Enjoy this funny recorded footage of accidents that happen with this weird pole thing that comes out from the ground and closes lanes. Anyone know the usage of these poles though? Video after the jump.
After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.
I think these poles are used in bus lanes in the UK. They protrude from the road to prevent private cars from entering the bus lanes. If you notice, when buses pass by, they don't rise, but when a private car pass by, the pole will automatically rise. Quite an interesting idea to be implemented here in Malaysia.
The poles are to prevent cars from entering into restricted pedestrian areas in UK city centres. Buses are exempt, mail vans are also allowed in as are ambulances and so on. Normal cars, vans, etc that are not authorised will not be allowed in.
It's a very simple but clever idea – the poles respond to transponders installed in the authorised cars and when a bus/mail van/ambulance is nearby, the signal it gives out activates the poles to retract and allow them access. Normal cars/vans cannot send out the signal hence the poles remain up. The stupid buggers who try to follow the bus/mail van through just found out the reaction times of the poles are so much faster than them! Ha! Ha! Ha! LOL!
UK has a similar thing for traffic lights, if ambulances or police cars are near to a set of traffic lights, they will automatically chnage colours to ensure smooth traffic flow for the direction that teh ambulance/police car is travelling….
British ingenuity and stupidity all into one, if they had this is Malaysia it wouldn't work because someone will steal the poles, steal the receivers or it will break down after 3 weeks operation.
LOL! I recommend this to be use in Malaysia. You all know how we have so many arrogant drivers (not just mat rempits). And that will include me at times. Hehe. That's steep price to pay for stupidity and being arrogant.
you guys will not want these poles to be installed in malaysia… cos it's gonna cost the taypayer millions!!!! …probably it will cost few hundred thousand per pole….
i dont tink the black kia driver could see that there was poles there and the airbags went off and he hit his head. Anyways, why would someone wanna drive in a bus lane?
are these poles suitable for mat rempits? lol
Maybe Malaysia should build horizontal pole to stop mat rempit. Haha.
I think these poles are used in bus lanes in the UK. They protrude from the road to prevent private cars from entering the bus lanes. If you notice, when buses pass by, they don't rise, but when a private car pass by, the pole will automatically rise. Quite an interesting idea to be implemented here in Malaysia.
if the pole and penetrate the mat rempit bike+their private part…that's so so cool!!!!
The poles are to prevent cars from entering into restricted pedestrian areas in UK city centres. Buses are exempt, mail vans are also allowed in as are ambulances and so on. Normal cars, vans, etc that are not authorised will not be allowed in.
It's a very simple but clever idea – the poles respond to transponders installed in the authorised cars and when a bus/mail van/ambulance is nearby, the signal it gives out activates the poles to retract and allow them access. Normal cars/vans cannot send out the signal hence the poles remain up. The stupid buggers who try to follow the bus/mail van through just found out the reaction times of the poles are so much faster than them! Ha! Ha! Ha! LOL!
UK has a similar thing for traffic lights, if ambulances or police cars are near to a set of traffic lights, they will automatically chnage colours to ensure smooth traffic flow for the direction that teh ambulance/police car is travelling….
severe punishment,!
money for tow truck..
good spot to repair tyre puncture when one lost car jack, or spraying antirust.
(but pity a family with a baby, quite an impact)
kesian tat iveco truck driver. he actually hit n broke d windscreen
dumb accidents
brilliant idea
love to see a mat rempit hit these things and be thrown right through the pearly gates and across God's breakfast table.
then my life would be complete.
fifth gear once featured about this pole technology thing. they even tested overrun it using a big truck and guess what… the pole stood still.
British ingenuity and stupidity all into one, if they had this is Malaysia it wouldn't work because someone will steal the poles, steal the receivers or it will break down after 3 weeks operation.
buy a truck and pass thru it? Steam roller?
I think its dangerous though.. They should have put a signage or something..
The SUV's airbags deployed and the van's driver hit the windscreen! OUCH!! lol..
clear 'no entry' sinage there. at the begining of the clip.
wow ! that is so cool ! ! !
could the pole move a little faster so that the car will be able to do a wheely in mid air ???
LOL! I recommend this to be use in Malaysia. You all know how we have so many arrogant drivers (not just mat rempits). And that will include me at times. Hehe. That's steep price to pay for stupidity and being arrogant.
They should install it at bus stop in between SOGO and Pertama Complex so that the bus lane will not be jammed up by cars anymore.
If these poles were implemented in Malaysia, that video would be at least an hour long.
they actually have that pole in melaka, but not on public road. it's designd to only let lorry pass by.
ah? really ah? melaka got this? oso go up and down automatically? i wonder who controls the pole??? izit self controlled?
i really hope to see this implemented in malaysia especially for those illegals car parkers… haha…!!!
you guys will not want these poles to be installed in malaysia… cos it's gonna cost the taypayer millions!!!! …probably it will cost few hundred thousand per pole….
well..
i dont tink the black kia driver could see that there was poles there and the airbags went off and he hit his head. Anyways, why would someone wanna drive in a bus lane?