A record in number plate sales: RM200,000

Terengganu’s State Road and Transport Department director Fauzi Harun revealed that the number plate TAN1 was sold for a staggering RM200,000 last year, making it the highest paid number plate in Malaysia so far. Tan is a very common surname among the Terengganu Chinese-Hokkien.

I am a Tan as well, and my hometown is a little town in Terengganu. It’s obvious the wealthy Tan that managed to clinch this number plate wants to be the best of all Tans, number one! To celebrate getting the TAN1 number plate, he should go TANI. Okay, that was lame. But it’s amazing how much money someone will pay for what’s basically a number to identify your car.

On a side note, there is a positive UK review of the Satria Neo here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:14 am

ooops

last time there must be TAH 1

how much?

• Paul Tan on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:16 am

i dunno. but i've seen it in KL. it's on a BMW.

• engtaokia (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:32 am

belong to business tycoon vincent tan?

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:51 am

TAHI… LOL….

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:51 am

side note,

– they're right

• Celicazz (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 11:44 am

i saw one in KL, Honda Accord

guess what number?

PEN 15…

what? is that a statement of how you appreciate your 'thing'?

plain stupid

• Firds (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 2:02 pm

TAH 1…..yup on bmw 3 series if i'm not mistaken…..u can spot it around b.b…………PEN15….damn what a pimp…..ahaha

• Firds (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 2:04 pm

TAH 1……yup….on a BMW 3 series if i'm not mistaken…….u can spot it around B.B…….PEN15…..ahaha…..what a pimp

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 3:59 pm

RM200k for a number is ABSOLUTELY….STUUU….PIDDDDDDD!

TAN1 = PERTANI?

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 4:41 pm

Just goes to show that some people have a little too much money on their hands.

200K – I'd buy myself a nice cool Condo.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 4:43 pm

Having a nice number and a half decent luxo cruiser does have its advantages.

I recall one incident being ushered around by police having mistaken us as VVIPs. Rather silly, but it does happen. Besides…. when is the last time you heard of the police stopping you for having too dark tinted windows if you have a nice number on a S-class..yes, even an older one?

• kendo (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 5:26 pm

normal lah,

when it is make-tune by

BRITISH IMperial LOTUS",

OK!

if make by PROTON 100%, (waja, wira…)

review is SUCK!:

"in IMperial Quuen words.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 5:34 pm

auctioncenter2u said,

March 21, 2007 @ 7:59 am

RM200k for a number is ABSOLUTELY….STUUU….PIDDDDDDD!

TAN1 = PERTANI?

no they are not stupid, because it is sometimes not their own money so no regret.

jazz1011 said,

March 21, 2007 @ 8:41 am

Just goes to show that some people have a little too much money on their hands.

200K – I’d buy myself a nice cool Condo.

p/s the guy who bought the RM200K number stay in rm10 million mansion, so appropriate la, not blaming both of you just that the economy cake not wisely slices.

• Charger (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 5:56 pm

Satria Neo is making a comeback for Proton.

Now, where's the GTI version?

• transformer (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 6:04 pm

they want to show how rich they are! think Glamourous, kah?

guess what STU910 means ?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 6:13 pm

'Generally a great effort from Proton and Lotus, but oh dear, those alloys and the name!' From: Mike Wiggins, 58, retired engineer, Tadcaster, Yorkshire. LOL! I really hate those alloys rims.. Really louzy design. Come man! Where is the GTI version? And VW faster bought that damn P1 from those noob Malays wasting our money.. Cheers to satria neo..

• gonggok (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 6:28 pm

Careful there littlefire 85 – racial undertones not welcome…

• handsfree (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 6:55 pm

Hi paul…

which small town in terengganu u from??

me too from terengganu…. me from 1 small island in terengganu..

• Joe Cole (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 7:10 pm

im also from terengganu-senyum sokmo-faizal af4

• viceice (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 7:21 pm

I've seen TAN 3, it's on an S class, if i'm not mistaken it's the 2006 model

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 7:49 pm

I've also heard of this famous Nighthawk Black Honda Accord with PEN15. Heard he works for TMNet. Some Datuk I think, maybe friend of Halim Saad.

• ed0r (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 8:04 pm

Celicazz said,

March 21, 2007 @ 3:44 am

i saw one in KL, Honda Accord

guess what number?

PEN 15…

—————————-

lmao yeaaa I spotted that one too same Accord, but in Putrajaya!

• shaif (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 8:08 pm

Datuk title don't mean he got a better brain than us.PEN15….what a shame Datuk…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 8:27 pm

"TAH 1", yup saw it on Beemer near TTDI… wonder why he choose that plate… saw this "MAT 1" on a black crv near Sunway bridge last year, maybe he choose that to remind himself about the afterlife LOL… i think the coolest number plate i ever seen is this "MAF 14" :)

also just saw this "KAR 1" near Universiti Roundabout this morning… on a black Limousine Merc.. very kewl.. must be 'restoran mamak' owner huh?

p/s: LittleFire85… don't play with racial statement

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 8:58 pm

I'm just booking the plate number,

"BUR 17"…

I'm going to sell it to the *tooot* soon. hahaha…

• drM (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:01 pm

come on lah people..

give proton a break.

all proton need is a change, not to close shop.

I bet you guys who were very strong critising Proton will shut up when the Neo GTi comes out.

watch this space.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:27 pm

littlefire, what STU910 means ?

• iamisiamwhatiam (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:52 pm

remember all the fuss about PUK 1 some year back?

why ban it if our RTD can make money out of it?

seems like registration numbers like this depends on oneself interpretation

• rosdi (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:54 pm

That number was bought by a Tan Sri lah!… he is obviously the bestest Tan Sris of all…

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 10:08 pm

wastin all that money on a num plate?is is satisfying ?if i wanna buy a num plate it would be below rm100……….

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 10:12 pm

proton good….not bad! even posh peoples like it! not really expecting that.but proton need to .my luv of god..make a compleately new waja n so as the other old models.

• digiman (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 10:21 pm

i don't know about you guys but i think buying an expensive number plate are more like an investment… save for the personalisation part… seriously… a single digit or even a double digit can fetch a fairly high price in the market… think of that person who wants the TAN 1 badly in the future.. on top of that, putting a fantastic number plate on a beat up car can really call for a better bargaining power… say for example you put TAN 1 on a beat up proton saga (those squarish type), and one year later someone wants that number plate badly… so how? owner dont wanna sell the number without the car… and if he sells it he wants 350K for the car as well.. indirectly saga price have just been jacked up in value…

i dont know, i love single digit plate.. wish i could buy into one soon… my old neighbour use to have a few cars with this digit in line

WA" " 6

PE" " 8

PE" " 9

and now i know he is looking for a 7

sorry, have to leave the last alpha out…

• raffendi (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 10:43 pm

They change car, but stick to the same registration number.

So, the number will become identity to them.

IS the promotion for saga have gone up to Rm29,999.
    http://www.proton.com/homepage.php

But when u click at the advertisement, you will get RM26,99.
    http://www.proton.com/ad50yprotonsaga.php

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 11:33 pm

How about the coming Selangor plate for BUD 1 = BUDI, likely lot of people interested on it.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 11:37 pm

Last time my Iswara no plate use last 4 digit of old IC no. and now Waja used last 2 digit of me and my wife year of birth! Still remember the young P1 Kepoche salesman keep on asking me what so special about this number!

• ching (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Buy PAU 1!!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:00 am

"BUD 1"… hihi i know a person named Budi & he's probably want that number… LOL

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:17 am

the most beautiful plate number ive ever seen in KL is

T 1

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:09 am

RM200,000 for TAN 1 ?

I've seen M 5 on an M5. What about T 1 ? Is it more expensive?

Oh ya, it's in the record because all of those nicer and higher value numbers were given to the sultanates ….. for free, in return for…..

• kimmy (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:46 am

Couple of months ago, I saw a silver Aston Martin DB9 in PJ with the number plate…..yup…..DB9

• kimmy (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:49 am

Couple of months ago, I spotted a silver Aston Martin DB9 in PJ with the number plate….yup….DB9

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:29 am

TAHI! Lol. I saw one MAR1077 the other day; it's on a Jaguar. Must be the boss of one Mariott outlet.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:08 am

I think we got good news! Proton has sign some agreement with VW yesterday at German!

PROTON Holdings Bhd and Volkswagen AG (VW) signed yesterday an agreement that turns the national car company and Europe's largest carmaker strategic partners in the highly-competitive industry.

A foreign partner in the VW's stature will help Proton raise its technical capability, develop more models and stem its declining share in the domestic market following recent move by the Government to remove protective import tariffs.

Analysts have said that such partnership would also enable VW to use Proton's state-of-the-art Tanjung Malim plant, which has significant excess capacity, to produce the German-designed cars to strengthen VW's presence in markets in this region.

Mail Money learnt that senior Proton officials were at the VW headquarters outside Hanover, Germany, for yesterday's signing ceremony.

While the content of the agreement is not immediately known, German daily Handelsblatt reported last week, citing unidentified people familiar with the Proton-VW talks, that it could pave the way for the setting up of a venture in which each company owns a 50 per cent stake.

Some analysts have even speculated that VW might replace the Mitsubishi group, which sold its stake in Proton this year after helping set it up two decades ago.

Source: Financial Times Information Limited and The Wall St Journal

• Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:19 am

LittleFire85: where did you get that story?

• raffendi (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 6:50 pm

I have seen T3 on Honda CRV in JB.

Also seen ALi4 (ALIA) on Mercedez also in JB.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 11:41 pm

Who own no. plate BAB 1?

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 12:32 am

Joe Ooi,paul,anybody, hav you seen the no. plate KI55 …..you know what it means right.he he he.i think the owner likes to " kiss " peoples.ha ha ha!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 5:10 am

How about Perak plat A 55 = ASS!

• dr_blur (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 7:16 pm

well, im not a rich guy.

but i too do fancy plate no. too.

i hv seen PEN15 – Honda Accord (used to be on a perdana)

K155 – Benz SLK – usually parked outside low yat

MAR10 – Benz-E -(usually parked outside KL Plz.)

BAB1 – On a Land Rover

W'MS14 – 'West Malaysia' – BMW3series coupe

BAB13 – 'BABE' – estima

MAR14 – 'Maria' – Perdana – if i remember correctly

W2(benz) , BAS1 (motobike) , ME 55 (kenari),

(more to come, if i can recall)

im still longing to get my dream plate, which carries my b'day.

MAY xx. which is already in da market – on a waja it seems.

• dr_blur (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 7:16 pm

well, im not a rich guy.

but i too do fancy plate no. too.

i hv seen PEN15 – Honda Accord (used to be on a perdana)

K155 – Benz SLK – usually parked outside low yat

MAR10 – Benz-E -(usually parked outside KL Plz.)

BAB1 – On a Land Rover

W'MS14 – 'West Malaysia' – BMW3series coupe

BAB3 – 'BABE' – estima

MAR14 – 'Maria' – Perdana – if i remember correctly

W2(benz) , BAS1 (motobike) , ME 55 (kenari),

(more to come, if i can recall)

im still longing to get my dream plate, which carries my b'day.

MAY xx. which is already in da market – on a waja it seems.

• dr_blur (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:56 pm

more spotted…

MAX15 – Benz Eclass – owner of Maxis

TN8 – Benz Sclass – owner of TNB i guess

MAN15 – Honda Accord – member of Peguam Malaysia

CBA111 – Satria Neo

MY 1 – BMW Spider – Red

MY 455 – MY ASS – spotted in sunway pyramid – Estima 93/94

• dr_blur (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 12:12 am

oh yah..

and oso…

PDL 15 – tat looks like POLIS – toyota alphard, bukit jalil condo.

CH 14 – CHIA – nissan sunny 130Y – last seen midvalley parking

ABC 123 – on a old datsun wagon – last seen old klang road.

• Anonymous on Jan 10, 2024 at 6:39 pm

Saw TAN 1 on a Range Rover today Jan 2024.