Bristol Fighter – 1012hp, 1400Nm

bristol1.jpg

Bristol Cars is a small speciality manufacturing company based in the UK, which until recently had two offerings – the Bristol Fighter and the Bristol Fighter S. Both cars use a 8 litre V10 sourced from Chrysler, and is based on the Dodge Viper’s engine. The Fighter makes 525hp at 5,600rpm and 698Nm of torque at 4,200rpm, and the S variant makes 628hp, which increases to 660hp at high speed due to ram air, something like a mild forced induction. The coupe has a slightly retro look to it, and has gullwing doors.

Now, the 8 litre V10 has two turbochargers slapped onto it, resulting in a monster that makes 1012hp and 1400Nm of torque – this paired together with it’s roughly 1,400kg weight and a 0.28Cd drag coefficient gives you a 0-100km/h acceleration time of less than 3.5 seconds, and an amazing top speed of 435km/h.

No more than 20 Bristol Fighters variants are built every year, so if you have ALOT of money (over 230,000 Pounds I think, that’s 1.6 million ringgit without tax), you might want to consider this for the max power and the extra exclusivity!

bristol2.jpg

bristol3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 4:51 pm

Is this car even driveable? 1400Nm will turn those rear wheels to goo before the car goes anywhere.

I have raced with Viper SRT-10s and GTSs on the drag strip and even they have touble getting the power down on traction "glue" they put on the drag strip. My AWD will win off the launch but they would catch up by the 1/8 mile marker and sail past to a 12s 1/4 mile pass.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 5:04 pm

The car's roofline looks retro, like the classic fastbacks, but what I like most is the front, reminds me of a Smart ForFour. The performance numbers are very impressive too, but too much for road use I think.

• drM (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:14 pm

I notice they having gullwing doors, is it? aitt??? got some more people love the old classic door nowadays aa? but 3 cheers for them for the effort and the NUCLEAR BOMB POWER they've got!!

• nmh (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 8:03 pm

just like its brother blenheim, fugly

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 8:22 pm

sitt in in this car look like STUPID (sitting on the rear wheel).

CHEAPO kit car face..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 9:20 pm

one of d crapy exotic cars still exist tday….f**king crap dis car…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 4:29 am

You should spend your hard-earned £££ on something more practical and reliable…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 6:21 am

Great performance? I'm not sure about that……

Nice design? Certainly not……

Top speed of 435km/h? I don't need that kind of speed……

Beaten the top speed record of Bugatti Veyron? I don't care……

RM1.6m without tax? I rather get a Porcshe 997, Ferrari F430 or even Lamborghini Gallardo to drive around in Penang……

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 7:21 am

VW/bugatti engineers might be going damm that was cheaper to make :P

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 9:27 am

Well…an Englishman might slap you if you say the Bristol is rubbish. Come on guys, give some face to our penjajah. They need something exciting to plod around in their villages. they are bored of their penny farthings anyway.

Interesting when one of you quipped that the car copied the Smart ForFour.

Now, there is never enough power when it comes to RWD. No matter how good an AWD is, a powerful RWD is still very exciting and fun, of course if you have the money to buy a lot of tyres and if the roads are dry that is.

RWD is all about fun. Nothing beats the feeling when you know the rear wheels are squirming to find grip, or how you powerslide out of a corner. With smoke, the effect is even better. An AWD will definitely go faster around the corners but well, the ERL is fast too but its boring.

• iwannaqualityproton (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 12:07 am

this bristol car has eversince been this kind of price, its pricey than any other car way better than it..which i believe why i never bump into any since i live in UK for so long..dont give face to our penjajah..ahaha

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 3:52 am

is there a gearbox 4 it ?

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 10:36 am

1.6 million for this?!?!?!….. NEXT!!!

• xXx (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:05 am

230000 pounds…..quite a bargain when compared to the Veyron. But in logical sense it should be more expensive. Much much more. Not for the excess power. It's ugliness.