Karamjit Motorsports wins Malaysian Rally Championship

karamjit singh rally

Karamjit Singh did not disappoint fans at Round 4 of the FELDA-AAM Malaysian Rally Championship last weekend. Clocking 2:11:02, he and co-driver Jagdev Singh finished first place for Round 4 and also took home the Championship trophy.

Trailing behind the Flying Singh by 12 minutes and 46 seconds were Benny Lautan and Edwin Nasution from Indonesia in a Proton PERT. Karamjit’s team used a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 8. Third place went to Sutan Mustaffa Salihin and Ahmad Nadzrie Ahmad Shuhaimi in a Proton Satria with a time of 2:26:42.

“We are happy we won the Championship as we had a tough day yesterday trying to get the suspension right to suit the course. Even though we have won the Championship we will still take part in the final round (Round 5) as we are committed to our sponsors and to the organizer,” said Karamjit Singh.

Round 5 will take place in Perlis on the 8th and 9th of December 2007.

Team Karamjit Motorsports is sponsored by Aldwich, Safeguard Securicor, Bin Jarallah, ALPS Freight and Logistics and Silverstone Tyres. The team plans to take part in three rounds of the Asia Pacific Rally Championship next year in Japan, Malaysia and Indonesia if they manage to secure sponsorship for the next season.

karamjit singh rally

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 4:28 pm

What a kampong championship!

• efikz_1011 (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 5:31 pm

Of course lah Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 8 can beat Protong!!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 5:57 pm

#
    efikz_1011 said,

November 5, 2007 @ 5:31 pm

Of course lah Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 8 can beat Protong!!

haha..not proton only.myvito pon kene gak..haha

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 6:57 pm

I tot myvito is different category… how to fight a 2.0 turbo beast, while myvi is just a 1.3L turbo?

Anyways congrats! GoGo Karamjit!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 7:12 pm

LittleFire85,are they just install turbo into the current myvi engine?or they swap the engine with other model?

• kingglim (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 7:36 pm

Wu ha ha, Kampung Lancer is definitely no fight vs real Lancer…Kampung Lancer eats dusts saja lah!!

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 7:39 pm

icccccc,
    this article mentioned that flying singh is not under proton anymore. im glad that he with other sponsors. this clear my perception about why proton n petronas not sponsoring him these days.
    anyway, im glad he’s not with them any more since that will limit the sponsors to sponsor him..
    btw, congrats to mr karamjit singh and his team. i wish many sponsors will sponsor him in the future.

• cetakbaju (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 7:44 pm

thumbs up flying singh

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 10:19 pm

congrats to karamjit…btw…sorry out of topic…

guyz…check dis out

http://www.worldcarfans.com/9071105.006/nissan-gt-r-gt500-first-outing

i think u all will like dis…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 11:04 pm

I am not sure, but i think the myvito is totally unique model… It has 4WD like Boon X4 but have a 1.3L DVVT turbo, which is the same wif YRV turbo. U have to ask those guys how to do it, maybe Perodua really makes special orders? Anyways this is about karamjit winning, cheers!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 11:27 pm

ooo..thank LittleFire85..if perodua do that,is good for them.they now not just rebadging the car but modified it..but for the rally,i think this is not fair result because some of the car are in different class.

• azrai (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 6:27 am

Pity Malaysian corporate. karamjit has the talent and already shows his potential. Why on earth they pour a lot of money on Alex Yoong but we already know the result right. Hmmm….

• efikz_1011 (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 8:29 am

Sponsorship is all about politics, corporate company only sponsor sports of G’s interest only..Did you see how “KJ” bring big sponsors (money) to Malaysian football nowadays.Its all about politics i tell you.huh..

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 9:00 am

Good for him… I think even with his old car (that he sold to the Indonesian) it will be good enough to win the championship…. about Myvi and Viva… Its just the shell that is of Perodua… powertrain and engine is from Daihatsu same goes for PERT car…. a rebadged Mitsu… the only local is Satria Neo…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 11:59 am

nananishan,

i find your comments very misinformed.

“this article mentioned that flying singh is not under proton anymore. im glad that he with other sponsors. this clear my perception about why proton n petronas not sponsoring him these days.
    anyway, im glad he’s not with them any more since that will limit the sponsors to sponsor him..”

motorsports sponsorship is like any business. Presence of a sponsor is directly linked to the contribution by that sponsor. Do you think that karam does not want sponsorship from petronas and proton? over the years, those 2 companies have sponsored him millions and millions of ringgit and helped him achieve his world production class championship win. It is better to have 1 or 2 large sponsors as apposed to 10 small sponsors. But unfortunately for Karam, he has to take whatever he can get today to continue racing. The very fact that he is only racing in Malaysia currently tell us that the sponsorship he is getting today is probably very small money.

sponsorships are a business decision, and for whatever reasons they each have, proton and petronas today have chosen not to be in rallying.

Sadly, Malaysian rallying today is in a poor state, with very little sponsorship money to go around for everyone. Even the organisers are tight with money. The results speak for themselves. Its obvious that 2nd and 3rd place were never in the position to challenge Karam in his EVO.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 12:06 pm

azrai, where have you been all this time? do you even actually know what you’re talking about.??

“Why on earth they pour a lot of money on Alex Yoong but we already know the result right. Hmmm….”

a1 team malaysia, 1st season 5th overall in championship out of 22 countries. 2nd season, 6th overall in championship out of 22 countries.
    beating many other large motorsports countries like USA and Japan,

and when you say “they pour a lot of money ” , do you even know who “they” is?

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 12:21 pm

weird…

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 12:34 pm

banyakmasukworkshop, thanks for clarifying it for me.

• gonggok (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 12:38 pm

It’s hard to get sponsorship for rallying and for good reason…

It’s a very-very-very low exposure sort of motorracing. Not on TV and vey little crowds – if any willing to go in to the palm-oil estates.

A1 is televised all round the world and people actually go to see it.

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 2:53 pm

Do we pay tickets to watch this rally in estates?..I don’t much about rally,..or how many people are willing to go to this estates to watch this championship?hey, Karamjit won that means he is good..congrats…

• topmanspeed (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 3:59 pm

Re comments on Evo8 vs. Proton & the other cars in the rally, and that it is not much of a fight for Karam.

It is not as straight forward as the result list may look like. The second guy in the “Proton PERT” is NOT driving a Proton. He is driving an Evo6 which, I understand, is tuned to Class “A” specs. Karam’s Evo8 is class “N”. Thus the so-callled “Proton” actually has more horses (I understand >300bhp) vs. Karam’s aprox. 280-290bhp.

Also, the “MyVi”s are actually 4-wheel drive turbocharged ones… nothing like what you find in the regular showrooms… Power to Weight ratio wise, it is likely to be better than Karam’s Evo8.

Yes, Karam may have won “easily” over the competition, but in my opinion it is not due to technical superiority…

• azrai (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 6:48 am

Dear BanyakMasukWorkshop,
    I know you pour a lot of money to the workshop right? Hmm. What I mean not only in A1, but the previous Minardi involvement. You know the result of this sponsorship. We’ve been no where. The KBS pour a lot of money too. When it came to necessity, our government especially Shafie Tak Afdal will say government cannot subsidise all thing. But what the heck on this alot of wastage just to get attention and name? Think again. We pay the tax. Even the corporate gain from our spending. We work for the money. We actually change our time, energy into salary=RM.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 8:49 am

This is a jaguh kampong estate rally!

• gonggok (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 8:59 am

Dude Bigfish…

Didn’t you just post the whole Kampung Rally thing earlier in the thread? Whats your problem? Haven’t taken your morning meds or something?

Looking at it he had some good competition…it’s not like the rest of the field were driving kancils…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 9:23 am

Ya gonggok, taken morning meds already, just repeating the 1st comment!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 9:24 am

gonggok said,
    November 6, 2007 @ 12:38 pm

It’s hard to get sponsorship for rallying and for good reason…

It’s a very-very-very low exposure sort of motorracing. Not on TV and vey little crowds – if any willing to go in to the palm-oil estates.

A1 is televised all round the world and people actually go to see it.
    —————-
    All back to perceive commercial value of the events – especially viewerships!

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 10:14 am

Kudos to Karamjit and his partner! LOL, not much of a comment really, but it’s good to see Karamjit back on track, and with a decent car, dammit, not some ciplak PERT!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 11:06 am

job well done!!!!

• bestofamat (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 1:41 pm

If you want to support karamjit and want to know his latest news, just go to http://www.teamtempler.com/

He now under Team Templer’s management, who also own the mitsubishi evo8 car.

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:55 pm

Sponsorship is also a way of advertising, so less popular events means less sponsors…still remember when tobacco co. were no.1 sponsors in sports and entertainment

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 7:24 pm

of course,the bigger sport even become,more sponsor they get.they will not regret if they sponsor in the big amount because their brand will advertise worldwide for example,airasia for manchester united and petronas in formula 1.compare if they want to advertise by their self in other country.

• ah liew (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 10:44 pm

When I saw the picture of the Evo 8 that Karamjit drove, i thought it’s another Proton Wira kena potong & fitted with the head of an Evo 8. hee! hee! Few years back, when Proton was still sponsoring Karamjit, Proton always Bullsh*t that they win the race but actually it was an Evo 2 or Evo 3. I can’t remember what did he drove back then…

• kohbk (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 1:14 pm

pity karamjit, proven champion and not getting the sponsorship maybe he should just go to europe and try his luck there.

• motorsports hell on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:50 am

well.. its all politics . its just u x see it underneath all e actions. e industry in malaysia is small, sponsorship is tough, politics in e country muc well said the G's apata pulak in e industry. well. its all comes back to politics n who's gt stronger network..well.. i myself gt backstab frm ppl in e industry. well politics r everywhere..ada rezeki ada la. God knows better.

Hope e indutry will grow t a greater heights..

cheers