W204 C-Class scores 5 stars in Euro NCAP

W204 Crash Test

The new W204 Mercedes-Benz C-Class now has an Euro NCAP score – 5 stars, thanks to its 7 airbags, seatbelt tensioners, belt-force limiters, and NECK PRO head restraints – all fitted as standard items on the European spec C-Class.

Of course, the body structure also plays an important part in the survivability of the passengers – crumple zones and such. 70% of the Mercedes-Benz C-Class’s body panels are made from state-of-the-art, high-strength steel alloys that minimise weight and maximise safety. Quadruple-skinned B-pillars and the side members absorb the bulk of any side-impact forces and channel these forces into the body structure, are made partially from ultra-high-strength, hot-formed high-tech steel.

View a video of the front impact crash test after the jump.

New 2007 Mercedes-Benz C-Class (W204) unveiled!
W204 Mercedes-Benz C-Class short test drive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 7:26 am

wow… 7 airbag, kalau accident tak lemas ke?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 7:47 am

7?

Is that a typo? From the pic it looks like 8 airbags. 4 on the doors, 2 curtain, and 2 undeployed ones on the dash/wheel.

Those are just the standard ones. Some cars now have up to 10. I can’t even imaging where’d they stuff all of them at.

Makes crashing quite comfortable I suppose….hahahaa.

• NiceCar (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 7:48 am

emm.. nice and safe car.
    Are the air begs available to turn on / off ?? o
    Or else a small accident happened, all 7 air begs activated, the air begs re-install fee must kill some1.. =P

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 7:53 am

Not all airbags will deploy at the same time unless needed. (see vid for frontal offset crash, only front 2 airbags will deploy)

Besides, when you can afford a Mercedes, I’m sure your life is worth more than a few replacement airbags…….btw, if you get into a crash that deploys all your airbags, you can bet that the car wont be in a salvagable state. The car itself would have gave its “life” to save yours. The entire chassis becomes a “cumple” zone…it can’t be reused.

• tanasi (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 8:41 am

Have you actually heard airbag deploying?

It’s pyrotechnique — that means explosion. The driver airbag explosion can damage your hearing. Imagine what 8 or 10 explosions would do.

• sxe10r (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 8:48 am

IF Proton crash like tat … wat will happen ?? seperate into 2 pc …. Rich ppl life more value ….

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 8:53 am

This is world class player, don’t compare to our Jaguh Kampong. Otherwise, all blind defender will stick out their neck to condemn that this-and-that cannot compare since it is not a same class or different prices, etc.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 9:19 am

“Otherwise, all blind defender will stick out their neck to condemn that this-and-that cannot compare since it is not a same class or different prices, etc.”

So that mean viva must have 7 air bag, high-strength steel (not that little punny steel for front bumper attachment) tooooo… suzuki swift must have 7 airbag too.. myvi too… all cars must have 7 airbag as a standard.

oh come on.. you dont had to talk about different class and price.

++++++

Anyway.. i dont think its about 7 airbag.. but the body strength itself play the most biggest part.

• ys (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 10:16 am

agree with 4G63T.. if you can affort such car, you will not mind to change a few air bags. anyway, the car crash technology is becoming very advance nowadays. hope these gadget will come cheap in near future so that all vehical passager is more protected.

• bavarian (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 10:18 am

I also agree with you

• BW (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 10:26 am

haha made crashing comfortable

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 12:25 pm

I think some of you missed the point. C Class is a sub-compact car and to get a 5 stars rating is quite an achievement. Normally 5 stars can only be achieved by large sedans coz of the larger space between metal and passengers and extra braces. I don’t think even the Volvo S60 got 5 stars.

Also, take note that it says EUROPEAN SPEC. Means that the version we get in Malaysia is only 4 star protection?

4G63T, 7 might be right. 4 for the doors (only glass area to protect head), 2 for driver (steering wheel and knee protection) and 1 for front passenger.

BTW, have you guys ever wondered if Proton even bother with such tests???

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 1:31 pm

Well PROTON doesn’t bother with this test & they don’t have to because none of Malaysian are care about it.

Previous waja (UK specs) has only been awarded 3stars as a result of a crumple front driver place, question is “DO WE CARE ABOUT IT???”

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 1:54 pm

3satr for waja is ok.
    but if viva or myvi (not sirion).. im not sure how many star it can get. 1?

• azrai (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 2:01 pm

You pay peanut, you get monkey. Just look at the price tag right.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 2:39 pm

KL-ATR said,
    December 27, 2007 @ 12:25 pm

I think some of you missed the point. C Class is a sub-compact car and to get a 5 stars rating is quite an achievement.
    —————
    Waja & C class is a same segment but different quality. To say C Class with 5 star rating is an achievement is acceptable, but for blind defender said Waja 3 star is “OK” is crap, eventhough both come with different built quality and price segment.

I think we have to different and don’t threat safety feature as part of quality but necessary feature for the safety of occupants. Just make it compulsory just like safety belt.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 5:00 pm

KL-ATR said,

Actually it should be two front, two side, one passenger’s knee, two curtain = 7 airbags.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 8:26 pm

alrighty then, seven it is. But look closely at the rear door. Doesn’t that look like a door/seat mounted airbag?

I’m in no way on Proton’s side but perhaps comparing the C-class to the Waja is a bit pointless. The Benz is still twice the price even in fair markets. However, Proton has been putting up a dismal show. The 3 star rating is embarassing. Wonder why it takes so long to put the Gen2/Persona and the so called “tough” Savvy to the test.

I think its about time Euro NCAP set the bar up higher. Quite a few cars already made 5 stars.

You think Volvo being the safest? check the french cars. A good number of them already made 5 stars a long time ago. Even small hatchbacks.

Even the small kenari sized Aygo/C1/107 made 4 stars.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 10:44 pm

#
    KL-ATR said,

I think some of you missed the point. C Class is a sub-compact car and to get a 5 stars rating is quite an achievement. Normally 5 stars can only be achieved by large sedans coz of the larger space between metal and passengers and extra braces. I don’t think even the Volvo S60 got 5 stars.

THERE ARE TONS OF SMALL CARS OUT THERE ACHIEVING 5 STARS. RESEARCH BEFORE YOU TALK.

Also, take note that it says EUROPEAN SPEC. Means that the version we get in Malaysia is only 4 star protection?

STUPID COMMENT.

4G63T, 7 might be right. 4 for the doors (only glass area to protect head), 2 for driver (steering wheel and knee protection) and 1 for front passenger.

BTW, have you guys ever wondered if Proton even bother with such tests???

#
    bmpower said,

December 27, 2007 @ 1:54 pm

3satr for waja is ok.
    but if viva or myvi (not sirion).. im not sure how many star it can get. 1?
    #

WHY OK? BECAUSE OF PRICE? DON’T FORGET, OUT OF THE 250k YOU’RE PAYING FOR A C-CLASS, 180K GOES TO OUR GOVERNMENT, NOT AIRBAGS. AND I CAN DARE YOU THE PRODUCTION COST OF A BASIC SPEC C-CLASS IS MUCH CHEAPER THAN THAT OF OUR WAJA.

azrai said,

December 27, 2007 @ 2:01 pm

You pay peanut, you get monkey. Just look at the price tag right.
    #

READ COMMENT ABOVE

BigFish said,

December 27, 2007 @ 2:39 pm

KL-ATR said,

I think some of you missed the point. C Class is a sub-compact car and to get a 5 stars rating is quite an achievement.
    —————
    Waja & C class is a same segment but different quality. To say C Class with 5 star rating is an achievement is acceptable, but for blind defender said Waja 3 star is “OK” is crap, eventhough both come with different built quality and price segment.

I think we have to different and don’t threat safety feature as part of quality but necessary feature for the safety of occupants. Just make it compulsory just like safety belt.

AT LAST SOMEONE WITH SENSE STARTS TALKING. THERE’S STILL HOPE.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:29 am

Let see this REAL BLIND people.

Crap #1

Merz C-Class price found here : (around £20 – £30K) http://www.autocar.co.uk/SpecsPrices/SpecsAndPrices1.aspx?MA=26

Impian/Waja “C-Class’ price at here : (around £10 – £12K )
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/SpecsPrices/SpecsAndPrices1.aspx?MA=32

Waja was 45% cheaper CAN GET 3 STAR.. what if waja at the price of C Class?
    With that price what do you expect? 10 star?

DO you study MATH BigHead?
    Do cost play big part here hah!?
    Do you had a good brain?

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:34 am

you pay what you get

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 2:09 am

Even the current PERDANA doesn’t come with airbag for driver, ABS, ESP, nothing
    just a leather seat & sell at 1++k, what an expensive piece of junk!!!

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 2:15 am

*Forgot to add

wonder how PERDANA survive with this test???

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 6:05 am

#
    bmpower said,

December 28, 2007 @ 12:29 am

Let see this REAL BLIND people.
    —
    Crap #1
    —
    Merz C-Class price found here : (around £20 – £30K) http://www.autocar.co.uk/SpecsPrices/SpecsAndPrices1.aspx?MA=26

Impian/Waja “C-Class’ price at here : (around £10 – £12K )
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/SpecsPrices/SpecsAndPrices1.aspx?MA=32

Waja was 45% cheaper CAN GET 3 STAR.. what if waja at the price of C Class?
    With that price what do you expect? 10 star?

Do you had a good brain

————————————————————

So are you satisfied with the car that has a paddle that can break your feet & a steering wheel that could hurt your chest???

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:04 am

Another crap statement from defender that never used his head. At a price of GBP 10K and above, definitely Proton can bear the cost for 5 star NCAP. The only thing they don’t have is so far the technology and expertise to build 5 star rating car. As simple as this.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:16 am

Let see REAL BLIND DEFENDER

How about Waja elongated Chancellor aka Chancel-lor. With a price of RM 138K or approx GBP 20K, do it achieve 5 star NCAP rating?

Being blind defender always come out with crap statement for the sake of argument.

So, the balls is throwing back to you to answer.
    ————
    Do you had a good brain?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:23 am

One more to add, Toyota Camry and Honda Accord at around RM 140K, they attained 5 star NCAP rating same as Merc C Class (but they may come from different segments). How about “Cancel-lor”?

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:47 am

WTH.. Do you think Cancelor still counted in ‘C Class”?
    with that size?

and you know what.. you already WRONG when comparing this new C Class with old absolute 2000 Waja (no matter how many time facelifted).
    Does old past C Class obtained 5 star too?

And now which one toyota you wanted to sell now? the 2007 model again?
    (see that?, he always too much proud with toyota, i tot u.. he’s toyota salesmen!).

• bobdbilder (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:52 am

Dude

If a market or financial costs dictates it, manufacturers will need to comply to them as in the Euro market (well the developed ones anyway). We in South East Asia don’t. Life is cheap here.

Even in day to day working, the only companies who buy good safety equipment and invest in Safety trainings are only multinationals which have to comply to their parent company HSE directives or local companies who deal globally and requires it only as an image of good safety practices. We spend more time at our workplace than driving to work. We don’t think that investment in safety would make our products better or sell much more. We don’t think that a better workplace is good for us. As workers, we don’t demand it.

On hindsight, somebody who drives a 10 airbag car must be feeling really insecure. Besides, you could always put a rollcage in your car. There’s no airbag in a race car. But they wear Nomex suits.

• Niceguy (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 10:30 am

Mercedes have almost 25 years of airbag developement, while proton is still considered new in the game(around 5 years). You can check the result of the euroncap rating for mercedes 10 years before, it score only 2stars.
    http://www.euroncap.com/tests/mercedes_benz_c_class_1997/18.aspx
    I believe the comparison between them is not really fair. The price of mercedes new C-class is 30k Euro (around RM150k). Side airbags, knee-airbags and curtain airbags is expensive..
    http://www.mercedes-benz.de/content/germany/mpc/mpc_germany_website/de/home_mpc/passengercars/home/new_cars/models/c-class/w204..flash.html#chapter=1
    What I am trying to say is, give proton some more time to develope its own technology and keep up the market, after they had gone through the hard time. Another truth is, Malaysian not really concern about safety. They most concern is price, performance and space. I bet most of the malaysian don’t ask about their car ncap ratings before they buy, and the salesman don’t know as well. No demand, no supply. That’s why malaysia don’t need to introduce NCAP here.
    Only those vehicle which target european market need to be tested by euro NCAP. All new cars had to be taken through crashtest and pass the local regulation before launched, but not rated by EuroNCAP.
    Proton Chancellor is based on Waja, no modification on structure, so retest is not necessary. Most of the cost only gone to luxury equipment, not safety. Furthermore, Waja with 3-star is designed around 4-5 years ago. So, it’s again unfair to compare it to recent hyundai or honda car.
    If there is market demand and willing to pay more on safety, I believe malaysia carmakers is capable to produce 5 star vehicle in the near future.

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:22 am

FOR THOSE BLIND DEFENDER

Remember, it’s a waja UK specs which means it’s a high end, fully features, well equipped model, by achieving 3 stars is such an embarrassing. In Malaysia we don’t get that high specs model (cincai specs) so compare that to malaysian specs is only going to get just 1 star, maybe…

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:43 am

bmpower said,
    December 28, 2007 @ 9:47 am

WTH.. Do you think Cancelor still counted in ‘C Class”?
    with that size?

and you know what.. you already WRONG when comparing this new C Class with old absolute 2000 Waja (no matter how many time facelifted).
    Does old past C Class obtained 5 star too?

And now which one toyota you wanted to sell now? the 2007 model again?
    (see that?, he always too much proud with toyota, i tot u.. he’s toyota salesmen!).
    ——–
    Many of your statement exhibit an element of “DENY AND ACCUSE” and twist and turn at your own whim and fancy. The above no exception by now “deny” akak argue on the year of the model inception and “ACCUSE” me as Toyota salesman.

WTH about Toyota saleman to do with NCAP test! U R real blind defender.

I know Camry and Honda is D-class (Mid Sedan) and Cancel-lor aheeemm, what is your opinion?

When argue on technical aspect, you cover your asshole by saying it is difference price segment, and vice-versa including argue until the cow come home and your crap extend to year of the model inception? Good luck to you.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:44 am

Theone Waja UK spec that achieve NCAP 3 star come with airbag and ABS, among other, whilst local version for same period of production is without this feature, including mine!

• szw (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:58 am

still 3

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:59 am

Come on guys, please don’t compare the 2000 Waja with this 2007-2008 Mercedes Benz C Class.

If still want, please compare the 2000 Waja and the 2006-2007 Chevrolet Aveo Sedan scored only 1 Star. Chevrolet is one of the world class car manufacturer companies but still come out some “lousy” products.

You should compare this new Mercedes Benz C Class with the 2005 BMW 3 Series.

One thing have to remember, the pedestrian protection also very important now a days. This c Class only scored 2 Stars compare to 1 star by 2005 BMW 3 Series which was very disappointing results rated by EuroNCAP even though its a new design.

By the way, even the 2007 Toyota Corolla scored better than this C Class and how much you pay for Corolla and this C Class.

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:06 pm

My uncle’s Mercedes Benz E Class (W211) less than 5 years. Brake failed 2 weeks ago and crashed other car. No brake la the car.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:07 pm

The Unicons said,
    December 28, 2007 @ 11:59 am

One thing have to remember, the pedestrian protection also very important now a days. This c Class only scored 2 Stars compare to 1 star by 2005 BMW 3 Series which was very disappointing results rated by EuroNCAP even though its a new design.
    ——–
    Just “curious” with your statement. How do you relate “pedestrian protection” with EuroNCAP test. Appreciate if you can enlighten me about this.

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:15 pm

It’s part of the EuroNCAP test procedures already, bigfish. EuroNCAP test procedures include: Frontal impact, Side impact, Pole impact, Child protection and Pedestrian protection.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:17 pm

BigFish said,

December 28, 2007 @ 12:07 pm

E-NCAP also test new cars on this, Pedestrian Protection, which show how much damage will do if it crash on pedestrian.

Audi A4 1.8T scores 2.5 stars.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:43 pm

Thank for the info but why all the car done badly in this aspects?

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 1:11 pm

ingolstadt said,
    December 27, 2007 @ 10:44 pm

THERE ARE TONS OF SMALL CARS OUT THERE ACHIEVING 5 STARS. RESEARCH BEFORE YOU TALK.
    ————–
    11 cars out of 70 mini class IS NOT A TON! And more than 50% of them are 06-07 models. AND PLEASE NOTE THAT I SAID NORMALLY. I DIDN’T SAY MINI CARS CANNOT.
    ==========

STUPID COMMENT.
    ————–
    ONLY STUPID PEOPLE TELL OTHERS ARE STUPID WITHOUT MAKING PROPER COMMENTS. AND IF CAN READ PROPERLY, I WAS ASKING A QUESTION. NOT COMMENTING. Go comment somewhere else Gomer Pyle.

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 1:22 pm

For you information, even the 2000 Waja can score 1 Star which is the same as the 2005 BMW 3 Series (current model) for its pedestrian protection. All Proton cars also have been tested based on all the procedures as I mentioned above but until now only Waja has been tested officially by EuroNCAP. EuroNCAP didn’t conduct all models from each manufacturer, only certain models been selected for the test. All car manufacturers conduct their own in house testing based on either NHTSA/USNCAP (US), ANCAP (Australian), EuroNAP (European), JPNCAP (Japanese) etc. Proton cars passed on the above 3 as JPNCAP only those Japanese car manufacturer such as the Nissan (example: Latio) scored 6 stars based on JPNCAP. However, not really sure the procedures such as crashing speed to the deformable barrier and so on.

I think it is the time to open up your eye. The safety of the car doesn’t just about the occupants in side the car but also the outside – pedestrian. Too advance which all electronics devices and computer controlled systems also not always good. Once it fails, sometimes might even deadlier than those which less computerized controlled systems just like my uncles E Class (W211). BRAKE FAILS!!!!!!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 1:42 pm

BigFish pointed out correctly. 3 stars is for the UK Spec Impian, which comes with ABS, seatbelt pretentioners and side airbags. I don’t think the Waja has that.

Also note that Impian is classified as Large Family Car, same as C-Class and for a 2002 model, 3 stars is the lowest. The rest of the cars from 2001 onwards are 4 stars.

I think that for as long as there’s no demand for more safety devices, the local manufacturers will not include them as default in the interest of cost saving. Until then, our only choice is buy the car with the highest stars we can afford and drive carefully so we never have to sacrifice the car.

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 2:10 pm

for those local defender pls watch this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJnYEUwa8pA

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 2:11 pm

watch this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJnYEUwa8pA

• afkar (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 6:01 pm

proton waja got 3 stars.

• bavarian (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 6:23 pm

KL-ATR said,
    December 28, 2007 @ 1:11 pm

ingolstadt said,
    December 27, 2007 @ 10:44 pm

————–
    11 cars out of 70 mini class IS NOT A TON!

tons of small cars mean thousands kg of small cars

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:11 pm

KL-ATR said,

December 28, 2007 @ 1:42 pm

BigFish pointed out correctly. 3 stars is for the UK Spec Impian, which comes with ABS, seatbelt pretentioners and side airbags. I don’t think the Waja has that.

Also note that Impian is classified as Large Family Car, same as C-Class and for a 2002 model, 3 stars is the lowest. The rest of the cars from 2001 onwards are 4 stars.

I think that for as long as there’s no demand for more safety devices, the local manufacturers will not include them as default in the interest of cost saving. Until then, our only choice is buy the car with the highest stars we can afford and drive carefully so we never have to sacrifice the car.
    —————————————————————-
    KL-ATR, 2006 Chevrolet Aveo sedan only scored 1 star in frontal crash to deformable barrier/side and pole impact but scored better point in pedestrian protection that was 3 stars compare this 2007 C Class only scored 2 stars. Proton Impian 2002 scored 3 star and 1 star relatively. BMW 3 Series 2005 scored 1 star for pedestrian protection same as 2002 Impian. I’m not sure where you get the info that the rest of the cars from 2001 onwards are 4 stars. Always remember the EuroNCAP is only a guidelines for car manufacturers to follow as minimum requirements in new car assessment program. It doesn’t always mean the more stars means always safe. It only mean safer car.

Drive carefully…. yes but sometimes some other people drive carelessly or because of the road conditions or rainy days. One more is that in real life everything will be all deferent. EuroNCAP frontal test is only based on 64KM/h with 40% overlap of the width of the widest part of the car not including side mirror, side and rear 50KM/h and pole impact is 29KM/h. In real life this speed are much higher. High way more than 100KM/h. So just an example this C Class impact test scored 5 stars based on frontal, side and pole with the speed I mentioned above, in real life if this car drive at speed of over 100KM/h, do you think the occupants will still always safe? Besides that with what size of the car crashing will also different.

That’s way, in future bigger car such as those MPV and SUV will have a “softer” front design and for passenger cars will have “harder” front designs.

Please don’t always compare to Proton, try to the same world class manufacturer such as BMW, VW, Toyota, Honda and so only. Proton still a new player in automotive industries compare with those big brother.

Will, just my 2 cents.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:11 pm

@Unicorns

Perhaps we can’t compare the Waja to the new C Class. But there are a host of cars that are smaller and cheaper (and dare say even older) yet perform better than the Waja.

Proton being the new kid on the block is no way justifiable to put your customers at risk because of your own incompetence. So people comparing brands are fair game. I’m sure you accuse the Chinese cars for being unsafe and shodily put together and I wont blame you for saying that. Whats the difference with proton? You are defending Proton for just the sake of it being a Malay(sian) company?

I hope people realise that the export versions come with better safety gear that is not available locally. Some of the toughest safty crash tests/regulations are in America.

I was in an accident which quite closely replicates the NCAP frontal offset crash. It was in a 1989 Mitsu Galant. 90kmh into a Ford winstar minivan (which is a softer “target” than the deformable concrete structure of the NCAP). The car is rated the equivalent to todays 4 star NCAP (back then it only had the north american IIHS test) and it shows just how well it held up in the crash. Doors opened and closed, windshield is intact and uncracked. Bear in mind that this is a 1989 model. Size wise its close to the Waja.

I fear to think I would be as well protected in a Waja/Gen2 and worst in a Wira…I dare not even think how it would be like in a Saga or a Kancil.

Even the bumpers in our cars are not close to international standard. My Galant had a 4 x 3″ high strenght steel beam behind the PU bumper cover (which is why it had such a big bumper). Our bumper is jsut the bumper cover. In the same crash above, the headlights and radiator remained undamanged. Imagine that for a sec. 90kmh crash. Now imagine the same crash in a Waja.

Perhaps it not so much of Proton not wanting to make safer cars ( bolting on more airbags will only do so much) but knowing how to. Many years of research went in to simulate of the entire chassis in a crash. Not quite sure Proton is up to that yet.

…and yes, I would put a roll cage in my satria if JPJ doens’t in all its wisdom deem it as an illegal modification. In north america, if you want a roll cage, its fair game.

And a tip for proton. Want for customers? make them safer…at least make like you care……more convincingly. There is always a demand for safety. I don’t know what were you doing (sleeping?) as the last few family members that decided to pass on Proton this time around, one of the reasons were safety (also reliability) ranked pretty high

• cetait (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:52 am

haha now i’ve seen everything, defending Proton’s atrocious safety by championing its PEDESTRIAN impact performance. I can see the advertising campaign now: 2008 WAJA: SO-SO VS. OTHER CARS BUT GREAT VS. PEDESTRIANS!

Then comparing a UK-spec Waja you can’t even get over here to the one of the worst minicompact cars in the world and saying everyone should be proud?

funnier still, when as someone else just noted, these are often the same people who are first to post snotty comments on any China car thread. Then complain Proton so young why expect so much!

Anyways, looks like a typical Proton safety thread. Got people saying airbags are dangerous killers omgz better not 2 have!!!, got people saying all Protons passed every single major safety test in the world when no documentation exists except for 1 car in EuroNCAP, got people bashing Perodua (lol), but the pedestrian impact rating argument is a new one!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 12:13 pm

Look at this way, whether you ike to admit it or not, our local marques are all holding us back (I’d be the first to point out that Proton isn’t the only one, it is however the biggest one and possibly the one that would run into the most trouble). That include the local CKD fitters (NAZA, TCIM, C&C, etc)

Its simple for the government to just say, ok, all new cars must have these safety gear, or rate better than this crash rating by 2009..

I’m sure most of the imports (perhaps save the chinese cars) will be able to meet these safety standards with ease, which after all, they have to meet in the other markets they sell.

Don’t meet don’t sell.

Its simple, In Canada, VW themselves lost a full year of Diesel engined cars because they just missed the emissions standard for the year. Now wont safety be more important?

Now then, wont it be really embarassing that our jaguh kampungs can’t meet these standards?

So to be blunt, until the local marques get there, there wont be any better safety standards for the rest of us. All manufacturers will cheap out when then can, even local CKD Mercedes’ and BMWs.

As for the Pedestrian safety, that was obvious enough some certain people are running out of argumentative points….. but that is just stating the obvious. I got a good laugh though….

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 12:37 pm

Pedestrian Safety? Not only limited to the car safety feature, but the design of the road, e.g. dedicated pedestrian walkway, overhead bridge, railing, adequate road sign, and of course human duty of care play a major part in safety of the pedestrian and car user!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 4:39 pm

If you got the money, buy 10 airbags car.
    If you don’t, buy cheap cars.
    What’s there to argue about. We see BMW & MERC everyday on the road.
    Before you accuse & condemn Proton and the other local automotive manufacturers, please ask yourself why, why I can’t afford to drive a BMW & MERC.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 9:31 pm

@Unicons, my info was obtained directly from Euro NCAP’s website: www.euroncap.com

As for pedestrian safety, it all goes down to the design at the front. The height of bumper, size, angle of hood, etc. Soft bumpers will be safer for pedestrians but obviously, it won’t protect the driver better. So ask yourself… do you buy a car that’s safer for you? Or do you get a car that’s safer in case someone decided to commit suicide by jumping in front of your car? I certainly hope it’s not coz u have sudden urges to run down jaywalkers as they stroll across the street. And I’m with 4G63T about you guys running out of things to argue on.

Now, as for comparing with Proton, it has never interest me coz I never felt safe in one so I’ve never own any. The only Proton I’ve ever considered was the Putra and that was purely for its bang for buck performance. I merely wanted to highlight that the test was done on the UK SPEC IMPIAN and NOT WAJA. This might give the local Waja owners a false sense of security. As it is, everyone is already declaring it’s a WAJA. IMPIAN IS NOT A WAJA. It only looks like one.

I’m really tired of people who compare Proton with Honda & Toyota and said that Proton is still a very young company so should be given a chance to do better. Being young is not an excuse. Pagani managed to create the Zonda in less than 10 years and he’s on par with Ferrari in terms of performance and quality, with his own funding! Proton with the government’s billions can’t do well? WHY NOT??? Ask yourself.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 10:16 pm

KL-ATR said,

December 29, 2007 @ 9:31 pm
    Pagani managed to create the Zonda in less than 10 years and he’s on par with Ferrari in terms of performance and quality

Pagani sourced their engine from Mercedes.

• cetait (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 11:37 pm

And Proton still sources engines from Renault and Mitsubishi…

And why say people shouldn’t criticize Proton if they can’t afford BMW/Merc, what kind of retarded reasoning is that? I actually do own one thanks, but I still think Protons should be safe. Maybe other people’s lives don’t matter to you as long as you’re safe but I beg to differ. And if someone can only afford a Proton and wants to criticize, so what? They have every damn right to demand the most safety features possible for their money, which is totally not the case at the moment.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 11:40 pm

@Isaac

Whats wrong then? Because Pagani is smart enough not wanting to spend unnecessary money on engine development on such a low volumm car? Besides the 7.3L is bespoke to the Zonda.

Least you forget it has been MORE than 10 years Proton has been using other people’s engines. Even now its campro is technically only “half finished”.

If Proton would have used someone elses engine (ie Toyota) that can give us more performance, better fuel efficiency and reliability, I’d be a complete moron to even contemplate a compliant….

eh, why can’t I afford to drive a BMW or Mercedes?

1) Not BN government affiliated (you get the picture, I dont have to spell it out for you)
    2) Not born with silver spoon in mouth
    3) Smart enough not to finance a corrupt government with its APs and such.
    4) I rather spend the money on tangible appreciating assets.

Why complain then? Maybe you were too young then to remember that before Proton even existed, cars were once affordable in the country. 20 years ago a civic was 21k. If you say that this is inflation, go ahead and interpolate the price trends. Your plate of economy rice will be $20, and our salary will be 5x what we are getting now.

I’m sure if my salary was a 5x, a BMW would be clump change. I will be able to buy a new 3 series every year.

The truth is, protectionist policies and backhanded politically driven “money making schemes” has driven good safe cars out of reach of regular, honest hardworking people, yet making some individuals filthy rich.

So Isaac, if you are indeed in catagory 1 and 2, you already forfieted your credibility to even say what you mentioned 2 posts up. And if you are not, and made your bread with only your ingenuity, then my hats off to you.

I make enough to live a comfortable life. But spending 250k on an entry level BMW will make me a laughing joke among my peers. Not very smart of me.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 12:05 am

Safety should never ever been a price driven option. Engines, Yes. Trim levels, Yes. Accessories, Yes. But not safety.

A Citroen C4 and Ford Focus racks up the same number of stars in the NCAP as the C and E class Mercedes’. The C4 and Focus both come with 6 airbags and come in at £10k and the C class, 2x as much and the E Class, 3x more.

Your same logic would have Mercedes made the C class a 4 star, well, because you should have worked harder to afford an E class? Lol.

Right.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 1:44 am

cetait said,

December 29, 2007 @ 11:37 pm

Can you make a difference?

4G63T DSM said,

December 29, 2007 @ 11:40 pm

How about you? Can you change anything other than getting victorious in some foolish argument?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 10:49 am

4G63T DSM said,
    December 29, 2007 @ 11:40 pm

I’m sure if my salary was a 5x, a BMW would be clump change. I will be able to buy a new 3 series every year.

The truth is, protectionist policies and backhanded politically driven “money making schemes” has driven good safe cars out of reach of regular, honest hardworking people, yet making some individuals filthy rich.
    ———-
    Well said, with our natural resources, we should do better than Sing and this what we should achieved.

The West’s working class mid income group like Manager level with income of USD 70 to 90K per annum can afford entry class sedan like BMW 3 seiries or C-Class.

For us in the same mid income bracket, with average income of around RM 60K, we can afford Vios or Waja only?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 10:50 am

So the West with “5 star income” enjoy 5 star NCAP rating car, whilst Malaysian counterpart with “3 star income” can afford “3 star NCAP rating car only? Pathetic! ………….

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 10:54 am

Isaac, don’t be blind defender then compare with poor African countries or 4th world countries that we are still “lucky” able to afford low quality, lack of safety and at rellatively high price car.

Just like any products, be it building, toys, computer, etc, safety is the basic requirement, car no exception, it is not optional.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 11:46 am

BigFish said,

December 30, 2007 @ 10:54 am

Show me any sentences from my comments that I’m defending.
    I”m just saying that ada duit beli masidis, takda duit pakai buatan malaysia.
    We’ve bloody heavy tax and this is a bloody true fact and the people here in http://paultan.org just can’t accept the fact.
    Before you are able to change this situation with your power, the comments made here, nothing much different from talk cock, sorry to say that.
    My car has 6 airbags, without taxes I am able to get 10 airbags car with the same amount of money. But well, what can I say. Just work harder for the 10 airbags car and get it in the future.

• cetait (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 5:59 pm

Anyone who wants to see the country and citizens’ lives improve…CAN make a difference.

Anyone with a tidak apa attitude who only cares about whatever crumbs he can scrounge under the current system and attacks anyone who wants positive change CAN’T.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 8:27 pm

Of course I can.

I vote with my money. And next year, I will vote at the ballot box. Might not do shit but I can sleep well at night thinking I did something to change the country we live in.

Maybe you are fine just accepting the fact you can pay the rediculous tax on cars (and the “AP” premium). I’m not. And I’m sure not limited to the people in Paultan.org

In psychology we have a term called learnt helplessness. Unfortunately, that is the state of the car buying public. We are expected to take wahtever scraps gets handed down.

My friend, whether you would want to admit it or not, the tide is turning. Wonder why suddenly Proton is working hard on “new” models and better quality? Perhaps mr and mrs joe public isn’t buying them as much lately? Voting with thier money perhaps?

You seriously can’t think that Proton is doing us a favour releasing new cars.

(I use proton jsut as an example before I get jumped on by the defenders)

You may not see it, but it happens. A single person wont be able to do much. But as a collective, well educated consumers will always prevail.

No offence to those that spent money on expensive imports,…seriously, why should I work myself to death so I can pay someone for the AP that they get free?

Before you mis-read any more comments, read this again. Good safe cars should never be a price driven option.

“A Citroen C4 and Ford Focus racks up the same number of stars in the NCAP as the C and E class Mercedes’. The C4 and Focus both come with 6 airbags and come in at £10k and the C class, 2x as much and the E Class, 3x more.”

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 11:46 pm

IsaacVky said,
    December 30, 2007 @ 11:46 am

We’ve bloody heavy tax and this is a bloody true fact and the people here in http://paultan.org just can’t accept the fact.
    ————
    This is not the fact, I repeat and said it is not a FACT for fair price under free market, but it is a MANIPULATION & SQUEEZING of hard earn monies under crap NAP.

We can change for better, G to a certain extent can manipulate the supply-demand curve but ultimately G can’t control the people purchasing power!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:23 am

Dudes. Chill

There is more to life than driving, spending money on an asset that depreciates in value and increases costs to run it. If you want a rush; do downhill mountain biking, try Fraser hill for starters.

A lot of anguish and bickering is spent on something that is not worth the effort. Here is a revelation for you; You can’t change the world. It’s a naive adolescent value. We thought we could. But we can’t. Seriously. Your boy scouts days are over. Take a reality pill dudes. Take it as it is and learn to live life to the fullest. Live and learn. All this negativity will bring you down. Be positive.

Happy New Year guys!

• wong (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 4:19 am

How many ‘forumners’ can afford this car?normally the one who talk so much can’t afford….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:14 pm

No offence to you but,

The societies of the worked today are not built by pessimists.

We all strive for a better future for oursleves, and our future. How we achieve that will differ.

Pessimists like you only reap the benefits of the people that have layed thier future and their lives however big or small so all of us could enjoy a better future. You are doing a great disgrace to them that came before you so you can have the life you have now.

There are people who are just happy to scrounge up a living with scraps, there are equally that will never be satisfied. Please do not confuse the drive and motivation to make things better from being unhappy.

If people should always be happy with that they’d got, humanity would not have left the caves.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:40 am

wong said,
    January 1, 2008 @ 4:19 am

How many ‘forumners’ can afford this car?normally the one who talk so much can’t afford….

how but yourself? u only send 1 comment then u can afford kah…!
    we are free to speak in public

• Niceguy (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 11:30 am

Haha, I think this threat has been out of topics. Don’t go too deep into politics. We are here talk about cars. I suggest that we better don’t use personal attack.

I hope that proton will improve their perdana to be up to standard..especially safety to target higher-end market. Proton should also publish the crash result of all car models to show us how safe is their models. We can’t judge just base on 1 model which is not the same spec with the one in the local market.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 5:49 am

Niceguy said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 11:30 am

Haha, I think this threat has been out of topics. Don’t go too deep into politics. We are here talk about cars. I suggest that we better don’t use personal attack.

I hope that proton will improve their perdana to be up to standard..especially safety to target higher-end market. Proton should also publish the crash result of all car models to show us how safe is their models. We can’t judge just base on 1 model which is not the same spec with the one in the local market.

if they publish all of their results no one will ever gonna buy potong again