Happy CNY to all: Firecracker Worries

Happy Chinese New Year of the Boar to everyone. Hope you had a good time. Me? For personal reasons, there’s not much celebrations going on except for the exchanging of ang pows, plus my internet chose to be down the entire festive season. The last time my internet died was during Hari Raya. I see a pattern here.

Every Chinese New Year, I am unable to rest without fidgeting around and worrying about my cars. You see, I happen to live in a neighbourhood where most of my neighbours are young parents with little kids. They play lots of firecrackers. While I am not against this, there has been an occasion in the past where fire crackers hit my Nissan Sunny. No compensation was given, and when advised to go play their fire crackers in a playground just down the road, the advice was ignored. Now I am constantly reparking my Proton Perdana and a press car BMW 130i M Sport, especially the latter, further down the road and inside my house whenever I hear firecrackers.

Has any of you had this problem? Has fireworks and firecrackers damaged your car? Do you have the same fears that I do, or am I just weird? I think my paranoia is justified, as it HAS happened before. What do you do with these kind of neighbours?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• drgn86 (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 6:16 am

It's the parents' fault for not guiding their children properly. You should ask them to play somewhere else, like in the park where there's nothing that can be damaged….maybe except some grass or trees hehe

• Paul Tan on Feb 21, 2007 at 6:18 am

Sometimes although you point the firecrackers away, it might just fly astray to somewhere you didn't intend for it to go.

• drgn86 (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 6:26 am

That's true…. That's why some people can be hurt unintentionally. Forgot to wish you, well happy cny to you too.

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 6:27 am

H C N Y to paul, gonna heard the test drive of 130i soon.

• w_lighter (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 7:00 am

Ahem… a 3 liter car hard to sell in m'sia.. haha

• ahoklah (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 7:17 am

Had one experience when a rocket from a neighbouring house came down on top of my father-in law's car and left a small dent.

he let it go even though he was annoyed. I won't have been that forgiving – especially if my car was a Mercedes too.

• apek (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 7:31 am

Aiyo…. Paul. Just move out loh… What kampung u r from? Over here in Klang Valley – very quiet.

• Paul Tan on Feb 21, 2007 at 7:32 am

Cheras.

• armandd (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 7:42 am

paul, maybe u can cover your cars with big ponchos or something. at least u have some protection.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 1:39 pm

Happy CNY to you, Paul. I just got back from Hatyai last night, the CNY celebration there is a lot more happening compared to my hometown… which is KL… LOL

I definitely do not like the fact that parents are not keeping a watchful eye on their kids playing firecrackers… The Thais are much more careful when it comes to playing firecrackers, at least that's what I saw in Hatyai… It's hard to believe that the Thais are more civic-minded than Malaysians…

Oh, btw, saw a really cool pick-up truck which I was there… The Chevy Colorado… Phew, what a HOT truck…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 6:50 pm

cover the car lo! but its really ritating..n those who do it usually do it so late at nite…totally inconsiderate….wat to do…have to tahan n show a happy face !

• RM (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 10:37 pm

These days the firecrackers or rather rockets go up and up and real fast too and almost certainly disentegrate in the upper atmosphere. Rarely have I encountered damage to public property – but I can imagine should rascals ever launch them horizontally in which case even as tough built a BMW is, one hit from these "maniacal rockets" i'll bet the poor beemer will do a "jerry bruckheimer" backflip. I have to admit i'm guilty of enjoying the illegal launches and believe me when I say that one can actually get a quite a "rush" from them and since I dont have the privilege of a "driving rush" from say an M3 or even a 130i (lucky Paul Tan) , guess i'll be looking forward to those "illegal" Aidil Fitri and CNY rockets.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 11:30 pm

What i do is i play back the firework infront of their house just to remind their parents that it is not sheer "30 minutes pleasure, but its a lifetime responsibility………" buat anak sedap, jaga anak tak mau……….hehehe,Paul happy imlek celebration ( the way indonesian greet it…meaning CNY loh…….)

• d720 (Member) on Feb 22, 2007 at 12:37 am

i would blame it on the parents.

does insurance cover it?

i thot fire crackers are banned in malaysia?

• albagmane (Member) on Feb 22, 2007 at 5:11 am

yea i hate those who don play their fireworks wisely and irresponsibly… they are disgusting and humanless thought!

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 22, 2007 at 5:50 am

w_lighter said,

February 20, 2007 @ 11:00 pm

Ahem… a 3 liter car hard to sell in m’sia.. haha

———————————————————————

Esp since it's one of the ugliest car since Juara. 1-series? Eww…..

Paul, how abt covering the car with those silverish cloth cover……dunno what's it called edi, lol. Or if u're rly wanna save, just staple some old newspapers together and cover the car with it instead.

• Kusa (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 4:19 am

Well Paul you can park the BMW at my house indefinitely, you're welcome.

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 26, 2007 at 9:08 am

take the bmw on a road trip across msia and come back after the 15th day of cny