Hyundai i30 photos leaked ahead of Geneva

hyundai_i30_1.jpg

While Kia’s new cee’d series looks absolutely gorgeous, by Korean standards of course, and truly shows their advancement in the automtive industry… the same can’t be said of it’s group sibling Hyundai. The Hyundai i30 is based off the previously showcased Arnejs concept, and it has ended up looking like a mere rebadged version of the Kia cee’d with elements of Mazda 3 side profile, BMW 1-Series plus Mitsubishi Colt rear and a Honda Accord front grille thrown in to differentiate it from the original. It’s not that it looks bad, it actually looks nice, but that Accord grille rip-off is just too blatant.

Engines will include 3 petrol powered engines – a 1.4 109Hp, a 1.6 122Hp and a 2.0 143Hp, as well as 3 diesels for those who love mega torque oil burners – 1.6CRDi 90hp, 1.6CRDi 115Hp and 2.0 CRDi 140Hp. This is the same as the Kia cee’d range.

Two more photos after the jump.

hyundai_i30_2.jpg

hyundai_i30_3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• J (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 8:15 am

Design wise is very nice… but I heard Korean cars in general do not last very long. Wear and Tear is faster than most Japanese cars. Even Proton last longer.

Any Korean cars owners who can share their experience with their 2 to 3 years old Korean makes ?

• narrowband (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 9:35 am

The rear (backside) curve really reminds me of BMW 1 series.

Other than that, I think this is not bad at all.

• ed0r (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 3:30 pm

The front esp the H part looks like the 2007 Honda Civic!

• gearknobz (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 5:14 pm

Quote from J "Design wise is very nice… but I heard Korean cars in general do not last very long. Wear and Tear is faster than most Japanese cars. Even Proton last longer."

You have to redefine you thought about korean's car after this.Here in UK Kia is offering 7 years warranty for those who buy KIA Ceed.

Maybe they are over confidefent?Maybe not?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 5:20 pm

Impressive looking car. Would be great if this could be a sporty and youthful replacement of Hyundai Matrix. The current one looks too family car-like.

The design looks like a mix of genes from various cars, like Honda Accord, Ford Focus, BMW 1 series (Especially the rear door and side profile aka twisted metal BMW style).

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 5:34 pm

The back reminds me of the 2nd generation Fiat Punto. Side profile is definitely similar to the Mazda 3 hatchback.

• L7 (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 6:08 pm

this car looks cool though not as beautiful as its cousin cee'd. IMO korean car standard nowadays are acceptable both in qualities and reliability, they even came out with impressive design, something that are not expected from them long ago

• khimfoh (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 6:25 pm

Bears a striking resemblance to the Opel/Vauxhall Astra

• Hikaru (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 6:26 pm

Hyundai Coupe was already an indication of their capabilities in the design department as it was said to be a mimic from a Ferrari 456GT. Of course we all know it is a far cry from a Ferrari, but if flattery is the best complement, it only serves to say how well the others have faired and how much Hyundai wants to be like them.

Maybe Hyundai need to step out of this world and lock themselves up until they come up with something new, something wholly original, something that marks and distinct themselves in terms of as "Hyundai" and not by copying/mimicking.

Korea cars have come a long way and IMHO their quality is just above acceptable and technology is a still a few steps behind. Nonetheless, Koreans are willing to change and do what it takes to be the best. Driven say we say. Something the local car maker lacks.

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 7:09 pm

So Hyundai just mix n match Myvi, Civic, 1-series, n A-class, then it became nice? Seriously la……I'm nt impressed, esp since it has an element of one of the ungliest cars after Juara — 1-series–.

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 7:20 pm

Indeed, but the faint resemblance of 1-series is something I cannot tolerate. It's just too fugly. And with that Myvi eyes, gosh, be original plz…….

• 8918 (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 7:45 pm

Looks very nice,powerfull engine,will it make it to M'sia?

Heard that most korean cars fuel consumption is very high after 2 years on the road!Anyone can justify?

• transformer (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 7:52 pm

nice front! especially the floating H logo copied from Honda's!

the rear(view from side) reminds me of Suzuki Liana

the rear light looks something from a merc, B-Class

wish our P1 could offer something similar to this Hyundai, diesel engine wise!

• nmh (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 11:53 pm

ford focus front bumper+honda nose+5series BMW headlamp+BMW 1series rear and many2 more in one small package…..nice…errr dizzy

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 12:39 am

Why are malaysians so focused on how a car looks?

Whole threads are dedicated on how it "copies" another car.

……

Its quite interesting where Hyundai is going to fit this car in its line up. Looks like they are going to slot it between the Getz and Accent, and looking at the engine choices, my guess it may just be the Getz replacement as the Getz is getting a bit long in the tooth. It might also replace the 5 door Accent modle that is also getting long in the tooth. Selling in Europe means that they may have a RHD unit for the British market, which also means, the chance of seeing it here as well.

Great to see good lookign Korean cars. Looks like they have almost caught up an all fronts.

• owaief (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 1:09 am

and i thought i will be only one who noticed the ford focus bumper design…..

• bugbear (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 3:41 am

wow~ 1.4 109hp? compared to gen2's 1.6 109hp….

• bugbear (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 3:43 am

whoops~~ is actually 110hp for gen2…

anywy, a nice looking hatchbk.. ;)

• transformer (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 5:33 pm

hopefully this one is better than Accent in terms of dynamics!

still can't forget Jeremy remark on Hyundai Accident!

Ops Sorry! Hyundai Accent!

• transformer (Member) on Mar 01, 2007 at 5:39 pm

i think this Hyundai 1.4 109hp benefits from its variable valve timing(VVT) where CAMPRO engine series didn't comes with…

IMHO, a 1.6 engine still have better low end power(torque) than 1.4 as VVT need certain preset rpm to be activated except its a Continous VVT(who knows! as Korean Makers are improving fast…)

We just pray for P1 to comes out CAMPRO with VVT oneday… P1 Boleh!

• Jeremy on Jun 30, 2009 at 7:08 am

no..actually Korean Cars are more durable than Japanese car. (hyundai gave 5 years warranty also) I've used a Atos for 7 years. No problem so far.