Can human fat from liposuction power a car?

Times are so bad in the US that a plastic surgeon has resorted to using the fat that he sucked out of his patients via liposuction to create “diesel” to fuel his SUV.

Dr Craig Alan Bittnet used to run a website at lipodiesel.com but it is no longer online. He claims he somehow managed to use human fat to fuel his Ford SUV and his girlfriend’s Lincoln Navigator. Now this already begins to sound dodgy because a quick check at Lincoln’s website reveals there is no diesel model, only a 310hp 5.4 litre V8 petrol engine.

Nevertheless, he has got into trouble with the authorities and attracted lawsuits because of this. Some patients claimed the doctor sucked out more fat than needed and left them “disfigured”, presumably for more fat to fuel his car!

Whether he really did use liposuction waste to fuel his cars or not, he has shut down his website and left his Beverly Hills Liposculpture clinic supposedly to go do some volunteer work in South America. Of course, people think its to avoid investigations.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 12:26 am

ridiculous. what’s next? blood? urine?

• delos3nos (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 2:03 am

No wonder the petrol is getting cheaper and cheaper

• KuSesat (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 3:22 am

Wow, is that a joke or facts?
    So unbelievable….maybe it’s a matter of self-advertisement or some nuts doctors running the show.
    Sperms to power vehicle? Anyone volunteer?

• ignas (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 4:43 am

study doctoral n earn a marketing degree, not bad for an idiot. padam muka him!

• afkar (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 9:27 am

hahaha. if u don’t at least smile 4 this news, i think u have no sense of humour.
    its funny how he sucked all the fats making his patients ‘begs of skins and bones.’ and fuel the fats into 2 suvs? nuts. but i pity the patients…

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 9:56 am

So the fats will be on liquid form or solid form? Does it looks like butter? Haha! Mabbe later ppl may use shit or urine to power car. Pity to the mechanic when doing overhaul. It STINKS!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 11:45 am

stupid….

• vivio (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 11:48 am

gross!?????

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 1:03 pm

typical Americans.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 1:48 pm

Can the Americans get any fatter? This fast food nation. Well, maybe someday their fats will power the world. Human fat halal or non-halal?

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 3:53 pm

if u use shit to power cars then china and india will be number 1….and 2. as for malaysia, we will power our cars using a different type of shit….bullshit.

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 5:45 pm

bloody desperate?

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 8:53 pm

how many person you need to “full tank” of human fat ? lol!

• KKTE (Member) on Dec 28, 2008 at 11:06 pm

Maybe next time they’ll use hamsters.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 7:54 am

Can turn this into a sport. L1, where the drivers use their own fat to power their own cars in the race:p

• rexis (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 8:17 am

I see the sense of black humor of this news. The fat from liposuction patient is sufficient to produce fuel to power SUV, OMG.

Time for some exercise, and do it yourself, not let your car burn fat for you.

• Apathy (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 10:32 am

LOL desperate time calls for desperate measures. pfft…hey doc….go sell ur suv & buy a savvy or kancil la. jimat minyak apa. LOL or better yet…..buy a bicycle. hahaha now u can loose weight & save ur money. LOL

• dr_carz (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 12:07 pm

I like his idea very much…

Maybe the fat will not go to waste at all.

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Dec 29, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Slightly disturbing, that.

I think the better question is,

Do we really want to know?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 30, 2008 at 12:23 am

i think urine powered cars already in prototype stage. shit from animal passing also can be used as a form of fuel, much like how shit is piled up and burnt in some countries, they are pretty much methane or butane gas.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 10:30 am

dr_carz said,
    December 29, 2008 @ 12:07 pm

I like his idea very much…

Maybe the fat will not go to waste at all.
    —————————————————————-
    me too actually….sure its disgusting, rivolting n wat not but,”letting vehicles burn our fat for us”. this would be the messiah of disposal techniques and for critically f@t ppl….its a bright new future!

_Zephyre_ said,
    December 29, 2008 @ 2:02 pm

Slightly disturbing, that.

I think the better question is,

Do we really want to know?
    —————————————————————-
    err, so why did u write in??