Minimum sound level for US cars

Honda FCX Clarity

While our motoring-related laws remain relatively stagnant (road tax calculated based on engine displacement in this age of engine downsizing with turbocharging, for example), the US has been actively shaping its laws to suit current automotive trends.

The latest is a new bill requiring the minimum sound level for vehicles sold in the US – yes, minimum and not maximum. Loud cars isn’t the issue here, but more of silent cars in this age of hybrid and electric vehicles that are barely audible.

The concern are blind pedestrians, who depend heavily on the sound of traffic and may not be able to hear these silent vehicles, thus being put into danger. This new bill is expected to come into effect in 2010.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mofo (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 6:06 am

From my point of view, there’s pros and cons.

Not just blind pedestrians, it apply on us too. How many of us rely on the sound when a vehicle approach to us while crossing a road, as i believe we rely on our ear and eye to perform this action. I have to take extra pre-caution when doing this if all vehicles required to meet this.

2nd, you may not aware a vehicle following behind you which potential to be robbery incident or etc.

On pros, we have sweet dream during night. I see, we have to pay higher consequences if put the bad and good result of this together.

Anyway just my 2cents

• azrai (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 7:42 am

“The concern are blind pedestrians, who depend heavily on the sound of traffic and may not be able to hear these silent vehicles, thus being put into danger.” I agree with this quote but not only the blind persons will suffer. Most of us rely on our hearing even when driving. That’s why there is horn in our cars. The pedestrian make up from normal people also will suffer.

• LHQ (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 9:54 am

Maybe the bolehland can do this too, then everyone will hav a large “homemade”
    exhaust at their car’s end.LOL

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 10:36 am

Lol, the Americans just watched Jeremy Clarkson’s review on Prius iz it? I remember one part he drive slowly n said the car will oni use electric motor, no sound at all n if there’s children passing by, they’ll will be killed cuz they cannot hear any sound at all (in his sarcastic manner, as usual). So much to “save the Tazmanian fruit bats, the GM crops will stop growing, n the world will be green n healthy again.”

Last time got MP complain JC destroy Kelisa, we made fun of them saying M’sia ping = 2 years, bt I guess Americans also ping = ? years (I not sure lor wat year JC test drive the Prius).

Bt at least this is abt safety, while our MP………ini, ini bodoh……

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 11:56 am

Most of the blame for malaysians goes to our consumer groups. If we have no awareness of safety and value of life, why would the government here do anything at all?

We all can make noise behind them, but seriously our government probably has the easiest jobs ever, comsumers are ‘happy’ with whatever they dish out.

How do you expect things to improve when we ‘consumers’ don’t ask for it? No point to ask manufacturers to get things done, they are after thier own money making products, but ‘ask’ the government to better mandatory satety requirements. Whatever it takes even make it a point in the elections.

I tell you, one day the Insurance companies here (which is usually the one lobbying behind these govermnent mandated safety regulation) is just going to do the same here.

But here the value of life is so poor, even the Insurance companies isn;t willing to stick thier neck out to lobby the government. Elsewhere in a simple pain and suffering lawsuit could net a few millions (read – cost insurance companies millions)…which is why these initial safety mandates are done in favour of protecting thier bottom line. You claim less if you are less injured.

Think about that. Thats your [i]other[/i] side of the story.

ps. If the insurance says that if you get hurt in an accident without wearing your selt belt, they will not pay your medicals – I tell ya, EVERYONE will belt up overnight. So much for needing the government enforcing the law….

• drebar (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 3:35 pm

a very thoughtful move by the american.. if in malaysia, unless it can make someone rich, else, no one will make any changes that benefits the citizen welfare…

• bavarian (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 4:18 pm

definitely not just the blind
    i think that everybody including animals rely on eyes and also ears to cross the road

that is a good move anyway

• gogo2 (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 5:59 pm

holy crap. this is stupid.

just add a speaker la. then add detector to detect anything near and blare out the speaker…”Please keep away from my car”

• nanashisan (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 6:58 pm

imagine….
    the hybrid have to install sound system for engine sound or their cars. if i have hybrid car and can customize the sound, i will upload the engine sound from Need for Speed Prostreet/Gran Turismo/Forza to the hybrid.
    imagine hybrid with supercar engine sound…… Ferarri for example….

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 7:38 pm

Having a sports car sound in a hybrid car sounds nice:P

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 1:42 am

Maybe the car makers can install artificial engine sound system to compensate the quiet eco engine. A turbo wastegate sound or an F1 rumbling sound would be fantastic!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 6:37 pm

hahaha…just like MP3 ringtone on handphone oredi. Download the sound to the car, and playback.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 12:34 am

f1 sound…woooww…i like it…