New Transformers 2 Trailer: Autobot Fleet Convoy

Transformers 2

The Autobots go on a cross-continental convoy in this new trailer of the Transformers 2: Revenge of The Fallen movie. The convoy goes from Long Beach all the way to some desert area with pyramids, damn! It’s a massive GM marketing exercise featuring cool new upcoming GM cars such as the blue Chevrolet Volt, the now-production Chevrolet Beat and the equally as cute Chevrolet Trax concept car. There is also a new concept car just introduced at the Chicago 2009 show called the Chevrolet Corvette Stingray Concept, which is called Autobot Sideswipe in the movie. Watch the video after the jump and stay tuned for coverage of the new Stingray Corvette.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fairozee (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Wow! Im so gonna watch this movie!!!! Autobots.. transform and roll out!!!

• juju5353 on Feb 12, 2009 at 8:16 pm

OMG!!!! Sideswipe Looks awesome!!! Corvette stingray rocks!!

• too many chevrolets… I think we need some cars that are not american…

• autobot just on Feb 12, 2009 at 8:40 pm

where’s Ratchet? was Hummer was not part of GM now?

• Waiting Autobots in the cinemas!!

• m4xspeed on Feb 12, 2009 at 9:18 pm

fast & furios autobots…

• 20v_ke35 on Feb 12, 2009 at 9:26 pm

These are not real cars. It all CGI! ( correct me if I’m wrong)

• Can’t wait!!! So cool…

• ignas on Feb 12, 2009 at 10:45 pm

yea too many chevy, very americanized. would be cool if there is a gundum GTR to kick both autobots and decepticons butts. yes noticed the CG too.

• PTAllTheBest on Feb 12, 2009 at 10:46 pm

the movie clip is so boring… i expected some transformation… *vomit*

• Booger on Feb 13, 2009 at 12:00 am

Wow some of you are morons. There was NO CGI. None. (The video quality sucks but there is no CGI.) And Ratchet IS shown, albeit in the last few seconds. He is there but easy to miss the first time around.

And duh the cars are Americanized. It’s no different when foreigners make movies based in America but only use their cars. So I fail to see the point.

• nutzkracker on Feb 13, 2009 at 12:03 am

Like in the first Transformers movie, GM are product placement sponsors in T2. Can’t help it if they’re American….

• rodimus on Feb 13, 2009 at 12:12 am

Yo!!! Here come sideswipe dude!!!

• Mini_Mack on Feb 13, 2009 at 12:24 am

Hey…i thought Optimus Prime is the leader of autobots…so how come in this car line up…he’s somewhere at the back and sideswipe is leading the pack…not fair…too much marketing la…nanti rosak jalan cerita…tak syok pulak dah…

• lightflyer on Feb 13, 2009 at 12:44 am

agreed …. why no Nissan , Toyota , Subaru , Honda , Ford , …..etc ??? then i we can see some ‘Ninja’ Autobots ma …..lol

• ReactiX on Feb 14, 2009 at 5:33 pm

yep yep, the vios will transform to dugong, juara will turn to peti ais and myvi will transform to decepticons's frog!!! XD

• It is like seeing kancils, myvis, and the protons driving around hoping they can transform into something extraordinary, but what they do are just farting

• Civiclution on Feb 13, 2009 at 1:58 am

Yeah, just like those Wiras fart on Malaysian road.

• torque (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:55 am

I know la that it was an American movie but all the robots alien that land in this world only pick or mostly pick GM vehicle meh? Where’s the Japs and the rest of the Europe as well?! I know that GM sponsor the car but the director of the movie got to be realistic a bit. Come on bro….don’t be a snob like you all are the only one living in this world…just my two cents!! Oh ya, Corvette Stingray is bloody hot…no….bloody cool…no no….bloody hot….arghhh….

• ericfoong81exe on Feb 13, 2009 at 9:25 am

Can’t raelly wait for it to show in the cinema….excited…

• arch808 on Feb 13, 2009 at 9:28 am

u want to be realistic…? u think a movie about some kind of NBE (non-biological extra-terrestrial) is logic in d 1st place…?!

• hakimin on Feb 13, 2009 at 9:44 am

why o why the autobots are land based vehicle while deceps are jets and helis…hell..

• Is this really transformer new trailer?
    more like an advert using transformer theme to promote their cars..
    i doubt this is really 2nd transformer trailer

• Littlefire on Feb 13, 2009 at 10:18 am

There is no Hummer in Autobots, is a GMC pick-up truck.

The Decepticon even more hebat, i heard got Audi R8 and the Megatron revive and become a tank! Rumors*

Only the Autobots use most GM cars..

• alansmithz (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 10:57 am

The first Transformer Movie suck!! I hope they do some good rethink b4 they finished the sequel. The main lead character is also irritating. Hopefully some Decepticon will kill him in the sequel!!

• eezarm on Feb 13, 2009 at 11:14 am

guys…

its their (Americans) marketing strategy..

• eezarm on Feb 13, 2009 at 11:18 am

guys…

its their (Americans) marketing strategy..
    GM need to promote and sell their cars…
    why all the robots alien that land in this world only pick or mostly pick GM vehicle?
    same like Ultraman series…
    why the raksasa always attack Japan all the time and why Ultraman picks Japanese rather than other Asia people?

btw the cars are cool…
    Bumblebee still look hot!

• sphiroth on Feb 13, 2009 at 11:43 am

The reason why its only use American cars is due to sponsor and japanese/germans don’t like the fact the the ‘robots’ use guns and violence.
    That is why Bumblebee is not a volkswagon beetle.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 1:00 pm

dude…thats not only GM in the movie…there will be audi in the movie..probably decepticon..i jz seen the trailer in t2 website…go check it out..

• Kickas5car on Feb 13, 2009 at 2:31 pm

Booger dun be a smart as5 here and criticise others. The rest are just putting their 2 cents worth and commenting based on their observation. Too bad if you happened have too much time watching the video over 500 times and comment more accurately.

• saki77 on Feb 13, 2009 at 3:19 pm

littlefire
    there is one hummer in autobot that is Rachet…there are articles about it and also in the DVD of the making of transformers 1.. and Hummer also under GM….but they did some pimping to the hummer so that it looks like a rescue car…
    The GMC pick up truck is IronHide

• darren82my on Feb 13, 2009 at 3:31 pm

alansmithz said,
    February 13, 2009 @ 10:57 am

The first Transformer Movie suck!! I hope they do some good rethink b4 they finished the sequel. The main lead character is also irritating. Hopefully some Decepticon will kill him in the sequel!!

So far there is one person who have critical comment for Transformers this movie…hehe…..but i agree ur last sentence….hope some decepticon defeat the leader of Autobots…..then the movie show will more interesting…..

• Paul,

It’s just a marketing ad by GM to promote their cars that are featured in the upcoming Transformers movie.
    Not the second trailer (there’s no first trailer in the first place, just that Superbowl teaser).

Cheers. :D

• My mistake… why am I talking about a second trailer? XD
    I misread the title.
    Nonetheless, the actual trailer will be out pretty soon.

Cheers. :D

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:34 pm

darren82my said,

i dunno whether they will follow the cartoon storyline a bit or not..if they follow it..we will c optimus’s death…he is my fav character…but he will dead…

• fikrie (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:53 pm

i heard a rumour fr somewher in the net dat Optimus will be bungkus in this sequel.. probably dats y we dun see any Red Truck in the trailer.. To those adore the decepticons, your wish maybe come true this time.. But the end is always obvious.. But nothin much can be said until we watch the movie..

To those who think the cars aint real.. This again.. That only applies in the fighting and the transformation scene.. All are real cars running on the street..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:55 pm

so..if thats true…its pretty soon they bungkus my fav character..damn..i tot he will die on part 3..sigh

• redrules (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 7:49 pm

They are all gas guzzlers if you ask me, these american muscle cars.

• Hey guys,

the actual trailer is now available for viewing! :D
    check it out here.

Cheers! :D

• En Imran on Feb 14, 2009 at 1:11 am

I think the green mpv looks like modified avanza…

ha ha ha

• saki77 on Feb 14, 2009 at 3:39 am

why are talking about decepticon beat autobot?..first of all..Fallen neither Autobot nor Decepticon..its an early version of the transformers created by Primus to serve him…his revenge is on all the Transformers….so..I think Decptn and Autbt will work together or..maybe not…bla bla bla…..and this is not the forum for transformers…hehehehe…

• N8cky on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:35 am

Did they just indicate the American's do not need a single petrol to reach the pyramids?LoL..
    Hmm, kinda commercialized story line. Solely by GM.

• torque (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:55 pm

arch808 said,

February 13, 2009 @ 9:28 am

u want to be realistic…? u think a movie about some kind of NBE (non-biological extra-terrestrial) is logic in d 1st place…?!

Bro, point taken but do you actually grew up watching Transformer when you were kid? That's why the old animation is such a big hit…right then there have a VW Beetle aka Bumblebee, Porsche aka Jazz and even an F1 race car named Mirage plus many more. So, to counter your argument…No! A movie with a bunch of NBE NEVER was a realistic movie but you could at least implement some sort of reality around the world in it which makes you FEEL likes it real. Isn't that's why you could see a human being in it and the NBE battling in the city and on the street? Just my two cents…..

• Yeah the Chevy's are real cute, but why does Chevy get all the damn credit ? What happened to Ford, and Chrysler ? They have nice looking vehicles, and concept cars too. Please Stop jockin Chevy's!!!!!!!.