Production Tata Nano all set for 23rd March unveiling, sales to begin in April!

Tata Nano

Some of you may be wondering what has happened to the Tata Nano after all the buzz that was created after it was unveiled back in January last year. Tata’s 1-lakh car had gone through so many downs such as having to abandon a nearly-completed production plant because of regional protests, and the continuous economic downturn doesn’t do much to help the Indian conglomerate who dreamt up this car for the masses.

But good news this time – in less than 1 month’s time, the Tata Nano will be officially unveiled in Mumbai on the 23rd of March 2009, with the first batch of showroom cars delivered from the 1st week of April 2009 onwards. Dealerships will be accepting bookings from the 2nd week of April 2009 onwards. We will get the full details on the production car at the March unveiling, but at the moment please check out our past coverage on the Tata Nano. There are some very interesting details on how Tata plans to make the car so cheap as well as videos.

According to latest exchange rates – 1 lakh Indian Rupees is US$1,986 or RM 7,300. That’s seriously cheap, but the base model will be extremely bare, likely not to even have air conditioning! But still safer than a motorcycle.

Tata Nano target market may face difficulty with loans
Tata Nano affects used car prices in India
Tata Nano to get US$10 airbag?
VIDEO: Tata Nano unveiling at Delhi 2008
Tata Nano: how did they do it? (engineering details)
More photos of the Tata Nano
Tata Nano – the name of the Tata 1-lakh car

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• freeze on Feb 27, 2009 at 2:42 am

Should CKD this car over here. Imagine KL filled with this tiny thing that looks like an insect!

I don't know why, but I feel like I want to kick it right between the headlamps…

• kimi_ on Feb 27, 2009 at 3:08 am

Cheaper than our KANCIL…

• shun2u on Feb 27, 2009 at 3:10 am

the car looks funny la..T_____________T

• kimi_ on Feb 27, 2009 at 3:14 am

Shahrir ,u go to hell la…

we want PETROL price down, not MILO price !!!!

• freeze on Feb 27, 2009 at 3:26 am

Still got people complaining about petrol price?

BTW, Milo price reduce I hope the taste doesn't change. Nescafe already tastes different.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:06 am

[quote comment="215643"]Shahrir ,u go to hell la…

we want PETROL price down, not MILO price !!!![/quote]

wrong place dude. theres already a place for you to comment on the petrol prices.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:20 am

Is it just me or does Trix taste different these days?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:29 am

nasi lemak also taste different lah nowadays, haha

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:31 am

freeze, you were right. Nescafe do taste different nowadays! One teaspoon of nescafe for a cup nes o dont feel too kaw today! :)

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:53 am

At least its safer than a moped.

• menawan on Feb 27, 2009 at 5:10 am

[quote comment="215640"]Cheaper than our KANCIL…[/quote]

so use it ma.. p2 dun produce kancil anymore ma.. this car come after 10 years kancil birth. so how come can compare with this. compare this with viva lor.. stupid

• menawan on Feb 27, 2009 at 5:12 am

[quote comment="215643"]Shahrir ,u go to hell la…

u go hell also ma.. Petrol price already down also wat more down. u wont satisfied until G give u petrol for free

• JayCee on Feb 27, 2009 at 5:15 am

We wan toll price decrease lar.. !!!

• kimi_ on Feb 27, 2009 at 5:47 am

[quote comment="215664"][quote comment="215643"]Shahrir ,u go to hell la…

u go hell also ma.. Petrol price already down also wat more down. u wont satisfied until G give u petrol for free[/quote]

For Menawan(BN diehards supporters)

hello there ,the petrol price is much higher than it should be ,dude

maybe u are rich enough or u pump ur car with water.

Anyway the bloody BN G will collapse in next general election……

• Lucifer on Feb 27, 2009 at 6:11 am

I wanna see drift king do a "complete" drift with this car. J-Turn will be entertaining too =P.

Imagine how "ah beng's" face will look like when Tata Nano drifted in front of their big-cum-shot exhaust pipe + butt head spoiler kancils and satria.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 6:32 am

[quote comment="215668"][quote comment="215664"][quote comment="215643"]Shahrir ,u go to hell la…

u go hell also ma.. Petrol price already down also wat more down. u wont satisfied until G give u petrol for free[/quote]

For Menawan(BN diehards supporters)

hello there ,the petrol price is much higher than it should be ,dude

maybe u are rich enough or u pump ur car with water.

Anyway the bloody BN G will collapse in next general election……[/quote]

Hello, yes the price is higher than it should be, but don't forget the RM625 rebate that was given, running until next month. Let the tax on the fuel be used to replenish the money givenla! Don't always take, take, take then don't give at all!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 6:43 am

this looks stupid…should not be allowed on the road probably will fail all sort of crash safety tests….DONT BRING IT TO MSIA !

• saiful azhar musa on Feb 27, 2009 at 6:51 am

Watch Bangla Bangers in Discovery Turbo..very funny.

Meet Uncle Lippu.My favourite cost down car manufacturer.

Bring this Nano here,boleh beli satu.

• bmpower on Feb 27, 2009 at 7:26 am

safer than a motorcycle?

are you serious paul?

underpower made failure to overtake was a common cause of accident btw.

in accident, the driver oso can stuck in crumple! causing death too..

perhap a bikes.. the biker should jump away from their motorcycle.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 7:40 am

[quote comment="215694"]safer than a motorcycle?

are you serious paul?

perhap a bikes.. the biker should jump away from their motorcycle.[/quote]

still safer than a bike la.. over 70% of all road fatalities in malaysia are motorcyclists and their pillion riders. you can jump away from your bike, but you'll probably be run over by the next car, bus or truck following behind.

but then again.. its not going to help the already super bad traffic jams

• Paul Tan on Feb 27, 2009 at 7:42 am

[quote comment="215694"]safer than a motorcycle?

are you serious paul?

bike engine seizes, only balancing on 2 wheels, rain, etc. reconsider your thoughts?

• knight_templar on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:15 pm

This will cause a far bigger problem-congestion. Major Indian cities such as Mumbai and Chennai are already traffic jam hotspots notwithstanding the fact that such a large population uses the motorbike. Now imagine a large chunk of that population switching to cars. And worse, emissions will further increase when the complete life cycle of a car is considered. Think abt it, say tis car sells by a ratio of 5:1 compared to maybe a Suzuki Swift, the raw materials, energy and emissions related to producing them will still be the same.

• rexis (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:36 pm

kimi_, lol.

RM7k+ wow cheaper then some kapchai.

freeze, LOL.

Street already full of "insect" if you look down from KLCC.

• nighttrain on Feb 27, 2009 at 6:52 pm

[quote comment="215698"][quote comment="215694"]safer than a motorcycle?

are you serious paul?

bike engine seizes, only balancing on 2 wheels, rain, etc. reconsider your thoughts?[/quote]

Agree with Paul, folks. I believe city dwellers will still opt for bikes during weekdays.

As for the rest of the country, car is safer than bike, no doubt. Low income families in rural areas will rejoice now they can take whole family for outings, send more than one child to school at one go, maybe even generate economy with the increase in travel and tourism etc.. Just an alternate scenario.

• osh_kosh on Feb 27, 2009 at 10:25 pm

let imagine what happen if they bring this car to Malaysia with that kind of price;

1)poor ppl that use m/cycle & can't afford a car will seriously consider this car. expecially the one with a family. hey, it's much safer than a bike.

2)middle class man who use motorbike as everyday transportation (but own a car or two in their garage) will also consider buying this car. but it all depend on the car fuel consumption i guess. reason- also much safer than bike.

3)young man will probably buy this car for fun. to do modifications (like all those kancils etc.) & u know for what. reason- it's cheap & would not hurt their pocket that much

4)some old folks will buy it for their kids (most likely college student) as a trasportation. reason – again, safer than a bike & cheap

5)i doubt any richman will want anything to do with this bug

hmm…. more jammed road after this? pollution? but the good thing is, i believe we can reduce road fatalities a bit. wattahell,i think it would never come here as long as P1 or P2 is here… if it do come, the price can't be that cheap anyway..

• So now they too can use AirAsia tagline…Now everyone can drive…..add RM50 for extra passenger seat, add RM10 for rear mirror…..

• stevewy on Feb 28, 2009 at 12:20 am

this junkie can climb Genting? LOLzz >.<

• farghmee on Feb 28, 2009 at 12:33 am

selamat ke "kete" ni?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 8:30 am

it looks so retarded la , please no more tata nonsence…its not healthy !

• Head Hunter on Feb 28, 2009 at 6:19 pm

I'd rather ride a bike than be seen in these death contraptions. Too small, make it illegal to run on highways. It's just not safe!