Chevrolet Aveo gets thumbs down from Euro NCAP

The latest round of Euro NCAP tests was not very favourable for the Chevrolet Aveo, a rebadged Daewoo Kalos. Among all the cars in the latest batch of tests which included the Kia Cerato, Peugeot 207 and Alfa Romeo 159, the Chevy Aveo was singled out for unacceptably high risk of injury to the driver’s chest.

The car received 2 stars in the passanger protection area, and another “struck through” star. For pedestrian safety, it got 2 stars and it scored 3 stars for the child protection area. The crash tests were done at 64km/h.

“There is a clear difference emerging between those car manufacturers who are trying to improve the protection their cars offer to pedestrians and those who still see that as a low priority. When cars can achieve creditable results without any advanced technology, there is no excuse for the very low levels of performance we have seen in this phase,” says Euro NCAP Chairman Claes Tingvall.

As for the rest, the Alfa Romeo 159 scored pretty well, it managed to get a 5 star EuroNCAP rating together with the Peugeot 207.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 12:22 pm

paul , any link regarding NCAP testing to our beloved savvy and gen2??

some AW forumers claim savvy scored 4…anyting to prove that?

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 4:32 pm

NCAP………how do they test it? i am curious la.

• thorrel (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 4:55 pm

PaulTan,

I believe you kinda put the wrong image for Chevy Aveo. The one they tested was the sedan version.

I checked at http://www.euroncap.com, there is only Proton Impian. I don't see any other Proton and Perodua in list.

:)

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 5:22 pm

Ditto…. i even heard they were saying that it took too much time to develope becoz of trying to score high marks on TUV stuffs…. again off topic.

• Dinozilla (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 5:23 pm

to Initial D,

use a drag to pull the car…with dummy doll inside….

hit to a wall at a designated speed….

apply sensor in the car….critical positions….and on the doll as well….

receive reading from the sensor….

anaylse…..see how big the impact…..

jz googling "EuroNCAP" and u ll know

• Driven2020 (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 6:23 pm

It says three stars here.

http://www.cyberjawa.com/modules.php?name=News&am…

• bummerboy (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 6:32 pm

nonsense, savvy was never tested by NCAP

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 6:37 pm

savvy never been tested, hehe, maybe savvy TOO HARD.

when testing for NCAP, savvy was crashed into the wall……..not only savvy din change shape, but the wall breaks down……it must hv shock the officials to get heart attack……

hehehe, they oso malu to say the result, so just say "got error, can't test properly"

ahak ahak….

just kidding!!!!!! CHEERS!!!!

• Paul Tan on Mar 03, 2006 at 6:49 pm

Driven2020: 2 stars and 1 struck-through star.

• El Goodoo (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 8:39 pm

Driven2020 said,

March 3, 2006 @ 10:23 am

It says three stars here.

http://www.cyberjawa.com/modules.php?name=News&am…

————————————————————–

wow… cyber jawa…

networking jawa sedunia..

hehe

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 06, 2006 at 3:32 pm

savvy is already on sale in the UK. I believe if an NCAP test has not been done, you cant sell the car there right?