Nokia N78 with FM Transmitter

FM transmitters have become a rather popular car accessory these days, as most car manufacturers have yet to settle on MP3-capable CD players as a standard feature. Burning a limited amount of tracks to Audio CDs can be a pain, so many are turning to playing songs from their portable MP3 players. Because many cars also lack aux input for audio, you have to use something called an FM transmitter to interface between the MP3 player and the head unit.

The FM transmitter basically takes your MP3 player’s audio output and transmits it on an FM frequency that you specify. Then you tune your head unit in to the frequency and you get to listen to whatever songs the MP3 player is playing. Some FM transmitters are standalone, and they read songs from a memory card like an SD card. Some are rather premium, like the iTrip for the iPod.

The Nokia N78 succeeds the N73 Music Edition, and at first sight you might assume it is just another candybar phone that’s aimed at those who want an MP3 player in their mobile phone. But one unique feature is that the phone has a built-in FM transmitter. You just select the FM frequency that you want to transmit your music on and activate the transmitter. Then just tuned into the selected frequency on your car head unit. The phone transmits RDS text as well – “Nokia”, but it would be better if the song title could be transmitted as well.

VIDEO: Nokia N78

Other features of the N78 include A-GPS with Nokia Maps 2.0, Wifi, 3.5G HSDPA connectivity, support for standard 3.5mm headphone plugs, a 3.2 megapixel camera, and Nokia Internet Radio. I’m thinking with an unlimited data plan, you could stream the internet radio to your car audio. That should give those who are bored of our local radio channels some variety.

Of course, hardcore audiophiles will never consider something like this as there’s just so much loss of quality incurred through all the multiple layers of mediums – even including air – that the audio has to go to before it reaches your speakers. Track-by-track CD audio is the choice for quality.

The new Nokia N78 will ship in Q2 2008. More photos of the Nokia N78 after the jump.

Nokia N78

Nokia N78

Nokia N78

Nokia N78

Nokia N78

Nokia N78

Nokia N78

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• avalanchexz (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:24 am

waaah sempoi seh . . .

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:35 am

wow… cool function on nokia….
    im better start saving now. the price gonna costs a bomb since it is launching and also in N series.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:50 am

wow…smart

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:17 am

Its actually a cool feature. I think its like 1/2 years late. More manufacturers are putting AUX in the cars anyway. So it may be a bit useless.

• eugeneat (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:28 am

Isn’t the N78 more of a replacement for the N77?
    Why wasn’t the N96 blogged at the same time?
    It’s the replacement for the N95 but now with 16gb memory.

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:54 am

have the n73 and i must say this nokia gets just about everything right.

i think aux is just a fad.
    just give us in dash players that accept multiple dvds(mp3s) as standard from the factory. or maybe even blue ray. one disc=an ipod so you can fit lossless uncompressed audio though no car audio system is up to scratch to benefit from it.

coz you dont want to be getting in a car and plugging the ipod in and then unplugging it while getting out or leave the ipod to melt in the car on a hot day. or get stolen. the fm transmitter makes more sense than the aux coz you carry your phone more so than an ipod with you everywhere and its wireless though you problably cant control it via the controls on the steering.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 8:02 am

I’ve used Siemens, Alcatel, and now on my 2nd Nokia … I think I’ll always use a NOKIA!

• lone_rider (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 8:26 am

Cool feature but cosmetic design wise..hmmm..
    nokia still miles behind others..

for music, still prefer SE..
    Anyway can it transmit voice call also? anyone?

• Mike V (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 9:00 am

I tried out the Bluetooth attachment on my friend’s WAJA the other day. It was Clarion’s bluetooth add-on and it supported A2DP Stereo streaming. Music was from my P990i. Sound was wayyy better that FM. In addition, A2DP also supports remote control, so you can control your playback via the head unit. Not sure whether the CPS has it tho …

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 9:04 am

nice one but my n73 still ok for me so tungguuuuuuuuu

• BW (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 10:16 am

wah i want!!!! But then i heard FM transmitters doesn’t have good sound quality… I personally heard it before but i think that time the one i heard is the radio suxx… So maybe it’s because of the radio la…

• wiraperkasa (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 10:57 am

paul…how bout the newly sony ericsson w980i, it also have the fm transmitter and much2 more sexy than this n78…surely u need to post an entry for the phone rite..

• Xoomie (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 11:12 am

oh no… the buttons are so tiny for my ultra big fingers

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 11:58 am

wow …kakooi!..anyway..is it already selling in Msia…?..how much?..it has almost d same similar interface with Iphone..but still nice..

• narrowband (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:02 pm

Cool, but impractical. I’ve an FM transmitter already (bought from PC Fair) and the quality, although noiseless (un-interfered by neighbouring channels), suffers too much loss in quality.

Marketing… Bah!

• acbc (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:11 pm

A phone is a horrible way to listen to music. Too much distraction and interference.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:28 pm

Nokia phones are still ugly and seems to squek after 3 weeks of usage (save those aluminium and titanium ones). I’ve had several nokias in the past (all smart phones), and none seem to be reliable anymore. SE and Samsung are fabulous though

• ront (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 2:45 pm

i’d prefer if the stereo unit in cars are equipped with USB port…..which takes any mp3 players.

one of the earlier commenter mentioned abt equipping cars with blu-ray players……i think that is still quite some time away. dont think the sales of blu-ray home units have picked up in many countries.

i had to make a choice btwn these fm transmitter and an original ipod connector (i didnt have an ipod, hence it was a decision to make). after reading the reviews abt fm transmitter……the interference and the sub-par quality….i decided to get the ipod connector…..which means i had to get an ipod…..so far so good lah.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 3:11 pm

guys, FM transmitter in mobile phone is NOT a new thing……

please refer i-Mobile 516, it has FM transmitter too……

Nokia is the world’s No.1 mobile phone manufacturer, followed by Samsung, Motorola, Sony Ericsson and LG in the 5th position……

I used 3310 (my 1st phone), 3315, 3350, 8250, 6610, 7250i and my current phone N71, gotta admit that Nokia is always the best choice……

from music to photography, from quality to features, Nokia still the best……

• avanza (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 6:06 pm

Paul, good to see that you are not only reviewing automotive interests but also mobile communications. But you should probably have it on another forum or blog, yeah. You did mentioned that this blog is about your raves and rants on the automotive industry. Cheers.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 10:00 pm

IMHO, bcoz of this blog suddenly seems quite boring recently… there’s not much test drive/review recently as compared to before….

back to N78 FM Transmitter…. Just forget about it as how long battery life can it streams continuosly ? 2hrs ? 3hrs ?

Just forget it!

• nmh (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 10:57 pm

It shud be made compatible wit car aux

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 12:45 am

after using all makes of phones i think samsung and motorola do make good looking phones. but the phones are a pain to use.
    therefore it only leaves nokia and SE. apple is an interesting one. and the cracked iphone would cost as much as these new phones i’ll be tempted to give the apple a go this year or the next.

i avoid samsung motorola and lg like the plague.

as for nokia, i particularly enjoyed 3210 and 8250. the 8800 sirocco feels like a quality phone but just ruined by specs and price and network type. someone left it in the shop so i had a chance to fiddle around with it to find out how to call the customer to return his phone. hehe

• kakilubuk (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 7:49 am

Brape ribu RM tu wooiiiiiii! aku punya transmitter skarang pun aku beli dalam RM60.00 je. Cucuk thumb drive 8gb je aku dapat dengar beribu-ribu lagu.

• ah liew (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 9:59 pm

i used to own a MP3 player (i cube) with a FM transmitter but with limited space only (256MB) it’s lots of fun but it might over amplify the car speakers because the MP3 player itself has it’s EQ & sound prefences so it’s better to turn everthing off before connecting.

FM transmitter is not something new but very common because alot of devices preffer Bluetooth. My home town in Sabah has very poor FM frequency which the left speaker is always louder than the right speaker just like RTM radio channels…. weird. So it had affected my listenning pleasure.

• ah liew (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 10:01 pm

oh! i forgot…. devices like N78 could only be fun if….. you own a car! hehe! No point transmitting it to your home radio right?

• szw (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 10:46 pm

cool…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 9:37 pm

Been doing a lot of research on this phone (Apart from being a total car nut, I am also obsessed with cellphones =P)

Apparently Nokia and Sony Ericsson have been releasing a wave of powerful mid-range phones. Most people term this N78 the N73’s successor and I would agree with them.

After donkey’s ages, WI-FI is included on a common N-series mid-range phone. A combination of that plus the 3.2 mega pixel camera, maps, obit, navi wheel and other a 1,200 mAh battery makes it a potent little punter.

It’s got fab looks to match too which makes it all the more sweeter.

• dawoud on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:10 pm

well i have a nokia N78 it’s amazing i think it’s the best nokia phone has ever made, but mine it got robbed