National Automotive Policy Review ready in Q1 2009

MITIDeputy International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Liew Vui Keong said last week that a review of the National Automotive Policy will be ready to be presented to the Cabinet in Q1 2009, which means it could be anytime before April 2009. According to Datuk Liew, his ministry has taken into consideration local and global developments as well as feedback from automotive industry participants and related government agencies in the NAP review so that the review will be able to boost the competitiveness of Malaysia’s automotive industry.

New Malaysian National Automotive Policy
Thoughts on the National Automotive Policy
Full Text of the National Automotive Policy
NAP Tax Rates as of 22nd March 2006

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 11:30 am

is it gonna be clean, or will some cronies continue to benefit from the loopholes deliberately left in there.

we'll see.

• mofo (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 12:28 pm

Interesting ! How you can mix 'water' and 'oil' together.

• ehasz (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 4:03 pm

yeah,you're right csv n mofo….stop protecting proton….tired of dirty politics…sigh!!!!

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 4:12 pm

It's about time.

After years of cutting taxes, it's time to do away with the NAP once and for all.

There are alternative ways of supporting the local industry without drawing so much flak.

• delos3nos (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 6:11 pm

1.ITS JUST ANOTHER POLICY THAT DON'T WORK

2.ANOTHER CRONIES AT WORK

3.PROTECTING THE PEOPLE OR JUST PROTECTING THE POCKET

• ignas (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 6:20 pm

hey, tats one fugly logo. government's logos always looks like crap.

• delos3nos (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 6:34 pm

PETROL PRICE GOING UP IS SO EASY BUT WHEN THE MARKET PRICE DROP OUR GOVERMENT WANT TO BUY TIME TO REVIEW THE PRICE TO GO DOWN. WHAT THEY MENTIONS EARLY ALL BIG TALK.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 8:03 pm

ehasz said,

October 27, 2008 @ 8:03 am

yeah,you’re right csv n mofo….stop protecting proton….tired of dirty politics…sigh!!!!

——————————————-

its not as simple as you say it is.. and its certainly more than just proton.. there are a lot more people out there who depend on the way it is now.

but i'm not holding waiting around for this. if it happens great, if not, life goes on as usual

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 8:17 pm

Don't expect anything positive to come out of this, unless you're the ministers most likely it would be a negative outcome.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 8:27 pm

same old shit we heard over and over

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 8:37 pm

thy wont…da fact of the matter is that too many ppl up thr making too much many out of it….

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 10:17 pm

What are you guys rambling about?

The government is serious about cutting taxes and have in fact been doing so for the past few years. See paul tan's posts below the main post for more information.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 4:43 am

MORE BULLSHIT

• droll (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 5:11 pm

cut or no cut, i'm only interested to know what it means for the end consumer since that's where a lot of us are coming from. sure, there are other parties to consider – banks, second hand car dealers, etc. but it all boils down to the consumer because if they don't bite, everything along the eco-chain don't stand to benefit either. the money starts from the consumer :)

• kingv6 (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 5:25 pm

It's time to stop the "protection"

Let Perodua, Naza, Inokom,etc be level player with the rest of the others..

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 5:44 pm

Sure they (gov) will do another bullshit this time.

The sad thing is… many still blame proton.. that's the problem .

It's the govt itself…

as well.. protecting their own pocket..

and proton… will always be Scape Goat .. duh!

NAP AP AP AP AP…

I believe, when there is no proton, they all more rich with AP. They will never abolished it.. even proton die already..

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 9:57 pm

Its going to be full of junk which protects proton and makes no sense to other car makers making them flee the country and go elsewhere. There will not be a reduction in car prices, that I can assure you

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 11:56 pm

Hi all,

Because this plan hasn't materialize yet, how about we wait for the good news next year? At least we should give the government some 'reasonable doubts' before condemning them. After all, new PM is coming soon (whoever that might be) with this, one might ask themselves, should buy car now or wait for the NAP news? Mr Paul any opinion?

• torque (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:03 am

Bla bla bla bla bla….no matter how LOVELY the news is…it's still STINK like SHIT!!! Like BMW said,"…if it happens great, if not, life goes on as usual". Yup! Our life's goes on as usual…and we too get screwed and f*cked like USUAL!! Hahaha! :-) Love live you AP Pr*ck!!

• torque (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:12 am

Oh! For what it's worth…I apologise for my harsh words but I really mean it…only to those making a fat wealthy living by others suffering!!!!

• normaluser (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 2:08 am

Its no NAP. Its FFP. What's FFP? Flip-Flop Policy.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 6:07 am

another piece of crap-talk from our G !!!!!!!!!!

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:16 am

DONT buy P for the next 6 months time.. until this policy see some good outcome. Let them know… people is more important than protecting P

When P suffering terrible sales … they not have voice in the policy anymore.

So… dont buy!!!!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovens (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 3:57 am

boycott P

• henryee (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 12:37 am

Don't buy P??? U go and post some not quite post/comment in both P1 & P2's MPV forum they'll shoot you until u die, somemore calling u a Joker, hahaha, just those silly minded who doesn't want to accept the truth.

But about this NAP, I can reassure u that the Stupxd Govern. will only reduce those car price for about RM 1K-2K only la, just like giving some leftover for u to enjoy.

Sigh~~ if only reduce RM 1K-2K, those P1 or P2 potential buyers will certainly go and buy the car without consideration.:d

I just hope that P1 should be comes under Volkswagen, why P1 management doesn't consider about this issue, why????? I want an Europe car indeed!!!! PLS. give me rebadge Volkswagen car, which I doesn't care it'll be branded under Naza, Proton, Perodua(most not probably), or what ever China branded. As long as it is under an Europe Car Manufacturer platform then is enough.

Proton, pls let Volkswagen to buy ur shares la~~~

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 1:49 am

one thing is sure. the automotive scene in msia will still remain uncompetative. the lowering of taxes on cars is offset by material cost increase. and advantage to proton and gang will still remain sky high so any reduction will not affect this advantage. AP kings will be given some other form of compensation for thier slight decrease in profits. and lastly proton cars will remain as lousy as they are now in the local market and even lousier in the international market. That African Mr Isaac has nothing over me.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovens (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 3:55 am

ONE WORD, welcome to the unfair motoring industry communist nation of malaysia

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 8:18 am

thats 10 words

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 2:23 pm

boycott P ! our gov now boycott USA. wat a shame leader in malaysia.. nak cakap orang, kena tengok sendiri dulu ! nvm, gov boycott usa we boycott P ..

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:24 pm

waiting for new NAP…plan to buy honda accord this time .. langkawi inchude sales tax jus rm88,800… ma ci bai gov

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:17 am

start a revolution!!!

• hispeed on Nov 02, 2009 at 8:44 pm

for sure cutting spare-parts import is going to hurt the motor-sport scenes very badly. just imagine the starters looking for cheap solution from chop-shop suddenly lost their sources. motor-sport will then be a luxury sport involved by people with stuffed pocket only. current motor user will soon find difficulties when their vehicles start to fail and options for spare-parts isnt giving them spares on the economic side.i tot the gov is making policies to help the people but with this, its more oppose to it