New Lancia Delta: first new model since 2004

New Lancia Delta

The new Lancia Delta will be unveiled at the 2008 Geneva auto show and it will be the first Lancia to be launched since the Lancia Musa minivan in 2004. It will go on sale in 2010. Lancia intends to sell 70,000 Lancia Deltas annually, with 50% of that in Lancia’s homeland of Italy. It will be produced in the Cassino plant, along with the Fiat Bravo and Croma models. Both right hand drive and left hand drive models will be produced.

We first saw signs of the new Delta in the Delta HPE Concept shown before, and this production version has softer lines but still generally looks like the concept. From photos especially the side profile you can see it looks very much like a Fiat Bravo, and in reality the Delta is in fact based on a stretched Fiat Bravo platform, which is 100mm longer at 2700mm. The car is 4500mm long, 1800mm wide and 1500mm tall.

The interior also is obviously a restyling of the Bravo’s interior. You get a Bose Hi-Fi radio incorporating a CD player and MP3 file reader with steering-wheel mounted controls, and of course the Blue & Me in-car entertainment controls developed with Microsoft that was also in the Bravo.

The Lancia Delta will come with a range of turbocharged engines producing power outputs ranging from 120 horsepower up to 200 horsepower, and these engines are mix-matched to a range of manual, automatic and computer-controlled clutch manuals.

More photos after the jump.

Lancia Delta HPE Concept
Fiat Bravo GT 1.4 T-JET 150hp Short Test Drive

New Lancia Delta

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 1:31 pm

Looks a bit wierd, like the hate-it-or-love-it type. I thought the Delta Integrale should be compact and youthful looking. This one looks a bit ‘uncle-ish’. The retro looks may only please certain audience only.

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 3:12 pm

design is too complicated :/ Not to my likings.

• abtm (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 3:18 pm

this is just the Delta…they havn’t put the integrale tag on it, so don’t criticize it yet. Lancias are suppose to look like shit anyway, except this one also looks like a hearse-

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 3:57 pm

love it… it looks like the concept… heehee…
    what they need is a sports carrr…. >.

• nmh (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 4:04 pm

I like the rear…very murano-ish, front ewww, dashboard ewww

• eezarm (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 5:00 pm

strange looking car…
    not worth buying..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 5:13 pm

the dashboard is a bit boring, but exterior looks cool……

• bolo (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 5:18 pm

Looks like it was designed in the grip of grappa !! :)

• ilmondo (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 5:59 pm

if i’m not mistaken, Lancias are more premium FIAT. they are based on FIAT. Delta is based on the Bravo if i’m not wrong. NICE ONE! and its italian!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 6:33 pm

Oh man… they must have employed the Sanggyong designer! Real ugly! Give me the original Delta any day!

• albagmane (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 6:36 pm

the european version of Ssangyong… aiksss!

• ilmondo (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 6:37 pm

d previous comment was given without reading the whole article. i’m so sorry! haha.. happy valentines!

• Cire (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 6:43 pm

More than likely using the existing Fiat/ARomeo platform.
    The silhoutte of the car have some similarity with the 147. Interior dash also have some resemblance of the 147/ARomeo designs. Except for the latter’s hooded telescopic meter cluster, all the rest look pretty similar.

As for the front grill, its Lancia alright. Distinctive grill.
    But overall, the exterior design is too vogue for the race-rally famous brand.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 7:15 pm

The design is too “classy” for rallying. Check out the Thesis by the way, damn beautiful man.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 7:18 pm

Oh man… they must have employed the Sanggyong designer! Real ugly! Give me the original Delta any day!
    —————————————————————-

At least Italians are not nerds…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 7:20 pm

But I don’t think it will be a practical everyday driver, just look at the C-pillar, it’s obstructing the rear view.

• junky_man (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 7:29 pm

isn’t this the same brand of car we saw in “Borat meets fast and furious” video posted here? heheh

• aizat (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 8:06 pm

the center fascia looks out of proportion………the exterior sucks…..i thought italians r suppose 2 be creative………..

• szw (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 9:07 pm

too fancy…

• transformer (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 9:18 pm

Front looks ok except grill and that Murano rearlight!

• BW (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 11:18 pm

Haha if add a capital letter U behind the Lancia word becomes La***au lol…. Bad word kena censored…

• mzfnd (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 12:31 am

A simpler front bumper design would’ve been better…

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 12:58 am

A bit radical, Thats not the real car, hopefully its beautiful than that. Honda will be releasing the new Accord Q1 this year. Thai already has it. Any word on when its release date?

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:05 am

The most nice looking so far from Lancia!..The front lower graphic looks fresh but slightly busy..but the rear is beautiful!and the interior too…One thing about Lancias, u just need it to see it in real life to appreciate it…managed to view a few of em models in Geneva motorshow a few years back..the form, their intricate details even to the smallest parts , texture,fabric,etc..phew..ull be suprised…Elegant and Baroque ish..hehe..

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:39 am

weird , pelik ………………………….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 9:06 am

fiat has revealed thier bravo…lancia oso…but bravo is better looking than delta…now…jz wait for the the little brother…the AR 149…i think the 149 is much2 better than those 2…

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 10:30 am

I don’t really like the front styling, but the car is distinctively beautiful and classy!

• ilmondo (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 12:52 pm

sorry off-topic.
    yea.. there already are spyshots of new 149 and junior.. n i’m really excited bout that.. raybrig85, remember that u said u owned alfa.. n now i can oni dream bout alfa.. haha!

• T-Bird (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 6:27 pm

I liked of the designer, mainly dashboard ! except the steering wheel…( I think that is iqual the Honda Civic, and new Ford Fiesta showed in geneva…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 9:45 pm

ya…can wait to c 149…hopefully it will b a sexiest ever in its class…btw…i still luv my 147 anyway…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 9:47 pm

ya…cant wait to c 149…hopefully it will b a sexiest ever in its class…btw…i still luv my 147 anyway…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 12:05 pm

Delta … I guess the Bravo’s platform is suitable for anything, as long as they have the guts to name it.

I love the Lancia Delta Integrale, Lancia 037.

I’m still not agreeable with their “what-should-i-do” styling. Too fussy and there’s no general direction. Check out the Lancia Ypsilon for the epitome of european screw ups.

They should modernize integrale and 037’s distinctive family looks and go on from there.

• TheTaj (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Question, who holds the franchise for Lancia here?

• farhathaniff (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Ive seen this on the road here in Berlin, its awesome. like a real concept ppl could buy

• Insignia on May 14, 2009 at 12:14 pm

This design it's too complicated.. Rear.. Front.. No.. Fiat Bravo is too better..