One Citizen, One AP?

I will quote a report from MalaysiaKini and let you guys comment what you need to comment. Mohd Nazri is a Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, and also the MP for Padang Rengas.

Mohd Nazri said based on the list, ordinary people did not know that every Malaysian citizen is entitled to one AP in a lifetime.

I would like to know how I can apply to my one AP in my lifetime that I am entitled to. I hope he does not mean Student AP, which requires me to study abroad and own a vehicle there first, where in this context the MPs that received APs did not require to do.

Edit: The Student AP I mentioned doesn’t necessarily mean for students, I just didn’t have any other name to call it. I was refering to the type of AP where a Malaysian abroad can use to bring their overseas-owned car in after returning to Malaysia permanently.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yhtan on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:49 am

wah….sure or not?

everybody deserve a AP in a lifetime……

i didn't heard tat before

• wiraone on Oct 05, 2005 at 4:06 am

There is no such thing as Student AP.. If you're working or staying abroad(LEGALLY) for more than 9 months, you could apply for one… provided that you buy your car in the country that you're residing 9 months or longer before you go back home for good. All details can be found in MITI/custom websites.

• E-Nabill on Oct 05, 2005 at 4:22 am

i wonder y such a major info has been kept so secretivly from the public…or maybe ppls APs have been sold to thse ppl in amazing tempo or naza??? or simply…Mohd Nazri is jus bluffing jus to make the case more controversioal??as far as i know,thrs no such ting in the malasyia constitution that says every citizen is entitled to one ap per life time…

• what AP of lifetime! buy a coffin o what, stupid concept not for all Malaysians n can't help Malaysian much only help stupid people that alive in Malaysia. worst then paralyse people.!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 5:12 am

Is it? Then I would want to use my 'Entitled AP' and import a Ferrari at dead cheap price. Lol , that would be around 400k , Still a dream . Hahaha.

• Streamyx User on Oct 05, 2005 at 5:56 am

Wow I'm already sick to the stomach with this AP thingy. When is it going to end? Please la fire that RAPOOOODAH. END OF STORY. Start with new management.

• Chapree Da Grande on Oct 05, 2005 at 6:06 am

One AP per citizen?

It's either i sell my AP to somebody or bought a niceeeeee import car.

But then, tax still the same sky high amount. T_T

• If every guy in MY got one AP, then we wouldnt be so damn susah.

Screw rafidah, we dont need this AP system. It is corrupt, feudal, and most of all totally pointless except to those who reap the benefits from it (at almost no cost at all).

so where does the 'good for the people' part come in? For the ppl who got AP of course, and most of the time ppl who dont need it, get it. If malaysia is to improve its economy and global status this BITCH need to wake the hell up and realise people who depend on the government cannot improve and cannot learn.

racial issues aside, chinese people work so hard, but bumi get all the benefit. We dont need it, but because we work hard. Im sure they deserve it because of their heritage, but essentially it is a stepping stone, not a goddamn golden pillar to lie onto forever.

Im sorry, Dr M, Abdullah+++etc, but this rafidah needs to go. the PEOPLE are tired of her BULLSHIT.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 8:01 am

swee : Totally agree. *Hands down*

Racial issues aside , The ACA should some investigations , More investigation , until the issue is cleared.

• FiveElements on Oct 05, 2005 at 8:53 am

ACA??? HUH???? What ACA???

There are so many scandal out there. The Customer Officer Rm 5 Mil retirement farewell and AP issues.

But where is ACA??? Anyone in ACA commented at all? Nothing has been done at all!!!

Its just sad. Malaysians are just not that stupid. sigh…….

• wiraone on Oct 05, 2005 at 9:10 am

Nah, you guys were too busy bashing Proton and government .. this info is in www.customs.gov.my and here is the link:

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/eng/kenderaan.asp?…

And again.. you do not need to be a student ..

Any Malaysian studying or working abroad have to meet several criteria listed below before they are considered eligible to apply for an import licence (AP) in bringing back their vehicles. The criteria are :

1. Applicant must have legally stayed abroad for a minimum of one year.

2. The vehicle must be registered and insured under the applicant's name

for at lease nine months.

3. Applicant must have a valid driving license (temporary/probationary licence not accepted).

4. Applicant returns to Malaysia permanently after completing his

studies or working stint overseas.

Individuals not conforming to the above criteria are not to bring back their

vehicles. If such an event occurred, MITI will not be liable to approve the

import license applied, even if the vehicle has already arrived on Malaysian

shore. The individual will even have to deal with Customs, whereby legal

action will be taken against the vehicle's owner for importation without an

AP. This regulation also applies to :

1. Government officers furthering their studies overseas.

2. Husbands, wives and children of staff serving the Malaysian Embassies/

High Commissions and representatives.

3. Malaysian students overseas.

4. Malaysian citizens who work and stay overseas.

• E-Nabill on Oct 05, 2005 at 10:00 am

did u guys heard wat rafidah said in parliment today??i cant belive she always get away with it…her answers are so vague…y isnt thr somebody pressing n squeezing here to talk,this is not fair for us…btw,im nt trying to talk politics here…jus feeling the injustice

• wingz on Oct 05, 2005 at 11:50 am

AP birday to me!!! AP birday to me !!!

• An AP doesnt have much value to you and me..so what if you get it. Please be clear that getting an AP does NOT equal exemption from tax!

Youd just be getting the RIGHT to import a car, and then when you get it into Malaysia, customs will still tax you! + your shipping costs and tax

ITS MORE EXPENSIVE!

Better buy from dealer.

Aiyah lots of people complain without understanding exactly why…

• biothing on Oct 05, 2005 at 2:57 pm

Now that wiraone has opened up the ways for all of us aspiring to be a mini AP King by bringing one car into the country using AP. He He.

Paul, did nyou notice that The Edge has an extensive coverage on Amazing Tempo businesses on WALD etc on Oct 4 (last week). I came across it only today, via online the edge.

(Link)

I hope the link works.

These people in auto industry are all linked! Naza, Syed Azman, Glen Teh now that Chairman of Amazing Tempo (Tunku Zainol) speaks. Now he is the real benevolent AP King, trying to make tune up cars available to the middle income group.

Perhaps this is the time for Proton Tune Up!!

But of course, we want hybrid (repeat many times)

• GuyintheGlass on Oct 05, 2005 at 8:33 pm

Importing a car via the AP once you have owned it for more than 9 months overseas is definitely cheaper than buying a similar car from a dealer who sells AP imported car. These dealers make a huge profit (even if they did not under-declare the value of the car) from selling AP imported cars. But to realise the benefit, you'll have to buy a big car like Mercedes, not a proton equivalent.

• Just read the newspaper this morning.

How could rafidah get away with this? Im not accusing her of anything, but she doesnt even answer the question.

FYI some DAP dude was asking her about the APs her son in law had in possesion and how he came to terms of owning it. His case was apparently brushed aside by some higher authorities bla bla bla (citing that since rafidah was present an investigation was not needed as she was there to answer the question, which she obviously didnt)

Im not going to go into details but thats pretty much the story, look into the news.

the ppl are losing confidence her abilities and judgement. Even if she is not a crony she is still goddamned stupid (note the Even).

next time i marry i also hope for AP as wedding present ^-^ ccb knn

Malaysia Boleh lar…….

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 06, 2005 at 7:22 pm

semua main cakap jugak. serupa macam itu ahli parlimen jugak.

knows little fact, talk rubbish like knowing everything.

• Deodorant on Oct 06, 2005 at 9:42 pm

The overseas AP thing is no big deal. My uncle brought his Benz back when he moved back here a few years ago. He still had to pay tax, admittedly it was lower because it wasn't a new car. My brother is considering bringing his Boxster back using the AP as well after his work contract expires, but the price difference after considering taxes and duties pretty much only cuts out "middle-man (dealer)" profit, it's not some magic "one tax-free car per person" like some people might think.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 07, 2005 at 4:02 pm

Hei Deodorant,

May I know how their charge your uncle Benz tax based on what values?

I means if Benz brand new is RM300k in Malaysia but in Japan brand new only RM140K and after used for 4 years the price drop to RM70K at Japan.

so, If I bought it RM70K and send it back. How the custom calculate the Tax?

RM140K or RM70K or another scale which based on Malaysia depreciation scale or something….else.

How to apply it? I means must fly back to Malaysia (face to face meeting) to get a forms before sending the car or need to submit it before sending the car back? How to apply?

Need your further explanation if you know. Thanks!

• leuco on Oct 07, 2005 at 6:09 pm

no idea dog..

• this is the official calculation from:

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/eng/kenderaan.asp?…

Vehicle Type : BMW Model 735iAL/ 2003

Engine Capacity (CC) : 4,999 cc

Purchase Price : Euro 36,277.84 (Euro 36,277.84 x RM4.5562 = RM165,289.09)

Freight : RM1,500.00

Insurance : RM826.45

Customs Value = RM165,289.09 + RM1,500.00 + 826.45 = RM167,615.53

Import Duty = Customs Value x Import Duty Rate (changes according to Budget)

RM167,615.53 x 200% = RM335,231.06

Excise Duty = Customs Value x Excise Duty Rate (chnages according to Budget)

RM167,615.53 x 100 % = RM167,615.53

Sales tax = Customs Value + Import Duty + Excise Duty

RM167,615.53 + RM335,231.06 + RM167,615.53 = RM670,462.12

Total = RM670,462.12 x 10% = RM67,046.21

Total amount of customs duties to be paid = RM 569,892.80

So for a 165k car, you pay 570k tax/duties – 165 + 570 = 735k total price

choose a cheaper car, less Cc, will still be a ridiculous price to pay.

if you BOUGHT your car at 70k, then tax/duties is 138k. 138 + 70 = 208k

(not including shipping costs + a few k more)

208k for a 4 year old benz??

Its just not worth it.

• btw i calculated the above using the current rate for duties for cars over between 1.8 > 2 litres

import = 50%

excise = 120%

if the benz has higher Cc – more expensive.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 10, 2005 at 5:47 pm

Thank you Kboy!

So, even we all had an AP once a life time, still not worth to buy an import car rights? I am wondering why MPs all buy one or even more? No taxes to them??

Will you believed that they bought Merz or BMW all engine under 2000cc, what a joke!!

F**k them man!!

• lol… indeed. could be anything, underdeclare…..

• tangwengheng on Nov 08, 2010 at 12:50 pm

hi, paul. how can i bring in a car to msia from uk upon completion of studies there?

• Munusamy Patchai on Mar 27, 2011 at 12:13 am

I have been working in India for >05 years for the Airline. I intend to buy a Honda City 1.5 or a Honda Jazz 1.6.
    Since I will be needing a car for my employment, I need a car for my duty travel. Let’s say if I want to bring back the either of the car to Malaysia, I am a Malaysian.

Honda City 1,5 costs approx, INR 110,00000.00 Rupees and Honda Jazz costs approx, INR 80,00000.00 Rupees.

Could somebody please calculate how much I have to pay the Malaysian (all duties inclusive.)

Please anybody, respond to my query.

Thank you very much

Munusamy Patchai (Mumbai – Jetairways – India)