6:27 pm

DOG THE WAN: Come on la. Don't be short sighted. You know how to use Google, right? Have you even try to search it? Have you ever heard pinhole camera? They even made with night vision years ago. Mind you, the technologies nowadays move even faster than your trusted car. No offend thou. But being judgemental won't improve anything. It's the era of creation and innovation. Wake up!

Well Gary, it's true there's no so called carthieves-proof car, unless the car is guarded by a dozen bodyguard. Unless the thief is stupid enough of it's just some crap action movie. If they want it, they will get it somehow. But the question is why is it that when the country is moving forward with so many technologies being invented more cars got stolen? It really doesn't make sense there. What do you think?

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 28, 2005 at 8:10 pm

aksMS said,

September 28, 2005 @ 10:27 am

DOG THE WAN: Come on la. Don’t be short sighted. You know how to use Google, right? Have you even try to search it? Have you ever heard pinhole camera? They even made with night vision years ago.

Hei Bro! Night vision, can you see and judge the FACE of Thieves clearly? I don't think so. The police might say this picture are not clear, hard to indentify. Therefore, this concepts still not WORKS, agreed?

Unless apply the FLASH!!……..might be okay!

• stupid rafidah on Sep 28, 2005 at 10:17 pm

i thought we already have this type of alarm around ;cept that its passive

it just take pic of people around ur car when sensing danger and stores it in hard drive in the car

• confused on Sep 28, 2005 at 10:20 pm

aksms, we have so many cars stolen, probably because of our proximity to thailand, and indonesia. its so easy to dispose of stolen cars in those countries. the thing we should be questioning is, who is guarding our borders. do they have the resources to handle the job? or is there something else going on?

dog the wan, pinhole cameras today have surprisingly good quality. same goes for night vision. the same camera technology is used in our ATM machines today. the very same technology was also used to help crime syndicates steal atm passwords. If you're going to be using cameras to attempt to catch a criminal, of course you will use a camera with good image quality.

• michael lee on Sep 29, 2005 at 12:15 am

aksMS – good question. Maybe 3 main criteria required for a lower crime rate.

1. Respect for the Law.

2. Fear of the Law.

3. Enforcement of the Law.

… add to this, people always out for a quick buck, dubious good deals, and you get the situation where no alarm will be good enough … and we can even get confronted with a weapon in some quite car park – nothing can help us. As for me, I just keep on reminding myself that it can happen to me … and I try to be as careful as I can … and all this new technology can help … if I can afford it.

Good Luck one and all.

• hokkien lang. on Sep 29, 2005 at 7:55 am

streamyx user… u said put a 30000v under the seat as arlam… that's good..

but how it works?

i give u my idea… that system detact butt or i say your ass… .

waht happen if that lar-fitdah a.k.a iron lady a.k.a big butt sit in wrong car?

muah ha ha ha ha ha ha

• aksMS on Sep 29, 2005 at 9:27 am

well…hmmm…Paul, i hope u dont mind. guys, i know it has been a few days. i would like to tribute a moment of silence for the tragic departure of Micheal 'Beef' Park, co-driver to Markko Martin from team Peugeot in Rally GB. condolences to his family and friends. may he rest in peace.

• December on Sep 29, 2005 at 7:15 pm

I have got a better solution,, dont forking drive, use public transportation :D

Not enough of the petrol prices shooting sky high, now we have to put up with car theft that has been growing more rapidly than forkin mushrooms. Sooner or later petrol is going to cos like some RM 2 per litre, that would be the time drivers would choke on their balls. Malaysia is screwed up, very. Im disappointed :(, gotta ask the people who raise the petrol prices to go suck on an egg. Bastards

• foul words and emoticons/ smileys in one sentence is just too wierd.

anyways, just fit flame throwers around your car. Have em activated upon unauthorised entries. Sounds like a good idea.

• Ahmad Haziq on Sep 30, 2005 at 2:06 am

read this: "Photos taken by the camera are stored in the car in a hard drive and also sent to the owner’s mobile phone, which I presume is via MMS.". If the car got stolen then why do the camera send the picture to the hard drive in the car? :P

• Mina Gendi on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:42 am

Ohhhh mannn… that was my group project, good days :)