Hyundai Nuvis Concept unveiled at NYIAS 2009

Hyundai Nuvis

This is the new Hyundai Nuvis, likely a preview of what’s coming up in the compact MPV segment for Hyundai. Perhaps we are looking at an early preview of the next generation Hyundai Matrix, or whatever they decide to call it.

Hyundai says its styling mimics the interplay of natural, fluid elements with more rigid surfaces and structures to create the illusion of constant motion. Hyundai’s designers studied the way water splits across and flows around the hull and sides of a boat, creating a wake, or the way wind shapes a snowdrift or flurries through trees.

And of course with it being a concept car you just have to top it off with outrageously large wheels – 22 inches in this case. To me somehow it reminded me of a scaled down Toyota Venza.

Hyundai Nuvis

Under the hood is Hyundai’s Hybrid Blue Drive system, which combines its 2.4 litre Theta II engine with a 30kW and 205Nm electric motor, mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission. There is also a start-stop ignition system, and regenerative braking, features that are pretty much standard on any hybrid these days. The 270V batteries for the hybrid motor are of the compact lithium polymer type.

Interestingly Hyundai aims to be the number 1 brand in the US in terms of fuel economy by the year 2015, which is only 6 years from now. This means some fantastically efficient engines combined with lightweight construction.

Will Hyundai be able to pull it off?

[zenphotopress number=99 album=234]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• first…haha

interesting concept. but dunno how the production model is going to look like.

• evilunatic on Apr 12, 2009 at 5:36 pm

hahaha. mazda taiki copy. without the outer flows.

• SwiftMatrix on Apr 12, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Even without the originality which is common nowday… Hyundai still prove that they can come out with a good design… If only our Proton can prove this as well…

• kimi_ on Apr 12, 2009 at 7:16 pm

nice…

OFF topic

3 days more for the launch of EXORA….

• triumpah on Apr 12, 2009 at 8:10 pm

The front like 'megatron'…huhu

• AdamRadin on Apr 12, 2009 at 8:10 pm

Not bad…

• Looks good, fierce looking eyes without ugly big silly smiley mouth….

• kamen rider's ride….

huge gull wing door…

• just_my_opinion on Apr 13, 2009 at 6:56 am

fungly nose…

• if u see the the front facia..

it's mimic a copy of opel ampera (uk version of chevy volt)..

just google opel ampera…although opel ampera's bumper are with lights…

it still mimics it..

• dream on Apr 13, 2009 at 4:58 pm

agree wt triumpah,

Hyundai Nuvis/Matrix? – Megatron…

…we oredi have Honda City – Optimus Prime grille…

• gattaca_LEE on Apr 13, 2009 at 7:59 pm

TATA Nano better

• Hyundaiman on Apr 14, 2009 at 5:07 am

Hyundai the best .. Proton balik kampung

• Bosz_1551 on Apr 14, 2009 at 9:05 am

lurve the gull wing..

but i think it will nvr get a chance to be breed in mass quantity..

6 yrs to become the wut? can or not? sure or not?

haha..

anyway i do sees the korean car industry fastly and rapidly blooming now..

dont u guys agree?