New Ministers for MITI, Transport and Works

Malaysia now has a new Minister of International Trade and Industries – Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin, who was the former agriculture minister. He is also an UMNO Vice President. He is assisted by his deputies Loh Wei Keong and Datuk Jacob Dungau Sagan. MITI does play a role in the automotive industry here in Malaysia (taxes, import and export policies, etc), so there could be a wave of changes coming soon. The next few years could prove to be interesting.

We also have a new Minister of Transport – Datuk Ong Tee Keat and assisted by his Deputy Anifah Aman. And perhaps we may finally say goodbye to Samy-fied roads thanks to the new Minister of Works Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamad, and his Deputy Datuk Yong Khoon Seng.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ndmervin (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Lets just hope this combo will bring good news to us motorheads…

• redwings (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 1:45 pm

Hooray… Rafidah Aziz is out…but AP issue still no change…

• azrai (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 1:57 pm

The good news is the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affair Minister is Shahrir Samad. Yess!! The AP rule may be changed. Toll consession maybe revised. Hmm..Do you realize the field of the new minster have at least 9 Johoreans? Something to do with WPI maybe.

• kinwawa (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:07 pm

good good…OTK as transport minister….good lineup i guess…Rafidah out yahoo…JJ out yahoo!!!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:14 pm

haha..this will be a big porblem for naza. no more insider in miti..shahrir samad?this will be good news for malaysian..i hope new minister transport overhoul all the public transport in KL.

off topic : paul,didnt u know that petronas now become main sponsor for toms racing team which is using toyota@lexus car if i not mistaken in GT japan?since when?when they sign the aggrement?i hope u can create new headline about this.TQ bro

• clutch_plate (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:19 pm

Yihaaa….!! the Sammy Bullu & Rapiiiigidahhh Aziz has ‘passed away’ from their throne… hope we will see a better policy on AP rule & tol when using road with this new minister… oo yeah! :D

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:24 pm

if same crap but different face thn no point………but we got to give them a chance….

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:25 pm

Surprisingly why, Rafidah Aziz is out?

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:27 pm

good there is no AP queen and king perhaps.
    but looking overall … the new cabinet is WEAK and worse! cabinet.

• wong (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:27 pm

Yes,no more Samy No Value!!!…..no more irritating voice of RAFIsuDAH!!! Very interesting…

• longjaafar (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:34 pm

Overall, a better cabinet than the previous one. Sharir Samad, Zaid Ibrahim will speak their minds. Amirsham (ex Maybank) is a true professional.
    However, Mike Tyson is in. Perhaps Pak Lah thinks his escapade in Australia is forgotten and he can be forgiven. I hope he has improved his English, because in court, in Australia, he admitted that his English is not good, and that’s why he did not understand the custome declaration sign.
    Glad that Khairy is not in.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:43 pm

wow Rafidah didn’t get any post.

I guess Pak Lah has realised that she’s not exactly a crowd favourite.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:00 pm

after how long he found that one out ?!!

the whole ting jus needs an overhaul….times changed,political and economic situation is different now….no more fooling the public….if only half of them put a decent effort with honesty we can be in dreamland…..seriously thrs noting more we wan…..

enough of this ‘fill my pockets as much as i want’ ppl……enough already….

• abufaris (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:01 pm

Any idea on gas consumption on this Campro CPS? Some claim it’s not save enough like the VVTi.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:12 pm

OK HERE’S MY WISH LIST:

• abtm (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:13 pm

smooth roads and increase speed limits

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:21 pm

abtm said,
    March 18, 2008 @ 3:13 pm

smooth roads and increase speed limits

————————————-

Dude, its 3 in the afternoon. Can you not be dreaming at this time? :-P

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Finally, SAMA BODOH and RAFI CRISIS has GONE in the Wind.
    HOpefully No more NEW SAMA BODOH and RAFI CRISIS and APKINGS will be reproduced again.

YAHOO! Now MALAYSIAN got new HOPE now! THX Barisan RAKYAT and RAKYAT bersatu padu for the CHANGE.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:53 pm

nnnaaahhhh…mabe change a bit…but mabe still d same…crap…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:58 pm

korek korek korek!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 4:04 pm

ah ah ah ha korek korek korek

• Alifz (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Whatever and whoever being a minister….if they are capable to address and reslove ‘rakyat’ needs, for next election SAYA MISTI PILIH…..

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 4:42 pm

car drop price ?! petrol gain price … which one we want ??

• engtaokia (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 4:46 pm

bye bye Semi Value, we will miss u veli much :p

i wish i could build few tolls infront of your house :)

• wong (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 5:11 pm

#
    engtaokia said,

March 18, 2008 @ 4:46 pm

i wish i could build few tolls infront of your house :)
    ==============================================
    That’s my wish too,hehe…

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 5:12 pm

amirsyam of ex maybank should be #2 finance minister if not #1. not mohd yakop the useless one. Wth PM do? the simple math also cant understand meh?

btw.. in another story is. rafidah is good at international trade & int dealing (but the AP issue put her in black lah).

Many sarawak and sabahan now.. i dont see this a good sign for economy side.
    But more to : ‘would you stand to push me up always’ cabinet stylo.

Many not ‘sebulu’ person killed already.. like azmi khalid.. the ex Alam sekitar minister. He good at work what?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 5:40 pm

#
    engtaokia said,

i wish i could build few tolls infront of your house
    —————————————————————-

Yayah ahah ahah KOREK KOREK KOREK ahah ahah yeah KOREK KOREK KOREK yeah bro KOREK!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 5:42 pm

Next time the press ask you then say time will tell lah!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 5:51 pm

For more information please check:

http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/Malaysian_Celebrities

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 5:59 pm

#
    engtaokia said,

—————————————————————-

No, in every part of your house, including living room, bedroom, bathroom etc. KOREK or not ah Bro?! – Statement from the rakyat.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 6:04 pm

Goodbye Sam Tribute.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=LbBHNRs-yRw

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 7:01 pm

I DONT WANT TO KOREK SAMY…. BUWEEEKKK BETTER THAN A MALE HIPPOO!!!!!!!!!

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 7:04 pm

BUT I HOPE THE NEW MITI MINISTER WILL DELIVER TO US IN PRICE REDUCTION OF 1.5 BELOW. BECAUSE THIS TYPE OF CAR IS THE RAKYATS CHOICE. HOPE FOR A BETTER DAYS AHEAD FOR BN. TRY AND SEDUCE AND AROUSE US WITH YOUR SEXY GOODIES PLEASE!

• carlover (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 7:40 pm

Its funny to read how some of you know NUTS about politics.

Rafidah reported to Pak Lah
    Muhyiddin will report to Pak Lah

Rafidah and Muhyiddin cant get green light without Pak Lah’s approval.

You guys actually think you will see much changes?

• szw (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 7:46 pm

pls update 4 new changes tq…

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 10:09 pm

DONT WORRY PAK LAH WILL LISTEN NOW…
    IF NOT 2012 THE PM WILL BE PAK ANWAR …….
    SURE HE WILL LISTEN DONT WORRY,
    IF HE STILL DONT LISTEN U GUYS KNOW WHAT TO DO RIGHT!!!!!!!!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 10:29 pm

If Muhyiddin can’t do it, nobody can dudes. He’s done wonders wherever he went. When Mukhriz sent that thought provoking letter and everyone called for heads to roll, he was the only one to ask Dollah to hear what Mukhriz had to say. Coz apparently they are losing points with grassroots.

But if you’re thinking cheaper cars, that’s a long way off. He’d better get those FDIs back in. Looking at the economic state of the world, that’s real hard work.

Buckle up, keep your hands down. Enjoy the ride.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 11:25 pm

MyviKiller said,

March 18, 2008 @ 5:59 pm

#
    engtaokia said,

—————————————————————-

No, in every part of your house, including living room, bedroom, bathroom etc. KOREK or not ah Bro?! – Statement from the rakyat.

>>>KOREK KOREK KOREK!! He ask why, we say “act of God” called karma, wakakakakakak

Well, all the best to Muhyiddin. If he can’t solve AP issue, dr_carz, let’s do IT, zehehahahahahahaha. I’m gonna turn 21 this 21st, and I’ll DEFINITELY register to become a voter, muahahahahahaha.

• marvel (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 12:01 am

MisterBenjo, that song is damn catchy and funny,you made my day,…Anyway look at the positive side,let both BN and BR argue what is best for the Rakyat,end of the day,maybe we untung,…BN or BR they are all politicians and full of crap!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 12:17 am

Lets see if the two new ministers can deliver. Muhiyidin Yasin was good in his previous post

• biggie (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 7:54 am

i guess I long for the time where car user tax money goes to a fund to improve: roads and public transport. And a watchdog are there to ensure those money are spent properly.

I for one will like petrol to be taxed instead of subsidised as of now, as I am all for environment. Car tax let it be… no harm done.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 9:18 am

A pretty large watchdog compared to last time. Hopefully the bark will be loud enough for them to cower.

Now let’s see if the AP kings will be kept on a leash, and Japan – Malaysia Trede Agreement will be followed through without compromise, clean and clear.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 10:43 am

dr_carz said,
    March 18, 2008 @ 10:09 pm

DONT WORRY PAK LAH WILL LISTEN NOW…
    —————————————————————-

Pak Lah’s ears are full with ear wax, cannot listen at all!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 10:44 am

Anyway, no offense for the diehard BN fans.

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 1:38 pm

I SEE CAR PRICES MAYBE CUT DOWN TO 15%
    HOPE

YES PAK LAH IS A BIMBO
    I BAGI U SATU GURINDAM LAH

GURINDAM PAK LAH :

HAJAT DIHATI NAK TAWAN KELANTAN,
    TAPI KALAH LIMA NEGERI,
    HENDAK KE MANA MEMBAWA DIRI,
    NEGERI SENDIRI SUDAH DAP TAWAN,
    LEBIH BAIK KU SERAH PADA KHAIRY,
    KU TUMPU SAJA PADA ISTERI,
    MANALAH LAH TAHU KU DAPAT BABY!!!!!!!!!

DONT WORRY TAN SRI MUHIYIDDIN WILL LISTEN.
    AND MUKHRIZ WILL SAY ALOUD.

LONG LIVE MUKHRIZ
    SORRY I MEMANG MINAT KAT BROTHER MUKHRIZ

SMART LIKE FATHER !

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 1:40 pm

IF MUKHRIZ WANTS A P.A I SURELY KERJA PUNYA
    JADI DRIVER PUN TAKPA…

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 1:42 pm

BUT SURELY I CANT
    WHOSE GONNA TEACH MY STUDENTS AT THE COLLEGE

HAHHH IF HE BUYS THE COLLEGE CAN LAHHH

HAHAHHAAHA

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Haha doc, tone down on the ‘I like Mukhriz’ thing. Ppl might think you were having an affair..