Facelifted 2007 Isuzu D-MAX launched in Malaysia

Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu Malaysia has revealed the latest facelift of it’s Isuzu D-MAX double cab pick-up truck, which has a few improvements in terms of the 3.0 litre engine which now has more power and 19% more fuel efficiency than the pre-facelift version.

Read more details after the jump.

Isuzu D-MAX

For the Isuzu D-MAX 3.0LS Ddi iTEQ Super Commonrail that uses a 3.0 litre turbodiesel engine, the 4JJ1-TC 2,999cc intercooler turbo DOHC 16 valve i-TEQ Super commonrail engine. Fitted in the manual transmission model, it now makes 280Nm of torque peaking just above idle at 1,200rpm and stays steady all the way to 3,400rpm. Peak horsepower is 136 PS at 3,400rpm.

For the 4-speed automatic transmission, the engine is tuned somewhat differently, probably to match the behaviour and transmission losses of a slush box. It makes a higher amount of torque – 294Nm, but this torque peaks relatively later at 1,400rpm. But I’m sure the 280Nm at 1,200rpm is there too, so you don’t really lose anything. This 294Nm stretches up to 3,000rpm where it dips to the manual’s torque levels. This looks like some kind of overboost between 1,400rpm and 3,000rpm. Horsepower is the same as the manual version.

The 3.0 litre models’ i-TEQ Super commonrail engine is not exactly the most powerful turbodiesel available on sale in Malaysian pick-up trucks today, but Isuzu is confident it is the best as how good an engine is is not always related to how much power it produces. Many other factors such as fuel economy and reliability also come into play, especially for those who need a hardcore workhorse that never fails them. However, I can’t help but feel it would be nice if Isuzu had introduced the 4JJ1-TCX 3.0 litre engine with variable turbine geometry instead as it makes a higher 163 PS and 360Nm.

Isuzu D-MAXThe engine block uses a melt-in liner using a process called High Frequency Induction Hardening that melts the cylinder block liners into the block. This “double-padded” built-in protection keeps the cylinder walls in pristine condition for a longer time.

The pistons used are made from a high performance alloy and has thermal flow cooling channels designed into them to ensure they won’t expand under extreme heat and come in contact with the walls of the engine. The camshafts are chain and gear-driven for a maintenance-free operation and the cams themselves drive roller valve rockers for quieter and smoother operation. The engine is also 1.5 decibels quieter than the previous engine at idle, and the truck is 1.3 decibels quieter at 100km/h.

Features that the 3.0 litre model has over the 2.5 litre model is the 4X4 transmission of course, as the 2.5 is a 4X2. Other premium features in the 3.0 include a key-coded immobiliser while the 2.5 only has a normal immobiliser, a 6-speaker system instead of a 4 speaker system, an integrated 2-DIN AM/FM/MP3/WMA player instead of a 1-DIN Pioneer AM/FM MP3 player, driver and passenger SRS airbags, ABS with EBD equipped with G-sensor, an LSD differential, turn signals on the wing mirrors, and finally a projector headlamp system instead of the 2.5’s multi-reflector headlamp lense.

Isuzu D-MAX

And of course, one thing that you will notice immediately when you get into the truck is the 3.0 litre model has a self-illuminating meter panel that Isuzu calls e-LUMAX that works much like Toyota’s Optitron, while the 2.5 litre model has a traditional backlit instrument cluster. But before you actually get into the truck, this is where you’ll discover the 3.0 litre model has keyless entry, although this is something I only read on the fact sheet supplied at the launch and have not tried out myself so I’m not sure how it works.

Steering is rack and pinion, and the front suspension uses independant double wishbones with torsion bar springs and stabilizer bar, while the rear suspension uses semi-ellipcal leaf springs. The truck has a short front overhang – claimed the shortest in the industry – to improve departure and approach angles. For offroading, it can handle a side slip angle of 48 degrees, a 34.6 degree front approach angle and a 23.3 degree departure angle. Maximum uphill or downhill inclination is 47 degrees. Ground clearance is 225mm.

The brakes have been upgraded with larger front disc brake calipers – now sized 45.5mm instead of the previous 42.8mm, and these are twin piston calipers. The dual circuit brake servos have also been upgraded to a 9 inch size.

For both manual and automatic transmission models, shifting from 4X2 mode to 4X4 mode is simply via a button on the dashboard, and 2H to 4H can be shifted on the go at speeds under 100km/h.

Isuzu D-MAX

The pretty basic-trimmed Isuzu D-MAX 2.5LS 4X2 is only available with a manual transmission and goes for RM71,475.30 for individual private registration inclusive of road tax and insurance as well as metallic paint. The solid paint version goes for RM71,175.30. There is no automatic available for the 2.5 litre model.

The premium Isuzu D-MAX 3.0LS Ddi iTEQ Super Commonrail manual transmission goes for RM89,776.30 for individual private registration inclusive of road tax and insurance, while the auto costs more at RM96,758.30. The solid paint versions cost RM89,476.30 and RM96,458.30 respectively.

The 2007 Isuzu D-MAX facelift is available in Mercury Silver, Eclipse Blue, Gamma Gray, Starry Black Mica, and Angelic White, of which the first three colours are new options for the 2007 model.

More images after the jump.

Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:08 am

i like it…looks macho n yet sleek ….makes the Ford Ranger soo horribly boring…

isuzu hav super reliabilty…generally very tough…jus curious,how much is the road tax for the 3.0??

• Paul Tan on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:12 am

RM1878.10

• kody (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 1:15 pm

wahlaueh…

typical consumers are looking at the brand & engine performance…

quite reasonable price at entry level rm70k plus…

• droll (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 2:37 pm

hmmmmmmm never thought i'd say this to a pickup truck but "hot damn, u look good!"

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 3:42 pm

Thai ppl like this model very much, ISUZU beat Mitsu at THAI….but I prefer TRITON more than this ISUZU D-MAX. What do you think?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 4:19 pm

136ps, thats about the same as triton. Would prefer this over triton and Actyon anytime.

• jhuan (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 4:26 pm

Not bad, this new dmax really look good for a pick-up. More macho and modernise. Keyless entry?! This is cool! Is this first for a pick-up in Msia. Sure a very attractive package at RM96k++

• jhuan (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 4:26 pm

But the roadtax :(

• Denniz (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 4:32 pm

I've already seen this car in person around Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. I thought it was "facelifted"/modified by the car owner. =/

It's really a nice car anyway, too much Hilux Vigo around KK. :P

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 5:03 pm

car looks a little too "japanese". I still prefer the ford. It has the classic american pickup look.

the 2.5turbo diesel of the ford puts out 143ps, and 330nm of torque which is more than what the isuzu's 3.0 litre puts out. Its auto tranny is also a 5 speeder as apposed to the 4 speed in the isuzu.

..and it has keyless entry too ;)

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 5:20 pm

this dimax really looks perfect engine with low FC … but the price 4×4 At 3.0 at my area almost 100k leh …. only affort to buy 2.5 MT … but with 4×2 … no that perfect … Dimax vs Vigo vs Triton vs Ranger …. which one is the perfect D/Cab ?? Dimax have Low FC engine … Vigo standard at all …. Triton have a cyber look … Ranger have a 5speed AT …. and the latest ssangyong …

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 6:01 pm

mmmm… i prefer vigo coz the second value is still high even after 7 years….

• transformer (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 6:19 pm

yummy….

had to make a trip to view this D-Max and the Ranger again, others tak apa la…. guess when ETCM are bringing in their new Frontier replacement… ??

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 6:30 pm

The car already out for a month! I already saw ppl driving on hignways with KL plate.. It a beauty! But the roadtax.. 3.0L.. Sometime ppl prefer Toyota Hilux, coz cheaper, engine come from isuzu.. but myself still prefer Ford Ranger manual! Built for tough!

• avanza (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:44 pm

hey,

Anyone of you ever wondered how many of those who buy these trucks actually use them to carry goods or go to the dirt?

Perhaps it's just the cheapest 4wd you can buy. I mean it's dirt (pun intended) cheap, at

• eezarm (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:46 pm

a self-illuminating meter panel…nice…

but the dashboard look simple…

i always fancy civic's dashboard..hehehe..

i know, its a car while this is a pick up truck..

but still….

just my 2 cents…

• eezarm (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:48 pm

avanza said,

July 13, 2007 @ 2:44 pm

hey,

Anyone of you ever wondered how many of those who buy these trucks actually use them to carry goods or go to the dirt?

Perhaps it’s just the cheapest 4wd you can buy. I mean it’s dirt (pun intended) cheap, at

———————————————————–

maybe there's gonna be a new trend now…

'Driving pickup truck to work'

(work refers to offices and not work/building sites)

hehehe…

• avanza (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:51 pm

hey paul,

Something strange happened when I posted my message just a minute ago. It got truncated! I think you should have it checked.

• proton.GL. (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 11:24 pm

cadillac face,

rear not complimenting front

• szw (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 12:59 am

looks ganas.

• eugene73 (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 1:04 am

Dmax Face lift only… interior space still small compare to Trition & Hilux. 3.0cc engine still lower torque than Trition 2.5cc, no good. Triton has most modern look among all 4 doors pick-ups in M'sia. Nissan Frontier, 2 rows of sits cannot sit people properly (too small).

i still prefer Trition, Good looks, Powerful engine + Roomier 2nd row of sit + got Multi-trip meter + digital compass YES… at S'wak selling Manual rm88k, Auto 92k still cheaper than Hilux & New Dmax.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 2:07 am

as I've said earlier, ford ranger still the better buy for me. Looks like a real traditional pickup, also as the most powerful engine among all the pickups.

why buy a dmax 3ltr when the 2.5ltr ford has more power and torque with cheaper road tax.

best of all, the 5 speed auto costs around RM90k. w/o insurance, and the manual only RM85k w/o insurance

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 2:38 am

sorry out of topic…

Paul, got viagra advertisement also meh..? LOL :) (baru perasan loh haha)

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 2:41 am

eh?? Viagra pun ada LOL :)

• azhar167 (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 3:08 am

Hi Paul,

I sent you the photos of the facelifted D-Max earlier. Did you not receive it then?

• schdmitz (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 6:09 pm

I still prefer the old trusting brand TOYOTA…..coz of the spare parts and resell values….u can see more Toyota than this or other brand in S'wak……

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 6:23 pm

Don't expect new Frontier replacement to come in so soon. Even the recently launched restyled X-Trail by TC is just a mere add on accessories and not an all new model. The Cefiro replacement after such a long wait is finally here but at a crazy pricetag which is overpriced. I would think TC is focusing on their new Latio at the time being.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 15, 2007 at 3:38 am

Best!!! look like godzilla.. saya suka. lower down the roadtax pls… make our life easier…

• mmcwei (Member) on Jul 15, 2007 at 10:37 pm

new competitor SUT again? this is interesting….163hp with 360nm thats awesome…wonder if hilux come with 1KD-FTV engine? 165hp?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 4:12 am

I thnk the hilux looks better

• silv3r (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 6:34 am

mini escalade…

• transformer (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 2:47 pm

when would our G appreciate green cars ??

how come Euro4 diesel car are still taxed(Road tax) so high ?

shouldn't they already woke up by now ??

• transformer (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 2:51 pm

don't just bcoz of ONE SHIT couldn't produce proper diesel car and others pun kena….

now its 2007 already!

Bolehland should do something to save mother nature!

Even comercial busses Euro4 compliancies haad been delayed… should ve last year but delayed… this year ? not really ! When ?

modern engine easily comply/over Euro4 standard already !

and when our fuel(petrol & Deisel) can start comply Euro4 regulations ?

2020 kah?

• Clean top on Jul 30, 2011 at 12:44 am

Engine for Isuzu super commonrail actually reach up to euro 4. Just because our oil euro 2 cause the engine emission got worse. Performance are drop. High engine maintenance.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 1:16 pm

I’ve considered this truck over Vios due to the price range. Sadly, the road tax is too high.

• Henry Chan (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 10:44 pm

Isuzu D-Max the best pick-up in the World.

• Henry Chan (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 10:47 pm

Thailand 3.0 model 165ps…lolx

• darryl.shawn.miranda (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 1:59 pm

Paul,

I would like to purchase the D-max 3.0 Automatic transmission. Is the consumption good? Can you tell me about the consumption and the truck please. Is the acceleration, engine, power good?
    Thanks in advance.

• talktalkcar (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 12:36 pm

hi fellas,

i just joined this forum. really interested in the d-max. called up their hotline and asked. well, according to them it’s a “brand new” d-max and not facelift.

can anyone shine some light to me? i know this new d-max has supercommonrail engine and some new features here and there lar. does this count as brand new?

yeah, the roadtax for 3 litre is killing man! but maybe can compensate with the good FC kot…. eager to try out.

• dmax8998 (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 2:25 pm

hi dmax members….

• d max…ganas!!!! Go go d max!!! D max still is number one in my heart!! Good bye !my old hilux vigo.. U are nothing value for me now,in sabah d max is very popular!!!

• mr speed on Jun 06, 2009 at 2:12 am

but dont ever underestimate ford ranger

• Sulaiman (Member) on Dec 08, 2009 at 8:44 am

How we are so Mundur & Backwards, now is 2009 yet we are still having the 4 JJ1-TC instead of the 4JJ1-TCX, just bought a new Isuzu D-Max, Feels really cheated, really pis..d, Loan just approved for it>> Thank you for kicking in the data for me Paul Tan (very kind of you)

• Gobuk Taragang on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:39 am

which one is worth to buy;

1. Vigo

2. Triton

3. D-Max

4. Ranger

5. Fighter

• Boyon on Jan 15, 2010 at 12:07 am

Gobuk Taragang, I think you should list out number 6 for Navara.

• my father have a 2cars isuzu d-max

• Lewis on Aug 22, 2010 at 12:54 pm

Great… I got 2.5 and dad 3.0. Hilux can never beat the rest. Engine, the 1st generation common rail where dmax use 3rd generation already. Stability worst. My bro thinking of get hilux before from his friend the sales advisor for toyota. His friend told my bro better don’t. And my friend who work as electrical technician. He fix 80kg ballast on the tail. And hilux has highest accident rates among the pick-up trucks. A silent murderer, hilux.

• Vgs turbo on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:17 pm

2.5l iTeq common rail is coming to malaysia this september. 116ps and 280nm. 4×4. Price not sure. 80k to 90k. More fuel efficient maybe. =)

• ely gabriel on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:19 am

D-max is slick..macho..but i do have a problem with the suspension system..its not steady when you in a corner…this is so dangerous..

• mohdjae on Feb 13, 2012 at 6:10 pm

d max paling mantap