2007 Subaru B9 Tribeca

tribeca1.jpg

Subaru unveiled this facelifted version of it’s luxury SUV Subaru B9 Tribeca at the 2006 Chicago Auto Show recently. This is Subaru’s entry into a more upmarket segment of the automotive market, after spending years in the rally sports sedan market with it’s Impreza. I think it’s safe to say the B9 Tribeca was designed for the SUV-crazy American market.

tribeca2.jpg

So what’s changed in this 2007 model since the previous Subaru B9 Tribeca? The engine and drivetrain remains the same, maybe because they were already fantastic to begin with. The B9 Tribeca has a 3.0 litre DOHC 6-cylinder flat boxer engine making 245 horsepower and runs on Subaru’s Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive technology. The 6-cylinder boxer is mated to a 5-speed SPORTSHIFT automatic transmission.

There are some minor external facelifts in the form of a new Special Edition package which equips the B9 Tribeca with a new mesh-grille and chromed wheels. But I think no form of enhancements to the grille can save the look of the car. I really dislike the new Subaru corporate nose. They say with every strange design you’ll grow onto it and start to like it. Seems to be true for Bangle’s new BMW designs but has anyone warmed up to Subaru’s new “aircraft-inspired” corporate nose yet?

The suspension has also been revised to deliver a smoother ride, not just the front and rear shocks but also the strut bars and stabilizer bars. The touch-screen navigation system option will now come with a rear vision camera to help with parking the huge SUV.

In the safety department, there is a new Vehicle Rollover Sensor System which detects a potential rollover situation and deploys the side curtain airbags. Seatbelt pre-tensioners are also adjusted in the event of any potential collision.

tribeca3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wai (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 12:22 am

may i say this would be the SUV of the year? got the looks,quality and power

• alexng (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 2:54 am

another Cayenne lookalike, has go but no show. ugly exterior with the headlamps and grille. the interior is nice though

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 4:43 am

i cant believe the mngment agreed to ok the front design…its a horror! bt the interior is a beauty although if u notice it definalty compromised the knee room

• shaun (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 6:27 am

Well fellas,

I guess we all better start getting used to the nose since it's Subaru's new corporate face. The only thing i like about this car is its name.

I've personally sat inside the B9 Tribeca at this years Melbourne Motor show and i can safely say that the leg room is fine with the dash a breath of fresh air in terms of design.

Cheers

• KingKong (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 8:56 am

hope under new management (Toyota), they will make a new facelift.

the grill is okay but the headlight combination with the grill too ugly!

• DAN (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 9:26 am

ya . is nice car. tum up.

• endlessrain (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 10:05 pm

the front grill is reassemble an aircraft with its wing spread which remind that subaru began as a aircraft manufactures

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 1:10 am

trust me, the Impreza looked better with the grille. this one looks horrid, not the middle one (not nice , but still can tahan), but the sides! omG… it looks like a badly drawn concept car… lovely "spread my wings" interior though.

ps: the cayenne is nice imho… :)

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 6:08 am

finally it's working. no..im just talking about comments here. i sent two comments this morning and none of em appears. hehe…

well, as for this particular SUV, i have to agree with raptorclans. the 'winged' grille really looks off….way off. if they just leave the center grille it wont look too ugly to me, at least. maybe they were afraid that it might look too much like the cayenne if they remove the 'wing'.

but the tail design reminds me of an Alfa a bit, especially the tail lights, rear wind screen, the lines, the shape….but it's nice thou. the interior somehow does complement the "subaru was once an aircraft manufacturer" concept. just look at the silver lining…silverhawk anyone? hehehe

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:04 pm

EEEEWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!

That face still looks like it's been rammed straight into the wall flat-out…

Even though Subaru wants it's corporate "aeroplane" design, the should do something better.

Goodness, becausse of the new nose, the Version 9 Impreza looks like sh** now. If it wasn't for the BMW 5-Series like eyes, it's a piece of junk in the market now…